We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay !!! Someone broke into our room! Hotel did nothing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived at noon and our room wasn't ready. We couldn't go to eat or get a drink because we didn't have out bracelet. We couldn't get our bracelet until we checked in. Finally at 3:30 they checked us in. This was the start of many problems!
1. Power went on and off when we called they said that section of the hotel was having issues!
2. Cable wen out.
3. Room wasn't cleaned 2 days in a row.
4. The person who planned where we would eat each night gave us someone else's scheduled so we missed our first reservation!
5. When we stated that someone in our family has a bad seafood allergy and we didn't want to eat at the sushi place and asked for a different reservation they said no.
6. Bugs all in the room! That the hotel fumigated one day!
7. 2 bartenders and another employee said not to use a credit card since they had guest be victims of fraud.
8. Two times me key stopped working. The light would be green but the door would not open. Almost like it was doubled locked but my sister and I were both together. We had to fix our card numerous times.

All this could have been forgotten about until the last day!
1. I go in my room open my safe and all my money and jewelry was gone! All was left thankfully was our passports! I went on vacation with my sister and only the two of us new the code. ( keep in mind the safe says use a 4 digit code our safe wouldn't allow it. It only allowed a 3 digit code. We called the front desk and they said it was fine.) when we went to hurt services they were not helpful. They got annoyed and said that there is no proof someone robbed our safe that maybe nothing was ever in there. She told us she would run a detailed search. When the "investigated the safe there was no memory of us using the safe" !!! After a 2hour "detailed" search they said they have no proof and would not reimburse us or credit our account but if we would like to stay in the next 3 month they would upgrade us for a reduced fee to a different section of the resort!

This hotel was the worse hotel I have ever stayed at. The grounds and beach are beautiful but the service is horrible. If you want a safe and nice trip stay at the excellence or majestic !

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smiles20916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,877 - 6,883 of 13,212 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

My room key stopped working 3 times over the span of my 3 day stay. I normally have high patience for such things, but the main lobby is far from where we were staying so I would need to trolley it there and back... every single time. In addition, they offer barely any information on what is going on in terms of activities and reservations were such a pain.

I think a big thing was they were trying to set aside services to make everyone want to upgrade to Reserve status, which is their elite concierge service. I totally understand the benefit of having this service and why people who pay more should get more... but I also paid to go to your resort. So I shouldn't feel like I am getting less service for the sake of making them feel special.

On the beach, pay the staff to save cabana space for you. Just about everyone was doing it so even when we tried to get there by 7am to save space, they were all taken.

Food was just ok. The grill had great steak, and the lobster spaghetti at Aqua was a treat as well. But the buffets serve the exact same thing everyday. So don't expect much more than mediocre.

Also, since it seems like they save all the prime times for Reserve guests, make sure to make all your dinner reservations for each night as soon as you get in.

Finally, don't forget the bug spray. You definitely need it!

I probably won't be coming back to this hotel. Wasn't worth the money and I've been to at least 10-12 all-inclusives so I know what i'm talking about. My money is definitely better used at a different resort in Punta Cana

Room Tip: Try to get placed in a room by Gabi pool & bar. That's where most of the food options are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessshim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited the resort for my friend's wedding. We decided to stay 7 nights and so glad we did. The restaurants are great and the staff is very nice. You might think that in an all-inclusive, the service is slow. Not here! If you visit this resort, find these people at the Gabi Beach bar. They're great: Jose David, Norkis, Herendio, Julio Brosbon, and Donny. All such good people and made my trip a great one!

Room Tip: If you come to this resort, I recommend the Royal Service upgrade. We upgraded when we arrived and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luisgarcia152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Luis,

Thank you for selecting Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We are glad that you decided to visit us!

We would like to remind you first, that we are LuxClusive! what makes us entirely different from being just and All Inclusive Resort ! our philosophy of Pure Freedom is what we want you to breath and cherish while you are with us; and we are truly glad knowing that you were able to experiment our way of life and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We will share your gratitude with Jose David, Norkis, Herendio, Julio Brosbon and Donny!

We are looking forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I originally booked this hotel and upon my first day I upgraded to the "reserve" portion of the hotel. This hotel is rundown and needs desperate renovations and cleanliness. The hotel can do a better job at maintenance for sure. If your looking for a clean and put together place DO NOT BOOK HERE!!!!!
Book at the reserve instead or PALMA REAL sections.

I did see Hard Rock Cafe and it looks amazing, not sure why they received so many negative reviews, will go there next.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellacarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay at Paradisus Punta Cana. We appreciate very much our guest’s feedback, because thanks to them we can identify our improvements areas.

First of all we feel sad that our premises didn’t match with you expectations, but we can definitely assure you that we are currently working on our complete renovation. We are proud to have many years of history, and we constantly renew and improve our grounds because our guests deserve it. And most important, we are proud of the fact that our service and warmth or our team always prevails.

You can be sure that if decide to come back, you will find many positive changes to enjoy and relax.

We will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband had a wonderful time at Paradisus. The Royal Service was absolutely wonderful. Carlos Pepen was our butler, and he is the best!!! He made this trip the best trip ever. We would go back in a second! Jeremia Moto, Benita Mercedes, and Matiel Reyes always went above and beyond to make us happy. Benita, learned all of our names and our favorite drinks. Everyday, we would look forward to seeing her. If you go to the resort, you must get the royal service and request Carlos as your butler, and go to the swim up bar and hang with Benita, Mati, and Jeremia!! We miss you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Paradisus Resort for six days of relaxation and pampering! The grounds of the resort were gorgeous and the service was outstanding. We had the Royal Service which entitled us to a personal butler. Our butler Argenis was absolutely outstanding! He took care of any need we had and really seemed to care about making sure our stay was perfect. He even checked in with us on his day off and made sure his replacement took good care of us. One evening we asked if we could have a bottle of wine left in our room and we came back to wine and candles, flower petals scattered in a heart on the bed and balloons. We made many friends at the resort. Our favorite bartender Jorgeluis Ramirez had our favorite drinks ready for us every time we came up to the bar and his cheerful greetings always made us feel welcome. We also really enjoyed the nightly shows and the dancing that followed. Our favorite entertainer, Checo always greeted us by name and seemed happy to see us each night. The variety of entertainment made each night special and seeing Checo up on stage made us feel like we had a friend in the troops! We really can't say enough about the staff, Jerimiah, who took care of us on the Royal Service beach made sure we had everything we could want whether it was extra towels, drinks or snacks. A return trip to DR will definitely include another stay at the Paradisus Punta Cana!

Room Tip: Go for the Royal Service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Stacey,

Sunny greeting from Paradisus Punta Cana! On behalf of our entire team I would like t thank you for selecting us as your holiday destination.

We are truly happy that our Royal Service went beyond your expectations, because our goal is to always surprise our guests with excellent service and facilities. It is wonderful to know that each one of your days with us were especial and even magical! In Paradisus Punta Cana we believe in romance and true love, because that is what we feel for our guests!

Our Royal Service department and our entire crew were very pleased to meet you, especially Argenis who was devoted to you as all our team always is with each of our guests. We will be waiting for your return with arms wide open and with many more interesting things for you to enjoy!

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

From north avenue bar at Paradisus Punta Cana, We are here!
first day, check in express by Ms. Cristy Guest concierge. She was very friendly.
We found that this hotel is a hidden treasure in the Caribbean waiting to be discovered by people.

Second day, met to Nathanael, Guest Concierge manager, excellent person who commissioned coordinal all with his team, Sanny, Ines and Ramirez.

FOOD VERY WELL!
WELL DRINKS!
ROOM VERY WELL!

WE ARE VERY HAPPY AND SAD BECAUSE WE LEAVE TOMORROW! : (

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvins772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Kelvin,

Receive warm greetings from Paradisus Punta Cana!

We are very sad that you are leaving too; it would be wonderful to us if our guests could stay as long as they want to. But we know life goes on and that is why we pay so much attention to your feedback and requests, because that’s the way we have to accomplish all your expectations and go beyond them. We want you to be in Pure Freedom on you vacations!

I´m sure that Ms. Cristy, Nathanael and our entire team will be waiting for your return!

Kind Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.5 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $270 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing