We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS WALKING/JOGGING BEACH AND RESORT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FABULOUS WALKING/JOGGING BEACH AND RESORT HOTEL”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

First time at the Ambar. We have enjoyed many holidays at the Bahia Principe in Bavaro previously. At first we thought it a little too quiet but once we managed to talk to the staff they became much more friendly. Beautiful rooms and amazing landscaped gardens. Very clean but had to remind staff to replenish coffee and soft drinks a number of times. A bit more laid back than Mexico but charming nontheless.
Brilliant sunrises. Terriffic walking/jogging beach. Beach shops 35-40 mins walk with a small bar to relax and enjoy an iced Presidente beer to revive you before the walk back. Remember to haggle for what you want to buy. This time - May - the sea was a stunningly clear turquoise and so enjoyable to swim in. Have been in May before when a lot of seaweed present. Sand soft as talcum powder and not too hot to walk on.
Food was plentiful and of a high standard. Avery good variety of restaurants to choose from. Buffet was surprisingly good too. Lunch was really enjoyable and no problem getting a table. Staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Entertainment team ok. Plenty of activities but poor quality fitness activities - yoga in half an hour? Acqua aerobics good though.
Ambar beach area is kept spotless. Drinks service on the beach was excellent with branded drinks on offer and champagne which was lovely. Thanks to Geraldine, the trainee waitress. bar manager gives Tom Cruise a run for his money. Tips are essential as wages are poor by our standards..
Good butlar service. Thanks to Yeysson who works so hard and is just delightful.
Would definately return to the Ambar again.

Room Tip: All Ambar rooms are good but obviously corner rooms have a bit of extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AnneGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear AnneGrant,

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar "Don Pablo Collection".

Please feel free to contact us prior your next visit, in which we will make sure that you experience one more time the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services and facilities.

In the meantime we wish you all the best!!

Best regards,

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,854
    2,453
    1,020
    350
    223
See reviews for
811
6,979
135
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,648)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chazy, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

first of all it was our 22nd trip to Ambar. Maybe it tells something. the service all around is
excellent. the food variety,quality is excellent. the specialty restaurants are fantastic.regarding entertainment we are not really interested there,even so they a couple of good shows.the grounds kept beautiful immaculate and clean. fantastic value, great hotel. Enjoy it.

Room Tip: prefer 2nd or 3rd floor. corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sani,

We greatly appreciate that you keep chosing our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar as your holiday destination.

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for highlighting our fantastic gastronomic offer.

Looking forward tp welcoming you again soon here at your home in the Caribbean!!

Best regards,

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our overall stay at this resort was nice; however, there was a huge language barrier that was frustrating when I tried to get proper service. The food is average at best, but Don Pablo restaurant was great! The rooms were spacious but the beds were hard. One thing I didn't like was you had to use your room key to control the lights and air condition. It became inconvenient. The beach is beautiful and extra clean. The pool was great. Overall I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geministoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection and for sharing your photos on TripAdvisor.

We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction. Because your opinion is one of our top priorities, we really hope to welcoming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I with another couple friend of us just returned from our third time on vacation (June 01-June 08) at BPA. We had an amazing week, the room, the grounds, the pool, the beach and all hard working teams at BPA make a big contribute for us to have the best and enjoyable time. The warm welcome at the reception, following the meeting with our butler (Jennifer – the best). The very well selected food at all restaurants and a warm well come from all the workers make us feel like our home. Finally the bartenders, they are very professional people, the Murfi at Lobby he is a very dedicated person who memorize our drinks right on the first day, in our case every day after lunch or dinner we drink a espresso coffee and as soon as he see’s us we got it the espresso without asking, he is the best, the #1, also the Miguel at the beach bar a very happy person who also makes everybody happy. Thanks to all for a very relaxing vacation. A special thanks to Mr. Damian for the very warm welcome and for his attention to all of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambar67217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Client,

Your recent review motivate us even more to continue providing our valuable guests the most enjoyable time and the most warm service. Our hard working team will feel proud to hear that their effort is appreciated.

We would be absolutely pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back in your second home, Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just got back from our second time to the Ambar, and was just as good as before. The airport itself was a lot more organised and the hotel did a check-in before arrival, so the transfer was a lot quicker and smoother.
A big thank you to all the staff who contributed and clearly worked so hard everyday: Beata the maid did a great job everyday, Elvis the pool barman for taking the time to converse with me in Spanish and both waitresses Bianca and the pool 'practicante' for always remembering our preferred drinks. Although Alexis 'el burro' never served me, he put on a great show at his poolside bar everyday. We took $1 bills this time, so hopefully the tips we gave showed our appreciation of the staff. Also a mention to Felix the bell-boy, who both trips has been helpful in sorting our luggage. A thanks to all the chefs (I enjoyed the paella demo by the pool) and all the gardeners who work tirelessly to keep the grounds in immaculate condition.
The food was good again, buffet as well as the other restaurants: we did El Olivo, Portofino and Don Pablo. Lovely lobster!
Did no excursions this time, although booked a para-sailing trip with Pablo the poolside Scuba-Aquatic rep, $90 for two people. This was great, going up 70m offering a great view of the coast.
Still great value for money within settings that are just paradise.

Room Tip: block 67 and 68 by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Matt,

We are pleased to hear that your second trip to our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection has been just as good as before. It is an honor to hear that you had a great vacation with us and to read that you enjoyed our activities, facilities and services.

We hope to see you once again in paradise!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived at that main Hotel as always and waited for the Ambar cart to take me in. The Guy said wait 15 minutes because the other cart was full. Not a big deal to me but he was Brisk... I decided to walk instead. I had emailed the Ambar 2 times prior to arrival to not put me in a room with an adjoining door to my neighbours because I am a lite sleeper. Who wants to hear their neighbour pinch a loaf. Well, they put me in that room. I have to say, I am a frequent guest here and they give me a special bracelet that identifies me as such. However,having to walk to the Ambar, given a room that I emailed 2 times not to have; was not feeling welcomed as usual!!
With that said, the front desk bent over backwards to get me a room on the top floor 61317 the second day. It is not what I wanted and its facing the noisy side of the Ambar however I am here to relax and too tired to move a 3rd time. I will give a full review soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caper0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Caper,

We sincerely appreciate all feedback which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay; nonetheless we think it is important to clarify that rooms assignment is subject to availability and may not adjust to the exact request from our customers.

Anyway, we hope to welcome you once again at one of our Hotels and be able to show our quality of service and customer satisfaction, commitment of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort, and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Warm greetings,

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls,Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am a little late with my review, My husband and I loved the Ambar whole experience the first time was in December, but we went May 18th to the 25th], this year , we love the ocean here as it is warm, clear and fun, but this time of year it wasn,t as pleasant. I think we swam in it one day and spent the rest of our days at the pool, A little seaweed also as the water is rough some days. Food was very good, we did not try any of the restaurants only the buffet, we very satisfied. I have mobility issues and it was great that there is transportation to the theatre at night and back,and we were close to the lobby. It also rained at night usually, only one cloudy day, but loved the rooms and all the staff, drinks were always good and quick service. We had a good time at the pool, this was a first for us to stay at the pool for the week.. They had a great Kareoke night with amazing singers from the visitors staying at the hotel, it was great, and also enjoyed the Gran Bahia Grammy show at the threatre, it was very humid for me, and also needed your mosquito repellent at the time, at night. It is one of the most beautifully landscaped hotels I have ever seen. hope to return someday again, soon. I have to also state how wonderful their staff all the staff of the hotel is. My only negative experience was when we had a late flight out, and requested to stay in our hotel room a few more hours and pay the extra premium, we were denied ,for new guests coming in, we only needed it until 5:00 pm, so we had to shower at the gym later that day as we had to be out of our rooms by 12:00 noon.

Room Tip: requested a room on bottom floor had mobility issues and we were accommodated, very much appreciated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Linda,

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your husband loved the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection first experience that you decided to repeat it. We appreciate that you have highlighted our amazing karaoke night and beautiful landscaping.

We also hope to see you in the near future for 3rd time and continue providing you memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,668 reviews
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing