We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some bad mostly good though.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I just came back yesterday from Barcelo Bavaro. Check -in was quick even though we arrived early and had to wait for our room to be ready. No biggie we changed in the bathroom and hit the pool for drinks and food at the buffet while we waited. The lock in the room didnt work so we had to wait for them to change the front lock. After that it worked just fine.The room was nice but they do need to upgrade the bathroom area where the shower is located. Its outdated and the toilet never worked when it rained. We had to call twice to get it fixed and it was a two hour wait. The second time we called the front desk said they couldnt send anyone because it was late in the evening we would have to wait for the morning. But thank goodness it started working again on its own. We stay at Barcelo Punta Cana and the bathroom in our room was updated and modern. Barcelo Bavaro needs to take pointers from sister hotel.

The grounds are perfectly kept and all the public bathrooms are spotless. I loved all the lounge areas throughout the property and you must go see the roof top lounge at the Palace above the spa. The hotel is huge thank goodness for the train that comes every 10 mins. But if you dont mind walking the walk is only 6 mins on the front path of the hotel.

The beach was amazing and the pool was awesome. But we did wish they played music and the pool. Just cause its adults only and people want to relax doesn't mean you can't play music. The first two days we didnt see any activities staff which we thought was weird, because we go on vacation to relax but also to have some fun. Finally when the activites crew arrived the last two days we had music on the beach and tons of fun. We didnt want to walk to the other hotel to find activites espically since the Palace is filled with kids and teens everywhere.

The food was really good some days better then others but overall good. Breakfast was great at the Palace buffet we ate there every morning. We ate at four restaurants liked the Chez Gourmet at our part of the hotel the best. La Fuente came in as second best. The Coral which was the seafood restaurant wasnt good at all. But overall we like the food and probably gained a pound or two from eating so much.

The service throughout the hotel was ok some friendly some staff members seemed to have an attitude. But hey I'm vacation so I didn't pay it no mind.

Overall a good experience. For the right price I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LINLIN2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,849 - 3,855 of 8,117 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was here for a conference and everything was quite well done. It is very large and well laid out. The only caution is to plan your time going from your room to wherever you wish to go in the resort. There are regular trams that go throughout the resort, but you can make arrangements with the bell hop desk to have them pick you up at any time with a golf cart.

Food was excellent at all of the venues where I ate. Pool and beach were outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Mr. Prez,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers around the world who do not know us yet. We really appreciate your trust and confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach Hotel and hope to welcome you soon. Remember to contact us in your next visit that we will be more than happy to welcome you once again to our Caribbean paradise, always your second home.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

First time in Punta Cana and this was a great resort to stay in. Room was clean, A/C was working well at all times and housekeeping was always done. The beach is beautiful, staff was friendly, drinks were ok ,food was also ok…best buffet is the Bohio on the family side which had a Dominican selection of food. Pool area awesome and always very clean
I am glad I stayed on the Bavaro Beach Resort side which was an All Adults resort because it was quite and no children running around and not as many people so chairs were always available. I wished the resort had more latin music playing considering we were in DR. Entertainment was available every night on both location but it would have been nice to have a schedule to see what was happening where.

Overall, no complaints and I will def. visit Barcelo again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItzJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind review about your experience with us and for sharing it with many other travelers around the world who do not know us yet. Thank you so much for your trust and confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach Hotel. It's our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future, so in your upcoming visit do not hesitate to contact us that we will be more than happy to welcome you.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort in Punta Cana was a beautiful place for vacation. The beaches were amazing and the grounds of the resort were very well kept. The food in the resturants was very good but the buffet food was so so (kindof bland and not alot of foods that you knew what it was) Having the Palace resort on the same property was very nice. We enjoyed going to the Casino every night and the resturants were very good at the Palace. I am glad I stayed on the Bavaro Beach Resort side which was an All Adults resort because it was quite and no children running around. I think the resort could have had some kind of music at the pool which would have made that better and a little more entertaiment at the beach and also at the pool. The language barrier is a little diffcult at times, not alot of the workers speak English, but we seemed to manage. Anything we asked for would get taken care of by someone on the staff. This was my first time staying on a Barcelo property but I will defintely stay at one again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLS1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro_Beach_Resort, Quality Department at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind review about your experience with us and for sharing it with many other travelers around the world who do not know us yet. Thank you so much for your trust and confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach Hotel. Please, in your upcoming visit do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than happy to welcome you once again to our Caribbean paradise, always your second home.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Deparment
Barceló Bávaro Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Traveled to the D.R. on the last two weeks of April 2012. I have being to Punta Cana eight times and eight times I have stayed at The Barcelo Beach & Convention Center.The place just gets better and better. The cuisine has improved from an eight to a nine point five out of ten. The golf course has being completely refurbished including a new clubhouse, putting area and chipping area. More shade around the pool and new deck/lounge chairs surrounding the refurbished pool. The seaweed that washes up on the beach is cleaned twice a day - henceforth no sand fleas. The shopping at the resort will keep any shopaholics happy as they are continually adding more and diversified stores. I have traveled to Punta Cana in November, December, January, February, March and April - they are all terrific months to enjoy this resort. Do yourself a favor and improve your Spanish as few people speak English. I will be celebrating my birthday they're again and again. Fifteen days of heaven are not nearly enough - i got used to being catered to by a very friendly staff and management.

Room Tip: No need to request an ocean view as many of the rooms give you a partial view. the quiet rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaymondBurtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro_Beach_Resort, Quality Department at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Burt,

We really appreciate your positive review and for let us know that we were able to impress you during your last visit. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with many other travelers around the world who do not know us yet and also for your confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach Hotel. We will be more than happy to welcome you once again, so please in an upcoming visit do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Booked this trip for our honeymoon. The resort was very pretty and clean. We spent about 70 USD for tips at the resort; however, I don't think it made a difference. Management and the front desk were usually great: however, our tv was broken the entire week and the front desk told us multiple times they would send someone up. The bar service was ok, sometimes great but we were ignored on a few occasions by staff. On 2 occasions we got so frusterated, we had to leave. I speak some Spanish, which was extremely helpful!!! Being a vegetarian, eating was difficult, I would suggest eating at the sister hotel, the palace deluxe, if you don't eat meat or seafood. My husband was stomache sick most of the week, but we were prepared for that. Be forewarned that if any other hotel offers you a free day to check it out, DO NOT GO!!! The beach at our hotel was the best on the strip!! Everything was very expensive. Even at the duty/tax free stores. Bring US dollars. Most places count the euro the same as the dollar, and if you get money out of the ATM, it is in pasos and the charge about 10% at the casino to change it to dollars. If you want to lay by a pretty beach and just relax, it is a great place. We are a little adventurist and would have liked to go into town and explored, which is not really an option. Overall, we are happy we went but will probably not return.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just got back from Barcelo Bavaro beach and I thought it was a great trip.
The beach is beautiful ,staff was friendly ,drinks were good ,room was nice and very tastefully decorated everywhere.
It was quiet at this resort so for some more excitment and better buffets we went to the Palace ...loved this place too ..so nice .especially the hallway with the pink trees out in front of the Japenese resturant everyone was getting their picture taken as they walked by..sports bar was good ,food alright .Japenese resturant was really good but we got a chef that didn't put on a good show as some others chefs did:(
saw Micheal Jackson great show. other shows not so good but didnt care .
we didn't have a single problem here .loved everything and would highly recommend .Its nice to be able to use both resorts . best of both worlds:)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1057 second floor with pool and seaview..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindabrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro_Beach_Resort, Quality Department at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Mrs. Linda,

We really appreciate your kind review about your experience with us and for sharing it with many other travelers around the world who do not know us yet. Thank you so much for your trust and confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach Hotel. Please, in your upcoming visit do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than happy to welcome you once again to our Caribbean paradise, always your second home.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.7 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,279 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $213 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing