We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & Relaxing All Inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great & Relaxing All Inclusive”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This resort was very large, well maintained, and we felt very safe. The taxi ride to the hotel was very safe and easy for $28 (for up to 4 people). Just go to the taxi signs in the airport and they will hook you up with a cab. We had booked a room at the Bavaro Barcelo Beach (Adults Only) because you can also access their sister resort Bavaro Barcelo Palace at any time. The adult side is nice and relaxing. The beach isn't loud and it is very clean. The beach was my favorite on the adult side. The Palace side (the sister resort) has a huge mall full of restaurants and stores. The Palace also has multiple pools including a swim up bar pool. We prefered the Palace for activities and shopping, but the Beach side (adults side) for relaxing and laying on the beach. The food was good at the buffets because of the variety (average buffet quality). The restaurants were good. Our favorite was Chez Gourmet. It was not only the best service that we had (we had a lot of great service), it was also the best food! As everyone else states, it is a good idea to go directly to the reservation/member service desk to schedule your dinner times at the multiple restaurant choices (both Palace & Beach) when you get to the resort. We would also suggest (and spent a lot of nights there) the Coffee and Cigar bar. It has amazing drinks (coffee) and the cigars can be purchased outside the Coffee and Cigar bar (no haggling the cigars...we tried). The couple that we were with are now converted coffee drinkers because of the delicious drinks that they had there. There are multiple gift shops at the Palace and one at the Beach resort. Just remember that you can charge it to your room or use a credit card only (as I can remember). The people/staff are what made this trip amazing. They were always accomodating and very friendly. That is what I miss the most other than the sun....the customer service! There was a language barrier, but unless you have to say something really confusing, you will be fine. This would never be my complaint because I am in their country not the US. It is all part of the experience! If you like all-inclusives, then you will love this resort. Oh, and before I forget.....definitely bring your large travel mug for drinks on the beach. Everyone has one, and there is a good reason for it (less time spent getting drinks and more time to drink them).

Room Tip: We didn't splurge for the ocean room. We were barely in our room other than to sleep and get rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beangirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services especially enjoy the facilities of both in the same complex.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,819
    1,982
    615
    207
    127
See reviews for
874
4,238
273
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is my 7th trip to this resort, they did a huge renovation 3 years ago which has made it even better. We stayed at the Adult section, which is quiet. If you want some "action" it's a short walk or train ride to the Palace. We ate at 5 a la carte's two French, Mexican, Italian and Japanese. They were all amazing.

The rooms are very clean and it's a close walk to beach and pool. The golf course is very nice with lots of sand and some water. Very fun to play.

I honestly do not understand the negative reviews that I have read about this resort.

I will be going on trip number 8 there next year.

Room Tip: Building 1 or 2 are very close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2002Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We appreciate all your wonderful comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. Once again thank you for choosing us for so many years as a destination for your holiday.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the adults only section. No screaming children there.
The second floor room was spacious and clean and we had a lovely balcony with an ocean view ( from a distance).
Try to get a top floor room as we had to move after 4 days because of day and night *heavy walking* (...) people above us.
Staff made no problem for the change of room.

Beach: Lovely BUT there is so much noise on the beach; from disco and heavy metal *music* and: imagine the beach is 3 kilometers long and unless you went to the most southern part of that beach you were constantly bothered by that *music*and it was so loud you could not hear the waves and neither the beautiful and plenty full palm tree leaves!
I found that a big irritation.

Restaurants: we booked premium and could go to all the restaurants (12....) on the premises. This was included in the *all inclusive* and totally worthwhile!
Good food, beautiful restaurants, very kind and good staff. The only thing you pay is the wine
(about 40 USD for a good bottle of red wine).
The *all inclusive* restaurant was OK for lunch but it tasted to me all a bit of the same.( this is of course a very personnel opinion).

Staff: all over the place kind and respectful staff speaking a not too bad English and/or French.
We had a quick check-in and out and were accompanied to our room.

Grounds: very well maintained. Beautiful palm trees all over the place. Beach is cleaned regularly also.

Would I return: No; I would not return because of the beach noise issue and that is something you can not influence because the noise came ànd from the hotel fitness and aqua sport (or whatever the names may be) and also from the beach tents close to the hotel.
I mean if you come here for a little peace and quiet you are in the wrong place.

The Palace was fantastic; fountains, beautiful sitting area's, shops by the dozen( very expensive not to say outrageous).
I also found the wellness area very beautiful but the treatment prices.....even Switzerland is cheaper let me tell you that.

Overall we had a nice holiday but as I already said this was not our place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room and if you do not want to be bothered by screaming children then book the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sullaneza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. With regards to your comment about the noises at the beach unfortunately it’s something that is out of our hands once the beach is public not private.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is within a a complex that contains a Conference Center, this Adults Only facility, the Palace Deluxe for families, and the Lakes, with rooms overlooking the golf course. My husband and I have traveled consistently for over 30 years. Cruise, resorts, road trips etc. We like to try new resorts each year. This is the first time we have gone to the same resort twice. That alone says it all! Lol. The adult side is a little less frenzied, without children's screams of joy at play. I love kids but not when my hubby and just want to relax by the pool .
The beach here is white, soft and goes on forever. The water clear and cool. Wildlife abounds, even to a male peacock ad his six females! They wander the grounds and often come up to the patios to be fed a tidbit.
The service and food is accessional and as we travel Air Transat our flights uneventful. ( something you want).
The golf? Well that's up to the player isn't it. The terrain can be roug on balls but a novice to a pro can enjoy the experience. There is a returant (all included) and they will hold your clubs at no care. Yep all is right here at the bavaro beach.resort. All inclusive s the way to go.

Room Tip: Really you don't need an ocean view. You are only in your room usually to sleep but if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mado623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your nice comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services especially our amazing beach and wildlife, about the golf, if you’re a good player, you can enjoy the view just because of how relaxing it is to be there.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked the hotel through Expedia. Make sure you also book the transfers to and from the hotel and airport through Expedia as well. They use a company in the DR called BLU. Be aware that when you arrive at the airport only deal with the people in t-shirts that have the BLU logo. Many others are scams. The hotel complex was large, well run and right on one of the best beaches in the Dominican Republic. The pools are gorgeous. The food is very good. The service is good and courteous. The entertainment ranged from good to poor according to the night. Overall an enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms designated as ocean view are NOT on the beach. Those are oceanfront. But you spend so little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services. With regards to your comments about the entertainment here we have different shows every night in our theater also you can see the different shows every nights at the theater at Palace Deluxe. Our animation staff has a comprehensive program of activities during the day with different times. As a matter fact the activities are: guessing game, beach volleyball, boccia ball, horse shoes, dance lessons, beach soccer, crazy game, besides other.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The ride from the airport is only 15 minutes. Check in was handled professionally and quick. Our room wasn't ready so we changed into our swim attire and headed to the buffet for lunch.

We were in building 1 room 1021 that is an ocean view room. However we could only see tip of the ocean as we looked to our left. Our room faced the bar right beside the pool. At first we thought that this was a negative as we like to sit on the lounge chairs in our garden area and the first day it was very noisy and the next morning someone stole our chairs for the pool. The gardener replaced our chairs and each morning we put towels on them to show they were occupied. Since there were never any chairs after 7am at the pool we found that our location was perfect as we like to be near the pool and the bar in the afternoon.

Rooms are exactly like the pictures on line. There is a large flat screen tv, small fridge filled daily with snacks, beer, juice, water and pop. The maid service was excellent. I love the bedding and duvets as I hate bed spreads at hotels.

I preferred the food at the buffet. There was always lots of fruit to choose from, cheeses and freshly made pasta of your choice. Breakfast had a chef preparing eggs, there was a station for pancakes waffles etc. Most lunches and dinner I had shrimp or lobster. We booked our a la cartes the first day we arrived. We were entitled to 5 but only went to 3. The gourmet was the best both in quality of food and service. I like Brisas last year but found the food and service lacking this time. The Italian we arrived at 9:30pm as per our reservation and were told to go away and come back. I felt sorry for the staff as they were very busy rushed and trying hard. The food was not very good.

There is a daily evening show which we didn't watch.

Great beach ...lots of chairs at any time of the day. It is a long and wide beach with soft sand. The ocean is aqua coloured and easy to access. The swim area is roped in as there are boats and party boats going past. The party boats do crank up the music as they go by the resorts....marketing. It is a noisy beach because of this but I did not find it offensive...part of the experience.

The pool is not large and should have a lot more chairs as there is space for them.

The staff at the bars work hard and they did serve some premium liquor. At BBB the staff's English was adequate but I found at the Palace when I ordered a dry gin martini that I was served a gin and tonic. I only went to the Palace once. My husband used the gym daily at the palace.
I also liked they served popcorn at the lobby bar.

I really like this resort and I will return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your wonderful comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services including our amazing beach. With regards to your comment about the noises at the beach unfortunately it’s something that is out of our hands once the beach is public not private.
Thanks for choosing us as a destination for you stay, as is your second time at our resort I hope to see a third.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From February 16th to the 23rd, my sister and I went to the Barcelo Bavaro Beach hotel for a week of relaxation and, of course, golf. The hotel complex is very big but transportation is not a problem as the little "train" comes by every 10 minutes or so. The golf course staf will even picked us up in front of the complex and brought us back. The hotel itself is impressionable with beautiful lobbies and reception area. Staff were really good and always willing to help. The "a la carte" restaurants are a must as the food is very good and varied with the exception of the "Brisas" where the pork and beef needed an axe to cut. All the other restaurants are to be experienced and its important to book them as soon as you arrive as they are sometimes overbooked and not available. Simply sit down with the staff at the Guest Services office where they speak French and English plus I was allowed to practice my bad spanish, which they helped me correct.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and the cleaning staff are quick to respond to any request we had. Of course, the golf course was in top shape and not that occupied as they have tee-offs every 20/25 minutes instead of the usual 10/15 so there is never any backlog, at least while we were there. The only change from my last trip, is that the golf carts are $65.00 per player instead of the $35.00 I payed two years ago. This is most probably to pay for the fabulous proshop and attached restaurant. This was my fourth trip there and I can't wait to go back for more relaxation and golf. While there, the beach had some algea in the water but this was the first time I ever saw this on any beach in Punta Cana. It was only a minor inconvenience and did not stop us from enjoying the warm waters. One very interesting fact is that we had beach chairs anytime we went to the beach whether early in the morning or alter during the day. It rained for about 15 minutes during the whole week. This hotel is a must for experienced travellers.

Pierre

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quieter as no one is walking on the upper floor. The area we were in was "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
Thank you very much for all your wonderful comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort especially our Golf course and a la carte restaurants. Thanks for visit us and I hope to return soon to enjoy our paradise.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
11.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
11.3 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing