We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I went for a week 7/11-7/18 and I had, by far, the most relaxing vacation of my life (and I've been on many). I went with my boyfriend & another couple. We stayed on the Adults Only side, and it was GREAT! There were NO KIDS! I love kids, don't get me wrong, but sometimes it's good to be away from the drunk teens who are being carried out of the pool by their friends (which we did see when we walked over to the palace deluxe side. There were security cameras all over, and security guards posted at every corner, so it was super safe. The only thing is the food. It wasn't horrible, but we were able to make decent reservations for the week. The staff is super humble & hard working, loved them! We also had to opportunity to go zip lining, which we booked with out Apple Vacations rep. We had to leave the resort for that, about 45 mins from our resort. It was one of the best experiences EVER!

I would definitely go back to this resort, i loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,987 - 3,993 of 8,416 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Every year, my girlfriends and I go on a summer trip. This particular year was to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. I had read the reviews for Barcelo Bavaro Beach, and saw that they were split down the middle. So I didn't really know what to believe. When we got to the hotel, the front desk was EXTREMELY rude. He told us that drinks were not included in the all-inclusive deal and tried to sell us wrist bands for an additional $17. We initially agreed, then he told us that it was $17 a day! We declined the offer and after waiting an hour, were sent to our room. The room was pretty beat up. The doors were worn through so thin that I could see into the room from outside. My friends and I looked at each other and laughed. We had come with a very positive mentality, so none of us wanted to be the "Debbie Downer", but we decided, WE NEED TO SPEAK UP! We went and spoke with hotel management, and by some unforeseen higher universal power and probably the fact that I wore my lucky shirt, the hotel manager turned out to be a friend of the friend of MY friend. She had talked to her friend and he had called the manager and told him to look out for us. When the manager realized who we were he helped us out. I do have to say, he had a very nice demeanor with us prior to finding this out. When we arrived to our new room, we all let out a sigh of relief. THIS was what we expected. It was a nice room steps from the beach. Room service is a bit slow, and you pretty much have to sell your first born for a towel, but we enjoyed the villas. The hotel "Club" was pretty boring, but I suggest going to the Cave club at night. Definitely a good time, and you get to experience partying in a cave. This resort was geared more for families than for 20 year old on vacation. I probably would stay at a resort with more to do, as this one had limited options. I recommend doing the excursions that are sold on the beach. The memories we have from those excursions are the best part of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missblizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel itself was really relaxing and wide open to feel the amazing ocean breeze. it wasn't full of people everywhere. we had our own space to settle down and have fun. The best part was having the option to travel and enjoy the palace side and its atmosphere. that one was more crowded and the center of the activities. Still, we loved going away to our beach side where kids are not allowed and we could enjoy the amenities by the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audreyFuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This all-inclusive resort was immaculate, quiet, beautiful, and luxurious in every way. The people there treated us like royalty and were kind and gracious. Great service from the minute we stepped off the airport van, greeted by bellman Sosa, who was tops in his class! Helped us throughout the week with arrangements for sight-seeing, etc. Also very helpful were the folks in the customer service office, even repaired a pair of broken glasses! Food wasn't exceptional, but found the Mexican Rest at the nearby Palace to be awesome. Room was large-the air cold- room quiet. The bed was so comfortable, we want one like it for home! Great value for the location and service. We will be going back. Sosa said he's waiting for us!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was my first time in DR, and I read other reviews of this resort which was divided down the middle. The grounds, beach, pool, room, etc were all very clean and nice. The staff varied from being pleasant, to just staring (mostly as I was walking around). I stayed at the adults only section.
The food however was not good at all. On the adults only side, there were only 3 meals per day, a large buffet with variety. No other options to obtain food/snacks, not even at any of the bars.
As the week progressed, I watched how food was re-packaged. For example, there was an eggplant dish that no one ate and each subsequent meal, it was converted to something else (stuffed eggplant, eggplant kebabs, eggplant stew, etc) The same was done for some very strange looking poached eggs.
The only 24 hour place with food, was at the Palace Deluxe, which required one to take the little train to get to the other part of the resort. The sports bar had the 24 hour food, which consisted of mostly fried, greasy food. I tried the food at the Golf section, also, not good.

Some restaurants required you to make reservations the day before, and those places, the food was just as awful. The Italian place (La dolce vita), I ordered the spinach ravioli, to my surpise it was served with an alfredo sauce, not a red sauce. I spoke to several other guests who tried other restaurants and they all shared how bad the food was.

Imagine my shock when I tried some of the rice and bean dishes only to discover how terrible it was!

The drinks were seriously watered down. After one drink, I was barely buzzed. The wine, was also terrible. The red was slightly better than the white.

I do not plan on returning to this resort.

Room Tip: The "Junior Suite" rooms had a jacuzzi on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff welcomed us with warm smiles and was extremely helpful our entire stay. My friend is in a wheelchair and the entire resort is handicap friendly. We reserved a handicap accessible room and it also worked well for her needs. Staff would help me drag the wheel chair back up from the beach, no small task at the end of the day. Very clean and quiet on the adult only section. Spa was excellent and very attentive. Book your spa time upon arriving. We did find out they book quickly for different services so if you want a specific time book early. My friend and I are foodies so that part was okay. We don't go for quantity but quality. Lots of fresh fruits and many choices of veggies. Lots of seafood. The specialty restaurants are a must for dinner. Book your reservations early to get the best pick of the restaurants. You would not have to twist my arm to return to this resort.

Room Tip: We don't stay in our room other than to sleep. We needed a handicap accessible room and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2337MWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and the staff helpful (especially Carolina and her helper in the premium concierge). A/C barely worked to keep the room around 80 degrees but cooled down comfortably in the evenings. Food was decent for buffet and drinks were decent too. We had an issue with house keeping at first (didn't show up) but our personal concierge helped out. Travel out of the country was an experience altogether that needs step by step instructions for sure as it was confusing (language barriers) and frustrating to figure out where you went and who you trusted to help you with baggage, customs and immigration. Be aware that ALL resturants in the evening require men to wear pants which i thought was ridiculous as the resturants were nice but not any nicer than in the US where shorts and flip flops are highly accepted (i.e. not a 5 star resturant by any stretch). Definitely bring your own cups for drinks!!! The ones they give you are two sips at best and you spend most of your time running back and forth to the bar for refills, I saw several people lusting after my plastic insulated cup that held 24oz of fruity goodness on several occasions!! Definitely worth the extra packing and the bar tenders are happy to fill it up! Tipping DOES make a difference in the Dom Rep. We had a bartender that went out of his way to help us out and knowing we'd compensate him something for each service (not each drink). All in all, i'd go back in a minute and would know better how to negotiate the airport and what to look for in a room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms where the a/c works best, there is tile everywhere due to moisture so the entire place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
3.9 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#43 of 114 in Punta Cana
6,214 reviews
6.2 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $237 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing