We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Granby, Canada
1 review
“Good vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Good place vert clean ans All people are very happy and good service
Aveline grive à good service with À good attention
Fre is good pool is very clean
Beach very clean and quiet
Restaurent are fabules and very
easy to find thé transportation is réal y easy Ti sur

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1r2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff. Thank you for naming those who made a difference during your visit like Evelyn.

Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.

Sincerely yours,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,369
    1,853
    572
    192
    117
See reviews for
777
3,863
253
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,336)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Can't say enough about how wonderful this place is. Sooo wonderful that my daughter's boyfriend proposed on the beach on Valentine's day, 3 days ago, while we were there. He had been carrying the ring around waiting for the perfect moment and Barcel Bavaro provided it!

Then the next night, in all the joyous celebration the ring, which hadn't been fitted yet, floated off her hand into the surf!!! (Yes we know how dumb this was...) We looked and looked but never found it. The hotel staff were amazing in how they helped, but it was to no avail.

Sooo, if you are headed there (and you really should pick this place), please take a moment in the area of the adult beach, one building north of the pool, and search. My daughter has been such a wonderful child, my heart is breaking over this. If you can help, PLEASE DO. THANKS

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies thaht what happened with the engagement ring, in our records we have everything that has happened, and we continue to look without any response.

you will be sure that if we find something, we will contact you.

Best Regards.

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

First I'd like to say after reading some bad reviews about this place (after booking it) I was a bit skeptical. To those I just want to say you must really be spoiled and don't know how to relax.
This place was beautiful. The food was amazing (we even loved the pizza). The beach is like none I've ever seen WOW!
When we arrived we asked to move to the third floor so we could see the ocean better. The nice man at the front desk was able to do it for us. When my husband was going to tip him $10 for doing that for us he said "you don't have to pay me sir" again WOW now that doesn't happen in Mexico. The people here are genuine, yes they do take tips at the restaurants, pool, and housekeeping but they were nice no madder what!
Thank you for a great week!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petey11Milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.

In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff. Thank you for naming those who made a difference during your visit like the guy work in Recepcion. . On the other hand, I’ve forwarded your comments to the departments involved to review improvement areas.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We (young couple) stayed there for 10 days in November 2013 and we felt very good. The room was nice, relatively clean (they clean the room but there always some bugs - which is normal for a tropical destination), the hotel gardens are very beautiful, the beach is a top one and the best part for us were the "a la carte" restaurants. Before the trip I read comments about the food there not being good. I was a bit afraid but that was not the case. Yes, if you always eat at the buffet restaurant then you may not like it, but don't do that, just book a la carte and everything will be perfect: in the "Gourmet" restaurant the seafood is fresh, the lobster is plenty, the beef stake is various and the free wine is not bad. The other a la carte restaurant from "Adults only" section is not that great. But then you have the other restaurant in the family area. The Mexican one and the Spanish one were above expectation.
If you don't have kids with you and you just want some tranquility then this hotel is one of the best places to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogdan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the online community.

I will like to thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff and also for pointing out the beauty of our grounds and our excellent gastronomy.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Warm regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remsen, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently returned from the Adult Only section. My husband and I are used to using the Riu Palace Resorts or have stayed at Live Aqua in the past...But upon recommendations for this place we thought we'd give it a try. The beach and water are the best! If you just want to go and relax on the beach this is a sure fit! The rooms are similar to a Hampton Inn...nothing spectacular. We were in the first building overlooking the pool, nice but no quiet time until midnight. The entertainment was good, but there were a few long days of sun and booze and we just wanted to retire to our rooms after dinner. The buffet was awful. The food wasn't even hit or miss...it just lacked selection and flavor. I have never been to an island that didn't have fresh fruit...but it happened! Chez Gourmet was the best! Hot food, flavorful, great service and the nicest staff...We also tried Coral and thought for a seafood restaurant this would be amazing. We had lobster and it was cold and lacked flavor..My husband also tried the tuna and it was over cooked and no flavor. The Tokoyo was a fun experience and the food was good. Hoya 19 on the golf course was great for lunch which we used several times...but it seemed like for the amount of staff we just couldn't get service...The golf course is a must if you enjoy golf...even tho we had a free round, there was rental for clubs and cart...but it is worth it. The hotel just didn't provide that "WOW" factor that we have experienced at other resorts. It was clean and the grounds were well maintained, but nothing fancy. It is unbelievably large and you have to take the "train" to get to most of the restaurants at the Palace side..Not really a hassle, but you have to factor in all the stops on the way to and from...The little shopping area to the north on the beach is a great place to barter for souvenirs..we got swimsuits and t-shirts for little or nothing...Also, don't stress about getting in shape for vacation in the Dominican...We had a great time seeing people perfectly comfortable in their size and their swimwear! :) Would we return? probably not, but if you want a relaxing warm vacation you must give this place a shot!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcolling75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your observations to our attention since, it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. Nice way tothankall your commentsabout our services. Barceló’s team is incontinuous improvementfor betterperformance andenjoyment of our customers.

I hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.
I remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Not sure how to start this review...

Relaxation - If your looking for a beach to relax and enjoy the sun, you have found the beach for just that. Barceló Bavaro Beach is made for the adults that are not looking for any activities or spending all day at the bar. If your looking for water sports or a live active bar, you need to walk a few yards to Barceló Bavaro Beach Deluxe. Plenty of lounge chairs to catch a few rays from the sun... There is always a good breeze but the sun can sometimes be brutal...

Food/Resturants - First of all, I'm from the U.S. and all I can say is the resort is occupied by only 10-15% American. The food is plentiful with all different types of cuisne. If you are a picky eater, you may have some problems finding a good meal at the buffet during lunch. Don't look for any Italian, Ranch, Blue Cheese, or French dressing for your salad because there is none. Lobster and steak can always be found on the bar... If you don't see it, just ask and they will cook. The good restaurants are located at Bavaro Beach Deluxe... Make your reservations on your 1st day for each day your at the resort. Breakfast and Dinner is the best meal of the day.... PLENTY OF FRUIT.... They even have a Hard Rock Café. I seen everything on the bar from Rabbit, Snail, Sardines, Octopus, Clams, Mussels, Goat, Ribs, Chicken, All types of fish... WOW...

Rooms - We had a regular Deluxe room which was perfect, room was clean with plenty of room. Mini Bar was stocked with soda, beer and water. Remember this will not be your average American soda so get ready for the after taste... Bath room is large with double sinks and plenty of mirrors.. Room has safe and plenty of closet space.

Resort - There is so much to do at the resort, Golf, Mini Golf, Tennis, Basketball, Water Park, Pool, Chess... Never a dull moment... take advantage of the trolley to get around this huge resort.

Casino - BLACKJACK (BEWARE)... Don't go into this casino trying to break the bank... I would suggest to make your money back from any tips or excursions you did during the day... $50 wins everyday were enough for me...

Disco - Club is extremely large and music is pumping.. Don't worry about the music the DJ does a good job getting around to all nationalities.

My suggestion... find you a good bar at the Bavaro Deluxe with a good bar tender, normally this will be at the Pool Bar or BlackJack Casino.... Tip them and they will take care of you... Bavaro Beach Resort is really for the older adults... 60 and above... nothing bad but just to quiet for me @ 44. Plenty of walking so take some good sandals or take your time walking... If you by chance walk WEST of the resort for shopping be prepared to hassle your price down to the lowest... Take small amounts of money, no more than $50 and get as much as you can....

ENJOY...

Room Tip: Stay as close as you can to the main lobby, this will help when catching the trolley..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atlfalcoholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.

Thank you so much for your positive feedback pertaining to your most recent visit. I am truly delighted to read that our service team, our location, your room and your experience all together exceeded your expectations.

Comments like yours are a true inspiration to our continued pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Thank you also for recommending our hotel. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Kind Regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I wanted to get away for a weekend. To get some beach, sun, and relaxation.
This place was great for my wallet. Wasn't expensive.
The rooms were nice. The staff was great. The food not bad..just needed a better selection for the buffet.

There was alot of different activities to do onsite. Considering I was just going to get away for a weekend, this hotel fit all of my needs.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank deezer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Sandy P, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Bavaro Beach for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the online community.

I will like to thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff and also for pointing out the beauty of our grounds and our excellent gastronomy.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Warm regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
6.3 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
6.2 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
3.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
3.9 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#44 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing