We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REFINED, ELEGANT and CLASSY. highly recommend for a peaceful time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“REFINED, ELEGANT and CLASSY. highly recommend for a peaceful time.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second time at Ambar (March 4 to March 11) - and after looking at all of the other hotels in the area, I didnt even hesitate and booked Ambar again. Everything is excellent as always, ...but our vacation started very poorly when we got there.

I read someone else who said "brought down to tears" ... well, I exploded at the reception, and despite how it sounds I wasn't sorry. We paid so much more to come in march due to serious family circumstances. And as some may have ever experienced a "need to escape to a happy place" no matter what - that place wasn't there when we got in. We were bumped to building 72 (NOT AMBAR!!!) just like everyone else on our flight (all calls, and getting there early didn't matter). Being "busy"/booked is not an excuse. The Expectation of what we remembered to the Disappointment of that we saw MADE IT DISASTER. when we got into the room i just couldn't believe it, shocked - not the same quality, design, not even bathrobes (had to walk in person to reception 3 times to get the robes) ... and far away.. and I came AMBAR because I KNEW what it is and the first night was very disappointing.

I want to extend a sincere thank you to DIGNA and the manager ALDO. When i explained to them how unhappy we were about the switch, and what this trip meant to me; They were so understanding to our circumstances, made me feel SO much better and welcome.. and made our trip worth it. And as ALDO promised they got us a great room in one of the buildings closer to the pool... he delivered on the promise. Best room we could've had. They restored my faith in Ambar and my image of the hotel. IF IT WASNT FOR THEM - I WOULD NEVER COME BACK.

After that... EVERYTHING WAS JUST AS TOP CLASS AS AMBAR IS. The staff is very friendly, the resort is 5 STAR for sure. Ambar is adults only... very peaceful and REFINED would be the best word to describe it.

I really hope that when we come back in September (we already decided), they will still be there for me to thank them again in person. I really look forward to seeing them again.

Also i would like to give a Special mention to: Rosanyi giving us welcome at the buffet, the Security guard at the pool area... and Lino and Domingo at the pool bar, and of course the cleaning lady who helped us move into the "new room" which she made ready earlier for us so that we made the move faster ... very thoughtful of her.

I travel very often, but for vacation I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Room Tip: Never settle for any room "outside ambar" .. if it doesn't look like the ambar rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Maria,

First of all, we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that Digna and Aldo were able to change your perception, and restored your faith in Ambar.

Thank you for recommending us a refined, elegant and classy hotel to enjoy a peaceful time.

Looking forward to seeing you in September!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,029
    2,549
    1,068
    384
    239
See reviews for
866
7,215
141
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,729)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I can’t say enough about this property. We were here 3/2 thru 3/9, traveling with Apple vacations. My husband and I have travel to approximately 15 all-inclusive resorts in the past 12 years, most of them being 6 star and Adults only, and we loved this property. Not because it was shiny new, had the best views of the ocean or posh surroundings, because the experience was outstanding. The tropical feel of the resort made you feel like you were in your own tropical village and away from the world of responsibilities and realities. The property was absolutely spotless in all areas.
Food
The food was great. I have to say the buffets were the best we have ever seen. The a la carte’s were good also. We went to:
Bella Italian – very good, our favorite
Mikara Asian – good, but not great
Don Pablo Gourmet – very good, but fancy and time consuming
Thursday Seafood Buffet was amazing
FYI, as an Ambar guest you can eat at the other buffets. But when we went to look at the one at the Bavaro we quickly came back to our own, way too many kids. Also, the lobby bar at the Bavaro is not Non-Smoking and you could definitely tell. It was one big cloud of smoke. We could not return to our smoke free lobby bar fast enough.
Staff
Room:
I can’t say enough about the Staff at this resort. Sent an email and requested restaurant reservations which were done, and requested certain buildings. We were in building 60, perfect location. Our room was spotless at all times. Our mini bar was restocked every day. If we wanted something else, we left the empty bottle on the bed with a few bucks and got 4 or 5 more when we returned. Had flowers strayed around our room daily, wonderful touch.
Butler Service:
Yeson was our Butler assigned to us when we arrived. We absolutely loved everything about him, he was charming and so accommodating. He came to find us at the pool every day to make sure everything was ok and if we needed anything. We probably would not have chosen a Butler, but since he was assigned we used him. He made sure my husband had his newspaper every morning at 8am. He checked on our restaurant reservations for us. He also dealt with any other small issues we may have had. He really was a bright star to our trip.
Pool Area:
Yunior the pool bar bartender was very good, upbeat all the time and always happy. Bianca, pool area server was absolutely amazing. If you asked for it she made it happen, wish we would have found her at the beginning of the week instead of the end. If I were you I would find what part of the pool she is working at and sit there.
Guests:
I can’t even tell you how much fun we had with the other guests we had at this resort. We around in the pool every day and the pool was small enough that by the end of the week we knew almost every English speaking guest there. We met some amazing friends from Canada (Marilyn & Lorie) and Tennessee (Brenda & Johnny), absolutely made great memories. Not to mention the couple (Kellie & tom) we were traveling with, which made it even more special.

Thanks Ambar,
Dorothy & Bob

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Dorothy & Bob,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. All the entire staff will be proud to know that, with their tropical hospitality, they contributed in creating you an outstanding experience.

Our charmed and accommodating Yeison, always happy and upbeat Junior, and amazing Bianca, will really appreciate your nice comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Regards from Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Really enjoyable vacation, food was good, weather was great, beach was fabulous and only adults - works for me!

Couple of suggestions - The hotel could do a better job organizing Ambar restaraunt reservations - ie. allowing "walk-ins" for the 50%+ no shows with reservations - and initial hotel check in could be handled better - but not a big deal. Hotel should subscribe to satellite music in the lobby, pool etc., those old Tracy Chapman and Bryan Adams CD's need to go - heard them a dozen times in a week!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbuum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please rest assured that we have taken your suggestions into great consideration. We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention, especially our good food, fabulous beach, and our adults only service. It is a pleasure to read that your stay was a really enjoyable vacation.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This resort was impeccable. The grounds, the service and the food. The pool was clean and always fun especially the service from Yunior the bartender! He was there everyday working hard and always at your service with a smile.
The a la cartes were very good, my favorite being the Japanese restaurant. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking to relax in a great atmosphere. The entertainment crew was also friendly and lively! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Glenda,

Thank you for recommending us as an amazing Resort, and for acknowledging the hard work from Yunior, that always was at your service with a smile.

We hope to welcome you soon and provide you once again a relaxing great atmosphere.

Regards from Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the worst hotel we have stayed in. On arrival the man on reception was arrogant and rude. It took us two days before we eventually had a room where we could unpack. Please note that they consider a double room as one with two single beds. The only adults part is one pool which is constantly filled with drunks at the swim-up bar, a small part of the beach, which has not much room as too many palm trees and the reception/lobby. The only adult entertainment was in the lobby and this mostly consisted of a disco playing music mostly from the late 50's. The only other entertainment was watching the Canadians getting drunk and having arguments. The restaurants all contain children except for the buffet where the atmosphere is manic - apparently even the chef had a fight there one day in the middle of the restaurant. The food in all restaurants is mostly warm to cold and not very good, a lot of it was not even cooked properly. Also to eat in the restaurants you have to book one to two weeks in advance if you don't fancy eating at 10.00 pm. You therefore have no idea what the food in them is like and also how far away they are. The hotel is joined with three other hotels making it like a small town and you have to get a bus to some of the restaurants. When we stayed they did not have a map of the complex available for the first 5 days and we therefore had to spend 30-45 minutes a day trying to find out where we were eating that evening.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed make sure that you do not ask for a double room. Perhaps ask for a king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Linda,

We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments in regards to your experience during your last stay with us.

It is important to remark that our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar is an adult only hotel, and there is always a security person in charge of supervising that only the allowed guests have access to the facilities. By the same way, during the day and night you can attend to the others Hotels, except Esmeralda, to enjoy their facilities, and where kids are allowed.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the ambar section was amazing from room to food and service couldn't have been any better rooms are large if you get a corner room can be a little loud at night in the hallway not very sound proof but is adults only so no kids running around ! Food at every restaurant is a 10/10 along with service the bars are very good lobby and pool .. Junior (Yunior) is awesome bartender great service ! Always singing and tought us Spanish ...everything is cleaned daily and would return to this resort in a heartbeat .. Our butler Emanuel was awesome got us anything we needed anytime good service

Room Tip: Building 60 corner unit close to beach and pool and large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetteC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that your stay at the Ambar section was amazing, from room, food, and service. Junior and Emanuel will be delighted with your recognition about their great and awesome service.

Looking forward to seeing you in a heartbeat!

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is our second year of going to the Ambar ( Feb. 22-March 1 )rand does not get any better than this! The resort is beautiful as is the rooms. The staff is marvelous! Our butler, Roberto and Kathy our wait person at the buffet were beyond expectations! We could not have had better. All of the personnel were fantastic! The pool and ocean areas were always kept very clean.The entrees at the Don Pablo were phenomenal! We met many lovely Canadians here and most have been vacationing here every year. I highly recommend the ADULT ONLY Ambar!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank e4141e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen for second year our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar as your holiday destination.

We would like to thank you for recommending us, sharing your experience, and for highlighting our fantastic personnel. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to Roberto and Kathy, who will be happy to know that they were beyond expectations.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BP Travel USA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing