We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great vacation at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. The hotel was beautiful, very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There were a few minor problems on arrival and the response time following our call to reception was exceptional. The resort is huge and it took us a few days to familiarize ourselves with everything but after 2 days we knew where everything was. The shuttles come by very often so if you don't want to walk, you can take the shuttle to the beach or the lobby. The food at the buffet was amazing. There was a huge selection of different types of food so it was impossible not to find something you liked. It was difficult to get a reservation at the A la Carte restaurants but we didn't really mind since we enjoyed the food at the buffet. The supervisor of the restaurant was always available when we went to the buffet (morning, noon and evening) and he was very attentive to our needs. My husband wanted a specific dish and happened to mention it to him and he immediately went to get Chef Frankel and brought him to our table. The chef arranged to make this dish for us the next evening despite his heavy workload. This personal attention was greatly appreciated. It made us feel that the staff really cared about us. We also enjoyed the shows which were very professional. The beach was also beautiful and was kept very clean. I can't wait to go back to this hotel, hopefully for 2 weeks next time. Franco & Renata from Montreal

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Renata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Franco & Renata,

We are delighted to know that our personal attention made you feel that we really cared about you. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you for two weeks!

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,254
    2,002
    988
    386
    291
See reviews for
2,421
2,674
98
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I spent one week-March 6 to March 13. The resort was very large and absolutely beautiful! We booked Royal Golden-check in was a breeze! We were driven to our villa ( #5 ). It was a perfect distance away from the pool( it was VERY noisy due to inconsiderate spring breakers.) Get up early if you want a lounge chair at the pool or beach- 7 am is even late. The ala carte restaurants were not that good-the best that we tried was el Pescador. The food was wonderful and staff was pleasant. The buffet was excellent-something for everyone. Don't miss Gala night on Thursday-all the lobster you can eat! Excursion to Saona Island was great! Our tour Guide Raymond was excellent!! Our room was clean however turn down service doesn't exsist. Manuel at the bell captains desk said if we come back to that hotel again we would be upgraded to VIP status with extra perks. Don't know if I believe that. I would come back to this hotel but not during spring break. The college kids took over the lobby bar nightly. Luckily we had a lovely waitress Anise. She took very good care of us. All staff was very friendly. We had a great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Sandy and Pete,

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff, especially Anise, who will be very happy to learn that she was able to contribute in creating a great vacation for you.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spent the first week of April 2012 here. The resort is huge! Too big in fact, especially if you are staying in a room closer to the lobby. They do have a tram that runs back and forth from one end of the resort to the other. Because this place accomodates alot of people, finding a lounger poolside or at the beach was almost impossible. I would find my self running outside at 6 am to put a towel on one so that I could actually get a shady area. People are selfish...they would leave their towels on the chair and leave for hours. The beach...well thats another story. This resort must have one of the smallest strips of beach front.

The food was actually really good. Always lots to choose from. A La Cartes were another story.

Rooms - not bad. They were always cleaned and the minibar was usually restocked.

All in All, we had a decent time. I would recommend the excursion to Cap Cana. Pure tranqulity on the Caribbean side. The beach here is pure, unfounded beauty(Juanillo Beach) Go if you get the opportunity.Would I go back to this resort? Perhaps if I stayed at the Ambar section.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.
We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.
Anyway we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent the last 2 weeks of February at this resort. Although a little intimidating at first given it's large size, it was incredible. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food at the buffet's and the a la cartes was amazing. So much selection that it is tough to get tired of the food.
The pools and beach were wonderful and the weather unbelievable! Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Upgrading to the gold club put us 2 minutes from the beach and gave us extra nights at the a la cart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Michael,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations providing you an outstanding and incredible experience.

Looking forward to seeing you in a heartbeat!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back March 23rd and the resort is fantastic, the choices of food between buffets and a-la-carte is also outstanding. Make sure you book all your reservations the day you arrive as they get booked very quickly. The beach area is rather small, the area between the resort and the ocean has become very eroded that the actual space on the beach has become small compared to adjacent properties. As a result, you'll need to look very hard for any vacant loungers as they're typically all gone very early in the day. We had a juniour suite although it wasn't anything special really. Our air conditioner didn't work the first 2 days and neither did our balcony latch. We did get it fixed by the second day of our stay but with no exhaust fan in the bathroom, our room was extremely humid. The entertainment was great, great amenities and the resort in general was outstanding. The staff is constantly cleaning, re-painting and keeping the resort in top condition, was very impressed to see how often staff was busily working to keep the area clean. The room we stayed in was a little problematic but I'd still rate our stay 5/5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiredcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed a great holiday, thanks to our outstanding food and great entertainment.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the most fantastic experiences.

Regards from Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife, 16 year old daughter and myself were at the Bahia Principe from March 8th to the 15th (Canadian March Break). Overall, it was a great first time visit to the Dominican Republic. We want to thank people who entered advice through Trip Advisor because it was very useful! We knew it could be crazy being March break, but it wasn't that bad. The hotel was full, but didn't seem that crowded at the buffet or restaurants.
Note 1: Transportion to hotel -- We were booked through Air Transat which included transportation to the resort. Make sure you go to the right booth for your transportation information as we were approached by someone from another resort who was supposedly going to give us transportation. He told us to go to the wrong bus to get to the resort, but was also trying to get us to visit their resort - not sure where we would've ended up! We doublechecked with the Air Transat booth and got the correct bus number.
Note 2: Even though we were Royal Golden and had a separate check-in room, it was very disorganized. Our room wasn't ready, so we ate lunch first, but when we went back to the check-in room, the person who had dealt with us first was talking to someone for a long time and the other people didn't seem to be able to help us.
It was a bit inconvenient, but not a major problem.
The transportation to our room was fine and we immediately noticed that the grounds were very well maintained and immaculate.
Our room was a little dated, but the decor and fancy bedding as well as towels folded like swans and fresh flowers in the towels made it more luxurious looking and was very clean. We were in room 22207 and we were right across from a trolley stop, but didn't experience any noise issues. We were about a 3 minute walk to the beach and a leisurely, enjoyable 10-12 minute walk to the main lobby (and the buffet).
We thoroughly enjoyed the food especially the buffet and always found enough to eat! The servers and cleaning staff were all friendly. Even though we had a language barrier, we were always able to get our point across.
As recommended from other reviews, we did have to reserve our pool chairs early because my wife wanted an umbrella. Luckily, I'm an early riser and was surprised around 6 am to see chairs already reserved! The pool and beach area were well maintained and the pool was crystal clear for swimming and refreshing. the beach was beautiful and well maintained as well - I saw them raking the seaweed every morning.
We enjoyed the shows - we always went early to get a good seat. The Michael Jackson show was the most popular show - standing room only if you didn't get there early enough. It was a little weird that the lights in the theatre would be lowered 15 minutes before the show started and at that point, it was more difficult to find seats.
The only disappointment was the Royal Golden Lounge. We had a vision in our mind that it would be a larger, more comfortable space to relax in a more quiet environment away from the crowds instead of a small room containing 4 work stations with the computers, a couch and a couple of chairs. But there were lots of places to sit and relax in the lobby area.
We read a few reviews about the S-trip high school kids, but we didn't experience any issues - they must've been in different locations from us. We did encounter some kids, but they were fine.
In closing, we really enjoyed the hotel, the workers and staff were very friendly and we would definitely recommend this trip to others.

Room Tip: We had a great room -- Royal Golden room - close to the beach and a comfortable 10 minute walk to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us with others. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your first visit to the Dominican Republic.

We would like to cater you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

March 16th - March 23rd - with Canjet

#1 CanJet - great staff, on time..... fun and courteous yet professional at all times.

#2 Resort - awesome! staff were all super friendly, food was excellent ( especially the Grouper , I think they catch it locally ). room was well kept, no issues whatsoever.. there were some tiny ants in the room if you left food out but no big deal.

#3 Beach- Extremely Busy as always... this is one of the most popular beaches in the world and they do an excellent job to keep it clean. Was there 2 years ago and found it was cleaner this time...

Didn't do any excursions, just wanted to "chill" - the activity staff kept everyone busy and laughing yet weren't IN YOUR FACE constantly like at other resorts.
took out a kayak one afternoon and went out past the Astro Boat Wreck, that was pretty kool

Weather was incredible..........VERY windy the first two days which limited beach activities but it calmed down for the rest of the week. This is known as a windy destination at the best of times

What could they improve on? - They should expand the Wi-Fi on the resort, only the Lobby area had it and that was spotty and very slow.

Room Tip: this is a MASSIVE resort, and although they have trolly's /shuttle karts if you're a beach f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spenc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent review, for sharing your photos on TripAdvisor, and for mentioning our super friendly staff and excellent food. Your observations regarding the Wi-Fi have been shared with the General Manager of our Resort to analyze the points you mentioned.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,443 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP Travel USA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing