We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed April 14, 2010

It was my first time staying at Gran Bahia Principe , and I had an awesome vacation. The resort is beautiful. The rooms are big and clean. The service was great , the staff was very helpful and friendley. The beach was beautiful , there is a pool right next to the beach with an entertainment staff , which kept people of all ages exicited and in a good mood. Every day there was some sort of fun activity at the poool. The food was ok , the best u can get at an all inclusive. The buffet had different theme nights. We went to two resturants the Mediteranian , and the Hibachi grill. Food was great at both resturants , but the service in the Hibachi resturant was bad. I definatly recomend this resort to everyone .

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondie811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,281 - 4,287 of 7,096 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2010

Close to the airport...we were met by a Club Caribe rep at the airport who led us to the shuttle that took us to the hotel. The drive was about an hour, but it went quickly as there was a lot to see en route.

Established - of all the resorts we visited, this one seemed to have the most vegetation and the loveliest walkways.

Cleanliness - even though we read in other reviews about the cleanliness, it was a pleasant surprise to witness it first-hand. The entire reosrt was spotless!

Staff - were fun and eager to please. Tipping was very much appreciated, epsecially since the wages are approx. $250 per month. On the first morning after arrival, a rep met with us to explain the intricacies of the resort and to introduce himself as the person to go to if we needed anything. He truly was able and willing to help whenever we had questions!

Tours - every day there were opportunities to take tours or trips. The shuttles come directly to the hotel to pick us up. Costs were reasonable.

Food - the buffet was quite large. Every evening a different culture was highlighted - Italy, Spain, Dominican, etc. The food itself was typical buffet food and it was always fresh, We recommend the fruit, salads and the seafood. There were many places to eat and food could be acquired 24 hours a day.

Beach - it was incredible! It was cleaned every evening and throughout the day. There were more than enough chairs for all. As for shade, we needed to snag the chairs under the umbrellas by 6:30 AM...The beach sand was heavenly, the tropical breeze...sigh wish we were there :)

Drinks - our favs were the coco loco and banana mama. Both were made from coconut milk and rum.

We arrived on a Sunday and left on Sat. It was interesting to see how the resort came alive beginning Friday night - vendors set up in the plazas, dancers met the shuttles, live music was performed in teh bars, etc. In any case, it was always quiet and peaceful around the sleeping quarters.

Massage - the therapists knew their stuff!

The comment about the lack of clocks made by others was accurate - there are absolutely no clocks anywhere to be seen. Either plan on bringing your own, or enjoy being in limbo.

Wish we had known - people dress well for the evenings, high heels, ties, etc.
People at the resort came from all over the world - seemed to be a fair number from Russia.

Wonderful experience - highly rec to anyone interested in visiting the DR.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canada014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

MY husband and I stayed at Grand Bahia Principe from march 27th to April 3rd and we had the best vacation ever! Having travel around the world and stayed a several hotels...we were extremely satisfied with this resort. We had a very good deal(price) and enjoyed every second spent there. The beach is beautifull, the sun always shinning, the pools are clean and fun; the food is amazing and the staff is professional.Go visit Heaven on Hearth.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We found our favorite vacation destination. The Gran Bahia. This resort does everything first class. The staff at the reception desk were great. There was never a communication problem, in fact throughout the resort some of the staff spoke three languages. English Spanish and French. We went with our good friends. We both have nine year old boys that had the time of their lives, snorkeling at the beach and pools all day yet still finding some time to build some pretty awsome sand castles! So much to do or so little, that's up to you... Do not hesitate booking this resort for any occasion! The Gran Bahia is beautiful, well maintained, and spotless. We spent seven days in paridise! Again the reception, the staff, the food, the nightlife, the rooms and the grounds were just great. Can't say enough about this place! This was our best vacation ever and we will go back again and again. Please wake up early at least once to watch the sunrise on the beach. Priceless!!! To everyone back at the Gran Bahia, Thank you so much!!! And from Long Island New York to you... HOLA!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongIsland6112000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This is the most beautiful location i have ever been to, We stayed on the Anbar side of the resort (no kids and better rooms) I was there an entire week with a wedding party and had nothing to complain about other than i had to leave. Food was perfect rooms were immaculate service was top notch, I will definatly be back as many times as i can. The highlight of the trip was a chance meeting with a young man named LA at the pool on the Anbar side of the resort, We booked a catamaran day trip with him and his company scuba aquatic, I have to say i have met no finer human being in my life and you will all be very happy and blessed if you meet him. Peace out LA

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramshackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe for one week, and had the time of my life!! I was a little hesitant on booking this resort only because I was travelling with a few girlfriends and we wanted to have lots to do day and night, and some of the reviews said the nightlife sucked....well it's no cancun mexico...but we still had a great time at the disco and kareoke bar. We met lots of really fun people there so that may have helped.
Our room was sooooo clean and huge, the maids did an amazing job. Anytime we needed anything they were ALWAYS there to help!! The resort itself is HUGE!!! When I read there were trollys to drive you around I thought....I'm not that lazy I will walk. NOT!!! The trollys were great, you never had to wait, they were constantly going day and night. I can't comment on the a la cartes because we didn't want to feel obligated to keep reservations if we had something else to do. We didn't mind the buffet every night. They changed it up a bit, so we were satisfied.
The beach was stunning!!!! They were constantly cleaning the beach, and there were always enough loungers for everyone. I loved the fact the ship wreck was right in front of the resort, so we booked out the kayaks a few times and made our way out to look at it up close!! The beach bar staff were AMAZING.....Maria and Robert were my favorites!!! They were always singing and yelling YAHOOOO!!! They made the trip memorable for sure. I saw lots of different crouds, families with young children, big groups of familys, couples, and smaller friend groups (all girls trip) (all guys trip).
I would certainly go back in a heatbeat, the only bad thing I can say about my room was there was NO CLOCK!!!! I didn't have a watch either and I never knew what time it was. This drove me NUTS!!! Everthing else was great!!! Happy travels!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisyframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

good trip
food was very good best we have had at a All Inclusive
buffet was as where the allacart
casino disappointment had to pay for your drinks in casino
beach was nice rooms clean nice

no waiters on beach or pool

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerramjet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $143 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing