We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradisus Punta Cana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We are an African American family of four (2 young men aged 19 and 13). We have been to this property three times before and will likely return again. The Dominican is a comfortable place for us. We find it a great mix of African and Latin cultures. The food is not as bland as traditional Mexican food and the music is a great mix of Caribean/Latin music. We enjoy seeing people of all hues and various hair types. We have enjoyed haircuts, hair styling and pedicures in the town of Punta Cana. My son researched tattoos in the DR and got one by Marcos in the town of Punta Cana across the street from the Punta Cana Bavaro mall. Marcos did a great job and everything was sanitory/sterile. His design was great. Josephine braided my hair and gave me Bantu knots that were really becoming & it only took 1.5hrs and my hair is very thick.

We stayed at the Paradisus Punta Cana and loved it. We have a week in the Reserve which is wonderful. Our first time at the Reserve was 6 years ago and it is beginning to show some wear. It appears the owners have continuously upgraded and we like the changes ie a new unscale beach bar and new interiors in the main hotel rooms.
This is a great hotel for rest yet there is plenty to do like shows, exercise in the pools, beach activities, painting for the kids, a kids room and pool, rock climbing, ping pong. (Pool tables would be great as well as more ping pong tables in places people frequent at night.) The shows are high quality and very entertaining. The food is great as it is always fresh and beautifully presented. We do not like making reservations for dinner each night. There are adeaquate places to eat without reservations but the specialty restaurants are nice and the food is varied. It is often difficult to get a dinner reservation before 8:45pm. We are too hungry to wait that late to eat and sometimes the beach has worn us out and bedtime is early. My 19 year old son would like more entertainement options in the evening but this is not a resort with alot of young people. (We visited the Hard Rock Cafe and there were many young people there and more fun entertainment options).
ALexander Lopez definitely made the entertainment options the most fun. He led pool exercises that were fun, danced in the evening with dance troupes and encouraged the young people to go to discos and parties in the evening. He is naturally friendly and engaging; always upbeat and accommadating. Hendrix checked us in and made the experience quick and easy. He was very informative and helpful.
Occassionally, we were told something was "impossible" or couldnt be done. We found that if you wait a little and approach another staff member with a concern or request, your need was often met.
Paradadisus Punta Cana is great. We will continue to return as long as the grounds continue to be fantastic, the rooms well maintained, the food excellent and the staff helpful. We are no longer interested in experiencing unknown resorts during our spring break week.

Room Tip: We prefer the reseerve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,124 - 7,130 of 13,216 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great beach, clean and well laid out resort. But the highlight was the food. 2 must visit restaurants were Palazzo and Aqua restaurants that are managed and directed by Chef Vincenzo Napolitano. This Italian born chef, has mastered italian cuisine. We had rissotto, lamb, pasta, and all were top notch. We ate at these two places the majority of our trip.
Overall, 4 star resort, 5+ star chef.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We do appreciate you share your experience at Paradisus Punta Cana with other travellers.

We are glad you had the opportunity to meet our Chef Vincenzo Napolitano and enjoy his cuisine.
At Paradisus Punta Cana we do have several restaurants, as you mentioned PALAZZO and AQUA have a wonderful variety of italian and mediterranean food.

We are looking forward to your return and wish you had a safe trip back home.

Warm regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the DR but we were with a couple that had been to the Paradisis before. Our room was nice, we were in walking distance to the beach, pool, and most of the restaurants. I didn't realize how important that was, but the place is so big that if you are not near the pool you have to wait for a trolly (which is usually about a 10 minute wait). The food was pretty good, we were fortunate enough to get reservations for every night we were there because the airline lost one of the luggages of the couple we were with. The hotel could not have been more accomodating!!!! It wasn't even their fault that the luggage was missing, but they wanted to make sure we all had a good time so they did whatever they could to make us happy. The pool was great, the beach was great, the food was good. The hotel grounds were immaculate and beautiful!! The beach at night was my favorite, the way they lit it up was just amazing. I did get to see one of the shows, it was ok. My only complaint is that there is a communication barrier. Unfortunately none of us spoke Spanish, and there was maybe on person there that spoke English, so it was very difficult to communicte with them.
I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thrmltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We do appreciate your comments and we are excited for your experience with us.

Our main objective is to meet your expectations, not just in accommodation and comfort, also with our high cuisine, and facilities such as our wonderful pools and beach.

We lament very much you feel our staff did not have a fluent English. At Dominican Republic the first language is Spanish, however at Paradisus Punta Cana, we offer private English lessons to our associates because the best way to exceed expectations is a good communication with our guests.
We will love to host you again in the near future at PARADISE in Paradisus Punta Cana.

Warm Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just come back from a return visit to this resort. It was amazing how many people remebered us! As usual the grounds were pristine, the service exceptional abd for the most part the food was excellent. Room service dinner menus were the exceptions. I had a salad that was sitting in a pool of water. We were with Royal Service this year and had the pleasure of having Kelvin as our butler. he was able to help with any requests that I had. As before, on our first full day there, there was a ramp for me up the steps to our villa. Staff were extremely helpful with any areas that were not handicapped accessible. I am an experienced traveller, and have not had this level of service elsewhere in the Carribbean. The Paradisus experience would not be the same without our beloved beach runners-Mikey,Ramon and Jose. They keep us entertained, well-watered and available for anything you may need. We will most certainly be returning again next year!

Room Tip: Upgrading to Royal Service was well worth the extra cost. The rooms are right next to the beach, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TOgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers. Your satisfaction is our team's priority and they'll be happy to know they have been recognized for a job well done
I´m so glad you decide to return to Paradisus Punta Cana and we look forward to welcome you back to our property soon!
Thank you so much!

Warmest Regards,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks with an other friends couple, at the Paradisus Punta Cana from Feb. 12 to Feb. 26, 2013. Both couples bought a NoliPlus package from Nolitours/Air Transat (All inclusive services and care). We feel that we paid too much for the overall value given by the Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel & Resort, in the Dominican Republic. We are experienced travelers in the Carribean, Central America and Mexico. We stayed at various Hôtels and Resorts (4 to 5 stars), but never experienced something like that. The personnel had given us excellent services and was courteous and polite. The Hotel grounds and vegetation are superb and are maintained in excellent conditions. The rooms we were given were not "Luxury Junior Suites", as stated on the Paradisus Punta Cana Web Site (Newly renovated Junior Luxury Suites?). They were "Very old and the matresses were adequate" (The 2 beds suites) and the washrooms were not "Completely Equiped" (Only a shower, no bath and stained mirrors (The 2 beds suites)?).

We had nothing to say about the cleanliness of the rooms, washrooms, Lobby, Lobby washrooms, the restaurants, the beach, the pool and all the ground surroundings. Exception, being the awfull smell that was floating around on the main walkway to the Main Lobby. This is not ecological? The beach was spaklingly clean and so was the main pool.

The food in the restaurants was of excellent quality, tasty and fresh, in the "Buffet Restaurants" (Naos & Gabi Beach), but the food variation was always the same, day after days. As for the "À la Carte Restaurants", the food was of excellent and very good quality and freshness (Palazzo, Bahna, Vento, Aqua, Mole and Gabi Club), but the menu did not change throughout our stay. The exception was the "Grill Restaurant", where the food was not fresh, not hot and not "cooked", as per what was written on the menu (The Pork Ribs had 80% of fat to 20% of meat).

The bars were serving good selection of liquor, wine and beer. The "Specialty drinks" had more water and juice than alcohol. When we switched to "Straight drinks", the barmen couldn't fool us anymore (We ordered specialty drinks and we mixed them with the straight drinks, afterwards)!

We were highly impressed by the "Day and night activities", the nightly shows (Superb spectacles). We played at the Cocotal Golf Course which is a superb golf course, well maitaned and the caddies were exceptionaly helpfull and polite. The only recommandation is that the Golf Course should increase the frequency of the shuttles between the hotel and the golf course. This way they might have more players, as many players abadonned after waiting for 50 to 60 minutes, between shuttles!

We produced a written letter to our Travel Agent and to Nolitours Travel and they will go back to the Paradisus Punta Cana, in order to correct the deficiencies that we experienced!

Room Tip: If you ever still go to that Hotel, make sure that you get a "Fully renovated Junior Luxury Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andre527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have been a member of Melia Cancun for many years and after hearing many good things about Punta Cana, decided to stay a week there. This was our first trip to the DR and while finding the airport a little confusing, it was great to land less than 30 minutes from the resort, Paradisus Punta Cana. We were so impressed with the service (Miguel was terrific) and facilities that I upgraded my membership which would have allowed us to stay in the Reserve building, but decided not to move and to stay in our current building.
Our room was in Bldg. 3, quite large and comfortable, and only about 50 yards from the beach. Service on the Reserve beach was truly wonderful from Maiker and Ramon . The food ranged from good to very good, with a wide variety available from many different restaurants.
We will have no hesitation to stay here again, or at Paridisus Palma Real on future visits. Melia has a terrific program and value for people interested in a timeshare program.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Joan,

It's really appreciated that you shared your comments with us.
I´m so glad you have chosen Paradisus Punta Cana as a destination for your first trip to Domincan Republic, and im even happier to learn that we have surpassed your expectations. Thank you so much!
will be anxiously expecting your next visit to provide you another wonderful Paradisus experience!

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Overall the resort experience was good. The room was a little tired (12-15 years old they said), but it was big and comfortable. The Reserve area looked a lot newer. The bad part is that I was allergic to the bed linens, towels, etc. It must have been the detergent they wash the stuff in. I had hives from Sun to Thurs almost head to toe. I finally figured it out and stopped using their towels and went to bed fully clothed as to avoid touching the sheets. We requested a room close to the pool, which we got. It turned out to be the best location for everything, close to most restaurants, the main pool and the beach! The food was good, nothing was great. Not even close to the quality or variety of the food at Sandals, but we didn't starve. The Grill restaurant was the best, huge Rib Eyes, we went there twice. The Mexican was good, the Italian was pretty good as well. The Mediterranean Aqua was OK, depending on what you had. We had lunch there twice and dinner once. The pizza and the Mahi Mahi sandwich weren't good, but the steak and pasta was good. There were 3 restaurants that weren't included. We decided to pay the supplement at La Palapa which was supposed to be Brazilian, but there was nothing Brazilian about it. Our appetizers were great - mushroom risotto and lobster salad but the grilled lobster main was not good - small, very little taste, tough and not served with anything ( they mentioned fruit, but it didn't come). We were upset that we were going to have to pay the $15 each supplement, but in the end they didn't charge us so that was good. The buffet was small, but the food was ok. I have been to many that were better at multiple resorts (Riu etc.) The free Wifi in the room was great, I would sacrifice great food for that! We did not try the room service, the delivery charge deterred us a little so we didn't bother. The service at all of the à la carte restaurants was really good, and also good at the buffets except for one morning. The house keeping was mediocre, clean,but they forgot to do things unless I left a good tip and a note (forgot to restock the fridge 3 times, no washcloths, one very late room cleaning 5 pm). The main pool was awesome. Lots of space, places to sit, shade etc. The service at the pool bar was good. There were plenty of loungers and you didn't have to get up super early to get a good one in the shade. There were 3 covered sun beds around the pool which were awesome and comfy. Hard to get because people get up early to claim them, but we got one a few times for part of the day. They could use more of those. The beach was beautiful. Overall we had a good week. If you rate the Sandals Grand Antiguan and the El Dorado a five, then the Paradisus was a 4+.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BonitaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.5 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $273 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing