We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$328
$218
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$160
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$335
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
$128
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$371
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$346
$270
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$399
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,481)
Filter reviews
7,484 results
Traveler rating
3,463
2,155
1,091
429
346
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,463
2,155
1,091
429
346
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden grillroyal golden sectiona la cartehuge resortprivilege clubbbq restaurantel pescadorcloser to the beachair transatkaraoke barmain buffetmichael jackson showguest servicesdominican republicgreat resortrecommend this resortbavaro side
Filter
Updating list...
3,541 - 3,546 of 7,484 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The two of us visited this resort Mar 26-Apr 2. The weather was fantastic, over 30 degrees C every day. There was intermittent cloud cover, which actually was a welcome relief given the heat. It rained a couple of times, but the rain never lasted more than a half hour, with the exception of one evening storm (which was preceded by a beautiful sunny day at the pool). Check-in was smooth, although after paying for the "Golden Club" priority check-in, we found that people checking in at the regular desk were processed faster than us. We were supposed to have a welcome cocktail but instead we were jammed in a room with not enough chairs for all the people and got nothing except a message that we had to wait 2 hours for our rooms to be ready.

Our room was ready when promised, and we have zero complaints about the room. We stayed in villa 5, which is very close to the beach and beachside pool. We explored other pools throughout the week and found that the one by the beach is the most popular. It is the busiest by far, and also the loudest (lots of activities going on all the time). If you like that, great... if not go to a quieter pool. To each his own. The beach is absolutely breathtaking. The sand is soft and fluffy, and you can walk right in to swim with zero coral or rocks. There are guys walking around the beach selling cigars and fake sunglasses etc as you see in many tropical destinations, but they are not pushy or bothersome.

The staff at this resort are up there with the best we have ever seen (we've been several places in DR, Mexico, Cuba, Jamaica). The rooms and buildings and grounds are kept insanely clean. The resort is enormous! We enjoyed it because it gave us long walks every day, but that might not be for everyone. There are little trams that run all over though, so you should have no problem getting around. This resort was very family friendly... there were kids everywhere. We would not hesitate to come back with our children. Our only complaint in that regard was that many of the activities orchestrated by the entertainment teams were geared towards being drunk and rowdy. The often played music with offensive lyrics or profanities in the middle of the day when there were children everywhere in the pool. We saw several people get crazy drunk. A man threw up in the pool (not a 20 year old man either!), and 2 different women passed out in the lobby before 10 o'clock. This really isn't a commentary on the resort, however, as those people clearly have no self control.

Food at this resort was very good. The only complaint in this area is that they make the a la carte's next to impossible to get in to, then once you go, you see that half the seats are empty? Makes no sense. I have celiac (gluten/wheat allergy) and had no problem finding great food options in the buffet. This buffet had better selection and better quality food than most that we have seen.

Overall, we loved our vacation. The staff are incredible and the resort is very well maintained. Honestly, we are likely to return to the same place in a year or two for a family vacation.

Hope this helps someone!

Room Tip: Resort is VERY large....at least a 20 minute walk from the lobby to the beach, so choose your room based on what you want to be close to.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pharmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a great Dominican vacation.

We are looking forwarded to seeing you in a year or two o experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Regards from this tropical paradise!

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time. The staff, specially the front desk staff did a wonderful job in accommodating us and helped us navigate the massive complex. Just be aware that it takes at least 2 days (1 if you speak some Spanish) to get acclimated to the vastness of this property and all it has to offer. The different types of restaurants are not always available so you mostly end up eating at the buffet, which can be good on some days, and challenging on others. We stayed at this resort and another during our trip. The latter was a lot more expensive and adults only. We loved seeing the both different types. The general staff at this hotel does not speak English (exception: front desk). But they are very nice and eager to help so it more than makes up for it. What we loved about this hotel was the int'l travelers and people from all ages and walks of life, which truly makes the experience that much richer. The night club is a blast! We also want to extend a special gratitude to Kenia who tremendously helped us during our stay.
Like all resorts they will try to sell you on a "resort oackage." Don't do it, the math doesn't add up. But they are nice about it. Go listen to it if you have 1.5hrs to spare and don't purchase anything and get a free helicopter ride. :D
No coconuts readily available for consumption

Room Tip: It is often hot and humid! No worries - all rooms have awesome ACs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afsayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for acknowledging Kenia who tremendously helped you during your stay. Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the richest experiences.

Warm greetings from Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Bahia Principe over spring break in March. It was really a spur of the moment trip, so I didn't do as much research as I usually do. I have also gotten kind of spoiled when it comes to all-inclusives, having been to about 17 of them. We booked through Apple Vacations, so the transfers were included. That's a nice feature even though it means you share a ride, and even with a stop before us, the resort is only about 30 minutes from the airport.

We upgraded to the Golden Club, so we were checked in in a different room just off the lobby. The service at check in was prompt, except we didn't realize they had only given us one key for two of us. That was no big deal, because they gave us another one upon request. The problem is that it was about 3/4 of a mile from our room to the lobby.

In fact that's one of the things that I wasn't too fond of. It was a huge resort. Actually, there are about 4 or 5 different "resorts" within the Grand Bahia complex. They all share restaurants and entertainment venues, which is my other primary complaint. When we upgraded, one of the perks included being able to eat at the a la carte restaurants 4 nights instead of 3 (we only stayed 4 nights--it was a quick trip). The caveat: we couldn't get reservations. At all. Oh, yes, that's not entirely true; they could fit us into the Japanese at 9:45 pm on the night we were leaving (at 1 pm). Not helpful. All the other restaurants were completely booked the entire time we were there. Let me add that there were only 3 of us. Not exactly a large party. After an hour of negotiating and wheedling, we finally scored a reservation for 9:45 on the last night of our trip. Although the buffet was decent, I like to eat at the a la cartes for dinner, and when a resort advertises how many restaurants there are to choose from, it's a little disappointing to not be able to enjoy them.

I'm not sure what the other perks were for being in the Golden Club--maybe our room was a little closer to the beach. Which also meant that it was a mile from the lobby. They did have little trams that transported guests around the resort, but it was quite a hike if you didn't want to stand and wait for the next one to come by.

That being said, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the robes are a nice amenity.
One of our favorite evening places was the Plaza Principe, a courtyard surrounded by shops, the disco, a stage, and the sports bar. It was pretty fun to hang out there after dinner.

The beach is nice, but it was crowded. It was spring break, after all, so I don't know how it is at other times of the year. I definitely had to stake out a spot early to get to see the water. Same with the pool. Drinks are just your average all-inclusive-small-plastic-cup-watered-down drinks. Not bad, just nothing special.

Overall, it was a nice resort, but not one I would go back to. I prefer the no-reservation policy at some of the other all-inclusives. My advice: Save your money and don't get the Golden Club.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Cyndi,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to cater you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in Dominican Republic, Mexico, Jamaica or Spain, to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We returned again to resort and we where not dissappointed. Very special thanks to Esteban Reyes in the Golden Club for taking care of us and to Angel in the buffet. These two employees where well above the high stanadard of this resorts employees whom we were all treated well by. Too bad about the waves on the beach taking away some sand but the pools took care of us. All in all a very peaceful and relaxing week, new friends Rick and Rita / Rachel and Dan alongwith some life time memories and laughs.
As to those people that complain about language barriers, I would like to remind you that you are in their country and the language is Spanish and the people do go out of their to help.
Thank you for the great vacation and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel. We are proud to hear that you had an excellent stay due to the friendliness of our staff members. Esteban and Angel will appreciate your wonderful comments.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the greatest vacations.

Regards from Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nothing but trouble from the moment the plane landed. Granted, some of this may be the fault of Air Transat, which did nothing to help us with checking-in. (We had to figure that out for ourselves - no easy task, considering the size of this property.) After that, it was one thing after another - a TV that didn't work, a scantily stocked mini-bar with no refrigeration, a toilet that overflowed, key-cards that didn't work, misinformation from guest services and our concierge, and the piece de resistance - while I was checking out, the bellhop put my suitcase on the wrong bus (fortunately, an Air Canada rep was able to locate it at the airport). As well, though we paid for an "all-inclusive", there were still places on the resort we couldn't use (i.e. the a la carte restaurant right outside our villa). And the booze was strictly bottom-shelf - if you wanted the good stuff you had to pay extra. Service also was pretty bad. On the good side: some beautiful pools and the grounds themselves are lovely, and some of the food selections in the buffet-style restaurants were decent. Overall though I will take pains to avoid the Grand Bahia Principe brand in future travels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Eastern tip of the property are close to the big pool and the ocean. However, mid-point rooms are closer to the quieter pools and the lobby.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatShawnConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay with us.

We hope that you reconsider and willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in Dominican Republic, Mexico, Jamaica or Spain, and be able to change any negative perception.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews