We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Punta Cana from March 21-28th and had the most amazing time at Barcelo Bavaro Beach. There isn't enough space to discuss all of the great things that this resort offers!

Beach:
Pristine. Clear blue water and beautiful soft sand. The beach is very wide and had plenty of lounge chairs to go around. Not once did we not find a spot on the beach. In walking farther down Bavaro Beach and passing some of the other resorts, we found that other stretches of the beach were VERY packed and loud. The beach for the Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort almost seems to be on its own little island.

Grounds:
Amazing. Everywhere someone was cleaning something, trimming trees, sweeping..it was just SO clean and beautiful. The trees and shrubs and flowers were so pretty and made for such a beautiful backdrop in all of our pictures. Yes, the resort is HUGE. Much bigger than we had originally thought. But that's what makes it special- when we were riding back and forth between the resorts on the shuttle we found ourselves continually commenting on how quiet and not crowded it seemed. We loved it. And the shuttle isn't completely necessary. We walked back and forth many times and found it to be a nice, short walk, especially in the perfect weather.

Pool:
Our favorite spot! We loved sitting in the water in the shade in between sunning..the pool area is just so heavenly! And we had prompt drink service while we were sunning! The music can get a bit loud by the pool/beach, but it didn't bother me if we sat on the opposite side of the pool while I was reading.

Food:
Overall, great. I didn't have a complaint at all about any of the dishes we tried (and we both got pretty adventurous) I did extensive research of the reviews before booking, and avoided restaurants that people did not speak highly of. We ate at Kyoto (extra charge, but it was my birthday :)), Santa Fe Steakhouse (get the filet), Chez Gourmet (twice), La Fuente (great!) and La Brisa, only for lunch. Service was sometimes a little iffy (waited 10+ minutes to be greeted/get drinks and then order) but we just enjoyed each other's company and didn't feel like making a fuss. We honestly liked all of the restaurants we tried.

Room:
Beautiful!! Room 2045 was perfect- a corner room with only one neighbor, and an ocean-view! Stunning view from the patio (which we enjoyed every day sitting and drinking our Presidente!). Very clean, A/C worked wonderfully, TV was good, mini-bar and snacks re-stocked every day, and it was very spacious. Only complaint is that the linens had some stains and didn't look very clean some days- I'm sure most had been washed multiple times since stains were made, but I think if they are discolored in any way they should be thrown out.

Staff:
Very helpful, kind, and knowledgeable. I was impressed with how many people spoke multiple languages (or at least basic words to help people). Everyone we encountered was very nice and appreciated our effort with speaking Spanish. In addition, they helped make my birthday very special! A cake was delivered to my room which was very delicious!

Deluxe side:
We chose to go over to the Deluxe resort almost every night even if we didn't eat over there. The casino is a lot of fun (though very small)- the staff there is fabulous, especially at the bar! And the disco was great (although not very crowded when we went)..We loved hanging out in the lounge outside of the casino and disco to hear the wonderful piano man and enjoy drinks! Also, there is a really cool sitting area outside on the upstairs level overlooking the pool- there are awesome seats and lanterns which made for a nice place to sit and enjoy the weather and a drink.

We had an AMAZING week at Barcelo Bavaro Beach and hope to come back next year!! We would absolutely stay at the same place and hopefully get the same room! Love love love everything!

Room Tip: Building 2 was GREAT! We had room 2045, a corner room with only one neighbor and an ocean view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you to take your time to write a review and choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach as a destination during your holidays.

Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. I really appreciate your nice comments about our services in all departments. Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.

Best Regard.

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,350
    1,846
    572
    192
    116
See reviews for
772
3,849
252
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We just spent one week at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, Adults only, Premium Club. Everything was fantastic but what really made the difference is the level of impeccable services of Mrs Mabel Geronimo & Mrs Ana Henriquez who work at the Premium Club. Ana and Mabel took care of our specific needs from booking our golf tee times, making restaurants reservations, organizing our spa treatments, arranging our transportation to the airport etc. Also, the checking and checkout process is fast and smooth which is very important for us. For the people who are French speaking, Ana speaks fluent French. Thank you Ana & Mabel ! We will see you again at Christmas for sure. Caroline

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolineroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort especially the Club Premium Services highlighting the friendliness of our employees.

In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff. Thank you for naming those who made a difference during your visit like Mabel Geronimo and Ana Henriquez.

Please feel free to contact us, in case you decide to visit us again.

Yours Sincerely,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I just returned from 7 days in paradise (March 25 -April 1). This was my twelfth visit to the Barcelo and I cannot wait to return again next year. I have seen the resort go through many changes over the years and I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this resort. My partner and I were well taken care of from the time we stepped in the door. The beach is breathtaking -- always chairs available and lots of sun/shade. The food was fabulous and we took advantage of eating in all the restaurants. The grounds are kept immaculate and everything is pristine. The staff are always smiling and accommodating. Thanks to the girls in the Premium Club room. See you again in 2015.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and nice comments regarding our team on property.

I am incredibly proud of the entire team and the work that collectively we have accomplished. I am glad you were able to experience firsthand.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Warm regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We often question whether we would return to a place a second time or look to see what might be a little bit better. Barceló Bavaro Beach answered that for us as we would definitely return again. This was our second trip to the Punta Cana area and I am sure we will be back soon. The grounds were spotless,the beach was great and the service at every step was fantastic. Anny and Ingmar in the Club Premium check in lounge were helpful and fun to talk with. Lorcelo Santana, the hostess in La Comedie Restaurant on our last night went above and beyond to help us.
The golf course group were very helpful and the course itself was fun, well kept in great condition and challenging. You may want to bring some extra balls!

We would have liked a slightly softer bed option and the rooms were slightly dated but the cleanliness and the attention to detail made up for any weaknesses in that regard. A bit of a better communication regarding the planned insect extermination around the building would have been helpful. I think they left a door hanger describing the work but I only saw the part that was in I Spanish. Perhaps there was also information in English but I missed it if it was there.

Dinner at Chez Gourmet was as good as any I have ever had as was La Comedie and Kyoto.
The other reservation restaurants were very good and the buffet restaurants had very good selection with above average food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you so much for your positive feedback pertaining to your most recent visit. I am truly delighted to read that our service team, our location, your room and your experience all together exceeded your expectations.

Comments like yours are a true inspiration to our continued pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Thank you also for recommending our hotel. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Kind Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed our March visit to the Barcelo Bavaro Beach. We chose this hotel partially due to the quiet adult section with the added bonus of enjoying the busier Bavaro Palace just a 10 minute walk away or a quick little train ride. BEACH First off we loved the beach...goes without saying really. Warm, clear turquoise water...lots of shade (Palm trees, not palpas) and seemingly endless walking, if desired . Activities abound, if desired. POOL The pool area also provided different shade opportunities as well as sun. Great pool beds in the water...nice bar with shaded seating beside the pool. Small comment...a snack bar in the pool area would have been a definite plus. Great variety of drinks but not always consistent. The pool bar is open until 10 which is nice for a nightcap where it is quiet. THE FOOD. A hint we took up on from previous reviews. Book the restaurants for the week as soon as you check in. At that point no problem getting times and ones you want. Personally we found service at the Italian poor as a long wait between courses and the food not as good as expected.We enjoyed both the Steakhouse and the Mediterranean restaurants.We found the seating for two at The Gourmet uncomfortable but thoroughly enjoyed the Chateaubriand. In all food quality and presentation was very good and the restaurants themselves very nice in decor.Wished we had time to try Hoya 19 (no reservations) as friends found it very good. The buffets were great for breakfast...a lot of selection. For evening a bit inconsistent but as usual in resorts we gravitate towards the freshly cooked. If staying at the adult section it is worth going to the other section to try their evening buffet!!! We must mention La Brisas for lunch. It became our place of choice every day ...especially looked forward to fresh grouper cooked by Norquelis Jose. Not only a pleasure to have her cook for us she was consistently a staff member who always had a smile and and eagerness to be of service. Great job! Try the rooftop terrace at night at the Palace...the Piano Bar for a pre dinner drink...nice shopping if inclined at the Palace as well. THE ROOMS We were in building 2 on the third floor and found it both close to the beach and pool with a great balcony view. Very clean..no complaints.THE GROUNDS Beautifully maintained. The covered ,well lit walkways a plus. Fun to see the peacocks in the gardens. Only comment may be to have a snack bar to obtain a little something throughout the day......... All in all a great stay...we would return.......

Room Tip: Building 1and2 close to beach and pool. Views best on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 470JimB470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough review of your recent stay with us. I went ahead and shared your remarks with our entire team and especially Nancy, Danny, Brian and Stefan all humbled by your kind review. Our team has been working diligently to make this opening a success, and it means a lot to hear of your appreciative remarks.

You particularly mentioned aspects that are of great importance to us; We are glad you were able to enjoy each component of Barcelo Bavaro Beach experience. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Particularly,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our 10th trip to this hotel. We love coming to this hotel which why we are on our 10th trip. The staff is a very caring and give great service. Every year we come back they recognize us and welcome us back. We highly recommend this place.

On this trip we would really like to thank Dauphine Krausch. She looked after all of our needs and made our stay especially memorable. She was very understanding and willing to assist us in whatever our needs were. She is a great asset to the hotel.

We would also like to thank Gisela, Ventura, Marco, Jose and Sandy for making our stay better.

We look forward to our next trip there in 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosa and Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a great time, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in 2015 and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Warms Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Wife and I where here for 10 days ,this by far is the nicest place we have been to in Punta Cana , The food was very good we really liked how at the buffet all the food was inside a glass room where the birds could get and it was air conditioned, you still eat outside and you see the ocean very nice. Rooms where very nice large bathroom with two sinks. The beach is beautiful all treed , always lots of chairs, you can walk the beach in both ways awesome is all I can say. Pool is large and was always clean. The layout of this resort is good nothing is that far away. You can visit the Barcelo Palace resort next door which gives you lots things to do ,there a train that goes back and forth all the time.
We will return.

Room Tip: We had ocean front ,hard to see the ocean with all the trees on the third floor but still what a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domdom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback pertaining to your most recent visit. I am truly delighted to read that our service team, our location, your room and your experience all together exceeded your expectations.

Comments like yours are a true inspiration to our continued pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Thank you also for recommending our hotel. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Kind Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
6.3 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
6.2 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
3.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
3.9 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#44 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing