We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked AWESOME - but seriously it was pretty "kool"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wicked AWESOME - but seriously it was pretty "kool"”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

March 16th - March 23rd - with Canjet

#1 CanJet - great staff, on time..... fun and courteous yet professional at all times.

#2 Resort - awesome! staff were all super friendly, food was excellent ( especially the Grouper , I think they catch it locally ). room was well kept, no issues whatsoever.. there were some tiny ants in the room if you left food out but no big deal.

#3 Beach- Extremely Busy as always... this is one of the most popular beaches in the world and they do an excellent job to keep it clean. Was there 2 years ago and found it was cleaner this time...

Didn't do any excursions, just wanted to "chill" - the activity staff kept everyone busy and laughing yet weren't IN YOUR FACE constantly like at other resorts.
took out a kayak one afternoon and went out past the Astro Boat Wreck, that was pretty kool

Weather was incredible..........VERY windy the first two days which limited beach activities but it calmed down for the rest of the week. This is known as a windy destination at the best of times

What could they improve on? - They should expand the Wi-Fi on the resort, only the Lobby area had it and that was spotty and very slow.

Room Tip: this is a MASSIVE resort, and although they have trolly's /shuttle karts if you're a beach f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spenc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent review, for sharing your photos on TripAdvisor, and for mentioning our super friendly staff and excellent food. Your observations regarding the Wi-Fi have been shared with the General Manager of our Resort to analyze the points you mentioned.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,240
    1,990
    978
    381
    285
See reviews for
2,387
2,667
97
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

An honest review from a Midwest couple. We just came back from the Gran Bahia Punta Cana. Yes the resort is large, but not that bad. We were in building 3 room 210 ( aka - 3210 ), We did the golden club and it wasnt anything special, but for a $100 more we said what the heck. We did get one more dinner reservation and a t-shirt and bottle of rum. The dinners were jusg fine. Not a typical fine dining experience, but it is the caribbean you know. The Italian and stekahouse and japanese are the best. Skip the Mediterranean. Not that good. The buffet is just fine as well. The lunches are simple and good down at the pool ares. The breakfast buffet is also very good. We walked the beach everyday and it is busy, but very relaxing and fun. The pools are crowded and yes I got up at 7 am everyday to jog and put down a towel on our chairs. But that is the game you have to play for a good spot. If you are a work out person you will enjoy the concrete paths around the resort to jog on. It is large and very good running areas. We have no complaints on this resort. The workers are very friendly and personable. Our room was cleaned like clock work everyday at like 2 pm while we were gone. Our room was jusf fine, plen ty of room and a nice size bathroom as well. It served its purpose. Overall I will give the resort a big thumbs up. If you dont want a crowd and a big resort than this is not for you. But if you do than go and enjoy. It is like a 30 minute bus ride to the resort, so not bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raf315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed during the week of march 17, actually are still here.... Leaving tomorrow THANK GOD!!!!! We stayed at the Royal Golden villa #9 and there was nothing "Golden" about it!!!! Our room card NEVER worked hence we saw more of the Golden Reception/check in than anything else! They kept giving us cards that wouldn't work, night manager even came to have the lock changed... Took them 2 hours Punta Cana time.... Still didn't work!!!!! Since we stayed on the ground level, we just kept the patio door unlocked and preferred scaling the balcony... That was all well and good until the maid came to clean the room and would lock the door.... At one point, maid couldn't get in herself!!!!! After 2 days, they offered to give us a new room but not anything closer to the beach for all our trouble.... But they gave us a bottle of champagne yesterday... Whop-t-do!!!!!
I am beyond disgusted with this place in regards in the room situation!!! If you come here, learn some spansish because there is a huge language barrier!!!! This is my 4th time in the DR and NEVER have a been this upset on vacation!!!!
On a more positive note, the bartenders were really amazing... Actually the cleaners, maids, gardners were absolutely wonderful!!! Looooove YOVANNY, waitress in the Punta Cana lobby, who is 5.5 months pregnant and is gracious, cheerful and seems to love her job because she gives great service. Entertainment staff was great! "Moua ha ha ha ha"!!! The food was wonderful as well! Garden Grill is awesome and the staff was fantastic!
All of this said, I will NEVER come to a Grand Bahia Principe even if it were free.... Because of the room issue...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloke272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Lena,

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We are glad you find worth to mention our wonderful food and absolutely amazing and fantastic staff. Thank you for acknowledging Yovanny, who will be proud to know your exceptional comments from her.

Because your opinion is one of our top priorities and we do not want you to have a mistaken perception from us, we really hope to consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just got back from my birthday trip with my husband. From Edmonton, it was a long trip but our reception was A#1. We upgraded to the Royal Golden and everything was easier. Staff were friendly, looking to make our experience better. I would recommend the Japanese al a carte.

Excursions were on the high side cost wise. Minimum $100/person. We didn't go on any as the seas were rough and windy. The market was awesome! Great product and you can barter to what you think it should be.

Our only drawback was the sand mite bites that we got. My recommendation is the rinse your legs of sand immediately after leaving the beach and have a thorough shower. Take Afterbite and have Benadryl if you break out.

Room Tip: Royal Golden room 20206 was close to the beach and the restaurant that serves breakfast by the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebKal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your birthday trip destination. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Royal Golden services, especially their friendly staff, who make your experience a better one.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed at Bahia principe Punta Cana 18 times ...and i travelled to many other places down south, but this one comes out as the best of the bests in terms of quality/price. I never get disappointed!! I refered all our family, friends and acquaintances to this hotel and they loved it and some returned many times. The resort is big and beautiful...the gardens are well maintained and the resort and rooms are extremely clean!!The food is good there's a lot of variety... The beach is big and clean...there's activities for everyone on the beach and at the pools. The staff is extremely nice and helpful some even became close friends. They make you feel like your at home!!
Here's a special thank you to some amazing people we met there :

Marcia Arias - Gerente guest service apple / punta Cana
Ivan.G Teijeiro Doce - Gerente hotel Bahia principe bavaro
Irma - Punta Cana lobby bar
Lidia & Geovanny - Bavaro beach pool bar
Enrique - Beach bar
Raimer - Lobby bar Punta Cana
Elvin , Juan Carlos , William - Animation team Punta Cana
Anselma, Brijida , Wanda - Punta Cana lobby bar
Manuel , Domingo, Roberto, Janni Perez - Bell boys Punta Cana
Nairobi & Kenia - Reception Punta Cana
Henry & Erick - Photographers

We will be back very soon !
Manuela & Christina

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christines9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Manuela and Christina,

As repeater clients your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge to maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination one of our Bahia Principe Clubs & Resorts. Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that this hotel comes out as the best of the bests in terms of quality/price.

Thank you for recognizing the hard work from our staff, who will be delighted to know that with their helpfulness make you feel like at home.

Looking forward to welcome you for 19th time!

Regards from Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stay: Mar. 14 - Mar. 21.
The upside:
Room: Big and clean.
Food: Many varieties. The kids enjoyed them.
Environment: Clean.
Staff: Very friendly.
Beach: Very beautiful, clean white sands.
Entertainment: sexy but not artistic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Larry,

We are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program thanks to our excellent food. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Punta Cana side of resort the week of March 15, but pretty much the same resort, used the same beach/pool/restaurants/shuttles.

We've stayed at many AI, but first time in DR. Would not stay here again for two main reason: too big and lack of service. Mostly eastern Europe and Canadians here during our stay (interesting, when looking at reviews, Canadians give it a big thumbs up, but not so much with Americans).

The negatives outweigh the positives. This is smokers heaven, they will smoke everywhere, right next to you (pool, lobby, or beach), even in places that say no smoking.

Positives: they keep the grounds clean and well manicured, rooms are clean, free wifi in lobby, nice coffee machine, kids enjoyed parasailing and free boogie boards

Negatives: too big, waste too much time waiting for shuttle, not enough people working there, and 90% of the staff are not friendly (especially at the bars and the "towel guy" at pool). So if you are there when it's busy, service suffers. But we've stayed in busier places in Mexico, but at least the staff greet you with a smile and act happy to be there.

Layout: 4 main hotels (PC, Bavaro, Esmeralda, and Ambar). The resort layout is like a long bowling alley. At one end is the beach and the lobby/buffet restaurant at the other end. It's a 15-20 minute walk from one end to the other, so you'll need to wait and use the shuttle constantly. There are two types of rooms, regular and "Golden Club". Regular rooms are closer to lobby/far away from beach and Golden Club is closer to beach.

Golden Club: you're suppose to get better service if you get Golden Club, but in actuality not much better. Most people get GC, so the GC check-in is actually busier than the regular check-in, so you wait longer to get any help at the GC area.

Rooms: The GC rooms are closer to beach, but if you get room # 9 or 10, you might as well be in the regular section b/c it's about 10 minute walk to beach. They call their rooms suites, but it's just a regular hotel room. Clean room, still have box TV. Bathroom has hand shower that doesn't work well. Pillow and bed not the most comfortable. Towels are very thin and old. Fridge well stocked with water/soda/beer. The cleaning staff are friendlier than rest of resort.

Beach: beautiful sand, clear blue water. But it's PACKED and hard to find a place to settle down.

Pool: Nice big pool, but hard to find lounges due to the usual people reserving chairs that remain empty most of the day

Service: Bare minimum, Hard to find people to help answers questions or address complaints. Bartenders hard to come by, Drinks during meals take forever and when you get it, it's diluted in melted ice.

Food: Hard to get reservations at a la carte restaurant, Buffets have good selection, Chicken/Fish always good, Beef and Pork is pretty tough and hard to chew. Desserts better at other AI

Summary: For the money you'll spend, you could probably find an all-inclusive with better layout of resort and better service. Although the resort is well maintained, the service suffers due to the resort size and number of guests.

You'll be disappointed if you've stayed in other AI of same caliber in other countries, such as Mexico where staff will always great you with a smile and friendly "Hola"!!

Room Tip: Golden Club building #1-4 (PC) and #20-24 (Bavara) are closer to beach, but not #7-10 (PC) and # 25...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations with our services during your first all-inclusive in Dominican Republic.

Concerning the lack of service you mentioned, please allow us to inform you that your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness that characterize the Dominican people.

We are glad you find worth to mention our well-manicured grounds, clean rooms, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, and nice coffee machine.

We would like to cater you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities, and be able to change any negative percepction.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
959 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#21 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#55 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing