We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 1/2 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tomkins Cove, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good 3 1/2 Star Hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Overall the hotel is very nice... property is beautiful, food was really good. We has a slight problem with our room. 1st day, raw sewage backed up into tub.. second day 1 inch of water in the bathroom. Third day, 4 inchs of water in the room. You can tell this happened before as no one was too upset. We moved our room to a second floor. THey should have upgraded us to a better room, but since I did not make a stink, I guess they didn't sugest it either. The next day we saw that the hotel had put new guests in the same room that had flooded the day before and that room also flooded again and had to move those guests. This left a really bad taste in my mouth, unfortunately. I would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieP1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
I’m really sorry for you experience during your stay in our resort. On behalf of all the staff of our hotel and my own received my most sincere apologies about your experience during your stay at our resort.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your observations to our attention since, it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,818
    1,982
    615
    207
    127
See reviews for
874
4,237
273
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WISCONSIN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I read all the reviews from Dec until we left 8 Mar and I was a bit skeptical by the time we left but no worries, it's really nice. I'm big on cleanliness and this resort met that for me. Our room was well taken care of each day (floors were mopped daily), the grounds were kept immaculate, the public restrooms were always spotless and the buffet areas were maintained as well. We were in Bldg 4 which is not the best location because it is at the very end of both resorts. The room was large, beds were double and very hard for my liking, flat screen tv with ABC/CBS/NBC all in English, the refrig was stocked daily with soda, water, beer, juice boxes and snacks were left. Bedding was good quality and very clean, getting wash clothes seemed to be challenging each day as we'd have to find the maid in the hall to get them, bath towels though were huge and thick. Huge closet, two sinks, shower and toilet could use some updating but again very clean. Shampoo/conditioner/body wash in dispensers in shower and plenty of facial tissues. Pool area is a bit small, water is not heated so it's cold when you initially get in but not bad after that. Not alot of loungers by pool and they seemed to be occupied early morning and throughout the day. Beach area is nice and has plentiful loungers throughout the entire day. They clean seaweed up early in the morning and again mid afternoon, just hard for them to stay ahead of it. They have trash recepticles set up on the beach area so folks are good about getting rid of their cups and garbage. Water was rough while we were there so snorkeling in front of the hotel would have been difficult at best. Yes there are some party boats that go by the front of the hotel, some helicopters and music but is it as annoying as many say, I wouldn't say so. Checkin and out was smooth and quick. Train to take you around hotel was efficient and easy to use and seating was always available. Food.....missed not having a snack bar by pool/beach area and no beach drink service (however, the walk did us good), the main buffet for breakfast is so-so, we didn't care for it so we would take the train to the 19th Hole where they would cook you breakfast and had a small buffet set up with breads, fruits, cheese, cold meats, cereal, yogurt, etc and we found this to be a better quality and more to our liking. Lunch we either did the Sports Bar which has burgers, pizza, hot dogs, chix wings, salads, sandwiches, ice cream all good or the 19th Hole again where they had a variety of good sandwiches you could order off the menu. Dinners, with 7 day stay you get 4 ala cartes however, we booked our 4 immediately upon arriving and then went back each morning the other 3 days and they let us book ala cartes as well. We tried all but Sante Fe and Mexican. The best for us was Chez Gourmet (escargot is the BEST we've ever had) or the Japanese hibatchi (they charge $15 pp extra but well worth it, you won't be disappointed, be sure to have the fried ice cream. We did tuna, salmon and red snapper vs the traditional shrimp, chix or beef and it was out of this world. You can't possibly eat all you get.) I wouldn't do the LasBrisa (Mediterranean), we thought it was terrible, had red snapper and the whole fish came on our plate, actually sort of disguisting. Service at LaFluente (Spanish) was horrible but food was ok. As for the wine the reviews are right, barely drinkable. Drinks from bar are OK for the most part, sometimes a very long wait and sometimes you don't get what you order. Can't really comment on the shows, we only watched the magic one and it was good. You can get popcorn if you ask for it in the afternoon at the bar by the lobby. Language barrier.....we know very little Spanish but never found it to be nearly as difficult as all the reviews state. There are some native shops to the left of the hotel as your back is to the hotel. Not the best quality of stuff but for the typical junk it trinkets folks like to take home it's all there. Barter with them by going at least 1/2 of what they originally ask you for. Resort has security guards on the beach all day and well into the evening, never felt concerned. We had all age groups while there, from college students to those in their 50-60-70. Ensure you leave for the airport 2.5 hrs prior to flight time. I initally thought that seemed a bit excessive considering the size of the airport but they are SLOW. It took us 2 hr and 15 minutes to get to our gate and the plane was already 1/2 loaded by the time we got there. For the most part this hotel was quiet, clean and the beach was nice. Have fun and remember if you're lucky enough to be on vacation then your life is good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CRNBRY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your observations to our attention since, it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit. We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from Barcelo Bavaro Beach, adults only resort in beautiful Punta Cana, Dominican Republic! We stayed for 6 days, one day short due to fog in the foggy city of St. John's NL.
This resort is very clean, well groomed and not too big! The Barcelo Palace is right along side and guests have access to this resort as well and it is HUGE!!! Just as beautiful with many shops, restaurants and buffets. This disco is located at the palace as is a casino. The sports bar, which we only discovered on our last evening, is very nice as well with a small but tastey buffet! Ribs and wings, fries and more!! there are pool tables there and tv screens all over the room. Very nice atmosphere! We experienced a lot of wind while on this vacation which made the beach very messy. There were not enough people out each day cleaning it up. Nice beach for walking and no big waves got near shore so its also great for swimming.
There is only one pool at the adults only resort and there is no swim up bar but the bar is right alongside so no worries about walking too far for a drink;) Lots to drink and lots to eat with a very plentiful variety of foods to sample. The reception area, lobby bar and theatre are all in one but very spacious. The employees are very nice and helpful. the rooms are very nice and clean and grounds are perfect. Walking along the beach is one way to get to the palace but in the evening, when going over there for an a la carte, casino, disco, to shop or to see a show in their theatre, there is a train that you can hop aboard on at the lobby. It comes by every 10 min or so. To sum up my experience at the Barcelo adults only resort, I can say that I had a wonderful time, loved the food and drinks. Loved the beach and the friendliness of most of the staff, loved our room but if you are looking for more action, fun and noise, you might want to stay at the palace!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6027, close to lobby, La Brisa restaurant/buffet. very good location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 102wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort highlighting the friendliness of our employees; it makes us feel very proud to do this job for you.
Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay!!!
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend in Jan - feb 2013 it was friggen awesome! I read a lot of bad reviews but I honestly have nothig bad to say. Beach was the best , room was clean, beach/pool never crowded, food was good, staff was friendly , helpful and the language barrier didnt seem to be a problem. a smile goes a long way, entertainment was pretty good but for the price we were really happy. This is a link to a video of the place. http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xy7gss_barcelo-bavaro-beach-punta-cana-dominican-republic-trip_travel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Review of Barceló, Bávaro Beach, Punta Cana
(So-So, though, and a bottle of Rum)

The good, the bad, the indifferent. So, you’re planning a vacation. And you’re looking at reviews, trying to sort out the raves from the wrecks, and deciding which ones are just useless venom.
We are not great world travelers. Our recent trip to Barceló Bávaro Beach marks our second vacation out of the country ever, and our first time in Punta Cana. Also, this was only our second luxury beach resort experience. And we have to save our pennies all year to do it. So, we are not jaded globetrotters, nor are we upper echelon executives accustomed to having our every need met speedily. We came to Barceló with unrehearsed expectations, and brought our wide-eyed optimism with us. We were very ready to be as enthralled as we were by our trip to Riviera Maya last year. Perhaps you are like us, and trying to squeeze every bit of vacation out of your hard earned dollars. If so, read on.
We booked this 6 night vacation on Cyber Monday, and got a really superior deal on the rooms; so much so that we were able add an extra day, upgrade to the Premium Club with an ocean-view room and stay under budget. Premium Club guests get their own check in, check out and concierge service, which is very nice, very classy, and comes with a glass of champagne when you arrive. Good stuff! More on the Premium Club later.
We can only compare this resort to the experience we had at Riviera Maya last year, so I apologize if this is not apples to apples. The first thing we noticed, though at first we tried to shrug it off, was the language barrier. Now, before you judge, believe me, we actually enjoy being in another culture, and learning new things, in other languages. But it needs to be a two way dialogue. There were definitely some shining stars at Barceló who smiled, spoke English (and French) quite well, and worked hard to resolve conflicts, answer questions, and provide excellent service. But when we hit the main areas, we encountered a pesky number of front line employees who didn’t understand simple requests, and really didn’t make an effort to work through the communication gap. They’d shrug and walk away. At first we thought they were going to get someone who spoke English, but no one ever came and we were left with a question unanswered, or a conflict unresolved. For example, after dinner at one of the resort’s restaurants, a waiter offered us coffee, and brought it to us. (By the way, Dominican coffee is just wonderful!) We asked for cream and sugar. He shrugged and shook his head. We said “milk and sugar?” Still nothing. We tried charades, miming stirring things into our coffee. He nodded and left. And never returned. Certainly, this was not the first time a waiter ever heard the English words “milk” and “sugar” after serving coffee. Same thing at the buffet omelet station. The cook at the stovetop had only 6 ingredients from which to craft a custom omelet. I said “Bacon, cheese, tomatoes, por favor.” He shook his head and started pointing at the containers until I nodded at the correct ones. A small thing, I know, but there are only 6 things there, and certainly, he would have heard the word “bacon” a few times before I got there, one would think. Do yourself a favor, learn the words “leche” and “azucar” if you like milk and sugar.
There were several small things like this, and one bigger thing that, after a while, we just kept letting slide because trying to resolve them was more frustrating than the conflicts themselves. They seem very small, but after 4 or 5 each day, you have to choose to take a deep cleansing breath and let them go for the sake of tranquility, or you can choose to gnash your teeth all day long. Neither choice is really why we go on vacation at a resort. I work 359 days a year resolving other people’s problems. For these 6 days, I want someone to take care of all of mine. And, we really demand very little. Understand, there were many individuals who would ask “How is everything?”; “How was your meal?” or “Did you enjoy your stay?” But how do you communicate nuances like these when you couldn’t even communicate “bacon and tomato”?
“Everything was great, thank you.”
Our room was clean, tidy, but uninspired. Except for the outstanding ocean view from our 2nd floor balcony, we’d have spent very little time in it. The king sized bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows, which is no small thing. There’s a huge flat screen TV in the room, but the available programming was mostly in Spanish, and the really interesting channels cost extra. No TV for us. Just as well, what with the gorgeous ocean view out on the balcony. The bathroom is very small, and the shower is not in any way conducive for two very friendly people who like to conserve water and, well, conserve water. Ahem. Housekeeping is efficient, does a very nice job of staying on top of things, but does seem to be omnipresent. There always seemed to be a cart within 4 doors of us anytime we came or went. Just wondering if the facility is too big for the staff. The facility IS big, and set up like long flat apartment buildings, making maximum use of “ocean view” rooms, but losing something in architectural charm in the process. The grounds are well groomed; green and colorful, but not lush. There were a lot of very pretty areas at night created with water and lights that made for lovely evening strolls after sunset. Our Premium Club room came with a complementary bottle of Ron Barceló Rum (which was very good, though hard to mix with the fruit juice they kept stocked in the complimentary mini-fridge. Juice boxes are hard to pour in a tumbler). We also got a plate of fruit, which we didn’t eat, only because the buffet restaurants kept us pushing our belts out most of the time. After day two, we realized the faintly urine-like smell in our room was not my sneakers, but one of the pieces of fruit. A small yellow thing that I didn’t identify. We put the plate on the balcony. One conflict solved.
The weather was warm, but windy. We went in mid-March. Our room was right up on the beach, so we could walk out onto the sand in 45 seconds. This was ideal, and the beach chairs were plentiful, comfortable, and located under lots of palm trees so you could choose shade, sun, or filtered sun if you liked. Bávaro Beach is “among the top 10 beaches in the world”, they say, and again, not being a world traveler, I was not sure what puts it in the top ten. The sand is beautiful, very fine, with a reddish tint to it. The surf is shallow and you can wade out for a very long way before your feet leave the bottom. As windy as it was, the sand never lifted off and blew around. All that being said, there was a great abundance of sea grass in the surf, hugging the shoreline in dense floating masses, and washed up on the beach in row after row from the night’s higher tide. The hotel crew cleaned it up, but they didn’t get to it all right away, and their efforts to clean it could be a bit obtrusive at times. Trucks and rakes and wheelbarrows. They worked hard, and credit is due for their efforts. Just not sure what puts this beach in the “top ten”.
The first three days we were there, there were non-stop party boats starting at sunrise, it seemed. Party boats are large flat boats, double-deckers dressed up like a pirate ship, or a schooner, that cram people on board, play loud (really, really loud) thumping music, serve booze and try to get the crowd onboard as rowdy and enthusiastic as they can while they criss-cross the area about 25 feet from the shore directly in front of the hotels along the beach. And as they passed our beach, they seemed to double their efforts to get their customers to scream and shout and dance to the music, as if to show us what a great time we could be having if only we would sign up and pay their fee. What they actually did, for us, was ruin the ocean view, destroy the natural sound of surf and wind in the palms, and make it impossible to take a nap in our room before dinner and a show later on.
After three days, we were granted a pardon, but at a price. The higher winds and aggressive surf that prevailed for the rest of our stay kept the party boats at bay (pun intended) but resulted in the cancellation of the snorkeling trip we’d booked earlier. We never did get to snorkel. But we did finally get to nap. So, there’s that.
We booked two excursions directly through Barceló. There are two other companies that sit in the same room with the Barceló agent, so make sure you know who you’re sitting down with. The Barceló agent will also arrange your departure transfer back to the airport. We enjoyed our time with the two agents we met with there. Both spoke decent English, both had personally been on the excursions we planned, and both showed genuine interest in our trips, asking us to come back and tell them what we thought. We took little dune buggies out in the brush, stopping at a secluded beach area that was crystal blue, clean, devoid of sea grass (maybe that’s the top ten spot), and then to a spectacular cave with a 31 foot deep pool in it. I recommend the Adventure Buggy (they call them “Boogies”) excursion. When the snorkeling was 86’d, we quickly booked a zip-line tour. Same park as the buggies, but different crew, and we had an absolute blast. Everyone there spoke English, laughed with us, joked with each other (and not in that way that makes you think they’re laughing at you in Spanish, you know?) and made the whole experience relaxing and fun. Well, as relaxing as hanging over a rocky chasm on a 1200 foot long cable by a couple of nylon straps can be. If you go on the excursions, bring $50 American. Trust me. You can say you won’t want the photos and the video they take of you along the way, but they do a really top notch job of editing it all together, and really capturing the highlights of your trip. You’re going to want the CD. And if you don’t have the money, the driver who returns you to your hotel will wait for you to run to your room to get it, but that’s a long run, and you will return to a bus full of unhappy people who want to get back to their hotels too. Bring the $50.

There’s a weird “reservations only” thing at this resort that was cumbersome to say the least. Between this Adults Only resort, and the sister Family Resort (the Palace Deluxe, right next door, where most of the amenities seem to be) there are 9 restaurants. Except for the buffet restaurants, you need to make a reservation at least 2 days ahead to get a decent dinner seating. At least three of our reservations were only available to us because someone else had cancelled. But when you get there, the place is 1/3 full. And we took our time, sat and watched for a while, but the empty tables never filled up. One night we swung by a place that was all but deserted, in the hopes of getting a simple cup of coffee, maybe even milk and sugar. They turned us away saying “reservation only”. Again, a conflict it was just easier to ignore, than to attempt an argument in two different languages. Another thing you’ll encounter is, there’s a lot they don’t tell you. For instance, at every restaurant, we were seated, and presented with a wine list. The wine on this list is additional to any “inclusive” amenities for which you’ve already paid. A lot additional. What they don’t mention unless you know to ask is, you can order house wine, or beer, or a mixed drink from the bar, and those ARE included. But if you don’t know that, they don’t offer the information. On our second to last day there, we decided we’d like to take out one of the “included” catamaran sailboats. Except what we didn’t know was, it costs $50 for a lesson, and you have to book at least one day in advance. That would have been good to know before we were almost leaving. So, we didn’t get to take advantage of the complementary sail boats.
As Premium Club guests(which is the only way to get an ocean view room) one of the upgraded amenities we were offered was a free 20 minute massage, per person. We tried to book this with the masseuse whom we saw every day, almost always sitting idly by the pool next to her massage table. She shook her head and sent us to the Premium club front desk to make a proper reservation. Our concierge made a phone call, and told us we had a spot, both of us, for 11am. We showed up at 11am, and the same masseuse, alone and decidedly surly now, shook her head again. We told her we did, in fact, have a reservation now. She marched to the office, and returned to tell us she’d massage one of us, then the other which, of course, was not what we’d wanted when we booked a double session, side by side. Another conflict we walked away from, perhaps wisely, as a rub down from an angry masseuse did not sound at all relaxing. We never went back.
The pool on the Adults Only side is functional, clean and refreshing (read: cold!). It’s kinda small, and in our 6 days there, we saw maybe ten people in it. There’s very little real estate around it and so, not many lounge chairs. No, you won’t get one. The pool chair prospectors come out at night while the sea grass is storming the beach, and plant yellow towels on all the chairs, claiming them in the name of France. And speaking of France, since you are reading this, I assume you speak English. You will be in the minority. The staff and many guests speak Spanish, the other 40% of the guests speak French, German, or another European language and we’re the odd men out. Any announcements or instructions are given in three languages; Spanish, then English, then French, one right after the other. By the time you realize you’re hearing English, you missed it, and they’re on to French. You have to admire the people who speak all three fluently, though. It’s quite a talent. The real pool action is on the Palace Deluxe side. It’s huge, and beautiful, and full of families and children. Lots and lots of children. Be my guest. We’ll be on the Bávaro Beach, in our beach chairs, waving at the pirate ships full of piña colada drinking tourists trying to learn the Danza Kuduro (google it). And it seemed anywhere there were two or more seats gathered; there was someone there ready to go get you a drink (except on the beach). Otherwise, no matter where you plopped your butt down within the resort, there was a waiter or waitress asking if you’d like a drink. Now, THAT’S what I’m talking about.
Ultimately, we spent 6 days facing the ocean in Punta Cana. We ate, we drank, we did have some wonderful experiences, and met some very nice Dominicans. We came in within budget. The food was good, not exceptional, but good and plentiful. The resort was not crowed, in fact, at many of the shows offered at both resorts, it was painful to turn around in our seats to see how empty the houses were. We assumed they were all out claiming pool chairs for the next day.
See the Michael Jackson Show. See the magic show. Drink the all-inclusive drinks, and insist they be made “con mucho Barceló Rum, por favor!” Try a shot of mama juana. I insist. Go to La Dolce Vita, the Italian restaurant on an empty stomach. Wear an elastic waistband. Don’t look for any wildlife, there isn’t any. We saw a ghost fiddler crab standing under a walkway light one night, and you’d have thought we’d seen a unicorn, we were so excited to see any local fauna. Learn to say “Gracias!” fluently and sincerely. Bring about $150 in ones and fives, and never leave your room without some of each in your pocket. Tip lightly, but constantly. Put it in your trip budget.
If you want to get somewhere tropical, exotic and beautiful at a great price, and don’t have too many stamps in your passport yet; if you want to live for a week without cooking, cleaning, or paying for drinks - give Barceló Bávaro Beach a shot. It has a good beat, and we could dance to it. We give it a 7.5.
Cameron and Doreen, Pennsylvania, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sarcasm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
In relation to language, this country is in Spanish, but in our resort we have different department where employees are multilingual as: English, French, German and Russian. These departments are Reception, Guest services, Club Premium and Supervisor at restaurants and bars.
With regards to your comment about the noises at the beach unfortunately it’s something that is out of our hands once the beach is public not private.
we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your observations to our attention since, it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit. We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This resort was very large, well maintained, and we felt very safe. The taxi ride to the hotel was very safe and easy for $28 (for up to 4 people). Just go to the taxi signs in the airport and they will hook you up with a cab. We had booked a room at the Bavaro Barcelo Beach (Adults Only) because you can also access their sister resort Bavaro Barcelo Palace at any time. The adult side is nice and relaxing. The beach isn't loud and it is very clean. The beach was my favorite on the adult side. The Palace side (the sister resort) has a huge mall full of restaurants and stores. The Palace also has multiple pools including a swim up bar pool. We prefered the Palace for activities and shopping, but the Beach side (adults side) for relaxing and laying on the beach. The food was good at the buffets because of the variety (average buffet quality). The restaurants were good. Our favorite was Chez Gourmet. It was not only the best service that we had (we had a lot of great service), it was also the best food! As everyone else states, it is a good idea to go directly to the reservation/member service desk to schedule your dinner times at the multiple restaurant choices (both Palace & Beach) when you get to the resort. We would also suggest (and spent a lot of nights there) the Coffee and Cigar bar. It has amazing drinks (coffee) and the cigars can be purchased outside the Coffee and Cigar bar (no haggling the cigars...we tried). The couple that we were with are now converted coffee drinkers because of the delicious drinks that they had there. There are multiple gift shops at the Palace and one at the Beach resort. Just remember that you can charge it to your room or use a credit card only (as I can remember). The people/staff are what made this trip amazing. They were always accomodating and very friendly. That is what I miss the most other than the sun....the customer service! There was a language barrier, but unless you have to say something really confusing, you will be fine. This would never be my complaint because I am in their country not the US. It is all part of the experience! If you like all-inclusives, then you will love this resort. Oh, and before I forget.....definitely bring your large travel mug for drinks on the beach. Everyone has one, and there is a good reason for it (less time spent getting drinks and more time to drink them).

Room Tip: We didn't splurge for the ocean room. We were barely in our room other than to sleep and get rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beangirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services especially enjoy the facilities of both in the same complex.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is my 7th trip to this resort, they did a huge renovation 3 years ago which has made it even better. We stayed at the Adult section, which is quiet. If you want some "action" it's a short walk or train ride to the Palace. We ate at 5 a la carte's two French, Mexican, Italian and Japanese. They were all amazing.

The rooms are very clean and it's a close walk to beach and pool. The golf course is very nice with lots of sand and some water. Very fun to play.

I honestly do not understand the negative reviews that I have read about this resort.

I will be going on trip number 8 there next year.

Room Tip: Building 1 or 2 are very close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2002Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your wonderful comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. Once again thank you for choosing us for so many years as a destination for your holiday.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
11.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
11.3 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing