We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Relaxing Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned from Barcely Bavaro Beach - stayed Aug 25-30 - and had a great time! The resort was only at 60% capacity, so we had no problems switching to a different room for a better view. We originally were in building 3 - which is set back from the beach a little ways - and asked for a move to building 2 - which they did on our second day there. Beach was quite at the adults only side - which was great! We never had any issues with finding chairs - both at the pool and at the beach. We made reservations at the restaurants for each of the nights as soon as we arrived and had no problem getting in to all. The food was fabulous at all of the restaurants (except the Mexican - was not impressed with the food at this one). Our favorite was Chez Gourmet at the adult side - fabulous service from Raphael - and food was amazing!
We did the buffets for lunch each day - it was ok - found some of the food dried out or warm, but lots of variety. We did go down to the Beach Palace buffets a couple of times as well and found even more selection. The fruit was great - presentation was great - and desserts were some of the best I have had at an all-inclusive. They make them small portions, so you can try a variety - which I liked!
We also did a city tour to Higuey - 1/2 day - which was plenty. Also met the "gringo" - a Canadian guy on the beach down by the activities hut - where you can parasail, snorkel, etc. He had a great 2 hour glass bottom boat/snorkel deal for $35 per person - we will do that next trip.
One caution - bring $10/person in cash - when you arrive at the airport in Punta Cana - you have to pay a "visitors' card - and it goes much more quickly if you have cash in hand.
Definitely a great resort - would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kstapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort especially our Buffets and our best Restaurant a la Carte ‘Chez Gourmet’.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,122 - 3,128 of 7,956 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the all-inclusive adult-only resort. This was by far the best hotel staff that we had the privilege working with. From the time you check in, you are definitely treated like you are there best friend. We love these people very much and just hated to leave. So we have to give them all the praise they deserve: guest services Ramona, Damely, Evelyn, and Johan; Front desk: Maritezabel; Bartenders: Yensy and Carlos; and Waiter: Rafael. Prices at the gift shop are cheaper than they are in town, so stock up while there.. There are five resorts under the same ownership and you can use all of them and their amenities. Be sure to try a dinner on the beach experience (Wonderful)

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean-view were wonderful with a great view and ocean breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm 52, and went with my husband, two daughters in their early 20's, my son 25, and my future daughter in law. This trip was planned by my son because he wanted to give his girlfriend her engagement ring on a boat in punta cana. It was going to be a one week trip. When we got their we were given rooms in bldg 1, and after reading the trip advidors' reviews, I knew that was not a good choice. They were in fact unpleasant rooms. They smelled bad. The following day they were very kind to put us in bldg 6 which was perfect. The food is very bland, but it's like that on the whole island. They do have a pretty good variety but lacks taste. Not one of the best qualities of the resort. We stayed in the adult hotel and it was very calm and relaxing. The family side was jsut too loud for us.. We stayed at the adult side the whole time although there were more restaurants on the family side. On the third day there, my son rented a boat and we went sailing, then he gave her the ring. On the eay back, I slipped and fell, hitting my head, knocking me unconscious. Here's where my 5 star rating comes into play. The staff at the hotel were waiting for us to take me to the clinic at the family side of the resort. There, the doctor and nurses were quick to give me a steroid shot to help with the inflamation as I came in and out of consciousness. They had the ambulance there in a matter of minutes. I was in the hospital for seven days with a head injury. Everyday the manager of the resort called to see how I was doing. My children were astounded by the attention they received by all the staff. They helped us in every way possible. My children left as planned and my husband had to stay another week because the doctor would not allow me to walk and much less fly. The manager at the hotel was amazing. He gave us a super special rate for the extra week. When The doctor let me leave, I had to stay at the hotel for 4 days in the room and the staff was waiting for me with a brand new wheelchair!! The hotel policy is no food to be taken out of the restaurants, and room service is not free. I couldnt go to the restaurants so they let my husband pick out my food and his, and they would wrap it up and take it to my room at no charge. I can't even begin to explain what I was going through, and these wonderful people made me feel good. The food may not have been the best, and this review may not have much to do with the resort, but if you encounter a bad accident like mine, being treated the way I was, I truly feel the need to express it. Not all vacations are fun and exciting. Accidents do happen, and my family went through a really rough time because the hospital was so far away and expensive, and after being with me in the hospital, getting to the hotel where they were treated like royalty was absolutely beyond any other hotel experience we've ever had. God bless those wonderful people because they were truly kind from the heart. Yes, the resort was beautiful, the rooms very clean, the ocean fantastic, but the hospitality, priceless. I was there from the latter part of July to aug 4, 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank clarissaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us. Really we felt proud to help our customers in all aspects, whether in your wonderful holiday as well in difficult times as it was the case. Our intention is to make a shot more difficult time sweet and kind.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at this Resort one week in June, 2 weeks in July, and loved it and the staff so much, went back in Aug. and stayed the month. I was club premium guest and can't say enough great things about the ladies in the guest services there. Joanna, Mabel, Jasmine, Annie are just a few names I can remember but, the whole staff there is excellent. We became sisters especially Joanna and I. The front Desk Gentlemen ,Danielle and Carlos always greeted me with a smile and always so helpful when I had to exchange American money to Pesos. Thanks guys! And of course can't forget the ones who first greet you as you enter this resort. Luna,Rafael,Emanuelle,Anel, Alejandro are just a few but, there are many and all very eager to help you find your way. Much gratitude to those guys. Now the Lobby bar is a great place!!!1 Stayed there alot lol.Ismael my sweet man, love and miss him dearly. Always greeted me with open arms a hug and a kiss on the cheek. But as always there are many. Jose Almonte, Carlos Mateo, Jose L., Ana PeraltoIv, Angel,Tony, Jensy, Ivelisse, Nancy P. and of course my dear sweet Rachel, Angela Villalona and Marco Batista the leaders of them all are awesome. You have a wonderful staff and I love you all!. I'm sure I left some names out but they all deserve the thanks ! Now on to the rooms. They are really nice and they work really hard to keep them stylish and in order. If something is wrong you can bet it will get fixed quick. The Maid service is awesome...Unfourtunetly I DIDN'T get their names but omg!!! they are the best and I hope they can go back and see who was taking care of mine because they deserve soooo much credit! Thanks everyone for always giving me a clean room clean towels and the turn down service every night. You are all great at what you do! Now to the Beach!!!! I sight you will never forget. Absolutely beautiful!!! the beach is kept up very well cleaned early morning and afternoon. It's maintained really all the time and unless you don't pick up your own trash it's always pretty clean. Now to the Security! It's nice to know you have them and they are super at what they do. They are posted through out the whole resort! I have my favorite of course, Jose Vasquez Morlas :-). I have a few more names to mention. Esmerelda Evelyn and Elsie Jaun Carlos can't forget them!!! The Guest services where you can book excursions are really great, ALL of them. Thanks for the warm hugs and smiles everyday! As you can tell, this place makes you feel at home and I will always be thankful for the new Family I aquired. This Resort is the BEST out of all Barcelo Resorts. It is all adult but that;s what I prefer! So if you want to travel solo, don't be afraid...you will be taken care of. A great place for couples too. Thanks everyone for the many weeks 7 as a matter fact. I love you all and miss you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Is a pleasure for me and the all team of Barceló Bavaro Beach that you chose us for your wedding group, hoping to have you here. We are grateful for all your comments and hope to see you at our hotel and make them feel a true paradise.

Thank you for your feedback about our employees, it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay. For us is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Went for a wedding in June an had the most amazing time. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful. stayed in the Adults Only section and it was truly a relaxing and refreshing experience. We made dinner reservations at the hotel for large groups of people and they were always accommodating and would make it work for our group. Very impressed overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaCone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Is a pleasure for me and the all team of Barceló Bavaro Beach that you chose us for your wedding group, hoping to have you here. We are grateful for all your comments and hope to see you at our hotel and make them feel a true paradise.

We would like to express you how glad we are to read that your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the excellent service of our staff.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana April 13 to 24 and loved it. The food was good, although we didn't realize that we would have to pay to eat at the Japanese restaurant...we didn't eat there. The buffet food could have been a little warmer. We loved the adult only atmosphere. Our first time doing adults only. If we needed a kid fix we could just hop on the train and go over to the Palace. The pool was the cleanest we have ever been in...no slimy feel to the recliners in the pool. We loved the shows at both the Beach and the Palace locations, very well done. We played mini-putt and I used the gym regularly. I especially liked that they had classes at the gym in addition to the regular equipment. The whole resort was very clean and our room was great. Loved that the sink area was separate to the shower area. Only thing I would have liked was to have had the water aerobics in the pool rather than the sea and some activities around the pool not just all on the beach. By the way, the beach here is beautiful! And our Air Transat rep Karen was fantastic, so helpful. We are planning to return to this resort in the spring.

Room Tip: We were in building one on the opposite side to the pool, top floor. We had a view of gardens and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sambez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. I really appreciate your nice comments about our services in all departments. Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Vacations are what you make of it but the amenities and the service at this resort were fabulous.
We stayed at the adult only but spent a lot of time at the Bavaro palace deluxe were most of the restaurants were located. The food was fabulous and the selection was great. It was easy to make reservations and you could book for the whole week at once. No need to line up daily. The beaches are breath taking! No bugs were we were which was the 3rd floor and the rooms where very clean, a definite recommendation !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellah40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Samuel Johnson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
1.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
11.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
11.3 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $202 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing