We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$342
$227
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$291
$230
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$325
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$414
$274
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$315
$239
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$785
$596
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$379
$207
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Catalonia Royal Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$427
$394
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$277
Elvoline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,421)
Filter reviews
7,421 results
Traveler rating
3,440
2,141
1,075
425
340
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,440
2,141
1,075
425
340
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden grillroyal golden sectiona la cartehuge resortprivilege clubbbq restaurantel pescadorcloser to the beachair transatkaraoke barmain buffetmichael jackson showguest servicesdominican republicgreat resortrecommend this resortbavaro side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,055 - 3,060 of 7,421 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. We have travelled to the Punta Cana area many times as well as other resorts in the Caribbean and were happy we made the choice. The property is very large but after a couple of days it's very easy to navigate. We stayed in the Royal Golden section of the Punta Cana and were very pleased with our accommodations. The beds were better than I expected although the pillows were tiny for the king sized bed. We were close to the pool/beach area and the bus stop was close to our villa so made travelling the resort easy.

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Gardeners are working hard to keep the place looking perfect. The resort was extremely clean, the staff are always sweeping, washing down decks, etc.

The pool area was beautiful. As it is a large resort, you do have to get up early if you want deck chairs with a palapa though. Most people do reserve chairs with towels before going off to breakfast but this has been my experience everywhere so was no problem. The beach area is gorgeous and has more than enough chairs but reserving is necessary if you want to be right at the beach. Bartenderss at the swim up bar (Enrique and Francisco) were fantastic. They were amazing. Friendly and professional and making sure the crowd was happy.

Buffet restaurants were very good. If you go hungry here, you truly must be overly picky. For breakfast, eggs and omelettes, crepes, french toast, cereals, bagels, fruits and the best fresh bread. Dinner had a different theme every evening and food was fresh and well presented. Hostess with hand sanitizer at the front which we thought was a nice touch. The only a la carte restaurants that we tried were the Italian (it was okay) and the mediterranian (seafood) which was very good. There is a good selection of wine, beer and spirits. These drinks are not watered down which seems to be a complaint at other resorts. After 5 days of fruity drinks we were craving a Canadian whisky which we found in the Bavaro lobby bar. A $4 premium but well worth it ;)

We will definitely return to this resort, we thought it was wonderful value and have no problem recommending it.

Room Tip: The Royal Golden section had a great location closer to the pool area and beach. If you get a room that faces the Esmerelda section or the Ambar section you will hear the bus go by more than if you have an inside facing room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slotsgirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very proud to know that we have provided you the best relaxing holiday you have had. It is appreciative to read that you left with great memories.
Thank you for your comments, your comments are very important for us and the other travellers and at the end for recommending us!!

We hope to see you soon at your second home in the meanwhile we wish you all the best!!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was the second 2 weeks holiday in GBP Punta Cana and maybe some day we will come here again. It was very supraising that the lady in the recepcion remembered us after one year (best wishes to Kenia). Our wish was to get the same room as a year ago, but we got even better and also extra benefits.

In this resort there were a lot of Canadians and USA citicens, but also many Russians. Unfortunately I do not like their behaviour, because they cannot say hello and the behaviour in the buffet was quite rude.


My wife has studied Spanish and it was easy for her to had some discussions with the staff.
Maybe that was why she had god relationships with them.

Conclusion of mine: the room was exelent as well the cleaning and how well they filled the fridger!

The pool area is good, but you have to reserve the place early in the morning before russians.
Food is ok. Beach is superior, you can walk kilometerers to both directiones and go to swim when needed. There are many entertainments, pool activities and on the beach as well - that depends on you.

Best wishes from Heikki andTuula from Finland

¡Saludos a todos y muchas gracias por las vacaciones mejores!

Room Tip: We had the room number 16301
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Customer,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with others on TripAdvisor which we will take in the highest consideration. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. Thank you for your observations, which plays a key role in our continuous process of improvement and lead us to achieve our commitment to excellence.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent Christmas at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. It was fantastic! Great for families and large groups. The resort is huge and plenty to do, including a Kids' Club. We have a 4 year old and 6 year old and they begged not to leave. We met some great folks from Canada and the staff was amazing. They did an amazing event and dinner on Christmas eve. The entire resort was well decorated and everyone was so festive. Some of the decorations were a bit over the top but I understand their intentions which were to wow the guests and give us a good time. The only downside was the size of the resort, which is perfect for groups and families but a little too busy for couples. I personally prefer a smaller resort and less restaurants but have a quieter, more peaceful environment. But on a sidenote, I understand from some of the resort employees that they are not treated really well and paid significally lower as compared to other employers, which was very disappointing to hear.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to Esmeralda...nice restaurants and rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAD_DCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Client,

We greatly appreciate your feedback, which delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.
We hope we can welcome you for Christmas in 2014 or maybe anytime before that!!!
Feel welcome to contact us for your next visit, in order to prepare all the details to provide you a wonderful experience.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The resort and staff were very accommondating and friendly. The pool bartenders went out of their way to meet our needs and make sure that we had fun. Suggest bringing bug spray but everything else was excellent

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Dana,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our friendly staff.
We will be more than happy to have you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and continue providing the most memorable experiences whenever you wish to enjoy for the second time an unforgettable stay.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Let me start with the pros, the beach is beautiful, the pools are nice, the rooms were spacious enough.

The cons:

Service is way to relaxed to give this a four star rating. you have to ask for things 2 or 3 times.

Not enough chairs around the pools, not even close to acceptable. There is more than enough room for more chairs and a demand. Its really frustrating to go to the pool and can't find a seat. These are peoples vacations don't make them hunt and fight for chairs. At the beach it was easier to find chairs, but its busy there so go early.

The food is okay at best. The ala cart restaurants are a big waste of time, same food as the buffet, same quality, just takes way longer to eat. And unless you are making a reservation with kids you will be eating late (8:30, 9). At the Japanese restaurant they advertise it as a teppanyaki environment (cook at table show) but no one tells you that you have to make a specific reservation for that, Very very disappointing. Given the language barrier you have to be clear.

They have good brands of liquor available included and for charge, but you have to ask for it by name otherwise you get watered down nondescript bar rail hooch. This goes for all drinks ask for the good stuff.

Why they force people to the disco at 11:30 instead of keeping the lobby bar open is really confusing to me. not everyone that goes to these resorts is into going to the loud dance club. Some people (even young) want to sit in a comfortable environment past midnight and talk, play cards, what have you. No reason for this at all, and all Grand Bahias (in my experience) seem to do this???

Stupid note but still frustrating, you have to put a card in to turn on and off the lights in the room. But this also turns off all the electricity in the room, including the clock. So you will be constantly setting the time in your room. We found you can put any card that fits in to keep it going but every time staff comes in your room (which is often) they will pull it out. So you might win a few but...really a dumb after thought. Just put the A/C on the cut off circuit.

We got this trip for a very good sell off price, but if you are paying premium go somewhere else like a smaller resort or the Riu, I hear there is a Westin going in.

Room Tip: Its a huge resort so decide what you want to be closest to (beach, pool, lobby) before you book a room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rhion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We feel so sorry to hear that some of our services has not reached your expectations. Thank you very much that you found worth mentioning some aspects such as our beach, pools and rooms.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.


Best regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews