We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Solo travel to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

I sure there are tons of reviews on Punta Cana so I won't be to redundant. However, I must say it's truly paradise! Beautiful place, water, people & feel.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar did not disappoint! It is a beautiful, top notch hotel. The accommodation were great, very clean and right near the beach. The staff was welcoming & professional. The food was really good and they had premium drinks. Whether you stay poolside or choose to be a beach bum, there were plenty of lounge chairs and sun or shade to go around. It was one of my most relaxing vacations. There's absolutely no need to leave the resort. However, You are free to use the facilities at the other nearby Bahia Principe Hotels & they have trollies & bust boys that will take you to/fro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank libralikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had an absolutely wonderful stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. On behalf our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us and for sharing your experience which is very important to value our daily development.

We do hope you consider visiting us in the near future.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Yours sincerely,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,854
    2,454
    1,020
    350
    223
See reviews for
811
6,980
135
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just came back after spending 5 days at this beautiful resort. This is our second time to the Dominican and it just keeps getting better. The resort is spotless, service is great and the food is much better than most All inclusive resorts we have visited. The beach is very clean and provides plenty of shade, but beware of the sand fleas as they chewed my legs up. The rooms are very spacious and maid service was done 3 times a day, morning, late afternoon and late evening. The staff is very friendly and always makes eye contact with you and telling you thank you for coming. Overall an excellent vacation with nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that our personal attention made you feel that we really cared about you. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Warm regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place is AMAZING! The adults-only makes it so much better since we did not have to fight for beach or pool chairs. The beach was beautiful, service was fabulous, room was great, food was amazing (the Don Pablo restaurant a la carte is a must!) - one of the best resorts I've stayed at. The only some-what bad thing I can say was that there was no bar/club in the adults-only area, so we had to go to the main resort for the club to have a nightlife, which is really only a 5 minute shuttle cart ride away and it's not that bad, but it would have been nice if there was a more livelier night scene specifically at Ambar for those of us who wants to party - like a little air-conditioned club or something ;p
Overall I would recommend this place to everyone, and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roro_lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection hotel.
It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations. We regret to hear that your perception about night entertainment was not positive, however be assured that your comments have already been brought to the General Manager attention.
We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Punta Cana


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Ambur was great on all levels! The hotel was very lovely. The staff were great.Our room was very nice. The food was fantastic! The presentation of the food was fantastic! The beach was lovely as well. You could walk out really far into the ocean. I have no negatives things to say about Dominican and the Ambur! I would go back in 5 minutes, it was such a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Temi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects such as the hotel was very lovely, the staff were great, that your room was very nice,the food was fantastic and presentation of the food was fantastic! The beach was lovely as well. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Dominican Republic and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just came back from spending 7 glorious nights at the Ambar to celebrate our anniversary. We were so impressed with the cleanliness & sheer beauty of the property along with the kind nature of all the staff we encountered that we will definitely return again. Hector & Juan always greeted us with a smile in the buffet and Don Pablo. Marcos, the pool bartender, was very generous with his pouring :-) and was always eager to serve us. The pregnant waitress by the pool was always so attentive (sorry I can't recall her name). The ocean was the cleanest we've ever swam in along with the soft white sandy beach with plenty of shade under the huts. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 65 room 208 which was a large corner unit centrally located in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PuntaCanaPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Patti,

Your experience is a true evidence of the effort and dedication of our team to provide the most unforgettable experiences.

It is an honor and a great compliment to forward such positive comments to our staff, who will be enchanted to hear that they made you anniversary so special. Thank you for mentioning our excellent food,beach and facilities.

Rest assured that we are already looking forward to have you with us again in paradise with your friends and family.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Warmest regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I guess I would summarize the overall trip a great, but we had some issues!

To begin, we were here on our honeymoon from 9/17-9/26. We booked through Apple Vacations and signed up for the honeymoon package. All we got was a honeymoon sign on our door and balloons in our room. We were told the rum and t-shirts were part of the package, but everyone staying there got that. Wanted us to pay $180 US dollars extra for dinner on the beach. Confronted Apple, who stated to not know what the package entailed and we should have paid for it, but there was not an option to do so through their website.

Buffets were lacking as far as variety as it was the same food pretty much every day for breakfast and lunch. Fruit was great and restaurants requiring reservations were great. Don Pablo was amazing! Drinks were not top shelf as stated in other reviews. There was one kind of beer, one kind of wine, and cheap liquor and watered down mixed drinks. We could drink all day and not feel it at all. At the Italian restaurant at Esmerelda, they gave us a wine menu. They came out with a different bottle of wine then what we ordered because the one we wanted was "not included." At the end of dinner, they still brought out a $25 bill for the wine. We stated we were not paying for it because they did not notify us up front that there was a cost and it still got charged to our room. They also SKIMP on the room mini bar.... 2 beers per day and 3 airplane bottles of liquor.

Service was good as well. Everyone was very friendly, however, looking for tips (maids, bell boys). Servers and bartenders did deserve a little extra tipping. We loved Franklin and Kelvin on the beach, Santa in the snack bar.... they went a above and beyond!

Location of Ambar was close to the beach..... other parts of the resort in Bahia Principe would have to take a shuttle to the beach. Stay away if you are on your honeymoon and stay at Ambar.

Overall the Ambar was clean. They were spraying however for bugs and cockroaches. The room was nice and big. AC did not cool the room well and although there was a fan, it would be best over the bed. There are no rooms in the resort that have an ocean view. Beds were uncomfortable!

Overall, I suppose it was a good value as we paid approximately $2500.00 total US dollars for 8 nights for both of us. Anything more than that and I would have been highly disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. No ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MegE119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Meg

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.
We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from a two week Holiday at the Bahia Príncipe ambar Punta cana,the Hotel is Based within the large Bahia pricipe complex,overall the room we had was very nice and the room Maids maintained it to a excellent standard with regulär towel changes,however the Dressing Gowns supplied had to last two weeks. The Mini Bar was topped up everyday but a extra bag of Crisps Would have been welcome.we had a Problem with mosquittos as it seemed every two Days the room Would Need treatment as you Would wake up with bites.the Food was excellent with plenty variation and Always fresh,Numerous resteraunts spread all over the complex but finding them could be a Little confusing going of the Map you are supplied with.the grounds are maintained to a very high standard and are Always immaculate along with the Swimming Pools ,the Beach area is maintained to the Same High standards with One of the Guys Even sweeping the beds Free from Sand When you were on them.i Would Highly reccomend going to See pepe just up to the left of the Hotel Beach area for Excursions Where you will pick them up much cheaper than the ones offered by the Holiday reps A Real nice genuine fella.a whinge i have is that for all your Trips Out you have to go to the Bavaro area of the hotel. The Hotel is very Good but i Would Not say it was Five Star Not on the Same Level as the Moon Place in mexico,my Feedback to the Hotel is to Push on the Customer Service more as there are some really Lovely colleagues ...and some Not so Great ,the english Language also was a Problem with a Few ,so Overall very good Crack the consistent delivery of Customer Service and it will be great

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lawrence,

Our sincerest gratitude to you for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection as your holidays destination!
Thank you for your observations that will help us improve our daily performance and improve our services.
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing