We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great place we had a room near lobby so everything was near by. We walked to the beach in stead of waiting for the shuttle bus ( it was quicker to walk). Beach was lovely water a bit choppy but it was part of the fun. Pools were lovely but a couple where they entertained guests was a bit noisy but good all the same. Service in buffet restaurant was sometimes a bit hit and miss but overall it was ok. The nighttime entertainment could have been better but we were out for a chilled holiday so we didn't care. All in all a great place to holiday would definatly return.
Take plenty mosquito repellent their a nightmare.

Room Tip: A room near the lobby is best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlucy0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear customer,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Thank you for acknowledging for mentioning our great beach, pool and our service at the buffet.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,176
    1,937
    947
    362
    258
See reviews for
2,291
2,608
92
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed there from Nov 14th to Nov 21st. It was a great vacation as well as we attended a wedding. All was good. The staff were great. There was a staff person that was awesome. Her name was Julia Ventura. We first met her at the lobby bar. She always had a big smile and was very pleasant. Her customer service skills were above and beyond. Thanks Julia for making our stay memorable. We would give this resort a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Rich,

We at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana pleased to know that we went beyond your expectations and that you had a great vacation with us!

I am sure that Julia has had the pleasure of serving you.

Looking forward to your return at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Best wishes,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went on this vacation with a group of 12 friends. All couples. The resort was beautiful. The beach was nice. The food and restauraunts were delicious. Service staff was very friendly. A few complaints....

The resort is very large. You have to take shuttles to get from one area to another. We paid for the upgraded rooms which were close to the beach. However this meant we were far from the lobby. You either had to walk for 20 minutes or wait for the shuttle cart. The shuttle carts were always present at "bus stop" locations, howevery they did not leave the location until another shuttle came and replaced it. So if the shuttle was full with no more room for people, it would literally sit there until it was replaced by another shuttle. Sometimes you would be sitting there for a good 10 mintues. This happened often and it was a pain if you got to the lobby and forgot something in your room. About half an hour later you would be reunited with your friends because of the travel time in the shuttle.

The night life was pretty much non existant. The lobby and sports bar closed at 12am. Which is early. All drinks and service would stop. The disco would open from 12am-2am, but if it wasn't your music, you won't be staying. And that was the case with us. There was literally no where to party after midnight. No night life whatsoever. Dissappointing for such a HUGE hotel.

I'm guessing the time of year we went was bad. The mosquitos were horrendous. On my first night, I counted 19 bites on my left leg and 14 on my second. I had to take benadryl for most of the trip as the itching was very bad.

The buffet service was good, however during breakfast I found I was asking for water 3-4 times before I received any. Dinner service was finet hough, as the staff were very attentive.

Japanese, French, Italian and BBQ a la carte restaurants were absolutely decilious. I strongly recommend them.

Maid service was good and the rooms were nice and clean. Only complaint... the construction work that started at 8am and woke me up every morning. Not cool.

All in all, a fantastic trip. I think I prefer a hotel a little smaller with more things to do at night.

Room Tip: If you upgrade and stay near the beach, you'll be far from the lobby area. If you stay near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with others on TripAdvisor.

Please allow us to inform you that, despite the size of our Resort, appropriate measures have been taken in order to ensure guest satisfaction and expected quality of each of our services. We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to.

We follow insects control programs and strict programs of fumigation, which are carried out continuously. Due to our tropical climate and the landscaping that surrounds the Hotel, characterized by wide open spaces, and taking into consideration that we are located in a protected mangrove area, the presence of certain species coming from the exterior may not be avoidable at all times.

We are really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place for families and for singles. Beautiful and long beach front great for a long daily walk. A very large hotel, very clean, the staff is great. It is such a big place you can get lost if you don't pay attention. It is like a very big city with different districts. I'd go back again but in a different district where all the facilities are closer together and less use of the shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Best district to be in is Ambar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pablo2335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Pablo,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay and to learn that you had an lovely week especially because of the beautiful beach, and great staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed their for a week nov 7 till 14 , had such a great time beach is amazing food is excellent and the service from staff was fantastic !!! Loved it so much plan on getting married there, best trip ever :) thanks victor for the amazing service and making our vacation awesome ,,,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. We feel proud to read that you have had an awesome vacation in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards from Dominican Republic!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have just returned from a very restful vacation experience. We vacationed at the Gran Bahia Punta Cana Resort Complex (GBPCR) for 11 days. We are also Privilege Club members. Overall, we rate our vacation experience as excellent.

The GBPCR was well maintained, clean, and the food was enjoyable. The service was satisfactory and the staff tried to accommodate all of our requests. I do recommend becoming Privilege Club members. This membership enhanced our vacation experience. We were able to access all the amenities of the resort including the Punta Cana, Bavaro, Esmeralda, Premier and Ambar. The Privilege Club staff accommodated our requests timely. The handled all our specialty restaurant reservations and we were able to access the desired specialty restaurants. They even contacted and coordinated with us prior to our departure to the Dominican.

We are primarily beach people. We utilized the Ambar beach and related services for the entire 11 days. The food and drinks at the buffet restaurants were very good. We preferred the buffets at the Jasmine within the Esmeralda and the Palmyra within the Ambar. The servers at the Jasmine were the most friendly. We had breakfast and lunch at the Palmyra daily and the waiter Felix was the best. The snack bar directly contiguous to the Ambar beach was also good. The bartenders at the Ambar lobby bar were very knowledgeable of drink preparations. They prepared an excellent "old fashion".

The specialty restaurants were good. The Gourmet restaurant was outstanding. Overall, we were very pleased with the buffet restaurants.

The beach was wonderful. We went to the beach each morning. When we exchanged our towels; the towel attendant greeted us with a "bright and shine morning". The beach servers, especially Victor, were very courteous and attentive.

During our stay, we were some of the few Americans present. Mostly Italians, French, Germans, Spanish, British, Canadians (French and British) were vacationing. The staff preferred to speak spanish. They did know limited english. You will have to be patient with the staff due to the language barrier.

Our accommodations were good. The suite was clean, well maintained, and the maid stocked our refrigerator each day. The air conditioning worked well and we were very comfortable.

The evening entertainment was good. The most entertaining shows were the Nacional, the Michael Jackson and the Circus.

Overall, we had an enjoyable and restful vacation. I do highly recommend the Gran Bahia resorts. We have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff and Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. Your nice comments will be forward to the waiter Felix and beach server Victor, who will be delighted with your comments. At Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts our goal is to make your stay become unforgettable experiences. It is wonderful to know that you recommend us.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again so you can enjoy our services and pristine beach at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Excellent Hotel. This was the greatest family vacation we ever had. The Staff was great and the Grounds were great. We are a family of four with two kids ages 9 and 11 and we were able to keep them busy. We went sailing, bike riding, swimming, and running together. The grounds are huge and they have a lot of activities for everyone. Every night there are shows and I was impressed. You will not regret coming to this resort. Ps: The food was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service. at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Eddie,

It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed a great vacation, specially because our exceptional food, great staff and grounds.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome and provide you once again an absolutely fantastic vacation in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#59 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing