We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Grand Bahia Principe resort chains!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Grand Bahia Principe resort chains!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a great trip!

My boyfriend and I have been to the Bahia in Mexico in 2007 and love it but we also have been to the Dominican and loved Bavaro Beach, so we decided to go to the Bahia in Dominican.

Here's what we thought about the Dominican Location=

Food:
The a la cartes were tasty! I even had an amazing steak with veggies and potatoe!!!... and all the buffets had amazing presentation, tasty food and a huge variety even for picky/vegetarians. I couldn't get over the watermelon sculptures the employees had made, hey were beautiful. The service was always friendly and they were quick on getting refills etc even at the buffets so we could eat and get back to the beach.
**I just didn't like that the snack bar at night only had burgers, hot dogs and nachos every night. We got sick of it.

Rooms:
The rooms were clean and huge. Some days the air conditioner wasn't as cold as we'd like it and the first couple of days it was like the air conditioning wasn't working...but it kicked in and all was good.

Service:
The people were always nice and fast even the front desk at check in. A special thank you to Karen who gave us a room upgrade closer to the beach! We were last to be checked in, not that we minded, but she gave us a better room location which was awesome!

Resort:
The resort was huge! We didn't even get to explore the whole grounds. 1 week wasn't long enough lol but we love resorts like that, gives you lots to do!

***My only issue is that the resort taxis that get you around this huge resort take forever! One cant leave until another one shows up. We had to walk 5 or 6 times from our room to the lobby where the shows and buffet are held which takes like 10 mins and I have asthma...in that heat, is not cool. In the 10 minutes we walked sometimes we could still see the cart hadn't even left yet and one time we missed breakfast cause the taxi took 20 min to even move.

The Beach:
The beach is BEAUTIFUL! and clean and there are plenty of chairs.
***But there were too many annoying people trying to sell you excursions etc. while you're trying to relax. THE WORSTTTTT was the booths set up by the sports bar/casino. Those guys were aggressive and borderline rude which is sad cause it took away from our experience at the resort. They have the exact same stuff as the shops do, they shouldn't be hounding you!

Shows/Disco (bar):
The entertainment was hilarious and the bar was good too. It played good music that you could dance to and the bartenders we fast and not stingy on the alcohol lol


All and all, besides the resort taxis and the aggressive sales people this trip was absolutely what we were looking for!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Cstomer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Ashley,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We would like to thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your feedback that assists us to continue improving and valuing our service.

Please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration.


Looking forward to welcoming you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,235
    1,985
    975
    381
    286
See reviews for
2,377
2,666
97
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely the best vacation ever... the staff was wonderful... Kenia at the front desk... was the best.. went out of her way to be super helpful!! Food - Entertainment - pools -- beach --- THE ROOMS!!!! Everything!!!!.... sooooo much more than I ever expected.... A trip I would recommend to anyone!!!

Room Tip: building #15 was right in the middle of everything... perfect location!! Also requested lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chisexybbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf our staff we would like to thank you for your wonderful comment regarding the service at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. Our team members, who play a key role in each vacation experience, with messages like yours will be motivate even more to provide unforgettable stays.

We would like to cater you once again at Dominican Republic to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Always at your disposal,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this resort just to large. To many people so it was almost impossible to get a lounge chair by any of the pools. The beach was not that great either. The beaches in Cuba are by far much more beautiful. The food was ok but a lot of the same choices every day. Would we go back, no.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollierudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with others on TripAdvisor which we will take in the highest consideration. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction.

Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This resort was HUGE and beautiful! The food was amazing, staff was amazing, and accommodations perfect! We only ate at one of the a la carte restaurants, as it was too hard to get a decent time at most of them, unless booking at the beginning of your trip.

The only complaint was that it was so hard to find a chair on the beach or near the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC198482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Stachar,

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience in our huge and beautiful resort , which give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

It is wonderful to know that you experienced an very fun vacation with us and it is a pleasure to read that you are considering coming back to our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Rest assured that your observation have been transferred to the General Manager to analyze the point you mentioned.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,

Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recommend!!! We stayed at Bahia Punta Cana Golden Royal Club, which had many great pluses like location closest to the beach, free unlimited internet at various locations and separate private reception. Service was quick and proper. Friendly staff. Beautiful landscape. A great aqua park for kids, though a bit far from the beach. Amazing beach with white soft sand and turquoise ocean will definitely make your stay unforgettable! Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sasha,

Thank you for recommending Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana as a great place to stay with kids. It is wonderful to know that you had fun.We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially our Royal Golden Club services, free unlimited internet at various locations and separate private reception.

It will be an honor to host you again in our premises and continue providing you the most enjoyable experiences.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Warmest regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My family and I enjoyed staying at Grand Bahia Principe resort. People and staff are nice, friendly and warm. our special thanks to Valentina and Lilia who provided the best service at Golden Club. Foods were great too. We definitely love to go back to that resort again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 581Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Nina.

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff, especially Valentina and Lilia they will be very happy to learn that she was able to contribute in creating a great vacation for you. It is an honor to know you enjoyed unforgettable holiday in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana .

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kindest regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First time to Punta Cana and loved every minute! The staff is wonderful!! Special shout out to Lydia, Geraldo & Yuly at the swim up bar. They treated us great and greeted us everyday with a drink and a high five :) The grounds were beautifully maintained. They made it very easy to get around with the many trams to take everywhere. We also would like say thank you to Sandra, our room was cleaned and restocked everyday without fail! Wonderful time and would return :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peej158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Peej,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Bahia Principe Punta Cana for your first time coming to the Dominican Republic. It is a great compliment to read that your stay was great. Posts such as yours motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Thank you for recommending us and it will be a pleasure to cater you once again!

Always at your disposal,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
957 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#21 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#53 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,416 reviews
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing