We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic vacation”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Myself, my husband and our two boys, ages 9 and 13 travelled here from April 4th - 11th, 2013. The resort was exactly as expected for a 5 star.

The Grounds: Beautiful!!! Everything is so green and perfect. The workers are always out chopping or picking up something.

The Rooms: Very clean and spacious. My oldest son slept on the day bed that was made up for him. It was nice that the kids each got their own beds.

The Pools were lots of fun with activities going on through out the day and very clean.

Activities: My husband and sons went on the Segway, one hour tour ($25.00 each). They loved it. Look for Michael who drives around on one to book. He was great. We also did the mini golf, archery, and spent an hour at the water park. We rented the banana boat at $10.00 per person, and my oldest went parasailing with friends and it cost $40.00 for him.

A La Cartes: This is the one reason I cannot give this property a 5 rating. We ate at 2. The Garden Grill. The steak was delicious as was everything else. We also ate at the Mikado. Very good as well. No problems with the food or service. The one problem I did have was that it was VERY hard to get reservations at these. We checked in at the Garden Grill every night on the way to the buffet and they always said, "you need a reservation". We were put on a waiting list. Our second last night there, we got a note slipped under the door saying we could go for 6:30p.m. Yipee!!!!! When we arrived there was one other table of guests and stayed that way till around 7:00. When we left, the restaurant was probably 1/4 full. I think they could handle the reservations better so everyone can try what they are entitled to! We didn't get to use our 3rd option.

The Beach: Immaculate. Soft white sand and the workers are always raking the little bits of seaweed. Never an issue getting lounge chairs even when getting down there around 10:30 in the morning.

Buffets: Very good with a great variety. Always something for everyone!

Fantastic vacation, couldn't have had better weather and everyone is so nice.

Room Tip: Building 12 was perfect. Close to the trolley stop, beside the pool, and halfway between the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadagirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience which we will take in the highest consideration.

We are glad you find worth to mention our beautiful grounds, clean rooms, fun pools, immaculate beach, and great buffet. It is a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic vacation in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,256
    2,002
    988
    386
    294
See reviews for
2,424
2,674
98
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rigaud
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

my g/f and I spent april 10 to 17th at G.B.P.punta cana,thats G.P.B. no 4 in a row,and believe me you wont be disapointed;the grounds,the pools,the food,the rooms,the service is up to standards,cannot wait to try Esmeralda,I dont know how it could be better,but everyone thats been there says its worth it,I just cant figure how it could be better than this,but I am up for it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

You are welcome to contact us for a next visit to any of our hotels that forms our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts family.

Looking forward to seeing you in your 5th visit!

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I just completed our wonderful vacation from April 3-13, 2013. We had an amazing time. We stayed in room 2210 of the Golden section and it was perfect. We are so impressed with the level of service and attention to detail from everyone at every level, not only those who deal with the guests directly. Some examples include stopping a gardener who was riding a bike to ask for directions and he didn't just direct us, he took us to our destination and then resumed his journey. I reported seeing sparks in the blow dryer and not only was it changed but the missing outlet cover on the same wall was replaced without anyone asking.The constant maintenance of the property is evident by its beauty and the army of staff who are always cleaning, repairing, painting or whatever. The cleanliness of a property that large with so many guests is a challenge that is met and surpassed. I'm particularly impressed with the hand sanitizers at the entrance of all locations with food. We enjoyed the food at the buffet the most and the Garden Grill was the best a la carte for our tastes. The only drawback was having to reserve loungers in the shade at the beach or pool super early but that seems to be pretty universal at resorts.

Room Tip: The Golden section is closer to the beach and main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Roberta,

For all our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana it is superb to read that you were impressed with the level of service and attention to detail from everyone at every level. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the most wonderful vacation.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our three generation family ranging in age from grandparents to a babe in arms just returned from a wonderful week at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This trip was booked last minute and we were to go to another resort but an error in overbooking had our travel agent sending us to this resort. How fortunate! We were all impressed with many aspects of this resort. We were booked with the Royal Golden Club which gave us some exclusive services including a private check-in on the bus, a welcome drink, exclusive Concierge Service and junior suites side-by-side located close to the sea, pools and oceanside bars and restaurants. We arrived before lunch, our check-in information and wrist bands were handed to us on the bus and our luggage unloaded and kept for us until our rooms were ready later in the afternoon. All we had to do was disembark, order a cool drink in the grand lobby and have a delicious lunch when we were ready in the large buffet dining room just off the lobby. Most meals were eaten in the large dining room and we were never disappointed. There was a large choice of salads, cheeses, breads, desserts, hot meals and always something special at the carved meat area (Beef Wellington, suckling pig, roast port loin) depending on the theme of the day. Don't miss "Gala Night" on Thursdays with the endless supply of grilled lobster tails. Delicious! We also enjoyed the Japanese meal at the Maiko Restaurant (very special and lots of delicious Asian food; don't miss the fried ice cream for dessert) and the grilled steaks and beef at the Beach B.B.Q. Restaurant open to the ocean breezes. The gardens are magnificent and immaculately tended, cleanliness is a priority everywhere you go from the regular polishing of the marble lobby floors to the constant raking of seaweed on the beach, and the staff everywhere were friendly, professional and consistent. Each day started with an early rising to get down to the oceanside cabanas to choose our lounge chairs for the day by setting our beach towels in place (anytime between 6 and 7 a.m. seemed early enough to get something suitable) as we needed a shady spot for our baby. Shopping was easy on the resort with a wide choice of shops, a small market or beachside vendors selling everything from beach bags to jewellery to sunglasses and hats (be prepared to bargain, starting at half of what is asked, although the shops seem to have set prices but fair prices). Evening entertainment in the theatre was always available. Try and catch the Circus Act and the Michael Jackson evening, for sure. The younger members of our group enjoyed the disco scene and had a very good time with lots of dancing and laughter. There were some areas we felt could improve. We found some cocktails were inconsistent. A Mojito wasn't always the same depending on the time of day and bar you got it from. When you find a good drink that you like, remember where you got it and the bartender that gave it to you. One can always rely on a draft Presidente beer which was always cold and refreshing. The one excursion our party took part in (deep sea fishing) was a disappointment with the unfriendly boat crew, lack of fishing rods and access to them, and no offers of cold drinks or refreshments. We did complain to the tour operator offering the excursion and half of our fee was readily refunded. We learned that if there was something you needed or wanted, just ask and all requests were readily considered and acted upon, from ice in the room, to a facecloth to how to use the room safe (which is always recommended). All in all, we loved this resort and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Royal Golden Junior Suites were minutes from the ocean, pools and oceanside bars and restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbHeagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed a wonderful week at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. It is wonderful to know that we could fulfill all your family generation expectations.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to continue demonstrating you our commitment to excellence.

Regards from the Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I went to Bahia Principe for our 25th wedding anniversary from March 28th to April 4th, 2013. it was our second visit to this resort. As soon as we attended at the reception desk, they noticed that we are the repeat customer. They instantly gave us a VIP treatment. We were given access to almost everywhere on the resort. Our room was upgraded. The management invited all the repeated guests for cocktails in the lounge. On our anniversay day, the Asst. GM personally received us at the Japanese restaurant and gave us a VIP treatment. They even sent their staff to decorate our room with flowers and chocolates while we were having dinner. We immenseily enjoyed our trip and we will definitely be returning for more wonderful vacations. Their Assistant GM Ms. Garcia was amazing and her bosses should be proud to have an employee who cares this much about the guests. My special thanks to Ms Garcia, the bartender Miguel and the staff at the Japanese Restaurant. Thank you.
G and J Gill

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Gary,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your 25th anniversary, and it is nice to read that you enjoyed your trip. Ms. Garcia and Miguel will be delighted with your wonderful gratefulness.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

this trip was the best ever. Found the resort to be very big but we knew that when we booked. This did not deter the quality of service and food. I must admit that the selections of food was always different from day to day, a very pleasant surprise. The pools are absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 17000. Excellent as it was a few minutes away from the reception and a few st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you were greatly surprise with our food selection, which is composed be carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests.

Please be assured that it is wonderful to know that you had the best trip ever. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue provifing you the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well maintained hotel. Great food. Great service. The beach was beautiful and the pool area as well. Service and food quality is great weather you eat at the buffet or the restaurants. We were worried about the size of the hotel and the capability of the hotel staff to maintain their service. I was happy to see that this was not an issue. Getting around was also a breeze. Hotel carts are everywhere and always available to get around. Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana team will be motivated to know that with their service they contributed in creating you a great vacation. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,460 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing