We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent choise!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and I spent a week at Paradisus Punta Cana.it was our best vacations. When we got to the hotel we meet with Mr. Nathaniel Perez, the guest manage. We had a problem making reservation at the restaurant and finding place at the beach. Mr. Perez, went out of his way to make sure we had the issue resolved. The service was very friendly and the food was exquisite. We are planing to come back !! Thanks Mr. Perez for being so nice to us and always with a smile.

The Wes family

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhonsonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Director at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Jhonson,

Letting us the hope to welcome you again is our greatest satisfaction!! Thank you so much.
I already shared your comments with Nathanael to keep him very motivated, he is a great asset of the hotel!!

Our Sun, smiles, beaches and sand await you eagerly!!

Kind Greetings,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,007)
There are newer reviews for Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,188 - 7,194 of 13,007 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Let me start out by saying that thanks to Carlos Valdez, we had a great 40 year Anniversary celebration. He set up reservations for us and had flowers there for us. There was also champaign and fresh fruit delivered to our room to help celebrate.

Great live entertainment each night in lobby Theater. My husband even stayed up to watch the shows most nights (thanks Caesar for recommending the shows). Water and tropicals were spectacular. Resort was very beautiful and fantastic to take long walks each day. Sakura (Japanese), Vita, Romantica (Italian) restaurants were fantastic (recommend the Seabass at the Vita or Romantica). Chinese restaurant was good as well. Gabi Beach restaurant had just opened and was always too packed at lunch so preferred to go to Ciel which had same buffets. You could get fresh omlets or eggs for breakfast and stir fry for lunch or dinners which were good. The waiters were great (Valentin and Lillian were very nice at Ciel), Bartendars Jose David, Julio Garcias, and Martin Javier were awesome. Caesar, Edrey, Franciso, Jonathan, Francis were all so entertaining on the beach. There were daily dance lessons and volleyball games and other group games that were played. The only suggestions I have is there needs to be more Palapas for shade on the beach. If you did not get up before 6:30 you usually could not get one. Also, the air conditioning in the room went out the last night we stayed. The maid needs to come earlier (she usually cleaned the room between 5:00 and 5:30 PM). She also did not have wash rags (had to call guest services to get them every day). Also, our room was on the first floor and close to the restaurants. You could hear the delivey trucks and guest trolleys all day and night as they were picking up and dropping off people. Also need a larger selection of beer (only serve Presidente). Those were the only complaints. Overall, the trip was wonderful and we definitely will be back and recommend Paradisus to our friends.

Room Tip: Had junior suite nearer to the beach and had a great private garden. This was shorter walk to the b...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Anita,

Thank you for sharing you experience with us! In anniversaries should always be lots of champagne!!...that is what we are here for and what celebrations are for!.

Thank you for your compliments and for your value suggestions! Anita, we hope we can create that magic for you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Marcelo, Pablo, Martin, Jesus and Anthony, you guys are the best!! thanks for a wonderful evening hosting our group from Transat! I promised you I would post some pics for you.....the hotel is truly amazing, beautiful rooms, gorgeous beach and the food was spectacular

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank marlintravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank so much for letting us know you had a wonderful time in Paradise! And for highlighting the beauty of the hotel!
I´m looking forward to see your pictures and to welcome you again in a near future!

Best Regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was the most fantastic holiday ever at Paradisus Punta Cana. What made it even more special were the people in there. I would go back anytime because of the service Jose, Maria, Ange, Romon from activities provided, and from restaurant side of it the best service was from Anthony Diffo and Maria Oltiz.
Thanks to those people for making it more special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Ellie,

It was lovely to read your comment about how fantastic was your holiday here!
I don’t get tired of saying that our associates are our most important asset in every way and when I read that our guests feel their warmth it makes me feel even more proud. Thank you.

As you suggest… come back anytime soon!

Kind Regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

In total, very good. The staff and setting make this place special. All the staff from the waiters to bartenders and the event coordinators are what made the trip. My wife and kids really enjoyed their hospitality, warmth and dancing!

Food was fine, while buffet for breakfast and lunch, there are plenty of other options for dinner including Japanese, Italian etc.

The resort will try to hard sell you on a vacation club from the beginning, just don't be afraid to push back. Its your vacation!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, you may want to go bigger than the junior suite.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giantfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear guest,

It is so good to know that you had a very good stay with us, we love to read that the family enjoyed a few days of our services!
Hopefully you will visit us soon that will give us the opportunity to serve you again
Thank you so much

Kind regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It's our third time at a Melia resort (1 time at Paradisus Palma Real and 2 times at Paradisus Punta cana). This time we stayed at the "reserve" because it seemed nicer and had dedicated area for kids.

What we liked:
-Beautiful grounds and landscapes
-Great pools (clean) and kiddies pools
-Kid Zones
-Concierge service (for restaurant reservations)
-Gifts offered to our kids
-Accommodation at the reserve (big family concierge 1 bedroom suite, on the 3rd floor)
- Staff in general is very nice (you need to speak a bit of spanish)
-Casino on site and another one also 5 minutes away outside of the resorts (if you like Craps)
-Themed restaurant (Sakura and Terra did not disappoint)
- Public Bathrooms are everywhere really clean!!!
-Cellular phone was given for the duration of our stay
-Wifi in our room and on property for free (good quality and reception)
-Beach chairs (with cushions and umbrella) were reserved for us everyday first row in front of the ocean

what we did not like:
-Being tricked into signing for a Melia Club Card upon check in (we did not at the end)
-Food is really below average (buffet at Gabi by the reserve was ok, and Sakura and Terra were nice, but aside from that the rest was really poor) and we are not picky eaters!!
-Room service takes forever and always came cold (even coffee in the morning) to be fair, one time we asked for an item that was not on the menu for our kids (mash potatoes) and they did a fresh one just for us, so they are nice anyway.
-Concierge was nice and helpful but we would have liked to get the gifts on the first day since it included a set of kids bath supplies and few toys (our stay was 4 nights).
-Room on the 3rd floor without elevator (hard for stroller and 2 kids with a large beach bag) although in the end, we were glad we were on high floor as we like to sleep late and they was no noise coming from the pool.

At the end of the day it all comes down to the food. Back in 2004 there were lobsters and a lot of choice of buffet food of top quality, now no lobsters (maybe at royal service?). We did had a nice vacation and we would comeback, but they have to do something about the food. The reserve is really a great place to stay because it has everything for kids, it's also quieter even if it's not right on the beach (you can walk 10 mins or take a shuttlem the reserve has EXpress shuttle running all day long to the beach and restaurants without any stops). If you do stay at the reserve, consider to be by the kids pools because you will have less noise from the pool bar at night (if you put your kids early to bed).

A+++ to the Kids Zone team, they are caring, sweet and very nice.

Room Tip: The Reserve does not have elevators, so consider ground floor if you have a heavy stroller. However...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie49125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager. at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Marie,

Thank you for sharing your comments both good and less good about your recent stay with us at Paradisus Punta Cana. All your comments are taken with the importance in which they are offered.
Many changes are taking place in our resort and we would like the opportunity to welcome you again so that way, hopefully, we can change your perception in the negative aspects.

Best Regards,
Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed Nov 22-25 for a wedding

The level service and everything else at PPC is inconsistent....

Check in
Kind of slow. They were very nice to accommodate my request to have a room on the second floor. They assign someone to talk to you after you check in to give you general information of the resort. That person also invites you to a breakfast and tour (probably the time share pitch I have read about in other people's reviews). When you decline the tour, the person tells you that you HAVE to participate because it's part of their job and insist that you meet them. Beware

Rooms
We got the standard deluxe suite. Meh. The decor  was okay, but nothing to write about- good or bad. 
I will say that there were a few hiccups, though. We did not have a router for the wifi when we checked in. Someone was sent to check it out and installed a router which worked for about 24 hours. When we called to let them know the wifi had stopped working , they didn't send anyone to fix it for another 24 hours despite the fact that we called about it 3 or 4 times while it was no working. 

We also had a water leak from the ceiling in the bathroom by day 2, but nothing was done about it while we were there. 

Housekeeping was very late as well

Food
We ate a Fuego the first night. We had the tasting menu and everything was very well executed. The service was great as well. We are also able to try Sakura, the hibachi restaurant, which could be improved greatly. The fried ice cream was good and that was about it.  We ordered room service a lot because the only options before dinner are buffets ($5 charge per order) which was just okay. The other food we are was at the wedding which was between okay and good. 

Service 
Sometimes good, sometimes not so much. There is no cocktail service at the beach or pool so if that's what you are used to, don't go there. Some of the staff members were nicer than others. We had prompt responses to our issues in the room at times and other times it was not. Like I said before-inconsistent.  

Layout
The resort is large, but the fact that you are told that everything is far and you need to take their 'bus' makes its worse. We stayed in building 14 an found out that we could actually walk to the main lobby as well as the beach plus most of the buildings our family were staying in. 
Waiting for the bus for 10 minutes was quite annoying. 

Check out 
BEWARE OF CHARGES FOR LOCAL CALLS. They tried to charge me $28 for a few local calls to our transportation company. I was never told there was a charge before checkout. When I called the from desk to ask about local calls they told me how to dial and then offered to connect the call for me. THAT'S IT! So when I checked out and received a bill for these calls I was very upset. They ended up discounting the bill after much discussion, but I was still made to pay  $10 for the calls. 

Other random things
BRING AN INSECT REPELLANT!!! I cannot stress this enough. The mosquitos are HORRIBLY ferocious. 

Gabi beach restaurant and bar is modern and gorgeous

You have to pay for top shelf drinks. Example: Grey goose costs $8, but Stoli is included

Staff handles weddings very smoothly. 

The beach is great!

Overall the resort was okay, but I would not go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ctbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo C, Resident Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear,

We appreciate your feedback through which we can see our weaknesses and try to improve them. Is very disappointed to see that we did not handle your departure in a satisfactory manner and for that we want to apologize.
I would love the opportunity to welcome you again and make your stay better than the last one.

Best Regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
14.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,872 reviews
16.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
38.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,859 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $282 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Punta Cana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumptuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador ocean view suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing