We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful all-inclusive experience on a gorgeous beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We recently enjoyed a ten day stay at the Paradisus Punta Cana. Our group consisted of our family of four (including two young boys aged 9 and 5) and another family of three (including a 10 year-old boy). Overall we had a fantastic stay and the resort delivered on all fronts and exceeded expectations in many cases.

Check-in: Upon arrival at the resort - roughly a 40 minute drive from the Punta Cana International Airport - check-in went very smoothly and we experienced very little wait, if any. The welcome was made all the better through a delicious welcome cocktail and some refreshing scented chilled towels. Although we arrived well ahead of our 3pm check-in time we were told our rooms were ready and we were granted immediate access. Although we had booked our family trips separately, the front desk was able to accommodate our request to be given rooms in the same building. (We didn’t realize it at the time but this would almost prove to be essential given the size of the property.) The check-in process was then handed over to a “Vacation Concierge” who spent some time helping to orient us with some of the hotel basics including assistance navigating the layout of the enormous property and offered details on the various a la carte restaurants. I must include a shout-out to our Vacation Concierge (Carlos Lluberes – olà!) who routinely checked-in on us during the course of our stay to ensure that all was in order and also took care of arranging many of our dinner reservations – he was simply terrific. Having seen him almost every day our kids also became quite fond of Carlos and insisted on a photo with their new friend as we departed on our last day!

Property: The grounds of this resort are very extensive and are beautifully and incredibly well-manicured. It is truly an impressive setting and compares to the finest five star grounds we have seen anywhere. For those with mobility limitations the size of the property is certainly something to be aware of. There is a free golf-cart-type shuttle service that runs non-stop which can be very helpful when travelling from the beach to the main lobby buildings. Although it can be busy at peak times (after dinner in particular or when leaving the main lobby after a show) we rarely had to wait for more than a few minutes for the next cart to arrive.

Room: Although I’m not sure if this is true for the Royal Service suites, most of the regular buildings appear to have 16 units spread across on two floors. Our room was a ground level room in Building 27. The location of this building was also great as it was quite close to the beach. All ground level rooms come with a small outdoor patio and a garden area that included a large screened day-bead. Our second group had a room on the second floor which units all appear to include a balcony with an outdoor Jacuzzi. The rooms are comfortable and functional but they are not overly spacious. In our case we had two double beds separated by a single night stand and a step-down living room area that included a table and chairs as well as a fold out sofa. I note there is very little storage for clothes other than a modest closet which a single person could fill quite easily. The bathroom was well appointed with a large dual-shower glass enclosure, although there was no bath tub – likely not ideal for those with younger kids. Water pressure was very good at all times although we did (on a single occasion) experience a limit to the hot water. The vanity portion of the bathroom and the closet in our room could have used a little updating.

Food: Overall, the food at Paradisus is excellent – and due to the variety of buffet and a la cart options, it ranks among the very best we have had at an all-inclusive resort. The two main buffets always had seating available, drinks were refreshed consistently and the service was pleasant . Compared to other all-inclusives, the buffets appear small. Looks can be deceiving. Each time we dined at the buffet (every day for breakfast, most lunches and 2 dinners) we were very pleased with the selection and, more importantly, the quality of the food. All the food is kept appropriately hot or cold as necessary. The made to order items are prepared quickly and in generous portions.

We thoroughly enjoyed the a la carte restaurants at the Paradisus. At other all-inclusives, we have often found that the a la cartes are serving the same food you find at the buffet, only with slower service. Not so at Paradisus. With the exception of the Mexican restaurant, which we didn’t like as much as the others, we had very pleasant and delicious meals at each a la cart. (We didn’t visit the Italian a la carte because it’s adults only.) A particularly special treat was the availability of Aria for a la carte lunches. In the middle of a long hot day a the beach, it felt so civilized to sit down and be served a multi-course lunch on white table linens, with free flowing bottles of ice cold white zinfandel. Although it’s not included as part of the “all inclusive” package, we dined at Fuego one night. We thoroughly enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu (which was a good value) and would compare it to fine dining experiences we’ve had in North America and Europe.

The availability of room service is also a very nice touch which is included with your stay, other than a small delivery fee of $5 per order, regardless of the amount of food being ordered.

The burgers, hot dogs and wings available at the pool bar are delicious and convenient when you want to grab a quick lunch without doing the full buffet.

If you go to the main bar (closest to the beach) in the morning, (and ask nicely) they will dig out a pineapple and fill it with your choice of beverage. Same goes for coconuts which the groundskeepers harvest from the property, cut off an end and offer to guests with a straw. (with or without rum) That pineapple cocktail was one of the highlights of our trip. Be prepared to have everyone ask you where you got it and run off in that direction.

Beach/Pool/Activities: The beach in and around this property is beautiful. The sand is soft and powdery and has no rocks or shells that can prove hard on the kids’ feet. The ocean water was warm and the constant waves (particularly big and strong on a few days) made for spectacular fun for kids and grown-ups alike. We did have a mild-moderate "seaweed situation" during our stay. We weren’t sure if it was related to recent storm activity or not, but it was always cleared away. From time to time, there is a small amount of seaweed in the water as well (the long flat grass kind). There was no service of drinks or food down at our end of the beach, which would be something that would really make the beach experience at Paradisus complete.

One day, they set up a giant inflatable waterslide at the main pool . Although this was great fun for our kids, it was a little annoying that the kids needed to pay $15 for a an all-day access bracelet – in my view the resort should simply offer this up to guests for free. This is especially the case because once the kids see it, there’s no way they don’t want to have a ride.

Our kids enjoyed access to ping pong, archery and the “Euro bungie” (a harnessed trampoline) for which the resort charged a small ($5) fee. Paradisus had the most daycare-like kids club we’ve ever seen at an all inclusive. We didn’t use it, but they appeared to be equipped to take care of infants and toddlers as well as older children. They have a small “kid buffet” set up in there, tvs, games, video games, and an outdoor play structure. The down side of the kids club is that it is at the opposite end of the resort from the beach. At a resort as huge as Paradisus, that would be very inconvenient for parents who wish to spend time at the beach and drop the kids off for quick intervals.


Service: Service overall is professional, polite and effective. If I had to offer any criticism at all of the Paradisus Punta Cana it would be that the hotel, in some respects, attempts to be all things to all people: on the one hand a family-friendly resort with many kid-friendly features, on the other an exclusive adults-only resort (the “Royal Service”) and yet a third “ultra luxury” format (the “Reserve”) – which is also kid friendly. The result is a somewhat awkward mix of adult only restaurants, Royal Service only restaurants only steps away from lounges and restaurants filled with families with young kids. While in fairness, the Paradisus manages to balance them all well, it may sometimes be confusing to guests who are trying to navigate where they’re allowed to be and not.

We would happily return to Paradisus for another wonderful family vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanuckLLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear guest,

I’m so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Paradisus Punta Cana. Service is a top priority for us, and we're happy to learn that our staff exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our rooms, and convenient location.

I’m delight that you found our gastronomical offer to be excellent; we offer a variety of specialty restaurants in order to satisfy the demands of our guests of many different nationalities.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay and for your suggestions which are taken with a maximum interest.

Thanks again - and please do come see us again soon those welcome cocktails awaits you

Warmest Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,994 - 7,000 of 13,210 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had several rooms, all promised upgrades, got zero. Bugs in some rooms, toilets didn't flush! Couldn't find anyone who cared. No one could get the front desk to react to anything. There are so many other good places, why go there? This place is not cheap but the in charge staff made us feel they were doing us a favor. Grounds and beach were great. Many wait staff also great but very interested in being tipped. I am a vodka rocks drinker, the Stoli was watered as was the rum! Would not go back, cannot give positive reference. Very unhappy...

Room Tip: DEMAND a refurbished room, see the room before accepting it, try thr lights and bath, air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

First off, I did not rate the Paradisus with five stars because that would imply perfection, which does not exist to me. so four stars it is. I had an excellent stay at this resort. I visited Paradisus as a solo traveler and the staff went out of their way to make me comfortable and provide the occassional company. Its beautiful at this resort. Did not get tired of the decor and ambiance. Everything on the property was very clean and conveniently located to your room. Stylish. The beach... the main reason I took my vacation... was a joy to kick back and enjoy lazy days. I went ahead and paid for the adults only, Royal Service package they offer... for the added peace and tranquility you get there... and I didn't make a mistake in doing so. If you can swing the extra cash for the Royal Service it is definitely worth it. I didn't have to lift a finger for anything I did not feel like, being that you get a personnal butler who will cater to your every want and need. My main thing, as I said, was just kickin' it on the beach. And if I didn't feel like going to one of the restaurants for breakfast or lunch for fear of interrupting my "beach time" you could even ask your butler to bring you something to eat while still on the beach. The food was excellent. Those who complained about he food I noticed were of the type who's palate doesn't extend beyond the burgers and hot dogs that are also provided poolside as a quick snack to anyone who wants them. The dishes were unique, delicious, and well prepared. I mostly ate at the restaurant exclusively reserved for Royal Service guests, La Palapa. And the waitstaff was warm, friendly, and professional. While at the private section of the beach reserved for Royal Service the Royal Service pool staff and busboys who will bring you anything you want to drink from the pool bar was a nice perk. Matiel Reyes, Jose Reyes, and Benita Mercedes, were exceptional in their service. Overall, I had a great time, all I could want of anything I wanted. Almost overkill ( in a good way ) would definitely go back sometime in the future.

Room Tip: any room in Royal Service is pretty much ON the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Christopher,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, we agree that there is always room for improvement and that is the reason why our guests’ opinion are so important to us. Thank you so much.

We are delighted that you allowed us to be part of your vacation experience and it appears you thoroughly enjoyed your stay including your privacy, accommodations, service and the beach!
I will extend your kind comments to our associates and their departments.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for five days and loved this resort. The quality of food and drinks were best we have seen in DR. Although the resort is huge, the train service was helpful to get around. We found the staff to be very helpful and always things to do at night. We were considering having our wedding there so we got upgraded to the royal service which was a new room right on the beach with jacuzzi on the balcony. Only hassle we had was from the airport in arrival. All and all good trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationgrl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write us your feedback.
I am thrilled to see you had a nice time while visiting Paradisus Punta Cana and that you found the staff, the food and the location to be ¨beautiful¨. It would be a pleasure if we could be a part of such a memorable occasion!
Once again, thank you so much.

Warmest Regards,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I loved this resort! The beach is phenomenal and the staff is friendly but overworked. The grounds are well kept and attractive. There aren't too many downsides but the biggest disappointment was the food and the drinks. The bread and soup were the only things I could stomach for the 10 days we stayed. Drinks are watered down. Also we were robbed of an hour and a half of beach time to sit in on a time-share sell. Not too happy about that. Otherwise the vacation was awesome! I would recommend this resort to anyone who doesn't mind bringing some additional snacks to supplement the soup :)

Room Tip: Near the spa there is a shed hidden away with a very loud and constant (24 hr) humming noise. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qt161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and your recommendation!
It makes us very glad to learn that you had a happy honeymoon with us! However it saddens me to know that we did not meet your food expectation, we offer a wide culinary tour through a lot of international gastronomies.
At any rate, we look forward to welcome you back do not hesitate in contacting us before your next stay, our chefs at all the restaurants are willing to spoil you by preparing some special dishes even out of the menu if necessary.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We checked in on April 19th for a one week stay.

Beautiful Resort, great service.

We stayed in building 2, very close to the beach and the main pool! The rooms are a little outdated, but had a small kitchen area with a microwave and small fridge stocked with water, soda and beer. The beer at the resort is Presidente.

They do have top shelf liquor...Johnny Walker Red (Black if you are Royal Service). The vodka was Stoli.

Beds were Ok..not too hard. Linens were Ok...

Water pressure in the shower was not good...the shower also turns hot and cold.

You can smoke on the property and even in some outdoor restaurants.

The chairs in the shade around the pool were pretty much gone by 8AM...

The activities were fun..water exercise was a blast.

The food was not all that. The buffet was crowded but decent for breakfast. Lunch at the buffet, not so good.

The Palapa restaurant was very good...but only for Royal Service or Reserve.

The Bana restaurant was very entertaining, food was decent.

Vento was very good..try the tuna.

The Grill and Aqua were not so good...fatty steaks at the grill and cold food at the Aqua.

Mole was quite good also.

The Spa is quite expensive but the massage was wonderful. There is a pool there you can use, no one was in there when I went.

The resort is large and very tropical....you will be doing a lot of walking. There is a tram that comes around every 15 minutes or so.

Don't do the Higuey City and Shopping tour...they take you to the supermarket to shop!

The Samana tour (by small plane) is a long day..including a horseback ride, followed by a climb down a steep cliff..to see the El Limon Waterfall..this tour includes lunch and a trip to the coffee and cocoa plantation and also to a cigar making shop..you will also take a catamaran to a private Island. Very physical tour and about a 12 hour day.

I would give this hotel a 5 star, but the food is not so good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRESA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your notes with us and with the other travelers about your recent stay in Paradisus Punta Cana.

I’m glad to read that overall you had and enjoyable stay with us, however I’m sorry to learn that our food did not meet your expectations and I will like you to know that your comments will be taken into consideration.

Your feedback definitely helps us to improve and leads us to achieve service excellence.
We hope to host you again in a near future.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

25 times in 13 years.. YUP- it’s true!! People ask WHY do we go back to the same resort? It’s easy. The resort is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, friendly and always happy! OH- and did I mention SAFE!!! I just can’t say enough good things about this incredible resort. There is now a group of 14 of us that return every year (some of us twice a year) for the same reasons (and NO, we don’t own timeshares). Most of us have met there over the years and have formed lasting friendships. We have been to several other islands and resorts, yet keep returning to Paradisus.
Many changes have occurred over the years and all for the better. The new Gabi restaurant/beach bar is gorgeous. Sit on the beach and enjoy the music and shows. Make sure to let Danny and Julio make your favorite beverage while entertaining you!! Restaurants have changed (there are plenty to choose from) and we were very impressed with the food/service. We love Vento- try to get there at least 2x during our stay. I would highly recommend Royal Service (adults only)!! The management team of Alexander Arias, Enrique Garcia and Mildred Carvajal along with the rest of the Royal Service staff, will bend over backwards to make your stay memorable. It is definitely VIP treatment from the ice cold towels upon arrival to the individual Butler service. Don’t be afraid to ask for a bottle of wine delivered to your room so you can relax on the balcony and take in the exquisite views!! The butlers (we had Steve and Juan) can’t do enough for you and are always available. Just call them on the cell phone you are provided with! Don’t forget to indulge in a scented pillow for a soothing night’s sleep. The new Royal Service dining area is incredible with a wonderful menu, delicious food and top notch service. Make sure to enjoy a cold beverage on the pristine beach with your Beach runners Jose Reyes and Matiel Reyes. These guys are quick, so get ready for the next round!! Yikes……Swim up to the private Royal Service pool bar while Benita Mercedes serves you with a constant smile on her face. If you stay in the Reserve (we have and it’s gorgeous- very family friendly) it’s drinky drinky time with Maiker Ramirez!!! Try to make it to the North bar (lobby) and let Roberto Espinoze entertain you… well worth the laughs!!
The resort is huge with trams running all the time. No trouble getting around. The grounds are impeccably kept; make sure to bring your camera!! There is a casino on the premises. It may not be large but can still give you hours of entertainment. If you get a chance, make sure to indulge in a massage… heavenly!
A big shout out to the Hotel’s management team… Rafael Torres, Eduardo Castro and Pablo Cogolludo who are always walking around the resort to ensure your stay is perfect. You don’t see THAT at other resorts!!!
Thanks to ALL of the staff at Paradisus… another perfect trip. Can’t wait to see everyone in November.
OH- one more thing… remember, this is the Caribbean, NOT the hustle and bustle of the big cities… try to relax, enjoy and make beautiful memories!!!!!

Marisa and Scott

Room Tip: Go Royal Service !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Marisa,

After reading such a review i can not say anything different than THANK YOU SO MUCH for being part of the Paradisus¨ family , it make us feel really proud reading your loyalty and satisfaction with our service. I’m very glad to learn that you loved the changes we have made and the usual great attention of our associates.

Thank you so much for letting us indulged you with the scented pillow, the massages, and the bottle of wine! I really enjoyed reading about your experience.

Marisa, we look forward to welcome you back for the 26 time! Do not hesitate in contacting us if there is anything we can do for you.

Regards
Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.5 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $272 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing