We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

Great resort, great food, nice people. We had a wonderful time & loved visiting this gorgeous resort. No problems that I can remember. It has been a few years since we visited, but would love to go back one day.

  • Liked — Beautiful area
  • Disliked — nothing that I can think of
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mommy2Tris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,628
    2,482
    888
    445
    390
See reviews for
3,822
4,580
175
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,083)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2007

I went to a destination wedding here. Lovely resort. Beautiful grounds. Our room was a suite with a step down to the living room area. A number of restaurants, all decent food. Room service was good too. We did have to wait to check in, but were given arm bands so we could get cocktails. Nice pool, nice swim-up bar. Level grounds so easy for getting around, or may take the little shuttle.

  • Liked — Lovely grounds and fabulous room
  • Disliked — Almost didn't get a room as it was somehow overbooked
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

We had a great vacation! The staff couldn't have been nicer. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. We've been to so many island resorts these last few years and this was a huge surprise. We've never stayed at a resort where the staff is so pleasant, friendly and accomodating.
We'd recommend the Paradisus in Punta Cana to anyone looking for a great place to stay.
p.s. we've also stayed at the Paradisus in Cancun and while it was nice-the staff here made all the difference.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The distance to our room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank arubaweek6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

My boyfriend and I just got back from the Paradisus Punta Cana. Overall our experience was average. I'll mention what I liked first...THE BEACH is picture perfect..gorgeous gorgeous and the set up that the hotel has is nice...they have these really nice beach chairs and gorgeous large huts for the shade..one of the best beach set ups on the strip. We didn't pay for the Royal Service and to be honest it didn't look as if it was worth the extra $$, all they got was beach beds and small pool.
The pool was a lot of fun...it's a pretty big pool and it's not too deep just perfect.
The rooms, I found, to be very nice and spacious. We had a nice lounge area and a balcony which I wouldn't recommend anyone to step out if they do not have 'Off', the mosquito's will do a number on you!
The grounds were very nicely kept, the landscaping is just breathtaking. Very nature friendly.
What I disliked...
The Food, I didn't like the selection of their theme restaurants. It seems like they need to redo their menus. I was looking for typical Dominican food and they tend to americanize their menus which upset me. We ended up sticking with the buffet restaurants where they had a better selection of different foods.
Another thing that bothered me is that in order to get to the reception/lobby, you have to take these mini carts to get there because the grounds were so big. I hated having to wait for these carts that usually pass about every 10 minutes.
We attempted to walk outside of the grounds to the plaza where they sell souvenirs...we ended up making a U-Turn after the first three stores...there was wayyyyyyyy too much hasseling and fussing and whistling and yelling just so that you go visit their store.

Altogether, I wouldn't recommend this for couples looking for 'action'. The nightlife is a little lame. But if you're looking to do absolutely nothing and just lounge then this might definitely work for you.

  • Liked — The Beach Set Up
  • Disliked — The Food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ariday333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

Beautiful grounds, a tropical paradise! Beach was great. Ten restaurants at this resort; all that we ate dinner in were very good.Service was excellent. Employees were very friendly and accomodating. No one had their hands out for a tip at any time. The rooms, however, were quite dated and needed many upgrades. I did find a huge cricket/roach type insect in the bathroom that freaked me out. The Casino was disappointing. Very, very small and did not open until 8 p.m. Not a lot to do in the Dominican Republic unless you're a sun-worshiper!!

  • Liked — THE GROUNDS
  • Disliked — THE ROOM AND THE CASINO
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue-and-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

This is my first review as I feel the need to give back to the community. I have traveled to a great many places. The place is nice, clean, and the staff is friendly. (especially if you tip a little bit) The food is generally good. Some people prefer one restaurant over another but it really all depends on the luck of the draw and there is always enough good food at the buffet or grill. The layout of the restaurants is confusing and they rotate where they are and only certain ones are open on certain nights but all in all pretty good. The beach is great and very relaxing! As far as activies or traveling outside of the hotel, this is an area that needs much improvement. Lots of hassel to enjoy shopping because (like it is in most of Mexico) they pounce on you. For the price, this is extremely hard to beat and well worth it. There are nicer places in the caribbean, but far more expensive.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank house007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

We (myself, Husband, and son (5)) went to Paradisus Punta Cana for 4 nights.
I would recommend the hotel to others. We also encountered many of the complaints that are noted in many of the trip advisor reviews. However, we also noted that our check-in was breeze and our room was ready before 2 pm.
No bug problems on ground level room in building 22.
Just spotty service in many other respects.

I had tried to contact the hotel via email prior to arrival, but they never responded.

I'd say for families looking to save a couple of $$. Don't opt for the family concierge. It think that it was about $100USD more a night (maybe more), but not worth it unless you have no desire to even make reservations for yourself-and we didn't get in one night somewhere so it would have been better if I'd just done it myself earlier.....

  • Liked — Beautiful Grounds
  • Disliked — Spotty-Inconsistent service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoorTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
2.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
1.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador oceanview suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing