We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
“Be aware”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We travelled for our annual family vacation. Now this is our third time in the Dominican Republic, but our first time in the Gran Bahia Punta Cana resort. We usually are not the type to complain and pick on every little thing, but this resort toped everything negative that we’ve ever seen. There were cockroaches and small lizards in the room. One night there was a big fat cockroach making its way around the tables at the dinner buffet which created a panic between gusts. When we picked this resort we were looking to stay at a five star resort as advertised, but we were very disappointed when we did not find what we expected. We would not recommend this resort to anyone who is looking forward a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nona4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,185
    1,943
    952
    365
    259
See reviews for
2,300
2,617
93
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Pros:
1. Grounds were well maintained.
2. Nice rooms.
3. Excellent entertainment staff.
4. Exceptional nightlife for a resort. There were lots of options like a Karaoke Bar, Casino, Sports Bar and Night Club.
5. Trolley carts ran frequently throughout resort.

Cons:
1. The resort was just too big, with a lot of restrictions. The wristbands that we had made us feel like second class citizens. We were not allowed in certain areas and pools.
2. Towel policy- if you had certain package you were only allowed one towel per day, and needed to go back and forth with a towel card, returning it at the end of the trip or pay $20. We were by the pool when we got caught in a torrential downpour sitting in front of the towel hut. Once the rain ended we tried to trade our soaked towels for new ones and were not allowed. The guy at the towel booth stressed the “one towel per day” policy. It was extremely unfair that someone with a different “all inclusive” package was able to get as many towels as they liked in one day, and didn’t even have to return them at the end of the day. Two of our friends booked the trip later on, and paid a little more for the “gold package”, meaning they didn’t have to be bothered with towel cards.
3. There were some extremely rude staff members. One that stood out was a man at the front desk, I believe he was a manager. We went on an excursion to Catalina Island which left at 7am, so we went to the front desk to ask for towels, since the towel hut was not open yet and we were not able to get a dry towel the night before because of the “one towel per day” policy. We got there about 15 mins before our bus was coming. We were told 5 mins for the towels. So we came back in 5, 10 then 15 mins and they still weren’t ready. Once our bus came, we asked the manager once again if the towels were ready and he rudely said “NO” and walked away. That’s HORRIBLE customer service!
4. Many details were left out during check-in, such as the fact that we needed to pre-pay to use our safe. We didn’t find this out until we got to our room and tried to lock up our valuables. So we had to go back to the lobby and pay, before we could use it. Also, we were not told that you couldn’t wear a bathing suit in the buffet. A friend of mine was denied entry wearing a bathing suit top and shorts.
5. I understand we were in another country, but the language barrier was horrible. We had trouble understanding people at the front desk- I feel they should understand languages a large majority of guests speak. This made certain requests almost impossible to be resolved.
6. We went to change restaurant reservations and add 2 more people, and we were told that everything was full. When are you supposed to makes these reservations? We were finally able to get a reservation for 8:45-much later then we wanted. Once we got to the restaurant, it was empty! We didn’t understand why they gave us such a hard time when the place was empty. That is a system they need to improve.
7. The service was so slow. You’d ask for a drink when you sat down to dinner and hope you got it before you finished your meal.
8. Since we got caught up with hurricane Bonnie, it was constantly raining. Everything was flooded and the floors and walkways were extremely slippery. We saw a lot of people fall.
9. We also had some issues with our room. The tub was not draining and when we tried to call the front desk, then person did not speak English and hung up on us. Also, our mini bar was not restocked with what we used. We drank 2 waters and it was refilled with Coke. Where’s the logic there??

Unfortunately our tropical paradise of relaxing and being pampered did not turn out as planned. I heard other people who stayed at different resorts had better experiences. I’d recommend trying somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tropicalfishdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I should have read these reviews before my boyfriend and I booked with Gran Bahia. The resort was a big scam,Most of the time we spent traveling on the three bus lines to get to reception to find out information. Since the complex has four sites, whichever site you stayed at had it's own reception. And then all restuarants require reservations and they all have to be done in person at the reception!! And here is where all the vendors or timeshare sales people disgused as bell boys offer they're help if you can allow them ten minutes of your time! Since we never could get a reservation for the time we were their because it was overcrowded with Spainard and Canadian tourist, we were forced to eat in the buffet everyday! And the people were so greedy and unrully.

The worst part of the trip was when I had an asthma attack and my boyfriend called the front desk for help and she said they were sending someone. An hour later a bell boy with passengers came and picked us up and took us to their make shift medical department, where the doctor was no where to be found! Finally the doctor arrived and he slowly examen me while on his cell phone!! After I was able to breathe from a treatment, he immediately start itemizing the expenses and demands us to pay cash for the services!!

Another dislike was that it was overwhelming with families. Originally we wanted to go somewhere peacefully and quiet and the resort promised this. However, I felt like I was in Times Square the entire time. Tourist with all their children yelling and screaming, walking around unattended.
And lastly, every place we went we were harassed to buy something! Everytime we looked around there was a stand and a person trying to grab us to get our attention to pay a ridculious amount for trinkets!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravelerSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

love the food service and cleanest of the hotel, incredible staff, service was exellent...........love it.........

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joselfelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We travelled to the Gran Bahia Principe on honeymoon for 10 days in June 2010. We arrived at the hotel and were instantly blown away with how beautiful it was. We were dropped off at the wrong reception to start with, we were dropped off at the Bavaro but as its split into two sections (very confusing)...the Bavaro side and Punta Cana side were on the Punta cana side but the bell boys took us to the right side (for a small tip) We were upgraded to the Royal principe so we were taken in to a private check in and greeted with a lovely welcome drink. Our apartment ended up being a 2 minute walk from the beach and pools which was very handy however it ended up being a bit of a trek to get to main reception and entertainment which is where the little shuttle buses come in handy. The room was decorated for our arrival which was nice and the room was cleaned everyday and the mini bar refilled. We read a few comments about belongings going missing which didnt happen to us but we made sure everything was locked up including perfume and aftershave as we were told they have a tendancy to lift it from the rooms. We did hear a story though of someones bag being stolen from the poolside! The restaurants were okay but nothing spectacular, plenty of choice though, if it wasnt for the themed restaurants in the resorts you would get bored very quickly of the food as towards the end of the holiday it all tasted the same! The entertainment was good and the staff were always friendly however you are expected to tip for everything. Plenty of sunbeds avaliable on the beach and at the pools but you have to get in their pretty quick if you want a bed with a bit of shade as they go quite quickly. We did have an incided one night when a spanish family tried to get into our room in the middle of the night, it turned out the systems went down during the night and our room showed as empty so they were booked into our room, thank god we had the chain on the door otherwise the family would have barged into the room complete with luggage while we were sleeping, it was all pretty scary but we reported it to the rep and it was all dealt with, not to our satisfaction but we were given an apology and an explanation. The only downside I would say is that me and my husband had very bad stomachs for the whole time we were their and it carried on for 2 weeks after we came home, I dont know if it was the food or the water but someting didnt agree with us. All in all it was a fantastic hotel and we had a great honeymoon and definately go back with the family the next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We have been to this hotel under a recomendation from our travel agent. She had never failed us. This resort is a nightmare. Towels are dirty. Never have all of them. Never all at the same time. Mini bar does not cool drinks, so you do not drink. Cheap method to cut costs?. We were robbed from the room. When reported, they wanted to search the room to verify what we were talking about. When we refused, they neglected any responsability and/or investingation. Be careful, and be advised. We know of other families that have suffered the same "treatment". Even if you upgrade, staff awareness and competence is really lacking. Direct labor try, but have no knowledge, no skills and no motivation. Choose another resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C64_Andres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My fiance and I travelled, along with 40 of our family and friends, to Dominican Republic in April 2010. We booked our wedding and stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana - and we were NOT disappointed! Every single detail of our trip and wedding was amazing!! The staff were very accomodating, our rooms were immaculate and our wedding was everything we could have ever dreamed of! Our wedding coordinator, Gleny, was the kindest person we have ever met. The whole wedding team was amazing. They made our every wish come true! We had a stress free week, even though it was the biggest week of our lives!
The food was great and tons of selection. The restaurants are beautful and very clean. The entertainment was great - especially during the day at the main pool! So much fun...
The beach is absolutely gorgeous and you must visit the vendors down the beach. It was quite the experience (about a half hour walk). Many of our guests went on various excursions and they were all very happy with the tours. The Saona Island excursion was a bug hit!
As for the actual wedding, our ceremony was a 4pm at the garden gazebo which is located along the trolly line heading down to the main pool and beach. The gazebo grounds were beautiful and our flowers were like nothing i have ever seen before!! They were the most gorgeous tropical flowers ever! Our wedding coordinators worked so hard to make our day so perfect, even though they average 2 to 3 weddings per day at peak season! I owe them so much for giving us such a perfect day to remember for the rest of our lives! Also, our photographer who we hired from outside of the resort, Michael Weiler, was amazing! He is an absolute pleasure to work with and he went above and beyond to accomodate our every desire! Thank you, Gran Bahia staff for making our wedding the best day of our lives!!
...and the Michael Jackson concert was so cool!!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#59 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing