We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Nearby Hotels
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$457
$394
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$639
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$667
$506
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$315
$237
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$610
$561
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$1,650
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Memories Splash Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$460
$450
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$848
$557
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$277
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$378
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,625)
Filter reviews
8,625 results
Traveler rating
5,345
2,180
720
241
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,345
2,180
720
241
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschez gourmetla brisaclub premiumpalace deluxebavaro beachguest servicesdeluxe sidecaribe buffetsanta fe steakhouseadults only sectionocean frontswim up barpalm treesa la carte restaurantschateaubrianddinner reservationsseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,175 - 4,180 of 8,625 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Barcelo Bavaro Beach(adults only resort) after a 5 day trip. Let me first say that the resort is beautiful,well kept. We breezed right through check in-we took a transfer with Felix Castillo to the resort so we checked in without a crowd.We were escorted to our room on a little golf cart because we were in the last building. We loved our locale as it was far away from any night noise but still right on that beautiful beach!! I should preface this as being a low budget quick getaway for us so I therefore did not pay for any upgrades-we were not oceanfront and we did not pay for "premium club". We had no problem with any service on the adult side-all the bartenders and waiters and waitresses were very nice and yes we did tip when we would at home-for drinks and food and for the young woman making up our room.

Food- Not good and I just do not get it when people are saying it was fantastic. I am not picky but the buffets serve the same thing every day and unless you are there when they are putting it in the pans it is just not hot. By the third day we knew enough to never take anything that should be hot from the front of the buffet table--only take from the back row and chances were it would still be warm to hot. Nothing is seasoned and all is extremely bland. In the morning we would get omelets made to order(weird but these tasted like nothing-I had ham and onion but still bland),made to order waffles-yummy,made to order crepes-yummy. You also could get made to order eggs. We would load up at breakfast on smoothies(made to order also),waffles or crepes,fruit and yogurt because this was by far the best meal of the day. Lunch and dinner was ok at best but only after we figured out to take food only from back pans or to order from the 2 guys who would make you pasta meals or you could go to the other cook who would cook you fish,pork,chicken--this was ok food because at least you knew it would be hot. We did go to the one ala carte that were allowed to at our resort and the food was okay-not great. Our waiter was very nice young man but we did not feel that it was much better than the buffet. We went to Strikers over at the palace one night but our waiter was extremely rude-really acted like he did not care about us and did not want to be there--think this man needs a new job! Maybe trash duty or cleaning toilets would be more to his liking.We spent most nights over at the palace-we had a lot of fun at the casino(my husband was up 500 bux by the time we left-I only lost 20 buxs) Shows were okay and we loved the roof top room at night over at the palace-very cozy!

Beach and Pool-Loved the beach,no problems ever getting loungers and plenty of sun,shade or dappled sun/shade. No need to get up early to get a spot on the beach. Pool was beautiful and very nice. Lots of loungers here,3 beds.some really comfy chairs in shade and sun. No complaints here.

Overall we loved the resort,we thought it was beautiful but unfortunately there is no way that we would go back because the thought of eating that food again will keep us away. So sad because everything else was so superb! We will go back to Punta Cana but we will be in search of a new resort!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mdzone59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at this resort. We had an overall great time. There were only 2 negatives we had with the resort.
The first negative, which was extremely minor, was when we arrived our room was not by the couple’s room we had scheduled with; we had requested that the rooms be together. The check in staff tried to fix the issue and they did put our room by one another. The downfall to that was that we lost our ocean view, which we didn't discover until later. The other was that we never got all the little extras we were supposed to get because we were on our honeymoon.
The second negative was that we went to eat at the sports bar at the Bavaro Palace. The staff was very rude, which was very out of character for the resort. All the other restaurants we ate at the wait staff was outstanding. The food was undercooked very badly. We had ordered hamburgers and they were still bleeding on the plate. Being in a foreign country and not being overly sure about the sanitation practices we asked that they be taken back and cooked well done. They did get the burgers done right but that was the end of any service. We asked at least 4 different wait staff to get refills on our drinks. The last one picked up our glasses, glared at us as if we were interrupting her day and stormed off to the bar. We watched her pick up drinks and take them to 3 different tables and never return to ours. We asked her again and she walked away without a word. After watching her take drinks to another table we gave up and left.
There was much more good than bad. The best bartender we found was named Jose; he worked at the bar right by the entrance. The best waiter, also Jose works at the La Brisa restaurant. The rooms were kept clean and well stocked with towels and drinks. The staff everywhere, other than the sports bar, would always give you a smile and say hello when they see you. I had read some reviews that said the food was not good. I definitely did not find that to be the case. The meals were huge and the food tasted great. The views were breathtaking and the grounds were kept manicured in every detail. One big plus was the noted lack of bugs. Even around the street lights at night there just weren't a lot of bugs. I can't say for sure if it stays like that farther inland but by the coast it was very nice. There were many more things we really loved about the place and we would definitely recommend a visit to any of our friends and we will go back some day.

Room Tip: If you are looking for stuff to do on the resort closer to your rooms stay at the Bavaro Palace area instead of Bavaro Beach. The majority of restaurants are at the Palace area and the beach stuff is too. The Bavaro Beach is adults only. The Palace area was just as quiet in the room areas from what we could tell. The rooms at the Palace had whirlpool tubs on the decks outside too, which the Beach lacked.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I are so glad we chose this resort. The location is wonderful and the beach is beautiful. There are plenty of chairs and a lot of room on the beach, never overcrowded. The pool is great and well taken care of. We never had a problem getting chairs by the pool. The buffets are good, but they serve the same food every day. We enjoyed all the ala carte restaurants. Drinks at the bars are usually strong. The service was good in all areas and it gets better if you tip well. Overall this is a great resort and a good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1021. It is located right by the pool with a partial beach view and a great patio. Very close to everything including the buffet and the entertainment stage. You can hear the performance every night in the room from 10 to 11 pm. If you are looking for peace and quiet and like to go to bed early, this room is not for you. If you like to be close to everything then this is the room you want. We loved it!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poloniusATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro_Beach_Resort, Quality Department at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind review about your experience with us and for sharing it with many other travelers around the world who do not know us yet. Thank you so much for your trust and confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach. Please, in your upcoming visit do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than happy to welcome you once again to our Caribbean paradise, always your second home.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I so enjoyed staying at this Resort as an All Inclusive Resort - There is a small train that runs every 20 minutes from one end to the other, making getting around so much easier, but walking along the boardwalk on the ocean side offered fabulous views of the carribean.
I've stayed in other all inclusives, and the food was just ok, but the food at this resort was well presented, and offered a hugh selection to suit everyones tastes. They also have restuarants on site which you can reserve in advance - Steak house, Seafood, Teppan Style Japanese, Mexican, all with a terrific selection. Just make your reservations as early as possible because they book up quickly. For activities they offer a casino, and there is a disco on site if you want to dance. In the daytime there are boats, kayaks, and catamarans available to use as a part of the all inclusive -
The staff was attentive and always around the corner, offering to make your stay a terrific one, showing you how to use the boating equipment, bring you drinks in the pool or poolside, and just generally being pleasant.
YES ! I would stay again! loved this place

Room Tip: all of the rooms are well laided out, but try to get one on the 2nd floor or higher so you can see a bit of the ocean from your patio spa - Every room has one!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelsrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro_Beach_Resort, Quality Department at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind review about your experience with us and for sharing it with many other travelers around the world who do not know us yet. Thank you so much for your trust and confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach. We will be more than happy to welcome you once again, so please in an upcoming visit do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

First off, let me say that some of the negative reviews regarding the Barcelo Bavaro Beach resort are not valid, as they were directed toward the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe resort, which is a connected. The Beach resort is adults only, which makes the trip so much better if you don't enjoy the company of children. My brother and I (24/26 year old males) stayed at the Beach resort in late May 2012. We upgraded to the Club Premium service for $25 extra per person, per night. This service puts the resort over the top. When the bartenders, waiters, and maids see you have the upgrade, you are treated completely differently. I will say that as a tourist who is traveling to a foreign country that mainly speaks Spanish, it is not only polite, but also necessary to know at least SOME Spanish. It is rude to assume that every worker at the resort is fluent in English. Buy a small translation book, and try to speak some Spanish, you will be rewarded with much better service.

Pros: Great value, the beach is top notch. The water is very clear, the sand is white and clean, and the security is good enough to keep out unwanted visitors. The food was above average for the most part. Stick with seafood and fruit and you won't be disappointed. The service was above average. Tip your maid service well and your room will always be pristine and fully stocked. The club premium representatives are fluent in English and were able to help us with whatever we needed. The golf course is fairly nice, but also has some cons (see below). The Palace resort is much larger and is basically free if you have the club premium upgrade. There you will find much more nightlife, more pool area, and more children. Enter at your own risk...
The best restaurants, in our opinion, were as follows:
Kyoto
Chez Gourmet
Hoyo 19 (the golf course restaurant is also free, and is pretty good for lunch)
La Brisa
Club Premium lounge (mostly snacks, but also good)
Santa Fe Steakhouse
Mexican food (don't remember the names of both, but they were average)
Coral
Le Comedie
Italian (didn't expect much considering we were in the Dominican)
All buffets

Cons: The service at the golf course is below average. The main thing that bothered me was the fact that in order to use the $50 off coupon, the representative told me I had to buy 4 individual rounds, and not 4 total rounds (as my brother and I wanted to play twice). So, we had to pay $40 each for the club rentals (Callaway diablos, decent set for 15 handicappers, not so good for single digit handicappers), and $40 EACH for the cart rental. That to me was absurd considering we were only renting 1 cart.
The buffet food wasn't very good. We discovered that if you stick with fruit and anything that the chefs made in front of you, such as an omelette, you were fine. Don't eat the beef that has been sitting out for two hours, you will get sick. Also, stick to hot seafood at the buffets and you will be ok. Finally, the drinks are all national, so you have one choice of beer (which wasn't bad with a lime) and mostly cheap hard alcohol. The house wine is awful, so if you are a wine drinker, pay the extra $20 at dinner and buy a nicer bottle of wine.

Tips: Their specialty for booze is rum. So, we were drinking Rum and Coke with ice and lime the entire time. If you ask for the imperial rum (much better), they will give it to you for no extra charge. If you believe that you can get a good glass of scotch or whiskey for free, please take a step back and realize you are in a foreign country. This is a 4 star resort, so you get what you pay for. The more Spanish you know, the better you are treated. It also helps to tip your service people, but believe it or not, it is not as important as speaking politely in Spanish. DON'T buy cigars or gifts in the gift shop, as it is very expensive. If you can handle the bartering in Spanglish, go hit the flea market just off the resort. I was able to buy another bottle of rum, a bag of coffee, two cover-ups for the women in my life, and 25 cuban cigars for $100. This would have been easily $250 or more in the gift shop. You do get accosted for this though, similar to Mexico, so be prepared. Bring lots of sunscreen, as it is $40 a bottle in the gift shop.
The biggest tip I can give anyone though, especially males, is to bring pants, close-toed shoes, and a nicer polo for dinners. ALL of the nicer restaurants require pants and shoes, no exceptions. Please be aware of this, as it was not ideal to wear the same pair of pants for 8 days in a row. Other than that, you definitely get what you pay for, especially the upgrade. I would definitely go back, and plan to next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor of building 3, which was ideal because you could see the beach from the patio, and because it was very quiet at night. We had no problems sleeping. AC units blow very cold, which was awesome.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Caylin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro_Beach_Resort, Quality Department at Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Mrs. Caylin,

We really appreciate your kind review about your experience with us and for sharing it with many other travelers around the world who do not know us yet. Thank you so much for your trust and confidence in our Barceló Bávaro Beach. Please, in your upcoming visit do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than happy to welcome you once again.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Department
Barceló Bávaro Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews