We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A dream place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #53 of 107 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A dream place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really like the hotel, the food and the service. The shows, every night it was a new and different show, they also have a very nice show for the kids. we were able to relax, and also have a grait time, I recomend the SPA for $60 dollar we have a 30 mn massage which i found very affordable for a resort.
overall it was a magnific place to stayed for me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mercedes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and for acknowledge our food, service, kid´s show and spa massages.

We hope to cater you once again in Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and provide you a dream vacation in paradise.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,887
    1,741
    812
    315
    226
See reviews for
2,031
2,339
80
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the gran bahia principe punta cana from the 29th June till the 13th July and had a fantastic time! We travelled with first choice who were brilliant from booking, flights to holiday itself and the first choice in resort rep pinky is terrific! On arrival we were upgraded to the royal golden setion of the hotel which meant we were really close to the main pool and beach and got 4 a la carte visits per week (which you don't really need as the buffet resturant is great).

The rooms were big and spacious and kept very clean. Staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly and always keen to help, also I have never stayed in a hotel where the staff are so busy all the time from the gardeners, housekeeping staff poolside staff to waiters you never see anyone sitting around doing nothing! The hotel is stunning and very well kept.

We travelled with my parents and our 3 children and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We went out on the outback safari, saona island and adventure boogie trips which were all amazing and allowed us to see more of the beautiful dominican republic but the hotel has so much to do we could have spent our whole two weeks there! Will definately be back at this hotel soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-cleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us. It is an honor to hear that you had a fantastic holiday and to know that you are considering coming back to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

We are hoping to welcome you soon and please don´t hesitate for a future stay in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel, really clean, good food, great beach. I have to say though that the staff doesn't speak English well and if there are problems during your stay there, it will be difficult to solve them. Also, there is nothing outside the hotel. I say that because if someone wants to get out of the hotel has to take a taxi and the closest city is about 30 minutes away. You have to make excursions to see the surroundings and they are rather expensive. At least for people like us, who come from Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISANNA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Chrisanna,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was excited to be vacationing at Grand Bahia Principe in Punta Cana. This was my first experience at an All-Inclusive, and all I wanted to do was go home from the minute I checked in. This was to be a family vacation (there were 4 of us), but the hotel decided to put us at opposite ends of the resort. With no "working" phones in the room, we could not even find each other. Then they gave us a room with a single bed, rather than the two queens we requested. When asked to be moved the actually said there was a couch. The next day when they did move us, we got put into a freshly painted room. It was uninhabitable. Finally on the third move we got a decent room, but not nearly the quality of our friends, who by the way we can't visit because we are not "allowed" in their part of the hotel. It is now Day 2 in Punta Cana and I would much rather be home. I can't wait until vacation is over!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Debra,

We truly appreciate your feedback; therefore, we would like to invite you to approach our Guest Service Department at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, in order to analyze the points you mentioned on this review. Our guests´ opinions are very important for us.

Please rest assured that we are taking your observations into great consideration.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff are outstanding! The customer service was outstanding! If your child is not a baby or toddler, you may want to select another hotel... Our daughter is 12 years old, we didn't see many other children within her age range at this hotel. Activities for her age group seemed limited... So she hung out with us all day. We were disappointed by the night life at our hotel. There was very little entertainment, limited opportunites to listen to traditional island music. We felt deprived of cultural immersion... My family has decided that if we ever get back to Punta Cana, we would select an adult hotel in hopes of more activities.

Room Tip: I hated being placed on a third floor (top floor) walk up... You might want to request a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Linda,

We are glad you find worth to highlight the outstanding customer service in Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

We really hope to consider coming back to one of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks at the Gran Bahia. Me, my husband and another couple went for our first trip to the Dominican. We had the most amazing time and would return to Punta Cana again in the future. The hotel/resort was lovely. When we arrived we were checked in and taken to our room and had been upgraded to the golden section this was a nice unexpected extra not sure if it would be worth paying for but we enjoyed the benefits having the extra a la carte meal plus our room was closer to the main pool and beach. The rooms were nice, big and clean. There were little balloon decorations in the room a nice little touch. Rooms were cleaned daily. There are five hotels in the one resort so as you can imagine its a big complex. Its easy to get around there are different bus/train type things to transport you around the resort we used these but also enjoyed the walk around as it was nice grounds to walk through. You get a map on arrival plus there's loads of maps around if you need them to help you find your way. We used the main pool and the beach both were amazing. Not the best sunbeds but not an major issue! On the beach you can do different watersports we went parasailing which was a fab experience with great views. The entertainment team would be on the beach and the by the pool later in the day with different games/dance classes. There were plenty of choices for food with several a la carte restaurants Buffett and snack bar. Breakfast served in the buffett had lots of options plus if you want fresh eggs there were 2 stations making them. Lots of choice for everyone. At lunch we mainly ate in the snack bar we liked the food there and they had lots of different choices to choose from there was also the option to have lunch at the Buffett which had more to choose from. As we were in the golden section we had 4 a la carte meals each week our favourites being the Japanese which was a great experience also the Italian, garden grill and the BBQ. We made our reservations one the first day for all 8 restaurants as they seem to get booked quick. The Buffett was generally nice we received some good service and they have different themes each day so gives a good variety. The only issue was that during our second week they got busier and the services became very poor. On one occasion we didn't even get offered a drink with a meal needless to say we weren't very happy about it. As it went quieter again the service improved. After our meals we went to the lobby bar as we ate slightly later the shows were already mid way through so we didn't go to them. The service in the lobby bar was brilliant and there was a nice atmosphere. The Thomson rep (pinki) was great. More than helpful and always friendly. We had the best holiday in a great resort.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank katie_mark_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure and a great compliment to know that you experienced an excellent tropical vacation in Punta Cana.

Please feel free to contact us prior your next visit so that we can take care of the details concerning your stay.

Looking forward to seeing soon!

Best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.


Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon arrival at Punta Cana Airport, we found that United Airlines lost our luggage. Needless to say, being in a different country without any of your belongings is scary! So, we weren't very happy campers when we first arrived at Grand Bahia. Since we paid a bit extra to be "VIP" we were sent to a smaller room to check in. The woman working there, Lilia, did everything in her power to calm us down and get us answers regarding our baggage. She calmed us down enough to go to the pool and try to relax while waiting to hear from United. We eventually got our bags and our trip went on without a hitch. the staff is super friendly and a great portion of them are multilingual, which always helps. We were in Villa 2, super close to the beach, one (of the many) large pools, and one of the a la carte restaurants. perfect location! we usually took the shuttles back to the lobby area, but we also walked it a few times to see the rest of the grounds. the food at the buffet was not the best, but the a la carte Japanese restaurant was awesome! I also heard that the steakhouse was great too. every night they have stuff going on. overall we really enjoyed our stay and were overwhelmed with the kindness of the staff. we had a massage the last day of our stay, and that was a great way to end it. I will definitely come back to the Grand Bahia

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Alexis,

We are very pleased to know that we achieved our goal with you. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us.

Thank you for your comments and ,looking forward to welcoming you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#51 of 107 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 9,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#55 of 107 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
#54 of 107 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 7,471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing