We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana, from June 5th to the 19th. There were 7 of us, all cousins. Some of us have been at this resort many times and as usual the service was outstanding, the rooms extremely clean, excellent food at all the restaurants, marvelous staff, great beach with gardens and grounds well maintained. 2 of my cousins and my daughter had never been to the DR and after this great experience we will do it again next year to the same resort. I want to thanks Mr. Ignacio Subias, General Director of the entire complex, Roberto Iglesias, Mgr. of the BH Punta Cana, Ivan Tejeiro, Mgr. of BH Bavaro, Peco Jimenez, Executive Assitant of the BH Ambar, as well as Omaira Garcia of Gold Plan, Juan Carlos and Isaias of "activities" for the hard work they are doing on this outstanding resort. In fact my husband and I are already booked for a week in Oct. and started to plan our next family reunion for next year.
Ketty N.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ketty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Ketty,

Your outstanding experience is a true statement of the dedication of our staff to guarantee that you have all the necessary components for a memorable stay. We don´t know how to thank you for such wonderful compliments.

Rest assured that we are already looking forward to have you with us again.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,154 - 3,160 of 7,134 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

As a family of 4 we have been to this hotel 4 times in the last five years, the hotel is immaculate, the attention to detail is faultless, ghe food is always fresh, and there is a chioce for everyone, the pools are still spacious when the hotel is full, so we have just re booked to go on 27th August 2013, this will be our 5th time to G B P, we just love it so much that WE would not book to go ANY where else in D R, it's just like heaven ( if I knew what heaven looked like ) just can't wait, chill time.
We will be booked under BUDD

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theredman-clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty. As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Please don´t hesitate to contact us prior arrival to organize all the details for another memorable vacation.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned after a fabulous 2 weeks spent at Grand Bahia Principe - Punta Cana. From the moment we arrived at the resort, we were taken care of, from checking in to being assisted to our room. The gardens and grounds are outstanding and well maintained. There are numerous pools to choose from as well as the lovely beach. We had no complaints about the food and eat at a number of restaurants, which all provided good service and standards. The staff are very helpful and polite and will do anything to oblige and the chambermaid we had was very good. The overall cleanliness of all areas of the resort were very good. We only watched the Michael Jackson tribute evening but we enjoyed this show. All in all, we would return to this resort as all round, value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire-Hamburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Claire,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments regarding your last stay in Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. It is great to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together with us.

It will be a pleasure to cater you in the near future!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Last year-same time frame, different resort, best trip ever! This year the resort was subpar yet still pricey. It was crowded, room service was severely lacking, food was only so so. The room was loaded with mosquitos and cockroaches, shower leaked badly. We just felt for the price and star rating it wasn't what it should have been. I do try to be fair, but too many not good experiences.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nmcowgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on TripAdvisor. Our main goal strives in having a great ambiance to satisfy our guests' requirements; we regret very much that we were not able to fulfill your expectations this time.

We sincerely hope you will consider giving us a chance to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Punta Cana for two weeks at the end if June.

Room

We stayed in the royal golden suites. They were very nice. The room was spacious and kept clean. The power went off one night, which woke us due to the heat. The mini bar had to be fixed twice because it was more like a thermos than a fridge, bit frustrating given that the staff didn't speak English, so it was difficult to explain what the problem was. The biggest issue I had without room was that the shower would always overflow onto the bathroom floor. This made it really slippy and dangerous.

Food

The food was poor overall. The buffets were the same most days and though there was enough choice all the food tasted the same in that everything was either tasteless or just plain salty. The desserts were awful and they had no flavour at all. I stuck with fruit, which was often hit and miss. The a la carte restaurants were a bit better. The Japanese was awfully because they use so much soy sauce that the food is extremely salty. The garden grill was ok. And the seafood restaurant was awful.

Drinks

This is where the hotel was at its worst. All cocktails are premixed and so they all seem to taste the same. Everything was so sweet, the cocktails, the soft drinks, the fruit juices and even the coke tasted sickly sweet. I just ended up drinking water. I also found that wine was always warm, which was disgusting.

Facilities

The whole place is kept every clean and they seem to work on cleanliness all day. The gym was awful! One of the reasons I booked this hotel was because it had a gym! It was ridiculous, there were a couple of machines which were really old. And the gym is only open for a few hours in the day. So, inevitably, everyone turns up at the same time making it impossible to use anything in there. The pools were nice, my biggest issue was the staff around the pool. The entertainment was inappropriate. We tended to stay in the quieter pools to avoid that club18-30 vibe that was going in in the louder pool. But the entertainment staff encouraged drinking and sexually charged games around all of the pools. There were children around whilst a member of the staff gyrated whilst stripping his clothes off! He then went away and played music which contained the most innaporiate language!!!!! DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!! Had I wanted to go on this type of holiday then I would have, however, going to a five star resort, you expect a bit of decorum!

Service

The service was fine. The staff barely spoke English, but then I didn't speak Spanish, so I can't really complain about that. Service in the restaurants was hit and miss and often I'd struggle to get a glass of water let alone anything else!

Other issues

I have a real issue with being constantly sold to. From the timeshare to people who walk around the resort with live animals, including a spider monkey, in the sweltering heat to take a picture with them. That's animal cruelty. And if you care even one bit about animals then you would not visit this resort as this type of clear lack of concern for animal welfare is not acceptable. They also have some women in bikinis that grab you to take a picture. They don't take no for an answer. My partner and I learnt to avoid their path at all costs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We feel so sorry to hear that our service has not reached your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bahia Principe Punta Cana for a week in June, and for the price, it was a great vacation. The resort grounds are gorgeous and well-kept. The resort offers plenty of pools, activities, beach chairs, and more, and we never had an issue finding chairs in the sun or shade. The entertainment staff was fantastic - throughout the day and at the nightly shows. The food options are also great - lots of choices available for all meals. On the downside, the rooms need updating. We were on an "anniversary" trip, but we had two double beds - we couldn't get a room with a queen or king bed. And be sure to bring bug spray! Our room was infested with mosquitos. We left with about 30 bites up and down our legs. (To be fair, we never mentioned this to the staff....mainly because the front desk was ALWAYS busy, and the language barrier was a major challenge.) Also, the staff aren't overly friendly or enthusiastic about service, but instead they seem rather indifferent most of the time. Always polite, but not very warm and open for the most part (with some exceptions!). But that seemed to be the case all around the DR. Overall, we would definitely recommend the Bahia Principe....5-star grounds and outside amenities, just don't expect a 5-star room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Kim,

Thank you for sharing your observations, which plays a key role in our continuous process of improvement and lead us to achieve our commitment to excellence.

We really hope to consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our 3rd time in Punta Cana ,when we booked our hotel this time we picked Club Caribe Princess since this hotel has a lot of bad comments me and my husband got scared and end up Picking GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE.. YES !! we made a good choice. Not that we had a good time we had a AMAZING TIME!! We stayed there 10 night from JUNE 18-28 ! When we 1st checked in girl named ROMONA picked for us a good room with a pool view in villa 15 :) 15205 !! Yes rooms need updating but the view was amazing so it didn't matter that much. Beach was breathtaking !!! We also walked 20 minute to the shopping center on the beach and end up with good gifts for friends. When it comes to the food every night was a different. Like example 1 night would be Mexican, next Italian, Chinese , Etc. Overall food is Excellent !!! Best food so far .. Show was OKAY.. The only one that stood out was a Michael Jackson show ...That show was packed. Lobby area is so nice cause there would be live music couple of the nights or Dj music... Something amazing happened there .. Which surprised us so much.. When we 1st went to Punta Cana we stayed in Catalonia Bavaro and had this amazing waitress named JULIA RODRIGEZ. So one night me and my husband r drinking and he goes Look there is Mamasita (that's how we called her back than) and I am like r u crazy there is no possible way that she works here. so when we looked better it was really her.. She was surprised as well, and was so happy to see us. SO if u guys see her there she is amazing ... BIG HELLO to MAMASITA (Julia Rodrigez ) from US. TO ALL of u that read this There is no mistake in picking this amazing resort. All of u will have a good time ... SO PICK IT And be HAPPY!!! Hope everyone have amazing time as we did :)

Room Tip: pick villa 15 cause its by a pool and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mellysenci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Rest assured that your wonderful comments will be forward to Julia. We are glad to hear that you made a good choice selecting Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana for your 10th anniversary celebration and to learn that you had an amazing time with us.

Thank you for sharing your impressions and we are looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,276 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
#10 of 27 in Bavaro
6,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $144 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing