We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Well I must say my fiance and I were surprised. We had read all of the mixed reviews, and couldn't really get a handle on what to expect so we tried to keep an open mind. The facility was beautiful, and check in went quite smoothly. I do speak some Spanish, and some employees appreciated my attempts and some didn't, but no big deal. The grounds are well maintained, and we didn't have any problems with ants, power outages or anything. The food was so-so. We were there for my fiances' birthday, and they had a nice cake and champage with balloons and the like for him after dinner at the Japanese place. The nightly shows were very entertaining and well done. While we didn't take advantage of the extras that were offered, it was nice not to feel pressured to do so. Given we were there just before Ernesto started, and only for four days we had a nice time.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank netnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,798 - 8,804 of 13,093 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2006

My husband and I travelled to Punta Cana in August to meet my sister and surprise her husband on his 50th birthday. I must admit that while planning this trip with my sister and she suggested going to the Dominican Republic and I was very hesitant at first because I knew nothing about the country. After some researching it sounded perfect. My husband and I have travelled to many places (especially in the Caribbean--I was a travel agent many years ago) and we both agreed that Punta Cana had the most beautiful beach that we had ever seen.. When our shuttle pulled up to the resort, we did feel like we had stepped into "Fantasy Island"...Everything was just beautiful! The resort was unbelieveable. We booked a regular garden view suite and were very pleased.
The grounds throughout the resort were like paradise. The restaurants (except Japanese and Mexican) were clustered together but the landscaping was really well done.
The French, Italian and Mexican restaurants were our favorite. The food at the Japanese restaurant was definitely not at all like back home--but still tasty! We were only there for 3 nights unfortunately, so we didn't get to sample all of them.
My husband and I walked to the "downtown" shopping area about 15 minutes away and were disappointed. The next day we took the 15-20 minute walk on the beach to the little huts set up and that is definitely the place to go! Must need to know how to bargain with the locals!
I all ready have made plans for next summer to come back and bring our 2 daughters and renew our wedding vows for our 20th year anniversary. (We checked out the kid's club-even though our girls weren't with us)--Loads of things to do and keep them occupied.
Would highly recommend this resort to anyone...the people were great and would do anything to help you! Be sure to bring loose dollar bills for tipping --even though we got great service the times we didn't have any money with us.
Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank waitingforthewkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

I read many of the reviews before leaving and wasn't sure how we were going to like the resort because of the mixed reviews. My boyfriend and I were there for 7 days and had a great time. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The resort is very large but they have trolly-like cars that you can get on and they will take you anywhere you want to go inside the resort. The pool and the beach were beautiful and very clean. Service was never a problem. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most, but not all, of the staff can understand and/or speak some English and they try very hard to accomodate you. Communication was not a significant problem.

The rooms were very nice and very clean. Our only complaint about the room were the very small ants in the bathroom. I had read about them in a few reviews. They were not in any other part of the room but we constantly found them in the bathroom which we were not happy about.

The food was good-not great, but better than we had expected. We would recommend Mexican, Japanese, Chinese, and the Steakhouse. The nightly shows were entertaining. The casino is very small but still quite fun. We also took advantage of many of the included activities with the package such as paddle boats, snorkeling, horseback riding, archery, batting cage, and the rock climb and we really enjoyed everything. It was a great vacation, very fun and relaxing. We would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank rnm1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

This is a real review from a real person (26 yrs)

Punta Cana was overall a good getaway, but not the all inclusive you'd expect if you've ever been anywhere else.

Beautiful landscaping and beach. I'm not picky with food, but the selection was lacking for the "stars" this place was rated. There were too many golf carts, motorcycles, scooters, and transports on the main walkways. We had to keep dodging them every 30 seconds. We lost power for a while 2 of 7 nights. The maids were kind as hell, but stayed in the local closet all day and never replaced soap, etc. They would take 5 dirty towels in the A.M and bring back 3 in the P.M. And to top it off, about half of the servers had attitudes when you couldnt speak Spanish (for real). I'm not asking a lot, but to have the bar tenders and waiters grunt at you on vacation is disturbing. I was even asked to show my bracelet at the swim-up bar! All of 10 people having a good time and this guys asks me to lift up my wrist, insulting. I should have demanded a refund, the nerve of this guy. When we ate at the Japanese place and sat with other guest, they ALL had similar complaints. Definitely not worth the price and not returning here ever. Trust me, much better service and quality in Mexico, etc.

6  Thank rkease01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

My husband and I and 2 other couples stayed at this all inclusive resort. We are all experienced travelers, and were not happy in our experience there. The rooms were not very clean. Upon arriving I had to request the bedding be changed. The white bed spread was very dirty. Isn't that something that is changed with every new guest? It looked like a tire ran across it. The tiny bugs in the bathroom set me off my rocker. I had no coffee maker, no robes, no iron, all as promised in the room discription. Our friends room had a broken lock, and could not leave the room until it was fixed. The waste of a half a day. Our other friends were moved completely across the compex because their air conditioner did not work. Then their television did not work. The staff spoke English only when we had money in our hands. The bank teller was down right rude, and had a very bad attitude. I am sorry I am a tourist in your country and you are working while I am enjoying myself. You wouldn't have a job if this were not the case stupid! She ignored us and told the person who let her know we were waiting to "Let us wait". The bank opened at 9:00 and it was already 9:15. The food really was decent for an all inclusive, but any of the Reserveration Only restaurants were booked if you did not place your reservations the day you arrived. Fortunately our travel agent advised us of this and we did. The food and the drinks were pretty good. I am a very good cook (if I do say so myself) and a bit of a snob when it comes to restaurants. The steak at the steakhouse was fantastic, the lamb at El Romantico was great.
The seaside buffet was incredible. So many choices, and very fresh.
We all did, however, experience stomach problems towards the end of our trip. This did not even happen to any of us in Mexico. I don't think it was the food, I do think it was the water. Even though there is bottled water in the room, there is no sign saying not to even brush your teeth with it. It is four days since my return and I am still ill as are a few others. The only other thing I can add was that the excursions were very expensiveand limited to people in optimal health. One excursion that our friends went on was an hour and a half trip to a remote Dominican village. They were put on an unairconditioned bus, and then on a monster truck in 93 degree heat. No bathroom. (can be a problem). If there were airconditioning we would have gone. My husband is 52, asthmatic and I love him. I would not think of putting him through that as much as I wanted to go.
Horseback riding on the beach was very nice, but again you had to book the day you arrived. Alot of research is needed before going to any of these places. We have been to many all inclusives. This was our worst experience, and was supposed to be a 5 star hotel. Are they putting all their effort and work into the new Paradisis?
Better luck next year

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank miapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We just returned from Paradisus Punta Cana from Aug 1 thru Aug 9, our experience was one of an interesting nature. I will say first off the hotel grounds were very nice, dated but well maintained. It seemed that every corner we turned someone in some way was maintaining the property, whether it be cleaning the walkways to painting the signs.

Thank you to all previous posts as they were very helpful and I will probably mirror some comments.

* Language barrier was challenging at times, some staff went well out of their way to assist others had very little interest in understanding (this was the minority). Dollar bills help in most cases. Front desk spoke English the best.

* Food- was decent, Mexican, Chinese & Japanese among the favorites. Just keep in mind that you are not in the USA. For those concerned about the water, everything is bottled. Table water is from 5 gal and you still can ask for small bottles. You just need to ask for it. Ice is purified and bagged; we saw carts delivering the water daily to the restaurants and bars each morning.

*Rooms- were dated, this is where we ran into our first & second issues, and we were traveling with another couple and learned quickly that the plumbing was so so. There was an issue with one of the "facilities" and when the front desk was called, we were told to place the used paper in the trash rather than to flush. In the public areas you will see this. Just the initial shock that the front desk made this comment left an uneasy feeling. Long story short. they did have maintenance check the facility and confirm all was in order. After several flushes (or attempts) still no major change. 2nd call was made, management was then involved which resulted in a 2nd service call to more men arrived rather quickly and told us that there was a problem and would be fixed that evening. To make matters worse the room was not acceptable on the cleanliness side; one of the beds had sand between the sheets. On day 2 better accommodations were made through the involvement of our travel agent and hotel management. Room issues went away for the remainder of the trip due to a room change. They did provide an iron / ironing board & Hair dryer in the room in addition to a safe at no charge.

*Attire- For men, expect to wear casual pants each night (we saw people wearing jeans but not too many). Restaurants that were air-conditioned were, Japanese (reservation required), French (reservation required) and Mexican all others were open air dining. For women, capris were fine. Just no shorts for either. If you want a “shorts” night, there is always the buffet or room service, which delivers 24 hours a day.

Last but not least, the bar on the beach that we called the fish bar due to the mosaic of fish swimming was our favorite; the bartender at night (Omar) had a great personality and was a pleasure. PS Try the Mamajuana (local drink), Omar will tell you all about it. For those interested in smoking, they offer cigarettes at all bars including the swim up (Marlboro & Marlboro Lights). Cigars are free only at the French & Mexican restaurants, all you need to do is ask because there is a “guy” by the main lobby bar that will try and sell them to you.

Taxes, be prepared to pay usd 10 for each person in your party to enter the Dominican Republic. There were rumors floating around the resort that there was a usd 20 tax per person to leave. We did not pay this to leave, we did hear that it is illegal to tax twice and only people who ask are trying to pull a scam. Only other annoyance was by the Hibiscus, there was a row of shops which of course encouraged you to shop, but by then entrance was a guy pushing ATV tours and Solmelia employees were trying to sell time-shares.

We hope this helps, enjoy your trip.

6  Thank travelinman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We had the best trip water was great & sand beautiful lot's of huts to get out of sun. We arrived to a very friendly staff we upgraded to the royal service and really liked the personal attention. The pools were so great just like the photos. The grounds were so awsome everywhere we looked was beauty and so well kept. The massages on the beach were the best of ever had anywhere really recommend that. Our family travels many places never been to all-inclusive I must say this was excellent. Loved the different places to dine every night and staff once again lovely. The food was pretty good and we did not get sick we took pepto a week before we left and also there. The nightly shows were very enjoyable and thet always had dancing around the bar areas. The lighted disco dance party on beach was such fun my 15 year old had a great time as well. Once again the staff at these events got everyone hopping and so friendly. I can 't say how great the staff were to us. I really had a wonderful vacation. There is also a helicopter service to and from the airport if you choose not to drive. Wasn't to bad of a price for a added adventure to your resort. This resort does a wonderful job all around. Trying to go back in Dec with the rest of our family. Charlotte NC

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank moeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
14.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,883 reviews
16.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
38.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
2.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $278 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing