We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited this hotel during the first two weeks of June and all I can say is WOW! Huge resort with shuttle busses running throghout every few minutes, however only took about 5 minutes to walk the distance the busses ran. Large rooms cleaned everyday with everything in that you could need. Massive pool - never an issue finding two sun loungers together no matter what time of day you tried. The beach is just like it is In the pictures- white sand and turquoise sea. Everything in resort and trips were priced in dollars, however they would happily convert to peso as that was what we had taken. On average it was 43 peso to $1 although you often got your change in dollars. Based on this it was easy to tell if shops were upping the price or not. Stuart the Thomas Cook rep was great and always there to help if you needed it. We did the mega trucks trip and Saona island. Both well worth it. Overall a fantastic holiday, brilliant weather and great hotel. Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank katiecollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Katie,

Please allow us to reassure that I am proud to know that we have provided you an amazing holiday and all you can say about us is WOW, with not one single reason to disappoint. It will be an honour to receive you once again and experience another fantastic time in our Resort.

Thank you for your comments and many hugs for you!!!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,423 - 2,429 of 7,035 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were quite worried after reading some of the reviews before we came and wondered if we had chosen the right hotel.As soon as we arrived we saw for ourselves how lovely it was Yes it is big but you soon find your way around . The shuttle buses run every few minutes if you want but you can walk, the grounds are beautiful and the gardeners are constantly working on them.The first night we had a flood in the room we were asked if we wanted to move but we decided we really liked the position of the room .We were moved for that night while it was cleaned. The staff were lovely and could not do enough for us. The food was really good and the a la cartes we went to were great .We went to the japanese twice it was that nice.The beach and the pools were great and we never struggled to get a bed with a umbrella. All the staff work very hard and were very friendly. Jose and the young rep who worked with him ( sorry i cant remember your name ) were fantastic. Book your trips with them and not in travel agent . We booked ours in the shop when we booked the holiday and there were only us and one other family that spoke english.This was certainly one of our best holidays and we will definately return.

Room Tip: We upgraded to golden club and it is certainly worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank b00thys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for me to see that you were able to change the perception once you arrived and it was better than you expected. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience. It´s wonderful to know that this was one of your best holiday and you definitely return without doubt.

Have a nice day and thank you for choosing us!!!!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I'm posting a video that will speak for it's self. This is a great resort. However, management needs to higher more bilingual employees. 99% of the staff didn't speak any English. Considering most of the guest are vacationers from around the world and not just Spanish speaking countries, you would think they would invest more into training the staff in different foreign languages, or at least higher employees that already speak more than one language.

Room Tip: Brush up on your basic Spanish, because you will need it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank powellte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time and posting such a nice review as well thank you for your comments regarding our staff which will be taken into the highest consideration.

We really hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you any time soon at one of our Resort, in the meantime we wish you and your family all the best.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Many hugs and sunny greetings.


Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit to Dominican Rep. The choice was between Dominicana and Mexico. Didn't regret our choice. It was a wonderful time. Good food, excellent service. Each detail for your entertainment is well done and prepared. Each evening in restaurant you can taste food of different countries. Big territory, you don't feel the place crowded. You can find place for yourself anywhere. Everybody is there to please you, to help you to relax. Wonderful hotel, wonderful people, wonderful country

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Татьяна М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. It is a pleasure for me to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your first visit and honeymoon in the Dominican Republic and to know that you appreciate every detail we prepaid for you.

I would like to cater you once again to experience another wonderful time in the hotel with the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Kindest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We recently stayed at the Bavaro section of this hotel. The property, pools, rooms and food were great. However, the lack of organization and poor communication of the staff and management made this only an average trip for us.

The place is huge and overwhelming at first arrival. There is very little signage to point the way to anything and what signs there are, although in 6 different languages, were not helpful. The map we were given as part of out check-in package was also not very helpful.

We ate most of our meals at the buffets, which were fine. We ate at one of the reserved dining places which was very good.

The language gap is another issue we ran into. If you, or someone in your party does not speak Spanish, you may have a tough time here; especially with the front desk and some of the concierge staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which indeed is really important for us. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you found worth mentioning some aspects and we really apreciate your time to give us your comments regarding some services they will be taken into the highest consideration.

We really hope we can receive you at one of our hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort.

In the meantime we wish you all the best!!

Best regards


Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is excellent ,wheelchair friendly, staff friendly& helpful in particular Martha + pregnant lady and all other staff in lobby bar, Romana (Housekeeper) And reception staff ,Plus Thomson's tour rep Who was exceptional , Last but not least all the Garden & security Staff all went out of their way to make a pleasant and happy holiday. Thank you Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and all your staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are near or within walking distance of restaurant, pools, beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Dianne,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to show you our commitment to excellence.
Regards from Dominican Republic,

Hugs and many sunny greetings from Punta Cana.


Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We truly enjoyed ourselves. The beach was just like all the pictures one sees in the travel magazines. Very clean, well maintained and big. Pools were immaculately clean. The rooms were immaculate with a well stocked refrigerator. Plenty of bath amenities, towels, shampoo, and best of all a shower that was easy to operate where one did not need a Ph.D to figure it out. A/C worked to perfection.
I did have one problem with the wifi but it was more to my not understanding the workings rather than it not working at all.
Not sure of how many restaurants but we stayed 6 days and didn't eat in the same one twice, although we could have if we preferred. Buffets, 3 of them, were all exceptional with a huge variety of food to choose from.
The staff, well we didn't meet one that wasn't polite and pleasant. The privilege club did everything for us. We liked that a lot.
Anyway, if you are unsure of where you would like to spend time, I would advise you to look at the Grand Bahia Principe, dollars to donuts, you won't be unhappy. Regards, jim

Room Tip: I prefer any room from the 2nd floor up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmygBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dea guest,

Thank you very much for you winderful comments they mean a lot to us. It is great to hear that you had a relaxing time and that you enjoyed our beautiful beaches.

We really hope to welcome you any soon at one of our Hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

You are one in a million, big hug from the entire team.

Sunny greetings.


Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $125 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing