We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cleanliness, great food and over-friendly staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing cleanliness, great food and over-friendly staff!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Ambar for a week and everything was so clean! From scrubbing the floor to wiping the moldings, the hotel was spotless! There was a wide variety of "a la carte" restaurants which you have to reserve in advance. I tried the Don Pablo restaurant but I did not think it was THAT amazing. The portion was small and the taste was just ok. The staff inside the restaurants, the maids and the reception were authentically friendly. However, the staff in the lobby were a little annoying. Everyday I've got someone who comes over to tell me "hey, I saw you yesterday and I told you to come back this morning for a free spa or a free tour"! They obviously work by commission! Overall, the stay was very pleasant and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Restofood_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you find worth to highlight our authentically friendly staff, amazing cleanliness, and great food.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,032
    2,552
    1,069
    384
    239
See reviews for
868
7,220
141
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,731)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My review is very late but I am sure this place is still just as awesome as it was last summer. The rooms were great, pool and beaches were great, food was average. My husband and I were there celebrating our anniversary and everything about this hotel was perfect, no complaints. I will mention (as others have) the resort is huge and can be a little tricky to navigate.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that everything in Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection was perfect for a memorable anniversary and just enough to create and awesome vacation.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful upscale resort compared to the principe and Bavaro. adults only so quiet and relaxing. food was wonderful, beach was spectacular- soft and powdery. I am ready to go back. If I took my kids I would recommend staying at the Esmeralda which was very nice as well. You can go to all of the resorts but we didn't see the need after we strolled around the first day. My only complaint was the chair game with having to get up early to stake claim on a chair with your towel.... We have stayed at Gran Bahia several times in Cancun so the service in Punta Cana may not be as catering, but the beach and water made up for it!!

Room Tip: Any room would be recommended but recommend 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aelsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Client,

We greatly appreciate you have taken the time to post a review. All your observations have been treated with great consideration.

Rest assured that we are already looking forward to have you with us again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very nice relaxing hotel, services was good, very friendly always smiling servers.Cleaners did a great job with cleaning our room in block 68, good location to the beach and pool, didn't get a corner room like we requested, but thats ok because the room was still good.We did get all our reservations, so that was nice. Food was good but found a lot of the meat was dry and rubbery, i did not like the lobster, but you will always find something to eat, the desert was good as well, to each their own i guess. Ended up with some sort of virus... which i'm still suffering with, even though i was careful, never used the water even brushed my teeth with bottled water. I did suffer stomach pain during the trip but since i brought alka seltzer, immodium pepto bismol, it was manageable. lots of mosquitos at night, which are hard to see, i got bit a lot the first night because i didn't use spray and mosquitos seem to love me. I brought deep woods off and used it from then on and didn't have a problem after that. Nightly shows were good and we did the outback safari excursion which was definitely a must, bought some coconut oil and cocoa which is cheaper than the hotel. if you walk to the venders down the beach where you will find souvenirs cheaper than the hotel prices but is kind of a far walk. All in all the hotel was a good choice for some much needed r and r, probably won't return because we like going to different places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluehawiians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments regarding your last stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. It is great to learn that you could enjoy a relaxing stay together with us.

It will be a pleasure to cater you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first time at this resort in the Ambar which was an adults only part of the complex. It certainly won't be the last. We flew with Thomson and that was the start of what ended up a superb holiday. The leg room on the flight was the best we have experienced on any airline. We stayed in the all inclusive resort for two weeks from the 19th of June till the 3rd of July in the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar. Difficult to know where to start with this resort as we didn't have anything negative to say about it. When we landed in Punta Cana the First Choice rep handed us the keys to our room to save us the time checking in when we arrived at the hotel. On arrival at the hotel we were taken straight to our room and we were not disappointed with it. The room was huge with a massive four poster bed and shower room. All extras ie safe,iron, ironing board,television,slippers,dressing gowns,umbrella,mini bar and toiletries were all included in the price. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned every day any toiletries that had been used were replaced as were any drinks used from the mini bar. Pool towels were also included and could be exchanged at the pool every day. The grounds were immaculate and were looked after by an army of workers. The food choice was extensive and was a work of art the way it was laid out. There was everything from on offer from caviar, lobster, steaks to the humble hamburger and chips. The menus were changed daily and always had something to suit everyone. Entertainment was provided daily at the pool and in the various parts of the complex daily and nightly. There are numerous restaurants around the complex that offer a variety of different food such as Italian,Mexican and Japanese. The private beaches are also kept spotless with cleaners on them every day right down to clearing the small amounts of seaweed from the powder white sand. The pools all have unlimited drinks served at them throughout the day with the Ambar having a swim up bar. There are many excursions on offer for people who like to see outwith the complex. We chose the Outback safari which gave an insight into how the people lived and worked in the Dominican and also the Carribean cruising day out on Saona island. This was a trip not to be missed. The Dominican is a poor country and that is reflected in the way the people live outwith the complexes. The Dominican people are one of the friendliest races of people i have ever met and go out their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All in this was one of the best value for money holidays that we have been on and we will certainly be back at some point. Everything you would want or need is available in this complex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jock,

We are very pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The resort is stunningly beautiful. The beach and pool was amazing, with plenty of chairs available.

If you truly enjoy quality food, like we do from New York, you will be miserable. The quality level at the buffet and all specialty restaurants is so low that we couldn't eat. Unlike other islands like Cancun, we were trapped, as there was no alternate place to eat.

The only red wine that was included was intolerable.

The service was relatively friendly but inefficient. There was no pride at this resort.

The rooms were nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Adam,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments regarding your last stay with us.

Regarding your comments about the quality of our food, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations.

Once more we regret your negative perception in some aspects, but we look forward to welcome you very soon in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February and enjoyed the stay, but there were definitely a few glitches...

My flight landed on time but I had a very long wait on the transfer bus, a long ride to the Bavaro, then a confusing transfer to the Ambar. By the time I arrived at the hotel I had wasted much time, then the check-in was very painful. (From the time we landed in the DR to the time we actually walked into our room, it was over 4 hours!!) We were herded to another room on our arrival to the Ambar, to be told some hotel rules and to fill out a check-in form that easily could have been filled out on the bus coming to the hotel, like other resorts have done. Once we had filled out forms we then had to scramble to get back into another long line at the main desk. Our rooms were not ready until 4 p.m., which made for more stress at the beginning of our holiday.

Several days before leaving on this holiday I emailed AND called the Ambar resort to state my room and restaurant preferences, to ensure that I would get a room near the pool and beach, and that my dinners were already set up. However, when I was checking in, all my requests had been totally ignored.

First I dealt with the room and showed my email to prove that I had requested many days before. After much fuss, the manager did finally give us an OK room the next day that at least was relatively close to the pool, but had a terrible view. However, that episode was annoying and was not a good start to our holiday.

At check-in, after dealing with the room disappointment, I had to wait in another long line up at guest services to sort out the dinner issues. Although we finally did manage to reschedule our dinners at rataurants that we enjoyrd, this whole problem could have been easily avoided if they had just honoured my original resuests, and it made for a very stressful and annoying start to my holiday.

Having said all these negative things, once our check-in issues had been resolved, our holiday was quite enjoyable. The food was delicious, all staff were friendly and helpful, and the grounds were beautiful. The beach was clean and lovely, and I really enjoyed the gorgeous, huge pool and aquafit classes.

So, the trip was wonderful, but unfortunately, the check-in issues would probably deter me from returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asiamimigrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing into our attention your observations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

We hope to have another opportunity and honor us with your visit in order to change any negative perception about our services.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing