We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Domincan Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a luxury 5-star resort. The resort is beautiful and extemely well looked after. It is immaculate. The beach is very nice with plently of cabanas and huts aand chairs. The bars have great service and the booze is plentiful. The beer is kinda weak compared to Canadian standards but when cold it is fine. The restautant food is very good and varied. We did not go to the Passion because the menu was not to our liking, and it had a $45 surccharge. Our condo was well equiped and the air conditioner worked overtime as we were here in July, and it was a tad hot and muggy. The only complaint, other than it was too hot for us, was the registration process............not up to North American standards. It was slow and dis-organized. Everyone pretty well worked to Dominican time..........whenever. Over all though this is a great resort and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,730 - 6,736 of 13,216 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Food is delicious, friendly staff willing to help whenever needed. The view is priceless. The beach is clean which is key and the hotel has security to ensure a good time without constant peddling. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristenanne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having selected Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this comment with us.

It’s great to read that your experience was delicious and priceless! Our objective is that you can feel the Pure Freedom to Just Be every day of you stay and even after you return to home you can keep feeling relaxed and renewed.

We will be waiting for you; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm staying at the Paradisus Hotel Punta Cana

Reserve Royal Service. I have been in almost all the major Hotels in Punta Cana, including Meliá Caribe. I have no words to describe how awesome this place is, the service, the food and the place are OUTSTANDING! Our Butler, José Valverde, is one of the most available, reliable , problem solver ever. Our air conditioner didn't work and him along Juan Rondon, moved us without a hitch. Food and drinks are OUTSTANDING, recomend highly!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariterePintad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Sunny Greetings from Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination.

It is great to have more reasons to always be proud of our Royal Service department, the truth is that this team is marvelous and they make sure that the entire staff of the hotel knows about their guest’s needs and wishes, because of their commitment to the creation of memorable moments for them.

We will congratulate Jose Valverde and Juan Rondon for their outstanding performance, we are sure that they and our complete team are already waiting for your return.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at Paradisus for a week in July 2013 and had a blast. My wife and I had our 2 children (one and four years old) with us so we really did nothing but hit the beach and the pool everyday, but still enjoyed ourselves.

Staff:
Very nice and accommodating, but sometimes slow, especially upon check-in, so being patient is a must. A little tip goes a long way, especially at the bar lol. There was always people cleaning and working on the grounds which were beautiful. Overall we had a very good experience with the employees…
We avoided the aggressive time share people like the plague so that made the experience better.

Room:
I’m not very picky with the since all you need is a bed really, but I wasn’t impressed with the room. We weren’t at the Reserve side of the hotel, which has nicer rooms, but when we got our room it was not clean. The bathroom had been tidied up but not cleaned so there was still soap scum and hair from other people, which was horrible (we are obsessed with cleanliness). Once we called housekeeping, they took care of it very quickly and apologized for not having it up to par. From then on the housekeeper was on top of everything and we took care of her when we left. Other than that the room was ok, nothing spectacular, definitely needed updating.
The room did have free Wi-Fi which was nice, but it was Very VERY intermittent… enough to only send out an email from time to time and that’s it lol… no YouTube there.

Pool:
The pool was HUGE, with plenty of lounge chairs and beds. If you want a bed you have to get up pretty early in the morning to get one though. The pool bar is always super busy so make sure you bring some tip money to get their attention or you’ll be waiting a pretty long time. The pool bar also has a small grill which made burgers and snack foods which where good if you didn’t want to get out of the pool for a long time.

Restaurants / Food:
Now I read tons of reviews on here and a lot of them say the food was horrible. I thought differently about everything… the food was awesome! I’m not a picky eater at all so maybe that had a little to do with it. We ate at the Hibachi restaurant (Bana) twice which was great. The Grill is a steakhouse that was included as well and it was awesome. I had a rib-eye steak and my wife had a churrasco steak, both well cooked and delicious. The salad bar at the grill was amazing… all types of salads and breads. The Mexican restaurant, Mole, was very good as well… even the buffet food was tasty. I definitely recommend bringing mosquito spray because the restaurants are open air so they attack.
If you aren’t picky with food you will definitely enjoy the food at the Paradisus. I didn’t feel at any moment that the food was good based off of low expectation…

Overall I would definitely return to this hotel but maybe in the reserve section of the hotel for the room upgrade if we bring the kids. The beach in Punta Cana is amazing, and they keeps the hotel beach area very clean…

Hope this helps….

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRBeachHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such positive comment and for having selected us as your holiday destination.

We feel very gratified for your feedback and you can be sure that every area of opportunity mentioned is already in the hands of every head department of our hotel, since our goal is to keep improving and renovating ourselves in order to provide you the service, treatment and facilities you deserve.

From the moment you decide to place your reservation you become part of the Paradisus family and we will always make sure that you can experiment the real Pure Freedom experience to just be every time you visit us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit, we would love to welcome with changes and surprises for your enjoyment and relaxation.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent resort in Punta Cana!!!!! We just enjoyed a nine day vacation at Paradisus Punta Cana. The staff is well-trained and they treat you with kindness and respect. They are there to make your stay as best as possible! The food is plenty and you will have so many choices - in both the restaurants and at the buffets. Everything was so tasty.

I thank the administration for creating a truly VIP experience at Paradisus. EVERYONE makes you feel welcome and secure.

The resort grounds are gorgeous-you think you are in paradise.

We traveled as a family of adults and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

There were a lot of families with young children as well as couples and older adults. I was happy that we were all adults and that I didn't have to try and enjoy myself while taking care of a young child. I found that many of the activities (minus the pool/beach) were for adults.

The activities are spread out--from the pool/pool bar to the beach club house to the ocean/beach...to the Main Lobby and YHI spa area. Looks like they were installing bike racks for future use for transportation.

The alcoholic drinks were made as strong as you wanted them. You could ask for more alcohol, less alcohol, and even order two drinks at once. Premium alcohol to punches. Yum yum yum.

The resort had various open bars in different places in the resort. RARELY RARELY did I ever see overly/drunk people enjoying the report amenities. Most guests were very well behaved and respectful of other visitors.

The resort truly does cater to a more refined vacation experience!

If you want to be treated like a VIP with 5* service, go to Paradisus. There are a lot of employees at Paradisus serving their guests!

Our room was close to the main activities--Gabi Beach and the Club House which worked well for us, otherwise you spend a lot of time walking of using the train tram for transportation.

Just a few things to keep in mind:
Many speak Spanish and other languages--we had no language real barriers.

Make restaurant reservations as they are necessary at all a la cart restaurants.

Enoy all that the YHI spa has to offer, if you can afford the extra expense! WELL worth it.

They use a main tram/train/golf cart transportation system in which the vehicles circle around the resort. Always available, can be busy at dinner times and after the shows let out.

Treat every other guest as well as the Paradisus' staff treats you and it will be enjoyable for all!

Allow at least four hours: to get your bus back to the airport-checkin-go thru security clearance. Otherwise you may be pressed for time. We found that our bus transportation stopped at various hotels along the way and picked up other passengers--slightly slowed us down.

There are various tour offerings for off the resort. The tour vehicles do stop at other hotels to pickup passengers so realize that you are not the only tour guests on that tour--extra time is spent picking up/dropping off passenges. The tours are about $100/pp. Can be costly. I would do the tours on a Fri-Sat-Sun when the resort is very busy and crowded for the weekend. The weekdays-Especially Monday-Thursday were the least crowded at the resort.

Many of the shows are up at the NOVA theater near the Main Lobby and begin around 10ish; Go early to get a seat....The circus show was amazing! Plan your restaurant reservations based on if you plan to see a show later that night as you need to get the train tram up to the MAIN LOBBY area. One show-the fire show-is on the beach so I'd get a restaurant reservation at one of the restaurants near Gabi Beach.

Overall---our vacation was wonderful!! wonderful!! The service of the the staff was incredible! You were treated with kindness and respect by all of them! I would definitely return to Paradisus! Thank you for making me feel welcome and appreciated.

Go on a resort tour the first day to get acquainted with the resort areas. If you can afford it--pay for the Royal Service with a Butler.

The service employees work hard for you and appreciate the tips given to them.

Remember,,you are on Island Time.....ENJOY!!!!

Room Tip: Reserve a room closest to Gabi Beach and the pool area to be near most of the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorie345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Lorie,

Receive warm greetings from Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

We agree with you Lorie, when you say we created a truly VIP experience for our guests, because WE DO! That is our main objective, to provide to our guests a genuine relaxing experience to never forget. Our team is incredibly committed to our guest’s satisfaction by exceeding their expectations and giving you reasons to keep coming back to us.

We appreciate very much your comments, and you can be sure that we will extend you gratitude to our team, for them to feel proud of their hard work.

We will be waiting for your return to provide you the best island time at Paradisus Punta Cana!

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We are two single women who booked through Expedia. I have been to many other beachfront resorts throughout the world but had never been to Punta Cana. The most beautiful beach I have ever seen... sincerely. We upgraded to the new Royal Service which included a room steps from our private beach, just a few more steps to our private pool, and adults only. We had our own English speaking butler who gave us a cell phone to reach him for anything we wished... and, best of all, he made all our dinner reservations and arranged for complimentary transport back to the airport. Royal Service also includes a private restaurant (La Palapa) that served breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was also a Royal Service lounge that had hor d'ouerves and snacks available all day and evening. Every staff person we met, from wait service to housekeeping to landscapers to maintenance, were warm, friendly and very welcoming. There is a show every night in the main lobby that surprised me with its inventiveness and professionalism. One night there was a party on the beach that had everyone rocking! Our favorite restaurants (outside of La Palapa) were Fuego and Agua. But we never had even a mediocre meal -- the food was fantastic everywhere. The only complaint we had was that we had to leave too soon. Special shout outs to Jose, our butler; Matteo, the best beach concierge ever and our super star, Anthony Sosa. If I could I would go back tomorrow. I will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: Get as close to the beach as possible. Remember that if you open a door, the ac goes off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Carolyn,

Sunny greetings from Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for sharing such a warm an positive comment with us.

You have given us a gift with this review, by pointing out every experience you hag through your stay; this makes us feel happy and satisfied. For us there is nothing more important than our guest’s enjoyment and expectations meted.

We will certainly share your gratitude with the Royal Service team, especially with your butler Jose and beach runner Mateo, also to Anthony Sosa for their outstanding labor and excellent service given to you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; our entire crew is already waiting for you and your friend!

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

From the time that our three generations of family arrived to our departure nine day later, did we receive nothing but the best of care and service at this resort. Francisco, head of transportation was so accommodating and always had a solution for our needs. We traveled with our 82 year old father. The people and the resort are the most amazing and beautiful that I have experienced. From the Head of Staff down to the Pool Aerobics Instructor Michael made all six of our family members at home and made it the best vacation possible. ( Grandfather, Son, Daughter, and three Granddaughters) I will rave about this experience for a long time. ***** five stars

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Lisa,

Thank you in the first place for having chosen Paradisus Punta Cana for your family vacations.

We love when the entire family visits us, because we know how much you enjoy sharing great moments together; because of that, one of our main objectives is to provide the greatest ambient to every member of the family and it is so wonderful to know that you were able to relax together and most important, have fun!

Congratulations are going to spread out to our entire team, especially to Michael, and Francisco for making your experience memorable!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.5 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $273 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing