We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Oh Yeah", Ambar was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Charlestown, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"Oh Yeah", Ambar was great!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week (May 4 - May11), and it was great! I'm a little late on this review, but the Ambar All-Adult Resort was the absolute best! I only gave the four stars because as "Privilege Club" members there was an unfortunate mixup when we first arrived that shouldn't have happened which resulted in wasted time and misdirection during check-in! Other than that, our stay at Ambar was wonderful! "No children" meant a very relaxing week at Ambar! Couples will love it! We liked all the Ala Carte restaurants (we had five reservations), and the buffets were good too (even on the beach). You gotta remember that All-inclusive resorts don't always have the greatest menus, but the food here was actually pretty good! I wanted a third floor corner room, but none was available during our check-in. We got a third floor non-corner room in the #67 villas, and believe me, it was just as good! This resort is definitely one that I want to return to in the near future. Kudos to all the "Privilege Club" Staff for making our stay wonderful. Also, kudos to the many members of the Ambar staff, the housekeepers who did a wonderful job, and don't want to forget the bartenders who kept those mojitos and margaritas coming! The Ambar and the Esmeralda, and all of the rest of the assorted resorts in this huge complex are beautiful and fun to get around in. This place is a "must" visit folks (especially Ambar for all-adult fun and relaxation). My wife and I really loved it, and so will you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HoosierGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Client,

Your recent review motivate us even more to continue providing our valuable guests the most amazing experiences and the most warm service. Our hard working team will feel proud to hear that their effort is so well appreciated.

We would be absolutely pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you once again in Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,029
    2,549
    1,068
    384
    239
See reviews for
866
7,215
141
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,729)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

First of all, I will mention that this is now my 66th all-inclusive resort vacation. I caught the all inclusive fever when they first became popular many years ago. I have stayed in 3 - 5 star hotels. I always try to give an impartial review, although everyone has different opinions.

FIRST IMPRESSION: This is my second trip to the Ambar and I have to admit I am completely hooked with this place. I went on the trip June 08-15th with my girlfriend. The minute we arrived, we were reminded quickly at just how gorgeous this resort is. The grounds and common areas are impeccable and the lobby is so classy. It is a “real” Caribbean 5 star resort.

THE STAFF: were mostly very well trained. They seem to be very genuine in making sure that the guests are well taken care of. There was the odd employee who didn’t seem to be up to par, but that was very rare. The staff appreciates tips, which Canadians and Americans, in particular, are very generous with, compared to Europeans. As usual, we did notice that many British people do not tip at all even when the staff brought drinks to their chairs on the beach and around the pool which made us feel bad. I suppose they feel that it is all-inclusive and they do not need to tip?
THE BEACH: This is one of the best anywhere in the Caribbean…period. There were some gentle waves which were fun, but nothing too serious. It was very nice to have a dedicated Ambar adults-only section of the beach with its own beach bar service.
THE POOLS: There are many pools in the Bahia Principe complex, but it was very nice to be in the adults-only section. We wandered over to the other main Bahia pools and quickly turned around and returned to the Ambar pool which was so much more relaxed. It is very well maintained, as is the rest of the resort.

THE ROOM: Since I have been to the Ambar before, we sent an email and requested a room in a particular building and they accommodated us perfectly!
THE FOOD: As several other people have pointed out, it is incredible that anyone could possibly complain about the food choices at this resort - the options are absolutely amazing. Everyone has their favourite restaurants. Ours were the Don Pablo, the Maiko Japanese and the Portofino Italian restaurants, in that order. It is so nice that there is no limit on the a-la-carte dinners at the Ambar. We ate in the Don Pablo two times and the food was fantastic (lobster and chateaubriand). Our waiter, Odalis made our evening special – very friendly professional fellow – he deserves mention!
ENTERTAINMENT: There were some nice bands in the lobby area every night. We did attend a couple of the nightly shows, but we left early because we are early risers. There is a Pueblo (commercial area) in the front of the hotel which has many stores, disco, and an outside band area. We were a little disappointed that the disco is only open for two hours a day (midnight until 2am). We both love to dance but never went dancing the entire week because of the short late opening hours.

IMPROVEMENTS/SUGGESTIONS: I am not even going to try to think of any because it is difficult to criticize something that is this good.
OVERALL OPINION: We both absolutely love this resort – this is the best all-inclusive that we have been to. We rarely return to the same resort but we will make an exception for the Ambar. When something is this good, you just want it all over again!
Please feel free to send me a message if you need any more information.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Ambar are really close to the beach, pool and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank canadatraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Being you a travel expert, your opinion becomes a challenge to maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

It is rewarding to hear that you are completely hooked with our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, the best all inclusive you have been to.

You are welcome to contact us for your return visit that we will be pleased to assist you.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just came back from five days at Ambar and the worst part was leaving. I really don't understand reviewers who didn't like it. Let's go through it piece by piece:
BEACH: very clean and lots of shade. If you want front row then yes, reserve. But if all you want is a shady spot on the beach no problems at any time. One of the benefits of the Ambar vs the other properties is that they have plenty of shade for all the guests. The beach is very clean and raked everyday by hand! Only thing I can think of to improve would be to have wait staff or a bar closer to the beach.
POOL- again very clean. Lots of chairs, but the shade it mostly taken by 9am or so. It officially closes at 6pm, I do wish they stayed open longer even if the bar had to close. At night the lights are off and the poll is closed – i went bay a few times and no one was in.
ROOMS- very clean. some complain about a/c- the solution is to get two key cards and always leave one in the power master switch, that will keep the room a/c going and you will get cold. They were cleaned early during breakfast; please tip your room cleaners!
OVERALL SERVICE- great, staff is very well trained. Never heard a NO the whole time I was there. When we were leaving a maintenance guys saw us going down the stairs carrying our bags and he ran over and insisted on carrying them for us, even though he was not a bellman. If you want to eat something that isn’t on the buffet, just ask and you will probably get it. Really can’t ask for anything more.
DRINKS- just right - Alexis at the pool bar is not to be missed. He will be the most memorable part of the trip for us. Really enjoys his job and let's it show. Whatever he is getting paid is not enough. Please tip these guys. IF you think the drinks aren’t strong enough for you jsut ask for a double. I didn’t want to get drunk so I liked them on the weaker side. Beer is especially good for a warm climate.
FOOD- So from reading the earlier reviews this was the area that concerned me. Really? I don't understand the negative reviews here. If you want super fine dining go to Paris and pay $800 per person. We ate at the Don Pablo, Portofino, El Olivo, Snack Buffett and main buffet. All were better than expected. The Don Pablo is upscale and very nice change. Really the buffet was also very good, lots of variety and they will even cook steak to order. I do wish they had a Dominican Style restaurant. It was a shame to go to a country and not really try to local food.
SALES PITCHES- No timeshare pitches at all. A couple of guys around the pool and beach selling excursions but they don’t bother you, they just walk around kind of hoping you initiate the conversation. Maybe those are the “rules” here.
ENTERTAINMENT- We went to a show one night, it was good – however the venue is outdoors so very hot this time of year. If it was indoors and cooled I may have gone every night.
TRANSFERS- We used Monumental, which was set up by Delta. The trip in was about an hour as we made one stop. The way back was about 20 minutes. Next time I might look into getting a private transport to save time.
OVERALL- Excellent value, would return in a heart beat. Hopefully they will have more Dominican food next time !

Room Tip: really not a bad room, either you are close to the beach or close to the lobby buffet/bar - cant los...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jagonza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Client,

We greatly appreciate you have highlighted the good aspects such as clean premises, great service, very good food, and Alexis, who was the most memorable part of your trip.

Please allow us to inform you that we have a Dominican theme night in our buffet were you can taste our delicious gastronomy.

We are hoping to see you in a heartbeat!

All-inclusive luxury hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the DR and so far it was the best.
The food at the buffet was good (for a 1 week stay), staff were very courteous, rooms very clean, the hotel grounds were well maintained and manicured, private beach was great and of course drink (of all kinds) cold and abondant.
Like all resorts you may be awaken by guests slamming their doors at all hours of the night but its a small price to pay for all of the positives at this resort.
We tried 2 of the restaurants but were not impressed when compared to the quality / variety of the food served at the buffet and of course the great service of the buffet personel.

I was a bit scarred to travel there in June but as it turned out it was great as it hardly rainned (3 hrs) and even on the cloudy days we managed to tan. Another positive for travelling in an off season was the lower number of travellers and the great price savings.

I recommend the Ambar and I will be going back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank your for bringing in to our attention your feedback about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. We are pleased to hear that you were delighted with the quality and variety of the food on the buffet and of course the great service on it.

Rest assured that we are already looking forward to have you with us again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our third visit to the Dominican, and without doubt to the best hotel so far. The service was excellent from start to finish. The Hotel was spotless with the most friendliest staff we have encountered on any stay abroad.
I have to mention a few of the staff who made our stay so enjoyable; Franklyn at the beach, always had a smile beaming from ear to ear and never stopped working, Practicnnee , always keeping us supplied with endless drinks whilst on the beach, Santa and Massiel R and Teresa, at the bar, top class service with a smile, Maura and Wilkins at the snack bar, who made breakfast and lunch at the beach a pleasure and could never do enough for us. There are many others I could mention but the list would be never ending.
We didn't even use the pool as the beach was just so good.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone, the rooms were clean and tidy, even though we spent very little time in there. The food at the buffet restaurant's and the other specialist restaurant's was first class with impeccable service. Thanks for a great stay, and no doubt we will return some time in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Nick,

Posts such as yours reflect the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. It is a great compliment to know that our service was excellent from start to finish, and even more to hear that our personnel offered you the most enjoyable stay.

Thank you for recommending our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you in the near future.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great vacations! Great location and Great food! This trip was our 5th visit to the Bahia Principe Ambar. Once again, we had a great experience - this is a true All inclusive hotel. The food at the buffet and snack / beach restaurants is very good and food from a la carte retaurants is excellent.The a la carte restaurants from the Ambar hotel are the best from all restaurants available within the overall Bahia Principe complex. Beach is superb and extremelly well maintained / kept clean. The ocean in front of the complex is also remarkable. The entertainment activities (lobby shows, shows from common Bahia Principe areas, casino and disco) offer great options for those that are looking at evening activities. This was a great experience, an experience I recommend to couples looking for relaxion in a beautiful and very confortable environemnt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Francois,

It is thanks to repeaters clients like you that Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years. For all of us it is an honor to hear that after four visits you repeat a great experience.

Thank you for recommending our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to couples looking for relaxation in a beautiful and very confortable environment.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for nine days the beginning of June 2013. Had a wonderful stay.
Upon check in they greet you with a drink. Bellman (Felix) was so personable and helpful.
Asked to be moved away from pool area (we were put in a 3rd floor room overlooking pool shrubs) but we asked to be moved. Had a first floor room after. It was a little cooler too. Noticed a weird smell. (building 62) but other than that it was a wonderful stay. Maid service was friendly and nice. Bar service was awesome too. Food is fantastic, although we didn't enjoy the "American theme" buffet. Had dinner at Don Pablo, Japanese, and Italian. All were extremely wonderful meals. Felix (waiter or drink server) in buffet area was especially friendly and smiling all the time.
We enjoyed every minute of our trip. The best advice is to bring lots of $1 bills with you for tips. Don't change your USA currency to Peso at airport, or at all. It's not necessary.

Pedro in the VIP travel excursions service is helpful and friendly. We booked two excursions with him. The "Caribbean Festival" is awesome and fun!! We highly recommend that trip!!

Dolphin Explorer was "ok" and service on that excursion could improve! For what you pay, they don't exactly treat you the best. Thought we would get to do more with the dolphins. Workers on the Dolphin Explorer were rude when we gave them tip money. They laughed and apparently we didn't give enough. I was offended by them. Also, it costs you $70 to buy pictures of the Dolphin giving you a kiss. You can't buy one set if you are in a group of "two swimmers", so we never bought the photos. Too expensive. They won't let you take any pictures on your own.

Bring your own sunscreen and bug spray. We noticed most bottles cost about $30+. We got some sort of bites on us. Still not sure what from. We are thinking maybe sand related?

If traveling without children, it is SO WORTH staying at Ambar for Adults only!! We would venture in to Esmeralda and hear the kids screaming etc and it was just nice to be able to leave and go back to the Adults only area. It was worth the extra money. (we have children, but we were on vacation for ourselves this time :-)
Overall, had a wonderful trip. Thanks Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar!!!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room. It seemed a little cooler than the third floor. I was worried it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbbc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Client,

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful trip complemented by an awesome service and fantastic food. Your thankfulness is so well appreciated and motivates us to continue striving towards excellence.

We hope to see you in the near future!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BP Travel USA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing