We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a certain return”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

what a great time we had....to quote judge smales "top notch,top notch"....beach perfect,pool service and entertainment fabulous...daily bingo poolside was a hoot...near by golf coarse, punta blanca, was great.. different restaurants fabulous....shows, disco, sports bar, overall service more than could hoped for

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GreenGirlSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food & beverage, and entertainment program.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you once again!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,854
    2,454
    1,020
    350
    223
See reviews for
811
6,980
135
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had the best time ever!!! Luxury hotel!!! The rooms are very clean and food is absolutely delicious! Staff is amazing, very friendly! Jose, Marcos, Edwin- Thank you guys for great time! And of course- the sexy man number one- Jose- Thank you for great Zumba time and Aqua-gym! We will back soon. Muy gracias!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaAdam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Ambar Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards.

Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This resort is certainly a five star ... In march 2013 will be our fourth year at Ambar. The low rating for this resort I really cannot understand it. The Ambar is an all adults atmosphere and very luxurious, the grounds, the pool, the food, the beach is fabulous.

For the staff, it's amazing that most of them recognise you from the precious years. People say why are you going to the same resort year after year, I just say you cannot get any better why change. Cannot wait to return!!

The response the Ambar sales rep does on the reviews is very professionnal and you can see they care about improving whatever negativity people are saying about the resort :)

Yvon & Nancy
New Brunswick, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stays in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge and an opportunity to improve our services and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

Please allow us to assure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, certainly reflects the commitment and quality of service that we have exhibited through the years.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

One name at this resort: Jorge Abrue! He is the amazing manager/concierge/ miracle worker at this resort. No request or problem too big or too small for him to handle. Let's start at the beginning. We traveled from the US to Punta Cana with our disabled daughter who is in a wheelchair. My review will thus be based on how we experienced our vacation having to accommodate her wheelchair everywhere. Check-in was smooth,fast and friendly. The room (junior deluxe suite) was easily accessible,close to all the amenities,clean and spacious. We dined at the buffet for the majority of the time and the food selection was huge. Service was excellent. In the evenings we dined at different restaurants all over the resort. Tip: make reservations for your evening dinners when you arrive,as the restaurants fill up fast. The. Don Pablo restaurant was good and the lobster to die for. We also dined at El Pescador (good), Bella Italia(good) and Garden Grill (food delcious but attitude of staff very off~putting and condescending). At all of these restaurants my daughter's wheelchair was easily accommodated. We did 4 excursions, 2 on which we were able to take our daughter along. All the excursions were arranged by Miguel and he was excellent at his job. Not pushy and went out of his way to make sure we are well taken care of,especially in terms of the wheelchair accissibility. The highlight of every day was of course the bar lobby! It was very nice of the personnel to remember our drink preferences even with so many people around. It was even better that all the personnel were so friendly and caring with my daughter. We appreciated that so much! We plan to return to this hotel for sure once a year. Another tip: do not pay gratuities in advance but rather bring dollars in singles. It's much more appreciated by the staff than a nameless,faceless gratuity.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SaffronAnthem_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your excellent comments will be forwarded to Jorge and Miguel.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.

At Bahía Príncipe our goal to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Ambar the last week of October and this was our third year in a row staying at this beautiful resort.
The Ambar is an all adults atmosphere and very luxurious. The grounds are very well kept, it has a beautiful pool
and the best beach in the world that is miles long with tons of tropical palm trees. You will not get a better beach anywhere.
I've travelled to Jamaica and Cuba for example and there beach is nothing compared to this one here.
Punta Cana really feels like my second home !
As far as food goes: There is lots of food options to try from - you will not go hungry as there is something
for every one. You are in another country so you can't expect the food to taste like back home. My favourite
a la carte restaurants were the Japanese ( Maiko ) and the gourmet Don Pablo had great lobster.
This resort is also great because you have access to three others resorts, Bavaro, Punta Cana, and Esmeralda. All three are about a five minute shuttle ride away. The Bavaro complex has a really nice disco with bachata and salsa music as well as a sports / karaoke bar where
all the young crowds hang out at night. The bavaro also has a lot of gift shops if you're looking for some souvenirs to bring home.
The casino is pretty fun too if you're into that ! The shows at night are just ok. My favourite was the Michael Jackson show. Now for the pool area: Postives:
If you are at the pool during the day you will see a gentleman named Francisco at the water sports activity booth.
This man knows his stuff. He is so polite and will help you with anything you want to do. He speaks I think three or four different languages and truly made our stay every day incredible. Francisco is always smiling and saying hello to everyone. If you're looking for
water sports or other fun actives, you have to visit Francisco at the pool. He is the best !
Another person who is the best was Juan. I met Juan in 2010 when he worked at the Lobby Bar and then during my second visit here in 2011, he worked at the pool bar. He was an incredible bar tender at the ambar ! He could make anything you want to drink and he made it fast. Didn't even expect a tip. He was always smiling and filled with lots of energy. During my third visit in 2012, I
learned he no longer worked there :(
With that being said: Here is the Negatives for the pool area.
Elvis Elvis Elvis ! He is the one of the rudest people I have ever met. What poor service from Elvis at the pool bar! In my opinion, he looks like he could care less about you or his job. He tries to sing to get people going but he's not very good at singing! Elvis just comes across has a really rude person who isn't happy with his job.
When Juan used to work at the pool bar he made all the customers laugh and talked to people and made the pool bar very enjoyable!! Juan loved his job and was always singing and dancing making everybody happy! Elvis is not a very good replacement as he just looks very unhappy!
Other great servers at the pool was Domingo. He is a very sweet boy. Great service at the pool from Domingo. Also the two ladies at the pool are the best ever ! Their names are Desiree and Enilese ( not sure of the spelling ). They are very happy girls who will serve you anything you want with smiles. All in all this is a great resort and the service was pretty good!!! Wish I was back there.....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PuntaCanada001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our Ambar staff, especially to Francisco.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you once again!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary celebration at this resort. The staff at the Ambar lobby bar are great- especially Murphy and Woody. They always have a smile for you and make you feel they are genuinely happy to see you. Nothing is too much trouble and they truly enjoy their job. The waitresses in the lobby are friendly and enjoy having fun.
The only suggestion I would have is to improve their check-in. Rooms are not ready for guests ( even though it is after check-in time). They tell you to go to the buffet and we were too hot and tired- we really wanted to get to our room and get changed. Other than that, we would definitely recommend the resort- be sure to go to the lobby bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Wedding Anniversary. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Murphy and Woody.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERSEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just got back from the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar.....My wife and i had a wonderful honeymoon....First of all, what stood out the most for me was the service..It CANT get any better...Everyone from the bartenders to the servers, went above and beyond their duty....They were sooooooo nice....Especially at the Palmyra buffet...We were always greeted with a big smile, great service, and the food was good.....The a la carte restuarants we ate at were Don Pablos, Mikado and Bella Italia....They all had good food and service....
The Pool was wonderful....Relaxing with many activities such as water aerobics, bingo and sumba lessons.....One person who stood out to us was Enerolisa...She was great,day after day she would remember where you sat and what you drank...Jose the water aerobics instructor was very funny...he always kept a smile on people faces.....The pool and ocean were a very short walk from our room(65 building).....The grounds were well kept and beautiful....The Ocean was amazing....The water was warm and crystal clear.....We snorkeled, swam with dolphins and rented speedboats.....So much to do....You Gotta see the Micheal Jackson tribute, as it was really good.
Overall, we had a great stay at the ambar....The only thing i would upgrade at this hotel would be the casino..(we still ended up winning money playing roullette!!!! )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JERSEY65114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had a great honeymoon in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Enerolisa and Jose.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you once again!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,676 reviews
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing