We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanza Mare Lives up to Everything it Advertises”
Review of Stanza Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanza Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2009

The staff was super attentive and all of the grounds, and the apartment we rented, were spotless. The on-premises restaurant will gladly prepare food off menu if you desire. Laundry on premises, 5 min walking distance to supermarket, bakery, currency exchange, restaurants, spas, and gift shops. Security present at front gate and at the beach. Beautiful views of the beach and the pool from nearly every apartment. Daily housekeeping. Free breakfast.

This is a quiet (and beautiful) apartment complex, not an all-inclusive resort. I believe the prior negative review did not understand this. Also the facilities provided by each apartment (such as available cookware) vary, because the apartments are owned by individuals who choose rent their units in the rental pool. The apartments are managed, but not owned, by Stanza Mare.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribeTurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

OMG do not stay here! I just came back from the Stanza Mare and it was horrible. I went with a couple of family members (small children included) and friends. First of all the rooms are SERIOULSY underequipped. Our blender was broken, we only had 1 pot no bowls, and there was practically no water pressure at all. It was so bad we had to call a plumber because one of the toilets stopped working. I dreaded taking a shower because I knew I would be confronted with no hot water, no water pressure, or both. The staff did nothing to fix this, so we honestly gave up complaining (and because we had two rooms we were able to cope). The main bar closes at 9:30 pm however there are several other trendy restaurants that are open late on the beach, about a 5-minute walk.

The only thing that Stanza Mare has going for it is its private beach. The beach was literally a 3 minute walk from our units. The kids enjoyed this tremendously they would spend hours at the beach in the morning and early afternoon and then they would jump right in the pool thereafter in the late afternoons and evenings. The beach has a couple of souvenir shops (very expensive, they wanted me to pay $8 for a shot glass, but of course you tell them your price and of course bargain shop) and very cool restaurants with beds and balconies (the food is mediocre).The neighborhood is not safe so I DEFINITLY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND walking around at night past 10 PM outside the resort (not like there is much to see anyway, Stanza Mare is in the middle of nowhere). Near the resort there is an outdoor bar/restaurant and a plaza that has a supermarket, internet café (the internet in Stanza Mare NEVER worked and when it did it was very slow), and a bakery/restaurant. I am completely surprised at the reviews, this place was not fun. In our group we ranged, age wise, from 9-48 years old and everyone including the nine year old was unsatisfied. The only reason we stayed here was because of the private beach and we wanted things to be a little toned down for the kids; however at 9pm you can hear a pin drop. I went during the hottest (figuratively speaking and literally) week July 4-11, are you kidding me? There was no civilization here beside, the few other residents who were obviously out enjoying their vacation. We were always out and about (on excursions, day trips, and looking for things to keep ourselves busy) so we coped. If you are looking for a trendy place to stay were they will be beautiful and fun people at the bar, poolside, beach, or restaurant Stanza Mare is not it; If you want a resort where you can explore the neighborhood and mingle with the locals Stanza Mare, again, is not it. If you want a place with working appliances, a friendly staff, a gym, and hot tub Stanza Mare is not it. They didn’t even have a hot tub or gym what the @u**?

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank njose528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed in unit K103 at the Stanza Mare for the last 2 weeks in April, 2009. We enjoyed the Stanza Mare condo development immensely. Our one bedroom/2 bath condo was nicely furnished, well-built and extremely comfortable. We spent many hours on the patio in the evening listening to the palm trees sway in the breeze coming off the ocean.

The beach, which was a minute walk away, had very fine, almost powdery, white sand and gorgeous azure water. It was a bonus that the staff at Stanza Mare obviously cleaned the beach every morning because looking up and down the beach our area was the most attractive. The beach was never crowded unlike the large resort areas.

The open air restaurant at Stanza Mare was excellent - we usually had room service - what a treat! The staff at the restaurant, as well as the office staff, grounds, security and maintenance staff, were extremely friendly, helpful and a pleasure to get to know. Computer and laundry access was convenient and accessible when needed.

In addition, the convenience of having a wonderful bakery, supermercado, currency exchange, restaurants and ATM within a few minutes walk was a huge bonus.

We located Stanza Mare at the vacation rental by owner website. We particularly liked being able to deal directly with the owners. Not only could they give us first hand information about the condo and the development but also of the surrounding area and attractions. They provided helpful information of the local culture based on their years of experience in the Dominican Republic.

We’ve stayed in many places on many islands over the years. The Stanza Mare facility ranked among the best as did our experience dealing with the owners. We would highly recommend staying there and can’t wait to get back ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeannieMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

A beautiful location on the beach, nice pool.
Condo had LARGE crack in front door, kitchen underequipped (only one pan and no bowls). Stove did not fully work.
Main air conditioner in our condo was broken throughout the week.
I had asked if there was a pullout couch before we arrived; wasn't there.
Went to restaurant only once- food took at least an hour to arrive and was cold. Bar not well stocked.
In spite of above problems we enjoyed the location and the quiet.
Place has good potential but not there yet.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Spent month of Feb 09. Found staff friendly and courtious Grounds well maintained and clean.Beautiful beach and pool. We had a lovely one bedroom apt .Overall a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lairdpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

friendly staff
very quiet
not crowded
clean
well maintained
great beach
restaurant at resort is superb..good prices and service
visit restaurants right beside on beach..Soles and Hurcan Cafe ..excellent

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EagleSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Our family of 6 stayed at the Stanza Mare for one relaxingweek. Going there we did not know what to expect, we had never been on a hot holiday before and didn't have many pictures of the property. The beach was great not as crowded as others but had a great location. The condo was very comfortable and the staff was excellent from the maids and gardeners to the office managers and the security. I can't think of a single dissapointment in our stay, except that too many good reviews will have this slightly hidden gem all booked up when we want to go there next. The five highlights of our stay were the great staff (THANK YOU EMMANUEL), the relaxed atmosphere, the great beach, the perfect family setting, and the abscence of clocks.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mac2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
5.1 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,422 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
whala!bavaro
whala!bavaro
#84 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,014 reviews
2.2 mi away
Karibo Punta Cana
Karibo Punta Cana
#1 of 20 in Bavaro
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanza Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanza Mare

Address: El Cartecito Bavara, Punta Cana 00000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Punta Cana
Price Range: $77 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanza Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from the Punta Cana Intl’ Airport, Stanza Mare brings the privacy and comfort of a summer home, with the services of your favorite hotel, crystal clear beaches, tall palm trees and soft white sands are the scenery of our fully furnished apartments of 1, 2 & 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanza Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanza Mare Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing