We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #51 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just home from 2 weeks in this beautiful hotel.Came with friends and we all agreed it was really great.Cannot say anything bad at all.The grounds are the best feature and so well looked by hardworking grounds staff (WELL DONE TO THEM). Rooms are very nice and kept very clean. Food well very good always something for everyone.The pool was smashing and the bar staff good. All the complex was beautiful but staying in an adults only was just right for us.I would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Anywhere is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorwichMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear client,

It is an honor to read that you spent two weeks in our Resort with friends and all think this is a really great place.

We greatly appreciate you would not hesitate to recommend us and the best part for you was that our hotel is adults only.

I really invite you once again to enjoy an all-inclusive holiday with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,257 - 4,263 of 10,566 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a 4 night 5 day stay in June. Too short! Great locations. Rooms are clean, spacious and centrally located. Beach is lovely - can get crowded so if you go, get there early for a good seat. We loved the swim up bar in the pool where we chatted with friendly vacationers. Food is better than the other 2 Gran Bahia properties - service was occasionally on "island time." in other words - on the slow side. Go to Don Pablo gourmet - good food in air conditioned setting. Guest services was "hit and miss" - some staff helpful, others couldn't wait to see you gone. It was my husband's birthday and it was like pulling teeth to get a slice of cake and a sing-song from restaurant staff. All in all a good rest and we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Sue,

I would like to thank you for highlighting our great Resort, good food and our nice Don Pablo restaurant.

We really appreciate your valuable opinion and it would be a pleasure that you honor us with another visit in our Resort.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very nice resort, people are friendly and go out of their way to make you stay a great vacation. The Amber is the adult section of Bahia Principe. it is close to the beach. all the specialty restaurant had outstanding meals. and the buffet had a very good verity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Michael,

It is wonderful for me to read that you enjoyed our adult’s only section and the amazing staff here. I feel happy that you liked the good variety at the buffet and the outstanding meals at the a la carte restaurants.

All-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just like to share again our experience at the Ambar in Punta cana, lovely, again great room reception, our best restaurant is the Don Pablo, great chataubrian & the manager senior Hector make sure that eveything is perfect, great team & service from this very good manager Hector...

Aldo is also one of the reason why our vacation is great, ww will be back again.

Room Tip: Bungalow block 60' 64 are close to the beach and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Manon,

It is thanks to repeaters clients like you that Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years. Your gratefulness’s will be forward to our staff members. They will be happy to learn that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Please don´t hesitate to contact us prior arrival to prepare all the details to provide you another fantastic vacation.

Kindest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you're looking for a quick review with keywords, then: gorgeous resort, average buffet food, above average a la carte food, friendly mostly english speaking staff, and net net....a great time.

If you're interested in the details, here they are:
Gran Bahia Principe is located in Punta Cana, DR. If you speak at least beginners level Spanish, you can rent a car from Santo Domingo airport and make your way - about 3 hours drive- to Punta Cana with the help of GPS navigation, a map, and carefully selected passerbys on the street. If you don't speak a lick of Spanish, it's best to fly into punta cana airport and take a taxi to the resort because it feels like it's in the middle of nowhere and the driving directions are quite complicated- i'm still impressed that we found it.

Once you get to the hotel, you realize that it's a massive MASSIVE complex. It is STUNNINGLY beautiful. The resort is like a mini town with thousands of tourists from all over the world. There are several hotels on one resort complex- regardless of which hotel you stay in, you have access to the entire resort- some of the main hotels on the resort are Ambar (where my husband and I stayed that is adults only), Esmeralda, and Gran Principe Bahia. Out of all the hotels on the resort compound, Ambar and Esmeralda are the closest to the beach. Anything else is a 10 minute walk or a trolley ride over. There are several pools on the complex that are gorgeous and available to all staying on the resort compound. Some things I would like to highlight:

Staff: Very attentive and helpful. Most speak english. Wherever you are, people will offer you drinks within a minute of sitting down.

Grounds: Absolutely stunning and massive. There are workers constantly working to keep the grounds immaculate - trimming, watering, sweeping - extremely clean and prim.

Rooms: The rooms at Ambar were very nice, spacious, and clean. It has a southwestern feel to the room. There were nice touches daily such as chocolates on our pillows at night, cleaning of the rooms at least twice per day, flowers in the bathrooms, and lots of shampoo/conditioner.

Food: The buffet food is available in all the hotels for all three meals. There is a lot of choice but the food in general looked better than it tasted. There are also several a la carte restaurants available for dinner that you must make reservations for - you should do this immediately after getting to the resort as they fill up fast. Don Pablo was a very cool experience and worth it. El Olivio was also very good. The third day we had garden grill and it was SO not worth it - think Applebees for tourists. There are others but we didn't get to try them.

Activities: Most days, I oscillated from the beach to the pool - mostly the pool because seaweed brushing against my legs scares me. The pools are all fantastic with swim-up bars and awesome drinks. At the Ambar pool which is where I spent my days, the bartenders were friendly and there was a trio of guys whose sole job was to entertain patrons - they would play music (more of a party atmosphere), lead zumba, swim contests and water aerobics. The beach was gorgeous - really nice white sand, with clear water to swim, lined with a row of palm trees. On the beach there were activities like beach volleyball, parasailing, and kayaking. In the 'center town' area, there was karaoke, shows, a club and casino - none of which I participate in so I cant comment on the entertainment value.

Overall, I think this is a really nice resort with average food for the most part in a beautiful backdrop. I would recommend this resort as a great place to enjoy yourself and if you're not traveling with kids, definitely stay at Ambar over the other hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the main court yards if you don't want to feel too isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissMeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Miss Mena,

We are pleased to hear that your trip to our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection has been really nice and you would recommend our adults only Resort. It is an honor to hear that you had a great vacation with us and let me tell you that we are grateful that you take the time to post this review and highlighting our helpful staff, immaculate grounds, nice and clean rooms, and the good food that for you was average.

We hope to see you once again in this paradise!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Nothing bad to say about this resort! This is me and my wife's second time in as many years and for the second year in a row we had a wonderful experience! The hotel staff are some of the most friendly people we have ever met! They were always there to greet you with a hello how are you and a big smile! The food to me was very good! They do a wonderful job and trying to appeal to all walks of life there is a little bit of something for everyone! The el olivio is our favorite as well as the italian night at the buffet! The drinks were always very good and full of spirits and someone was always near to refill your glass! The only things we couldn't understand was having to make reservations for every dinner outside the buffet! This was understandable when we were told it was due to not wanting over crowding however when we would go there were always plenty of tables open! Not really a big deal but just a minor inconvenience as well as the transfer schedules which seemed like I could not get an answer from any one! I pretty much had to accidently stumble upon it in the bavarro your operators room! Perhaps they could make those schedules more readily available! The final inconveniance we had was the pool hours and the fact that it closes at 6pm i do wish it stayed open a little longer as sometimes your not able to have dinner reservations till 9pm so it kind leaves you with nothing to do for an extended time! But other then that we absolutely loved the Ambar and all of it's staff! We also loved the beach it was absolutely beautiful and everything you could expect! The white sand and turquoise water is a wonderful backdrop for a truly rest and relaxation stay! Which is exactly what this was! So thank you to all the Ambar staff we look forward to coming back in the future and all of our friends will hear nothing but positive reviews!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Chris,

For all our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar team it is an honor to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services and you don’t have nothing negative to say about us. We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with others on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the most friendly people you have met which are our staff.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We hope to see you soon!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Beautiful resort. Staff are amazing. They treated our large group like family - greeted at the door at the buffet with smiles and hugs. Thanks especially to Hector, Felix, Juan and Albania. Pools clean, grounds impeccable and service excellent. Our room was always clean. The food at all the buffets and a la carts that we went to,were amazing. So many a la carts to try. So much variety.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Moranna,

Thank you very much for choosing our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection as your holiday destination. It was an honor for us to assist you and be part of your relaxing vacation.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you and make your stay an unforgettable experience in Punta Cana.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.4 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
5.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $183 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing