We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveler rating
926
275
100
27
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
926
275
100
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hideaway pool hideaway section dorado restaurant diamond club hideaway guests hideaway reception hideaway staff tutti frutti el dorado victor lopez martini bar fitness team hunter steakhouse aqua fit boot camp beach concierge hunters steak house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

I’ll start with what I liked.
The resort is clean, and well maintained. The staff are hardworking and helpful. We ate breakfast and lunch at the buffet and there was always a wide variety of food. The food at the a la cartes was also very good, with the exception of The Jade restaurant. We ate dinner once at the buffet and everything was cold except for the chicken which just came off the grill.
Where I have issues is with the upgraded all adults area, The Hideaway. We were only able to get seating around the pool area once. The beach is extremely small and the lounge chairs are so close to one another that it’s not easy to move them when you are looking for a sunny spot. Also, there were three days we could not get a spot on the “Hideaway” beach. The Hideaway has around 190 rooms, most people come as couples =360 people. It’s impossible for everyone who pays for the upgraded Hideaway section to actually get seating. Chances are you’ll end up in the Royalton area with all the children, just like we did. On one particular day we went to the beach, the attendant looked around but no chairs were available. A few hours later we had lunch at Dorado, which is on the beach. We saw a couple arrive at the beach, the attendant took them around looking for seats and there were none. He then went to the water sports hut and took two lounge chairs out for this couple!!
The online Royalton photos show a very spacious beach, with lots of room. These photos have been altered. If the beach is important to you keep this in mind. Unfortunately my cell phone broke on day two so I have no photos. I’m sure others do
The Hideaway was not worth the upgrade.
Like many resorts they sell time shares. Every building has a concierge conveniently located where you can not avoid them. They are very charming . They offer you free gifts, mugs, t-shirts ect. Unless you want to spend at least a half a day in a pressure meeting just keep walking by.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Katto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

My girlfriend and I booked this trip through SellOff during Black Friday. We got what we thought at the time was a good deal; 5 stars, adults only and on Bavaria beach.

We actually got a great time! The resort was a perfect balance between family’s and adults and my girlfriend and I were free to go between areas and resorts as we chose.

The food options were great. We loved the fresh fruit selection and options for meals and the staff were fantastic. Rafael at the Hideaway beach was top notch with getting us set up every morning, Alberto at the bar there kept the drinks flowing. Marco our concierge was a blast and we even helped him celebrate his 35th birthday while we were there.

We’ll definitely be coming back..only suggestion for the staff...I know were Canadian and not used to Dominican heat all the time, but you can set the AC to higher than 18.5’c after you clean the rooms. ;) We can handle 21’c. :)

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank robmanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRbluediamond, Manager at Hideaway At Royalton Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear robmanias;

Receive an exclusive regard from CHIC Punta Cana;

We heartily appreciate your taking the time to write such a kind review on our resort CHIC Punta Cana. We are delighted to read that you spent a most wonderful holiday.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Warm regards from paradise,

CHIC Punta Cana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We were there efor one week and we found exactly what we were looking for....a top hotel with all services, very quiet (if this is what you are looking for) with a wonderful spot (pool, beach, restaurants, spa, etc).

We recommend to everyone that is looking for a nice place to relax and re-energize!

Enjoy!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MichelLCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRbluediamond, Manager at Hideaway At Royalton Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020


Dear MichelLCanada;

Receive exclusive regards from Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana.

We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a nice review at our Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana. We are happy to read that you had such an amazing vacation.

We love to know that you had a fantastic time and that we could exceed your expectations, especially with our service.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future so that we can once again offer you an excellent service and continue creating the best experience for you.

Warm regards from paradise,

Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Resort is very clean and beautifully landscaped. We stayed in a Hideway Diamond room with oceanview. Our butler Hector was great! We were surprising our friends for a 60th birthday celebration. With Hectors help we were able to get them to the Dorado to meet us for dinner. Hector was only a phone call away. He always touched base with us everyday. If we didn't call or run into him in the building, he tracked us down at the beach and asked about dinner reservations or any other needs. Thank you Hector! I know some days we didn't give you much notice but you worked your magic and always got us in. No complaints on any of the food or service. Try the Dirty Monkey from the Hideway beach bar or pool bar.....delish!!! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Recommend the adult only section. There are a lot of families at this resort, so having areas away from kids is nice.

Room tip: Buildings are 3 story, no elevators. Keep that in mind when booking.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRbluediamond, Manager at Hideaway At Royalton Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Cheryl S;

Receive an exclusive regard from Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana.

We are honored that you have chosen our resort in Punta Cana and we are pleased to read that you had a wonderful vacation.

We love to know that you had a fantastic time and that we could exceed your expectations, especially with our service.

Thank you for highlighting our accommodations, facilities, activities, services, and restaurants and for highlighting that everyone is incredibly kind and happy to assist you during your stay.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future so that we can once again offer you an excellent service and continue creating the best experience for you.

Warm regards from paradise,
Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

My partner and I booked the hideaway with diamond club. Our butler Hector was amazing, we had him on WhatsApp and anything we needed we got, there was never any issue. He would come over to us daily at the pool to check on us and make sure everything was how it should be, which was a lovely touch. If you are travelling to this hotel and have diamond club ask for Hector as your butler as he will not disappoint!! We got allocated Fluery when Hector had his 3 days off and it was not the same, we didn’t hear/see him for the whole three days. All the staff members around the hideaway pool/beach are lovely, they are so helpful and make you feel relaxed especially Maria. Arturo from the vibe team is brilliant, he got us involved in everything around the pool/in the evening and made us more beautiful with his beauty juice, lol!!

The rooms are large but quite dated however we didn’t mind as we only spent time in there to sleep. The maid would could round twice a day to clean the room. We have no complaints about the mini bar or amenities in the room, we had everything replaced daily and got out two bottles of spirt (diamond club) without having to say anything. We never had any issues getting a sunbed around the hideaway pool, however if you left the bed for too long, for like lunch or something the towels would be removed - just a warning!

We really enjoyed Dorado (hideaway exclusive restaurant) and Zen. Hunters, Mexican(at memories) and Grazie were good. Jade we didn’t enjoy, the food and service didn’t meet the same expectations as all the other restaurants.

We got room service twice and after reading several bad reviews I was a bit cautious on if it would turn up etc.. however it took 20 mins from ordering the food for it to be delivered so we were very impressed both times.

We had a really enjoyable stay and will hopefully be back in the future!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Glouisel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRbluediamond, Manager at Hideaway At Royalton Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Dear Glouisel26;

Receive kind regard from Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana.

We are proud to know that you had a fantastic stay at our property: we would love to express our gratitude for your incredible comments and for the moment you took to give such kind feedback to us.

We strive to deliver a great vacation to all of our guests and we appreciate very much your lovely feedback about our facilities, services, and staff. Comments like yours are our best reward.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future so that we can once again offer you an excellent service and continue creating the best experience for you.

Warm regards from paradise,
Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews