We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat guests, a bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Repeat guests, a bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been travelling to Punta Cana for the past 10 years of which 5 of them have been spent at the Ambar. We have raved to our friends about this resort and also influenced many people to actually book due to our recommendations. We were a bit disappointed when upon arrival this time we were not acknowledged as returning guests. We were not given the building location we had asked for in two emails sent a month apart. When we finally had our building location changed the room card did not work on 4 different occasions. It didn't work for us and it didn't work for staff who also tried. This was extremely inconvenient since after partying in the evenings one of us had to walk back to the lobby and ask it to be fixed again. The master card worked but our card consistently was not working. Finally by day three someone said they would get maintenance on it the next day. I assume this happened since we didn't have room card issues thereafter. We did not receive any welcome back gifts. On the other hand once again the Ambar came through with their hospitality, cleanliness and peacefulness. We found the food and drinks excellent. I completed the survey they sent thereafter and I am a little disappointed that my comments did not generate anything from Ambar management. Usually Ambar management picks up on this right away. This being said it is our intention to return to Punta Cana for 10 days over Christmas. I'm not sure whether I feel comfortable bringing my friends to the Ambar based on our last visit which is a shame because we have always enjoyed our stay and always felt welcomed as returning guests. We may be looking at other locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bizzielizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Lizzie,

We cannot tell you how sorry we are for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration and shared with the General Management of our Resort in order to analyze the points you mentioned.

It is our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, and demonstrate that our commitment is towards our beloved guests as our main goal is to achieve their complete satisfaction.

Looking forward to hearing from you before your next visit so that we can take care of all the details prior your arrival…

Kindest Regards,


Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,861
    2,461
    1,020
    352
    224
See reviews for
812
6,991
136
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,652)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Ambar in September this year and it was an amazing 2 weeks!

We were in villa 62 which was a perfect distance from the lobby and the pool/beach. It was also quiet and you could hear very little, if any noise from outside. There was a lovely garden view from the room, looking out at a huge coconut tree.

On arrival we received a welcome gift of t-shirts, rum, a fruit basket in our room and decorative balloons. It was lovely and a great way to be greeted. The towel art was also gorgeous!

The room was cleaned to a very high standard, with fresh towels most days and clean bedding very regularly. The mini bar was also constantly stocked with water, juice, crisps, beer, vodka, whiskey and bicardi.

The pool and pool bar was so much fun! A special mention has to go to Marcos, our pool bar barman. He really took care of us and showed us a great time! It would not have been the same without him! Elvis, another barman from the pool was also excellent! Constantly singing and having fun! They both were great and really know how to make a cocktail! Chocolate Monkey cocktails were definitely a favourite of mine!! Confessor was also another great barman!

People do get up early to put their towels down however, I wouldn't worry too much about this as there was always plenty of beds. We never struggled for sun loungers no matter what time of day we appeared at the pool.

The food at the buffet was also good. Sometimes it was a bit on the cold side but for the most part it was good. Favourite ala carte restaurants had to be The Garden Grill, Takara (Asian) and Don Pablo. We had amazing food here! We also ate at Bella Italia, which I would describe as average.

The beach was stunning! Loads of beds and plenty of room, it was never overcrowded.

The service overall was excellent!

Overall this was an amazing trip and I can't wait to return! I highly recommend the Ambar!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Julie,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely delighted to read that with our wonderful, staff, food, beach, rooms you returned home with wonderful memories .Our warm staff will be motivated with your acknowledgments, which gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again soon.

Best regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first time in the Caribbean and we loved it! The check in was quick and effective. Everyone is friendly, whether you tipped or not. The lobby and the grounds are clean and well kept. We stayed in unit 62: our room was huge, always clean and with free mini-bar, stocked up daily with some items. The AC is a bit loud but functioned perfectly.

Excellent service everywhere: in the lobby bar, the buffet, the pool and the beach. Amazing food: quality, variety and presentation. We went to 3 à la carte restaurants: Portofino, Takara and Don Pablo Gourmet. Portofino and Don Pablo Gourmet were simply outstanding. The beach and pool were simply amazing. Try the Banana Mama!

My husband went to the gym and it does the job on vacations. Don’t expect much entertainment at the lobby - for us it wasn’t a problem. :) In the other resorts of the complex, there is always some way of entertainment every night: you could walk or take the mini-bus.

Our suggestions:
1. More information in our room about the hotel would have been useful too, e.g., opening times of restaurants and bars, pool area, etc.
2. Clocks – there aren’t any clocks in the common areas and it would have been helpful just to check the time as there are schedules for the pool/bars/restaurants/check out.
3. Expresso – the expresso coffee isn’t bad but being European, we are used to it being a lot stronger.

We would definitely recommend this place and return here without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are proud to read that you were happy with the service you encountered and to know that you absolutely recommend us.

Looking forward to seeing again you in the future!

Best Regards,


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana

Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Will not be coming back to this hotel again and will think twice about ever going back to the Dominican.
I have to say in general, since I have visited a few locations in the Caribbean that the people we encountered on this trip were not very nice, quite rude, seemed unwilling to help and for the most part did not speak English. The language barrier was a huge problem with just about all of the staff, from the restaurants to the room service.
I and my girlfriend were travelling with 3 other couples and booked into this hotel, which calls itself “adults only”, six months before we arrived. We asked at that time to be in rooms all together and our agent confirmed this was requested. However, on arrival to this resort, which was past the check in time of 3pm, we found that not only were we all not together but one of our rooms wasn’t even ready to occupy! After spending at least an hour and a half in the hot open aired lobby, we had to settle for 3 rooms on the same floor and another on the floor below.
Upon arrival, and after reading some online reviews, we decided that we should try and book the restaurants we were interested in right there and then. Not only could we not get any times we requested but we couldn’t even get into the restaurants we liked. We were also told that we were “only there for 3 nights” (not including the one we arrived on) implying that since we didn’t book for longer, then what did we expect! On our last night there one of our party found a rubber band in the spaghetti to which the restaurant staff just blew off as being the piece that holds the bundle of pasta together. Not sure what else to say about that!
Our room was constantly leaking water from the A/C unit to which we required a towel on the floor to prevent slipping. It was fixed at some point once we told the management about it but a little concerning that the walls around this point in the room were stained by the water. Certainly must have been contributing to the musty smell in the room.
The pool at the Ambar, which again is the “adults only” resort, was pretty low key and not very existing. Very nice pool but just not the action you would expect or we have experienced at other resorts. The pool at the next door family resort was much better and provided some excitement and entertainment for the people there. At the pool there is a towel service to which you may exchange the used towels for dry ones. At both pools the towel personnel were rude and made you feel like you were putting them out by making them do something as well as on three separate occasions during various days the towel supply ran out! What resort runs out of towels at the pool!
Furthermore at the pool there are various people around taking your picture and displaying them for you to buy. This is a good idea to generate some other money at the all-inclusive but one person in our party was called “fat” by yet another rude employee who also indicated that they take pictures of “all types” of people. I’m not sure if this was the language barrier again but this was the worst possible comment any person in the tourist industry could possibly say to a potential client.
This was pretty much the last straw for us on this trip and these are just the main points. In some ways it seemed as though this resort is just too big for its own good and therefore losses the personal touches that it needs to provide for all its guests in order to make their say enjoyable and make those people want to come back. There were a lot of other smaller issues but combined together are the reasons that none of us will be thinking of booking a trip back to the Dominican and/or a Bahia Principe resort any time soon.
We all had a good time laying in the sun at the beach and pool and just relaxing on some time off, it’s hard not to in that climate, but this trip could have been so much better with not much more effort from the resort and its staff.
Big thumbs down………….

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room away from the lobby. Can get pretty loud with the music. Only issue is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction.

Regarding your comments about our staff let us inform you that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. We apologize for the impression you could perceive from our staff members.

Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Solo travel to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

I sure there are tons of reviews on Punta Cana so I won't be to redundant. However, I must say it's truly paradise! Beautiful place, water, people & feel.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar did not disappoint! It is a beautiful, top notch hotel. The accommodation were great, very clean and right near the beach. The staff was welcoming & professional. The food was really good and they had premium drinks. Whether you stay poolside or choose to be a beach bum, there were plenty of lounge chairs and sun or shade to go around. It was one of my most relaxing vacations. There's absolutely no need to leave the resort. However, You are free to use the facilities at the other nearby Bahia Principe Hotels & they have trollies & bust boys that will take you to/fro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank libralikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had an absolutely wonderful stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. On behalf our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us and for sharing your experience which is very important to value our daily development.

We do hope you consider visiting us in the near future.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Yours sincerely,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just came back after spending 5 days at this beautiful resort. This is our second time to the Dominican and it just keeps getting better. The resort is spotless, service is great and the food is much better than most All inclusive resorts we have visited. The beach is very clean and provides plenty of shade, but beware of the sand fleas as they chewed my legs up. The rooms are very spacious and maid service was done 3 times a day, morning, late afternoon and late evening. The staff is very friendly and always makes eye contact with you and telling you thank you for coming. Overall an excellent vacation with nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that our personal attention made you feel that we really cared about you. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Warm regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place is AMAZING! The adults-only makes it so much better since we did not have to fight for beach or pool chairs. The beach was beautiful, service was fabulous, room was great, food was amazing (the Don Pablo restaurant a la carte is a must!) - one of the best resorts I've stayed at. The only some-what bad thing I can say was that there was no bar/club in the adults-only area, so we had to go to the main resort for the club to have a nightlife, which is really only a 5 minute shuttle cart ride away and it's not that bad, but it would have been nice if there was a more livelier night scene specifically at Ambar for those of us who wants to party - like a little air-conditioned club or something ;p
Overall I would recommend this place to everyone, and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roro_lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection hotel.
It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations. We regret to hear that your perception about night entertainment was not positive, however be assured that your comments have already been brought to the General Manager attention.
We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Punta Cana


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#39 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing