We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation at the Ambar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation at the Ambar”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from our DR stay (Oct 5-9,2012) at the GBP Ambar. It was nothing less than spectacular. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We thought the beach and pools were well kept and cleaned. The rooms were large and spacious (We requested and recieved Building 64, which was perfect), and cleaned very well each day. We loved having the mini bar stocked each day with plenty of bottled water and other drinks. and the option of 24 hour room service. THe bartenders and waitstaff were fun and enjoyable to talk with. Special thanks to Miguel, Domingo, Desiree, Ivanca and Woody at the lobby bar. The entertainment did wind down quite early at the Ambar, but we ventured down to the Bavaro and Punta Cana areas and found a great sports bar that had US college football games being televised as well as Karaoke later in the evening.

The food was also quite a surprise. We had reservations at Don Pablo and Portafina, by email request. Both of these a la cartes were awesome. Great service and good food. We only had the buffet for dinner on the Spanish night, and it was all very good, with the chef preparing carved turkey, rib eye steaks, and a wide array of seafood at your request. This was in addition to the already prepared buffet options. The pool and beach side grills also offered us something that we liked each day.

My husband and I loved everything about our trip, we did not feel that we were ambushed by timeshare or other salesmen, and had no problems while at the Ambar. We unfortunatley didn't bring enought US dollar bills for tipping, and the hotel lobby and bar gracioulsly gave us change in US Dollars. We will definitley return next year.

Room Tip: Building 64 is very close to the pool and beach, would recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shawnda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Ambar Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,927
    2,509
    1,048
    376
    232
See reviews for
837
7,102
138
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel Ambar is a beautiful resort. We really enjoyed our Honeymoon and all the staff are very friendly, happy and always willing to help.

Aldo Francois at reception is very friendly and helpful and Cascilda at the Restaurant is very cheerful and entertaining!

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone especially Honeymooners!! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Ambar Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you will probably be coming back. Please be assured that your comments will be formarded to Aldo and Cascilda.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our first time in DR and our first time in an all-inclusive holiday. Ambar in September was fantastic food was excellent, staff are courteous and cheerful, rooms are spotless and comfortable. Our room was close to the ocean and pool. Food choices were great and display of food was appealing. Would recommend this facility to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your stay with us.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.

Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro.

Kind regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My buddy and I vacationed at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar in Punta Cana for two weeks (Sept.9 - 23, 2012), and we had a fantastic time. We enjoyed everything there, such as the dining room with delicious meals, the staff, and everyone was always pleasant and greeted you with a smile. They were all accommodating and would attend to all your needs.

The lobby bar staff were awesome and provided excellent bar services, namely, Murfi, Woody, etc. The lobby waitresses were all pleasant and would be there with great smiles to get your orders as you would take a seat.

How can I forget "Fernando" from guest services, who was most outstanding. He was always so pleasant with great smiles and was always ready to attend to your every need. Fernando was very informative, and it is because of him, my buddy Jorge and I would return without hesitation and would highly recommend this resort. We also found Franchesca too from guest services to be amazing and great as she was very knowledgeable about the facilities. Thanks to GM Assistant (Maria Bonsenor) who was always ready and flexible to ensure our stay was enjoyable, whether it be in the dining room or walking around the lobby.

Our room was 66302 (close to the dining room and lobby), and the housekeepers were outstanding in keeping us clean. Immanuel, you are awesome as you always wanted to ensure our stay was great. Thanks to you as you continue to remind me of Barack Obama.

I cannot find enough words to comment on the general upkeep of the grounds, the lusciously well maintained gardens and grounds for which the maintenance staff should be truly appreciated. They were in the hot boiling sun, labouring and still were very pleasant to say Hola, etc.

The beach has nice fine white sand to walk on, but had too much seaweeds, more some days than others, but we found the water nice and warm.

For those of you who would like to know the ambiance of this hotel, it is very quiet and truly relaxing as it is great for honeymooners and anniversaries, as there were not any activities there for our liking; however, as an Ambar quest, you have access to the other resorts and Pool #1 is exciting and you will have all the fun you want. The nightly entertainment was adequate and was somewhat interesting. I will say though, that I truly enjoyed partying at the disco, even though the hours are limited from midnight to 2am.

Now I have two negatives, which are about the dining room. We found it ridiculous that men cannot wear sleeveless shirts in the dining room, when women can go with next to nothing on in there. Another thing is that the Oatmeal porridge for breakfast should not be sweetened, as clients should be able to add sugar to their taste or none at all, bearing in mind that some people are diabetic and do not take sugar. I am trusting that these two negatives will be dealt with as I have been to many 5* all-inclusive resorts and never had encountered such where I cannot as a man wear my sleepless shirts in the dining room.

In closing, I will say it was money well spent and I will look forward to be back because of the great staff such as guest services, Fernando, Franchesca, etc. Thanks to you all as you continue to be excellent. Last but not least, I will enclose a few photos of my favourites.

Errol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adventur0us1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Please be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and, it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting one of our Hotels.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was the best honeymoon......... As a honeymoon couple and first time guest to the Gran Bahia Principie Ambar there was nothing the staff would not do to make sure you enjoyed every minute of your stay. Jorge is an asset to this place and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Our room had balloons, honeymoon banner , champagne , fruit, chocolate ...the list goes on... The did not miss a beat. The best food from lobster to sushi OMG what a life just for 1 week. Elvis and Anrorisa at the pool bar were awesome the drinks WOW.... Mamajahana the forbiden drink ...a must have. Last but not least houskeeping the best.. every night fresh flowers all over the bathroom. Candelight bath for two with rose pedals ...talk about romantic..... Thanks for a perfect honeymoon.... We will see you next year same time . Mr and Mrs James Worthy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AngelaH866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Ambar Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your honeymoon. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such nice comments to Jorge, Elvis and Anrorisa.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Regards from Bavaro!


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the Ambar in September, had a fantastic time, food amazing, staff were brilliant, most relaxing holiday ever, everything we needed was provided, beach staff were fantastic, as were the staff in the beach restaurant. Our room was clean and spacious, it was everything we hoped for. This was our first time in DR and can't wait to go back. can't understand some of the negative reviews on here as our every whim was catered for with a smile, such lovely staff, came home refreshed and felt like I had a real break from it all. Beach is lovely, pool area is lovely, grounds clean and tidy, we stayed near to the spa and I slept like a log every night! Amazing holiday for us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and, it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Iam staying in an amazing Gran Bahia Prince Amabar. The lobby bar service provide by Woody was very exellent, he is always smiling and he is very kind. All of services in general are good. Beautifull rooms, and very clean. Delicius food and service.

Thank you....

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank armando r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such nice comment to Woody.

Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro.

Best regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
949 reviews
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
52.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#43 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (free) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing