We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gran Bahia Princip 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gran Bahia Princip 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Sprawling, clean and a truly ADULTS ONLY resort - no kids to be seen or heard in the Ambar section. The Ambar is far removed from the peublo principe shopping area and has no clubs or late night bars on its ground, makes for very quiet and relaxing evenings.

Food: incredible, i have never eaten so much lobster in my entire life. I noticed that other reviews talked about how repetitive and boring the buffet was... not the case at all. Every night was a different international theme (italian, French, American etc) and the variations in the types of dishes varied greatly. A La carte's were great. Unfortunately i cant remember any of their names, but the steak house was incredible.

Shopping: The Ambar has a boutique that sells designer goods for outrages prices. Shopping is better at the pueblo principe because you can barter with the salesman.

Beach: Although crowded, was very nice and clean. The only mess that i saw on the beach was various beer bottles that had been strewn by other tourists. Although the Ambar is adults only, the beach is NOT. Some mothers looked concerned walking with their children at the sight of topless women sunbathing.

Tours: many great tours to be done from Ambar. Make sure you talk to the Jen the tour rep, she was unbelievably helpful and was always willing to go the extra mile in catering to our needs. We took a day tour to the capital Santo Domingo (about 5 - 6 hours total travel time), it is absolutely worth it. Old Santo Domingo should be on your list of things to see when visiting the DR

Rooms and grounds: very clean and well kept. Our room was immaculate, always spotless with fresh flowers left in the bathroom and sitting area every morning, and a big plus for the Carribean, NO BUGS. On our first night, we had water dripping from the ceiling (obviously a roof leak as we were on the top floor). Someone showed up within the hours to solve the issue, which never recurred for the remainder of our stay. The bed was amazing, King-sized and felt like memory foam. I had better sleeps at Ambar than i do at home.

Overall: would def recommend and am planning to return soon. Ideal vacation spot for older couples looking for a quieter, romantic holiday. If your looking for young couples resort with a live nightlife and lots of activity, the Ambar might not be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, as the outdoor patio and room itself are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jr0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,824
    2,434
    1,003
    344
    220
See reviews for
807
6,922
133
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tolland,ct
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had a wonderful time in Punta Cuna, 2nd time there. The wait staff and personnel are friendly, grounds and rooms very clean and beautiful. I want to personally thank the entertainment staff,Denny, Janette and Jose, they were wonderful on the pool deck. I would recommend this adults only resort to any of my family and friends..

Room Tip: if you want somewhat of a beach view or pool view opt for villa 67.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dstich422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent the Easter long weekend here and we just loved it. The room was very well maintained, clean and large, room services are excellent (always less than 10 minutes wait time) and the staff was very professional. The food selection at Palmyra Buffet is wide, with many European delicacies and suits all palates. The beach is gorgeous and Ambar is very close to it; it takes 2-3 minutes two walk from any villa.
The resort has a policy to not allow guests to reserve spots on the beach leaving the towel; however the policy is not enforced and by 8 am the beach is all booked. Probably a good idea would be to collect the towels and make the guests pay to have them back. Also, the hotel gets noisy at night time; drunken people are screaming and knocking doors. A solution may be to designate a section of the hotel (one or two villas) as quiet place and lodge there people asking for a quiet room. We got a quiet room, overlooking towards the fence of the hotel and three nights out of four was quiet.
Among the a la carte restaurants, Don Pablo is the best, serving a full course tasting menu.
Overall we very much appreciated staying at Ambar and probably we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We stayed in 69210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We spent a week at the grand bahai principe ambar... april 7 to april 14 2012.... the hotel was amazing, the staff was incrediable... nothing to complain about,,, on thursday night was all u can eat sea food at the buffet.. which was amazing... we had resverations at the steak house which is in the complex esmeralda that was not bad, also we ate at the don pablo which was good... the only complain that i have is that we had to wake up early in the morning to reserve a hut on the beach if u wanted 1 and not to be in the sun all day long,,,,, and the hotel ambar is adults only but it has no night life u have to go to the bavaro complex for the night life... but for the week that i spent there it was amazing.. just to name a few people who i had contact with... jose the guy who does the amincation at the pool, emmanuel who was your conceige, fray at the desk, hector. vanessa, rapheal, juan just to name a few who worked in the resturant buffet was amazing,,, nothing to complain about,,, if u are looking for a nice quiet place to relax with no children around this is the place to go...

Room Tip: get a room close to the lobby and near the pool or beach... try the 66103
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My friend and I went to this amazing hotel and resort last week and we cannot say enough good things about the resort, the food and most of all, the staff.

Check in was easy and fast - by far the most efficient check in process I've ever experienced. The room was spacious and clean, and we could not have asked for a better location.

On the first morning we promptly got up early and were second in line to make our dinner reservations for the week. Sure, we didn't always get the times that we had wanted but really, it was just fine. It gave us more time to get ready and socialize in the lobby bar before heading to dinner. The food in the restaurants was fantastic! Don Pablo and Maiko were the best, but all the restaurants were very good. Even the buffet was spectacular. With a different theme every night I can't believe that anyone would say the food is boring and repetitive. It was GREAT and the quality was exceptional. Why anyone could fault the food is beyond me!

The entertainment was great! The Animation team from the pool went on to perform at the Tropicana theater in the evenings and had us in stitches at the fun antics they injected into their performances. The costumes were amazing as was the talent. I highly recommend the Michael Jackson show, Circus and the Grammy's. Sure it's not Vegas but they put their heart and soul into the productions and I was not disappointed.

The nightlife was also great! On our last night we started at the karoake bar where we got primed, then headed over to the disco. So much fun! A good mix of music got everyone dancing and guess what? Your Animation team (yes, same guys from the pool) are there getting the party started. There is no reason for anyone to be bored on this resort. It's there...you just need to head down to the theater and the Pueblo square.

We spent most of our days by the pool where we enjoyed great bar service and super fun entertainment when the Animation team started the entertainment. What a fun group of people! I have never laughed so hard as I have on some of the afternoons with these guys. Our team included Yanette, Alex, Denny and the host Jose. I can't say enough good things about these guys. They want you to enjoy your stay and will do whatever it takes to make it so. I can't wait to go back and I truly hope that I will see them all still working there because they made the trip.

Ambar is not really the location if you're single and looking, however as I mentioned earlier a short trolley ride or 10 minute walk to Pueblo Square and you will find what you're looking for.

I would have no hesitation to recommend this resort to any of my friends. Everything was top notch. This truly is a five star resort. Anyone who says different can't have been at the same resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samtq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I hope this review is not too long. My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Gran Bahia Ambar. This was our 4th time to the Dominican Republic, so we can compare it with our other visits. We took a taxi because we did not want to wait for the large van to gather all at the airport and drop off at multiple resorts. Glad we did; 30 minutes after exiting the airport we were at the hotel. You arrive at the Gran Bahia Bavaro and they take you by tram to the Ambar. Check-in went very well and the front desk staff were very helpful in accommodating our requests.

The rooms are very nice – four-poster bed in dark wood, nice patio, refrigerator replenished daily and nice bathroom. They also have a “pillow menu” so you can select the type of pillow you prefer.

We went to the beach every morning after breakfast and stayed there until about 3:00 PM when we went to the pool and met people at the pool bar. It is great to meet fellow travelers from around the world! However, we have 2 complaints: 1) the pool and pool bar closed at 6:00 PM and 2) loungers around the pool were mostly taken by 8:00 AM. We spent the first part of the day at the beach which had a lot of loungers, many with palapas. Compared to the Bahia sister resorts, the Ambar section had more space between you and your neighbor. However, you were a bit away from the sea. If you like to be closer to the sea, you can also find a lounger closer to the water or in the Bavaro section, but you will not have shade.

I work hard all year as a professional, so when I can get away I like to relax, de-stress and experience things I can’t do at home. For our yearly trips to the Caribbean, I look forward to sunning topless. No problems here as several women enjoyed the freedom and added benefit of no tan lines! It felt great, and my husband loved it!! I usually like to have company, but one time I was the first to remove my top, and noticed soon afterwards others around me followed. Ladies, don't be afraid to try it (you may REALLY like it).

Beach snack bar was good for a quick breakfast and lunch. However, the buffet near the Lobby had more choices. Eggs were cooked to order at the buffet, but at the beach snack bar they were pre-made scrambled. Drinks at the Beach Bar could have been better. The pre-mixed drinks out of the machines are inferior to drinks made with a blender.

We went to the pool and pool bar later in the afternoon. The pool area is pretty quiet, with little or no music and no animation team, like we experienced at other resorts. But we did meet other travelers and had a good time. Ask Juan to make the "Bahia Principe". Make sure it is made in a Blender. Then move to his “Pink Shots”. After a while, everyone will become a lot friendlier!

The a la carte restaurants were good overall. We booked each night after we checked in. No problems. Don Pablo gourmet, steakhouse, Italian, Mediterranean, and Japanese food were all nice. House white and red wines only, unless you wanted to pay extra.

The shows were at the main section Bahia Bavaro in a huge theatre. A couple nights the shows were good, most were lame. We went to the Lobby Bar or Pueblo after dinner. The Karaoke was nice also.

Overall a very nice stay and for the money felt like we got a lot of value for our vacation dollar. If you have a later flight, you can still enjoy the resort after check-out. Just use the showers at the gym to clean-up.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TJ-KATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Facilities and service were excellent but Buffet service and facilities most so, especially noteworthy was attention to detail of Mario Sotomajor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
3.5 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
9.6 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#37 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing