We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have just returned from a fabulous 11 night stay. I can only echo all the positive reviews made by others.

Check-in was very quick and we were soon in our large, very clean, spacious room. I had emailed ahead and requested a 3rd floor corner room – and we got it (we booked direct on hotel website, maybe this helped with our request?). Unfortunately our dining reservation requests were not made. No big issue - we made the reservations for the rest of our stay the following morning.

Several of our initial dinner reservations were at restaurants outside of Ambar and Esmeralda. There was a difference in the whole dining experience at these restaurants (quality/variety at the buffet appetizer, service not as efficient/attentative). After having two dinners, we made the decision to cancel and re-book restaurants back within Ambar and Esmeralda – there was no problem in getting the reservations changed. Purely our personal choice and expectations – but you may want to bear this in mind if you are only staying for a short break.

The main buffet restaurant (we went for breakfast and lunch everyday) was definitely the best buffet we have ever had. How anyone can complain is beyond me. The variety and choice is wide – and the service was excellent.

We aren’t into the early ‘towel on bed’ game around the pool every day (but lots are!) – again, personal preference, but why travel all that way to sit around a pool? The pool area was stifling with no breeze - we used it to rinse off at the end of the day before returning to our room. The beach was fab, great people watching, bar service and a lovely breeze which allowed you to lay on it all day.

I have to mention the staff – all of them - they were just the best. The service and food was exceptional and I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending. The best we have experienced in DR with comparable hotels.

Just a small niggle: A little more consideration to guests who have late departing flight times. Our room was not cleaned until very late afternoon every day - so I could not understand why an extension to 4pm was not feasible on our last day (and people are arriving all times of the day/late evening). Would be nice to be able to put in a late check-out request on checking-in, ie. Not waiting until 8.30am on morning of departure. Did hamper our last day unfortunately.

And finally an observation ....Free wi-fi in lobby/bar area is a great bonus but sooooo many people constantly on their ipads and phones. What happened to the art of conversation?!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dazbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

We think is important to remark that our check-in time is at 15:00h and check out is at 12:00h. However, we offer a late check-out service which is subject to availability and has an extra charge.

We would like to thank you for recommending us and please be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,548 - 5,554 of 10,508 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned Feb.21, we stayed at the Ambar for 11 days.
Room was very clean, the whole resort was very clean.
Excellent beach area, and also exclusive area for Ambar guests.
The restaurants at the Ambar hotel were all excellent, and the wait staff were very friendly and attentive. The lobby area in the evening was nice, some special event nights with cocktail evenings. Waitresses in this area also very attentive, and make a special comment about Nataly,
Always very cheerful and a smile on her face.
We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Thank you for acknowledging Nataly, who will be very happy to learn that she was able to contribute in creating a memorable experience for you. We appreciate guest comments and suggestions, now that is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Sorry but I have been amiss to post my review. I visited again in December 2012 and also visited for my first time in June 2012. This is really a wonderful place! I will try not to be repetitive with what you have already read but with that said, this will be short and i'm sure repetitive none the less!
1. I will not comment on the Ala-Cartes. Done them all and you can read 100's of comments.
2. Buffet: I was here in June and it was very difficult for me to have a good meal with my tummy problems. Not this time! What a difference in food, preparation and have to mention breakfast: they have a low fat area that serves egg white omelettes, plain or with onions and peppers. It's
off to the far right of the buffet area. Service here is excellent! Coffee is poured immediately and wine flows in the evening. The best service I have ever had in Punta Cana!!
Cons: Well, I am not a picky person but I do get up real early in the morning and sometimes around 6am just to take a walk, breathe and smell the ocean. It would be nice that they have a coffee station set up for us early risers. Not what they provide in the rooms.
Pros: The management who reads Tripadvisor daily, will have coffee available at 6am :)
Shout Out! Just wanted to say how great the bartender staff where who made my trip so great again; David, Dessiree ( sweetest most hard working lady ), Kelvnn, Vannca and of course the lobby guy Murfi.... Take a minute to talk to this guy! Trust me here! You will thank me. Such a wonderful soul.
I love this place and recommend it for anyone who just wants to lay back, relax and enjoy the tropics!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caper0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel.

It is an honor to know that our bartender’s team, especially David, Desiree, Kelvin, Vannca, and Murfi had provided our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On the positive side Ambar has an excellent beach and clean sea, with plenty of water activities and no noisy jetski's. The food both choice, quantity and quality in all the many restaurants is excellent (although we were disappointed to see that foie gras was offered) and the choice of drinks also outstanding. On the negative side we found the hotel much too large and noisy. It is well worth paying extra for the Ambar or Esmeralda sections which are smaller, closer to the beach and pools and somewhat quieter. Some of the rooms at the main hotel Principe are about 800m from the sea! While we were the there the hotel was full and everywhere including the beach was pretty overcrowded. At one of the shows the theatre had about 1000 guests! It is a great pity and very irritating that the staff seem to think that everybody is happy to be subjected to very loud "music" at all the pools and reception areas for quite a lot of the day. Surely some of the many pools could be noise free? Most of the guests are North American and Italian which coupled with the free alcohol didn't contribute to a restful time, not that the hotel management can do much about that, or the "reserving" of loungers early in the morning. Another negative is the difficulty to explore outside the hotel, taxis are very expensive as are most of the excursions, renting a car is not recommended and even the free hotel bikes may not be taken outside the premises. (You can however walk to a long area of undeveloped beach past the Hard Rock hotel with its excellent rough sea about 2km to the North). I would however recommend a daytrip to Saona island with Seavis ($110 if booked direct by Internet). In short, Ambar had marvellous food, weather, beach and room, but was too impersonal because of its enormous size.

Room Tip: Two of the Ambar blocks (63 and 66) are opposite the reception area which sometimes has very loud mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visitorsnederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We think it is important to remark that being Ambar an exclusive adult’s hotel, is planned to have a relaxing atmosphere. By the same way, during the day you can attend to the main pool, where animation is continuing, and the night entertainment at Tropicana Theater and Pueblo Principe.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially our marvelous food, beach and room.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Regards from Bavaro!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Ambar. The room was great...clean and large. The king sized bed was comfortable. The food was fantastic...with beautiful presentation. All the rooms at Ambar are very close to the beach and the pool. The staff was great. We had wonderful massages in the spa. We would go back without any hesitation.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and enjoyed the fact that we did not have to climb any stairs...other tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Haveshoeswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our great rooms, comfortable bed, fantastic food, great staff and wonderful massages.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon and continue demonstrating the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we spent two fantastic weeks at the ambar in October and rebooked for our Jan trip. I would have wrote this review sooner but as per trip advisor rules it would not accept it due to the short amount of time between reviews

so we spent one week at the ambar in january.

check in was a little hectic.. but we did not arrive until 11 pm, one guy on desk trying to check in four couples and he was lost. no biggie..we got it done.

i had sent a REQUEST for the same room..unfortunately they could not give it to us, but thats ok..they gave us the room right across the hall that was also the end suite. it was clean and comfy just like the other one.

our first wake up. well. lol. we get up and dressed to go to the buffet for breaky..and as we walk out of our room there was the same housekeeper (male) he did a double take then ran over and hugged me and gave a firm handshake to greg..lol. said welcome home!! def started our holiday off on the right foot.

at breakfast buffet we learned that hector was on his days off..for two more days

a nice addition at breakfast this time was the mimosa/bloody mary station. YUM
again enjoyed our breakfasts every morning and our lunches. Dinner was good as usual esp the seafood buffet that i was prepared for this time with my tools for crab legs!!

we had dinner at the portofino that we missed last time. it was very very good. Lasanga was huge and app buffet was nice

we also dined at the new asian restaurant takira? sp at the esmerelda and honestly think that this one has replaced the don pablo as our fav

garden grill was very good buffet for apps, but the steak was just ok

don pablo was awesome food as usual but the service had really gone downhill. Hector was not our server that night but he was very watchful of us and was not too happy that our drinks had not arrived before our apps..which was over half an hour after seating. maybe just an off night.

i only went to the swim up bar once or twice for our whole trip. considering i spend most of my time at the pool this was amazing. Our wonderful pool side waitress Desiree never let our glasses empty. She is amazing. I can hardly wait to see her next time.

we spent a bit of time on the beach by the bar this time. It was so nice as it had dominican flair, with the music and the bartenders and waitstaff singing and dancing.

jorge and emanuel were wonderful as usual and welcomed us home ! they made sure that we had everything that we needed.

the lobby bar staff of murphy and his crew of bartenders and waitresses were top notch as before. I enjoyed many baileys and frangelicos..thanks guys.

the only downside this time was some of the guests. it seemed to be a much more rowdy crowd. I was NOT impressed one evening as I sat alone in the lobby (hubby was out with his friend off resort for a game) this group of young adults thought it was hilarious to climb up on the statue in the bar area. .as this statue is a naked woman,, they proceeded to do crude sexual acts to it,, while their girlfriends/wifes took photos. it was wobbling and i was thinking it may fall. NO ONE in the lobby..no security or any staff said anything. GROW UP PEOPLE. That being said staff SHOULD have stopped them. gross rude and dangerous.

All this being said. I am hoping to do a girls trip back to the ambar in may..but if not we are def going for two weeks again this october. It has been our fav resort to date in 10 yrs of travel to the dominican republic at least 3 times per year.

See you soon Ambar

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gregnlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our Ambar staff, especially to Hector, Desiree, Jorge and Emanuel.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I took a delayed honeymoon this past Valentine's week. We had an amazing time at the Ambar resort. The following are some tips and reviews of our experience. I apologize for the length of this review in advance.

Airport and Transportation: We flew United and had a great flight. We were lucky enough to fly direct. We received the forms you must fill out on our plane. Bring a pen to fill out the forms. Once you get to the airport, everyone is scrambling around trying to fill them out and find pens. Also, once you are through, many people will try to take your bags for you and take you to your taxi service for a tip. We politely refused and got to our service just fine. We hired a private taxi service (Dominican Airport Transfers) for pretty cheap.to take us straight to the resort and back to the airport upon return. I hear that some other services transport multiple people and often have to stop at other resorts. Beware that they drive very aggressively in the Dominican. The drivers often go around cars using the opposite side of the road, tailgate, speed, and scooters and motorbikes weave in and out. It can be a little scary. Brace yourself. The services also drop you off at the main Bavaro lobby. You will have to get into a little resort taxi that will take you to your specific resort lobby.

Arrival and Room: Check in was quick and the service was great. Unfortunately, the hotel had run out of maps this particular week and never ended up receiving them while we were there. We managed to walk to a different lobby and get one from another resort, but everyone is helpful with giving directions and there are large scale maps around the grounds to look at. We had a nice gentleman take us to our room and take our luggage on a cart. The room was air conditioned and spotless. They provide you with a key card in your room to stick in the scanner by the door to keep your air conditioner on when you leave the room. Also, the air conditioner will turn off if you open the balcony door. It will only turn back on when it is locked and properly closed. We had a lovely King size bed (it is a firm bed, which we prefer). The mini fridge is stocked with mini bottles of rum, vodka, gin, 2 cans of Presidente local beer, a few bottles of Alaska Mineral Water, tonic, orange soda, ginger ale, pepsi, and diet pepsi, as well as a bag of Lay's potato chips. If you want extra, leave a tip and a note. We asked for more waters and beers and left a tip each day. We were always more than adequately stocked. They also provide extra large bottles of Alaska Mineral Water for the coffee machine with sugars, and powdered creamer. Our room safe did not work. We called the front desk and asked how to work the safe, but we were doing everything properly and still couldn't get it to work. We called to have someone come down, but after waiting half an hour, we decided to just use our luggage locks and keep our valuables locked in our luggage. We never felt unsafe or that anything would get taken at any time. There is a card that you can fill out to have your room cleaned at certain times. Ours was usually cleaned between 3pm and 4pm. At night, they bring you fresh towels and chocolates, as well as replace the towels whenever they clean your room. The laundry service is pretty cheap and very good. We did laundry once and the service was great, fresh, folded and pressed. We also read a tip to bring a small gift and note for the cleaning staff (they need a note or can't keep it). We brought a bag of goodies containing hair products, soaps, toiletries, makeup, and school supplies. We left a note in Spanish letting them know the gift was for their service over the week. Our room was always meticulously cleaned, stocked, and filled with fresh flowers every day. Some people said their room gets a musty smell, but we never had that problem. The only issues we had were that the shower door didn't shut properly. They came by the fix it, but it was not working right the next day. Not a huge deal. Also, there is no door separating the toilet from the rest of the bathroom.

Room Service: Room service was always very pleasant and prompt. When you are finished, just leave the plates outside your door and they will pick them up when they pass by. The menu is limited consisting of nachos, a Caesar salad, and some sandwiches with fries. The late night menu is the same, but served with chips. The Caesar dressing is not great. The club sandwich was good, but not a traditional club. It is ham, cheese, and egg salad. The burgers are awful. The grilled chicken is well seasoned and good. They bring plenty of condiments as well. There is also a dessert plate and fruit plate.

Buffet and Restaurants: The main buffet is located in the Ambar lobby. It is only open during certain times. Breakfast from 7am-10am I believe. Lunch from 1pm-3pm. Dinner from 6pm-10pm? From 3pm-6pm, you can order room service or go to the snack bar. The snack bar is right next to the pool. They serve sandwiches, salad, pizza, and pastas. The snack bar is also a buffet at breakfast time, but smaller, if you didn't want to go to the main lobby. At breakfast, there were plenty of pastries, breads, and donuts. There was a toaster, but took multiple passes to get the bread crisp. They had bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, soft boiled and hard boiled eggs, an omelet station at the main buffet, pancakes, churros, potatoes, yogurts, cereals, fruits, salad bar, fresh juices/smoothies, etc. Some of the food was left over from the night before or re purposed. They always have fresh coffee, teas, pineapple juice, orange juice, and cappuccinos, etc. We preferred the snack bar breakfast because you could eat outside near the beach. Lunch and dinner were okay. There was always pizza, french fries, hamburgers, pastas, and hot dogs. Not exactly what I wanted to see at a luxury resort, but I know they have to please the masses. They had a salad bar, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, pastries, assorted meats, and sides. A lot of fried foods. The buffet food was typical as you would expect...over cooked, under seasoned, mostly fried, a lot of re purposing, but definitely plentiful. There were a few Dominican specialties, but for the most part, it's exactly what they think Americans eat. We heard that Friday night they had lobster, seafood, and crab legs. We went to a restaurant that night and missed it. The restaurant food was definitely a step above the buffet. You have to make your reservations as soon as you get checked in. Take whatever reservation you can get because they book up incredibly fast. This is due to the fact that they are not open every night. The staff alternates between different restaurants. Most of our reservations were for 9pm, but if you show up to the restaurant early, they will seat you early. We usually ate around 8pm. Bring the ticket with you that they will give you when you make the reservation. You can eat at any of the restaurants in the whole resort. Ambar has 3 restaurants on their grounds. The Mediterranean restaurant wasn't very Mediterranean in our opinion. You order an appetizer and entree, then you also get a buffet with an assortment of food and desserts. The food was pretty good. We had steak, a shrimp appetizer, and the buffet. There was a lamb and couscous dish that was amazing. The Italian Restaurant was not our favorite. The food was Italian themed, but the cannelloni dish we got was weird. The pasta didn't taste like it was cooked and our salmon was way overdone. The wait staff was amazing and always made sure your glasses were filled with water and wine. Don Pablo's is the gourmet restaurant and the only one that doesn't have a buffet in it. You get a soup, an appetizer, entree, and dessert. We both had the lobster bisque which was good. We had the foie gras which was amazing. The tuna tar tare was okay. We wanted steak and lobster, but it wasn't an option. We asked the waiter and he let us both get a lobster and then we split a filet. Caribbean lobster is very different than Maine. It tastes different and is more brownish. Ours was a little tough as well. It is not on the menu, but definitely order the bananas flambe. They will do it table side and it is the best thing we ate while there.

Pool: The pool is open from 8am to 6pm. We saw people swimming after 6 though. The pool bar doesn't open until 10am and closes at 5:30pm. The pool was large and beautiful. It was absolutely amazing. There is definitely a lot of the "towel game" going on there though. I burn very easily and wanted shade so I got to the pool exactly at 8am when it opens and all of the shaded umbrella seats were gone. It is very disappointing. Security is there early to remove towels that are there to reserve seats before 8, but they won't remove it if you are there with your towel. There are signs on the chairs that say you can't reserve, but no one really listens. We always got chairs, but not always under an umbrella. There is one waitress that comes around taking orders. She is great and personable, but your drinks may take a little longer than if you walked over to the bar. The bar is great. One side is the walk up part and the other side is the swim up pool bar with under water stools. The bartenders are all very friendly and quick. The pool bar menu is very limited and most of the drinks are already premade. They are also mostly sweet and tropical. The banana mammas are really good and the choco bananas, but more than one and you will get sick from the sugar. The drinks are also pretty weak, so I always ordered extra alcohol. The only beer is Presidente, which was okay. There is also wine and sangria, not the best. You can order MamaJuana. It is a specialty in the Dominican Republic. Pretty strong shot, but good. Also, the best tip I can give you is to bring your own insulated mugs. They really come in handy. Otherwise, you get these flimsy plastic cups and everything melts in seconds. They have a bunch of activities at the pool...bingo, zumba, water aerobics, etc. There is also a stand where you can switch out your blue pool and beach towels for fresh ones every day. A few days there were men walking around with lizards and monkeys that you could take pictures with.

Beach: The beach was phenomenal! So beautiful. The water was warm, crystal clear, and there was barely any seaweed. The beach was soft and the sand was very clean (no shells, rocks, seaweed). There are always plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas at the beach if you can't find one at the pool. There was a fantastic breeze as well. The weather was absolutely perfect. A bonus is that the beach is literally a few feet away from the pool. There was a man that was walking around with a wheel barrel and a machete cutting open fresh coconuts for you so you could drink the coconut water and eat the pulp. There were some men selling jewelry, paintings, and cigars, but politely refuse and they will go away. There is also a beach bar. A lifeguard is on duty and there is a colored flag that will let you know the swimming conditions. Also, you can watch people para sailing going on helicopter rides.

Lobby and Lobby Bar: The lobby bar is fantastic. There is a much better assortment of drinks there. We went after dinner almost every night. Most of the other guests gather there as well. They have great cappuccinos that they serve with little cookies and whipped cream. It's open all day and there are waitresses or you can go to the bar yourself. At night, they usually have a DJ, dancing, or karaoke. There are some hotel employees in the lobby that are trying to sell you a guest preferred program. They try to get you to go to this 30minute meeting that ends up being 2 hours to talk you into buying more vacations and such. They try to bribe you with free sunglasses, cheap necklaces, cheap watches, coupons, etc. They really hassle you no matter how many times you refuse. Beware and try not to get suckered into it. The lobby has free wifi which was nice for us to check on our kid at home.

Shopping: There are a lot of shops. The Ambar lobby has a shop, but the prices are much higher than at the main Bavaro lobby. The shops at the Bavaro can be tricky. Most of the stores do not have prices on things. If they know you are American or have credit cards, they will really try to swindle you. This guy tried to sell us 2 baseball caps and a canvas bag for $150. You can usually always talk the price down and go to different stores to compare and get the lowest price. Also, only say you have a little bit of cash. There is a flea market and you can get some stuff pretty cheap. We got a native stone kissy kissy figurine carved with our names and trip for $12 when another guy wanted $60.

Trolleys: They have these little trolley/trams that take you around the resort. Everything is a pretty quick walk, but it's nice to take them around the resort. There are a few different lines...like the blue line, green line, etc.

Activities: We didn't do any of the excursions, but there were a lot of options if you wanted. We did play tennis which was great. They provide you with any equipment you need free of charge and have water for you at the courts. There was a water park for kids. There was a theater that put on shows, a karaoke bar, and a casino. We didn't go to any of these.

Extras:
1. Tip. I know it is all inclusive, but they really don't make a lot of money and when you tip, your service is extra special.
2. Learn a little Spanish. Most of the staff is bilingual, but it's still nice to know some key phrases and show some respect for the staff.
3. Say Hola to everyone and be nice. The staff works very hard and will do anything you ask, so please treat them with respect. Some guests were very rude to the staff and treated them like garbage.
4. You really don't need to change your money into pesos. They graciously accept American dollars everywhere.
5. You don't really need an International adapter. We bought one for $5 off of Amazon, but the outlets in our rooms were fine and grounded.

Overall our experience was wonderful. We were so relaxed the whole time. The weather was perfect and the staff was amazing. The grounds, building, pool, and beach were always beautiful and clean. We would definitely come back to this resort again. The food and drinks were mediocre, but we kind of expect that with a massive resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the 64000 building. It is literally right outside the entrance to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed of a wonderful holiday thanks to our amazing staff, beautiful grounds, buildings, pools, and clean beach. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your vacation become a great experience.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
0.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $177 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, BookIt.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing