We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Vacation”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My family and friends stayed at the BBB for a total of 8 nights (Sept 28-Oct 6th)....... let me just say that we had a very good experience with this and its neighbor hotel BBP. From the beginning we made reservations to all restaurants, to which Ramona helped book (she is awsome btw). We ate lunch almost daily at "La Brisa" buffett by the beach......not the greatest of food, but they have a cook grilling burgers and steak every day. Our waitress "Breily" was the best. She made sure that we were well cared for. Most of their best restaurants are on the Palace side. We ate at the Mexican two different nights (cause we enjoyed the food a lot). However I was not impressed with the Japanese restaurant at all! The steak restaurant is pretty good too, I very much recommend it. Also on the BBB side you must try the Chez Gourmet, food is EXCELLENT!!!!! Only knock off is that men must wear long pants for dinner to all restaurants, BUMMER!!!! We are on vacation, in a very hot and humid Island, the last thing you want to wear is jeans, or pants! But we made the best of it.......

Our room was on the first floor near the pool and beach (2005), it wasnt the newest of rooms we have experienced in the past, but it was very nicely clean and maintained. The AC was FREEZING, to the point we had to keep it off, or low for most of our stay. Our cleanning lady was very good, she always left us extra towels and made sure our room was cleaned daily, we left a small tip for her daily, she did an awsome job.

The pool does not have a bar, but they do have very nice and attentive girls that come around often asking for your drink order. Again, please tip these hard working individuals, keep in mind, they do not make a great deal of money and a couple of dollars will go a long way.
The beach by far one of best blue and calm waters we seen in a very long time (keep in mind we travel every year to different hotels in Punta Cana). Although the beach did not have huts (in case you wanted to be away from the sun), there is plenty of palm trees to keep you in the shade.

The night life is not the best, after a few days it gets to be a bit boring. However, my family and I made the best of it. We went to the Disco for a few minutes, then off to the Casino, and when we did not want to to do either, we just lounged outside of the Casino area with our own little speaker and Ipad. Then off to Strikers (late night buffett) for a bite to eat before calling it a night.

Over all I really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it, but it would be nice if they would arrange some sort of BBQ by the beach, it's more convenient than getting dressed after you are relaxed by the pool or beach, and go and get something to eat at the buffet (which is a very long walk).

Hope this review is helpful, because If I had listened to all other reviews who complaint about petty stuff, like language, I would have never gone to the Barcelo........Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathperez161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the amazing staff, the high quality food and drinks and resort facilities. On the other hand, please note we encourage the dress code in order to keep the high quality standards of a five star property. We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,484
    1,885
    583
    197
    119
See reviews for
795
3,960
257
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Barcelo Bavaro Beach on Labor Day Weekend. The room was cleaned and bathroom looked clean. The food was good, even though a little variation each day would have been lovely. I will stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xweetgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. I really appreciate your nice comments about our services in all departments. Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Bavaro beach, which is adjacent to the Barceló Palace, the difference being only adults are allowed to stay in our area.
First, the rooms are nowhere near as nice as the Palace, very average. The first sfloor rooms have a mildew smell perhaps from previous storms. Get an upper floor room.
Food was plentiful, but just ok. Most of it was overcooked and was probably frozen before cooking. There is nothing here that is going to make you come back for the cuisine, including any of the restaurants.
The grounds, pools, and buildings are very clean and well kept.

The bad - If you speak only English, communication is VERY difficult, for few of the staff have even a rudimentary understanding of English.
Because the country is so poor, leaving the compound is not a good idea. No chance to sample local restaurant or sites.
Internet and phone communication is very limited.
The hotel staff is little help. Our group of 8 were supposed to have adjacent rooms that were reserved months ago. That didn't happen. Then wee had to change rooms a few times, first for the mildew smell, second room had double beds. It took hours. And good luck getting your boarding passes printed.

I'm sure there are better places out there. Not this hotel, not this country.

Room Tip: Do not get a 1st floor unit for they all seem to have a mildew smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

I have read thoroughly your comments because they are very important for us as a responsible and professional hotel chain. On behalf of all our team, we would to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experience during your stay. For us it is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us. I accept your feedback for continuous improvement in a future stay.

With regards about language barrier, this country is in Spanish, but in our resort we have different department where employees are multilingual as: English, French, German and Russian. These departments are Reception, Guest services, Club Premium and Supervisor at restaurants and bars.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit. We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ramona is amazing!! Great customer service. She made us
Feel right at home! This resort and the beaches are beautiful. Food and dining experience has been phenomenal as well as the room. The bartenders were great especially Jose, and Jose Luis, and Carlos

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Yissell and Ramona are wonderful at the guest services. They are very professional courteous and have a beautiful smile. They are always approachable and willing to help. They are caring and provided advice regarding facilities . They took immediate action to resolve our concerns . They made follow up calls to our rooms to ask if our situations where better. The resort is wonderful . Good food excellent beach. Friendly staff. Definitely will stay again

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Staff is courteous, specifically Yissell Baez from guests services. She was very helpful and patient and took care of all our needs. If you have any issues, talk to her.

The beach is sandy, water's wet, and the breeze is breezy.

The food is... good'ish as long as you remember it's a resort. Huge variety of eats. You're sure to find something you'll like.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniejde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience in Punta Cana and it was fantastic. It was hot and clear all week and all the services were great. Everyone was always happy to help and they all had a smile on their face to greet you. When you were sick or not feeling well, guest services would call your room to make sure you were feeling better and if you needed anything. Lastly I must say that you must enjoy the custom of having a mama juana shot. Very tasty, very delicious. Overall great resort and simply put 5 stars. I would definitely choose the Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dgas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Is a pleasure for me and the all team of Barceló Bavaro Beach that you chose us, hoping to have you here. We are grateful for all your comments and hope to see you at our hotel and make them feel a true paradise.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
6.3 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
6.2 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
3.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
3.9 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing