We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Seattlle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The beach was incredible, the Ambar Only Adults section of the Bahia Principe has character and elegance throughout, but unlike the other very large and exclusive Resorts in Punta Cana no one had a sense of "entitlement" none of the guests did. There was a friendly relaxed atmosphere that allows full enjoyment of the facilities and the natural beauty. We were very pleased to find a nice, exclusive, clean well maintained resort where the staff is there to cater to your every need or desire as a good friend would, and not with a feeling of servitude.Basically we did what we wanted when we wanted, and that's what a vacation should be. We will be back sooner than we thought.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the Lobby, you'll find the short walk to the pool and beach pleasing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattlleBeachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that our friendly relaxed atmosphere allowed you to enjoy our facilities and natural beauty. Also, thank you for acknowledging our staff, who were always at your disposal to cater you every need or desire.

Please feel free to contact us directly once you have your next booking confirmation, in order to prepare all the details before arrival, and make your next stay the most unforgettable experience in the Caribbean.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,923
    2,502
    1,046
    374
    229
See reviews for
833
7,088
138
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,700)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to this beautiful property, the first being two years ago.
a few changes have taken place, some for the better, some not.

2 weeks prior to arriving, i emailed building requests and restaurant requests. the buildings had asked for were 60, 64 or 67 3rd floor, pool view. i was given buiding 67 with a no view facing the jungle, a small bottle of brugal along with a fruit basket and t-shirt for being a repeat visitor. the other couple travelling with us (also repeat visitors, received nothing).

I had sent and received an email responding to my restaurant requests.....nothing was on file however. Thanks to Cristian in guests services it was all looked after.
We requested a butler and were assigned one who arranged a bottle of champagne for breakfast the following morning. This was a rarity as everything else we requested was either not done or he had to be reminded.

This resort is immaculate, workers were painting something every day. the grounds are a pleasure to walk around.

A change for the positive was the Ambar beach. It used to end at the dive shop, its now double the width extending far over past it now, leaving the bach bar in the center and giving a beautiful less crowded beach for Ambar guests along with many many more huts added for shade.

i missed the weekly beach party on saturday as it was every second weekend, but the thursday night boogie party in the lobby was loads of fun.

caught the michael jackson show which is identical to the one i saw here 2 years ago and just as good now as it was then. the circus show on the other hand stepped things up a notch, this blew us all away as the best show going.

The pool bar is still the central party place, but watch out for the wobbly hand rails going in or out.
I purchased a float for $22 with a headrest and cup holders next to the towel exchange.
I left my float with fellow trip advisor member Mike and his lovely fiancee and asked that they pass it on to another couple before they leave.

A clean towel in the mornings seemed to be hit or miss depending what day it was. kept telling us in 1 hour.

i purchased the internet package of $49 for the week, they were unable to get it going and i was re-imbursed. the wi-fi in the lobby worked somewhat so i used that. last visit the wi-fi worked perfectly.

The resort definately needs a dedicated sports bar like their competition has. watched the final round of the masters in my room on a poor reception. i asked at the sports bar if they would have it going but they only open at 6. so if there is soccor, baseball, football or golf that you may want to catch during the day ...its in your room.

the food was never an issue at the Ambar. i never had a meal i didn't like and some were exceptional. The breakfast buffet expanded their juice selection this time and the bacon was crispy, i really got hooked on the whipped cream cheese though.

the workers in the buffet and lobby were very nice and friendly.

i was very pleased with the alcohol selection also.

All in all this was another fantastic week at the Ambar.

i'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5 due to the hassle of the internet provider, 3 trips to the lobby shop and they kept sending me back to my room to connect, and the butler service which overall was a waste of time (nice fellow but i believe he had too many people to look after at the same time).

Room Tip: avoid rooms 67309, 67310, 67311, 67312 no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niagara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Please rest assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration and have been shared with the corresponding departments.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ambar and it was twice as good as last year because this time my wife and I spent 2 fabulous weeks at the resort. What else can you say about this place that 99% of the other reviews cover. The service, the tropical ambiance, the friendly, extremely helpful staff, in all areas, and of course the absolutely beautiful grounds.
The pool area is great, nice and quiet in the morning and picks up speed after lunch. There are lots of cabanas and umbrellas but the early bird gets the worm, but it's very unusual to see all the lounges used up at anytime. They have a great cappuchino machine at the pool snack bar that you can get a shot at just after 7.00 in the morning (this 'puppies' got more buttons on it than the Apollo 11 capsule).
The beach area is goergeous, soft white sand, lots of space and shade with the same great bar service that is everywhere for Ambar guests! The ocean is the same color as a glacial lake 'cept it's a tad warmer. You can walk a couple of hours each way on the beach if you like. Don't forget the sunscreen on the tops of your feet.
Some reviewers are a little critical about the food but I found it has great selection and is as fresh as you can get. The A La Carte.restaurants are just like going out to eat at home. If you order something and it turns out you don't like it of course your gonna gripe a bit but the difference here is you can go back to the salad and appetizer bar to fill up or just go over to the main buffet and try something else. And the walk will do you good.

The rooms are a good size, clean and the mini bar is always stocked. We've had no problems with the AC in either room, in fact it's almost to cold some times. This was easy to fix, just open the patio door. The 3rd floor rooms are quietest, but the biggest "waker er upper" is people shutting their suite doors a little enthusiastically.

There's something special about the Lobby. It just gives you the feeling you are somplace special. Not a piece of glass in the exterior walls, just openess and cool breezes. It may be white inside but one thing I know is it's not SNOW! Have a cool tall one for me please.

We talked to many people over the 2 weeks we spent hangin' at the pool and I was shocked, but not surprised, at how many were repeat visitors, and not just 2 or 3 trips but but up to 7 times!

My wife and I love this place and would recommend it to anyone that wants to get away and be treated like Kings. For what you get the price can't be beat!

We are already planning next years trip to the Ambar.

Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Sherry,

For all our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar team is wonderful to read that our service, tropical ambiance, and extremely helpful staff, have made your both visits a good and memorable experience.

We would like to thank you for recommending us to anyone that wants to be treated like kings.

You are welcome to contact us for your next year visit.

Regards from Punta Cana!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first time in the Dominican Republic. We have stayed at several all inclusive resorts ranging from 3-5 stars in Jamaica and Mexico. In general we had an enjoyable stay but we have stayed in less expensive resorts that did not advertise as "luxury" and were much better at service and details. The highlight of this resort is the beach. It is located on a beautiful stretch of beach, probably the best beach I have experienced, even compared to Negril. There is plenty of shade on the beach but we had to get up at 6AM to get chairs in the first 4 or 5 rows so we could see the ocean. The beach is so large that if you get chairs back there, you can't see the ocean. Also know that there is only one bathroom on the beach and there were usually long lines. The property is very clean, the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The pool was also very clean and the pool bar was fun and the staff, Yunior, Bianca and Confessor work very hard. The lobby is impressive and a nice place to hang out for a drink. The resort is part of a 3 resort complex, making it a very large resort. I am assuming we were there at a very busy time as it seemed very full and busy. The "luxury" part of the experience did not meet my expectations. The rooms were okay. Our shower door did not open and close properly, making the most terrible noise and we could hear the shower doors in other rooms doing the same thing. The room did not have a great deal of lighting, making it difficult at night to locate things in suitcases and closets. The AC was not that great and you had very little control over it. The room was clean, which is very important! The other advertised luxury is the drink service available at the pool and beach which is apparently not available to the other resorts. We were there one week and spent most of our time on the beach and only saw the beach drink servers a few times. If you did order a drink it took them a long time to get it to you. This was not their fault, they were seriously understaffed for the amount of people on the beach. This also seemed to be the case at the buffet. It was very busy and the wait staff were always running but it did take a long time to get coffee, water, wine, etc. refills on some nights because of how many people there were. We tipped but service was inconsistent. There is not much for entertainment at this resort. You need to walk or take the shuttle to the other resort to find entertainment. The biggest downfall was the food. There were many choices but the quality was lacking. I experienced raw bacon, really old lettuce, overcooked/rubbery lobster, and undercooked chicken. I always managed to find something to eat but didn't ever find anything that was so delicious I went back for more. We ate at several of the specialty restaurants and I can not remember what I had because none of it was real memorable. The restaurants were usually only filled to 30% capacity and even with tipping the service was abrupt. For whatever reason, the ambiance in the restaurants seemed hurried, tense, and not very welcoming, therefore we preferred the buffet. The drinks were okay. You could get top shelf liquor at the lobby bar but had to ask for it. Overall, I might go back to this resort because of the beach, but the price would need to be more reasonable as I don't feel we got what we paid for.

Tips: Make sure you tip because even with tipping the service was inconsistent, if you don't tip it could be really bad. We saw someone with a drink tray from McDonald's, that is genius!! It is very difficult to carry 4 drinks across the sand and it was a long haul from the bar to our beach chairs, the drink holder would have been handy.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor rooms have less traffic/noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojo4771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention, especially our beach, well maintained premises, and clean pool. Thank you for mentioning Yunior, Bianca, and confessor.

We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with others on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meeuwen-gruitrode
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

we were before in ambar and with the new manager mr jose garcia lima the hotel is upgraded a lot.
We were there one year ago and we left but now i will recommend this hotel to all our friends !!!
The food in don pablo and takara and portofino is very good and the staff is very kind,helpfull.
As we know the dominican republic (17 visits) this one is definitely in the top 3 and next year we come back;

Room Tip: we always want a room on the third floor because the people passing trough the hall do not disturb u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for recommending us to all your friends, and for highlighting the food in our Don Pablo, Takara, and Portofino restaurants. For all our team working is wonderful to know that you categorized us as a delightful hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Greeting from Dominican Republic,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friends and I have just returned from this Hotel celebrating my friends 60th birthday.
It was wonderful. The staff especially Yunior at the pool bar was great, always happy smiling and very friendly.
Our tour operators were also very good helped us all the way back to the airport and did not leave us until we were all checked in safely.
Dom Pabio food was lovely....yum yum....
All very enjoyable...Thank you....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Maureen,

It is a pleasure to read that you and your friend had a wonderful time celebrating your friend´s 60th birthday. Yunior will be enchanted with your mention on your review.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second trip to this specific hotel. We cannot wait to go back again next year. We couldn't ask for a better place. The rooms and property are spotless, the restaurants superb. We were treated like royalty. It is difficult to point out specific people that made the stay unforgettable but Jorge Abreu and Emmanuel Pena went out of their way to make our stay over the top!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Cathy,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Jorge and Emmanuel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon and provide you the most unforgettable experiences!

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#43 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing