We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time Feb 21 -28, 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a full week at this hotel and had a great time. Any deficiencies that I can think of are few, far between and so minor as to be not worth repeating. The staff were friendly and as helpful as communications allowed. The service was excellent everywhere in the resort, which is very large. We stayed in building 14, which is half-way between the lobby and the beach. Both are an easy walk of 3-4 minutes or you can take the shuttle bus which runs frequently. There are two swimming pools with bars located adjacent to building 14, so we had an alternative to the beach for a quick drink and dip. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels and bottled water were provided daily. The mini-bar was always kept full. In addition the buffet located by the lobby, there is the Pisces snack bar located at two more swimming pools with bars at the beach. You should know that the snack bar is actually a buffet with lots of variety. Over the course of our stay we ate at both these buffets, as well as several of the restaurants included in our package. The food and service was excellent and friendly.
We really can't say enough about the friendly service we received. Everybody from the groundskeepers to maid service to waiters to reception were courteous, friendly and helpful. If they weren't solving your problem they were offering a coffee, cerveza, food or an "hola".
We would recommend this hotel and would go back again.

Room Tip: Go for a building in the centre of the resort like we did. Don't worry about noise from any near...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Richard,

It is an honor to know that our personnel is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you soon!

Regards from the entire team of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,997)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,297 - 3,303 of 6,997 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a great visit!! Nice clean rooms and beach! Friendly staff! Good times! :) I have no complaints! The Michael Jackson show was out of this world!!! The only thing I didnt like was the miss gran bihia pageant .. I found that it sensationalized violence toward women.. So i just didnt attend that show

Room Tip: Be nice to the reception!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Kimberly,

It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed a great relaxing vacation, especially because of our friendly staff, nice beach and clean rooms.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed a week at this resort in the golden area nearer to the beach. The place is huge so be prepared to walk to the front buildings for entertainment and main lobby bars. Very nice clean rooms, hard working service staff, and the food is great. Excellent beach with plenty of chairs. The nightly shows are very good in the main auditorium and at the market place stage.

If you like a high room with a view to the pool or ocean like in a familiar resort then you will not find it here. Our room looked onto one of the the golf cart roads. There are bug problems there since I saw a few in the room but the exterminator was at our building block one day went I went back to change. You will get bites on your legs and arms.

If you are a couple stay in the Ambar section. Upscale families will love the Esmeralda section.

I prefer a smaller resort without the carts and trucks driving through it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laidbackdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention, especially our nice clean rooms, hard working service staff, great food, excellent beach, and good night shows.

It will be a pleasure to cater you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The good:
My wife and I and two other couples spent the first week of March at this beautiful resort. We booked through Delta Vacations and upgraded to the Royal Golden section which simply means you get a gold colored wrist band and can use nearly all the pools and bars etc. Our room was on the third floor of Villa #10, there are no elevators, not a problem for us but something to keep in mind if you are handicapped in any way. The room was very clean, the air-con worked fine, mini bar was kept well stocked and is included in the Golden upgrade. We were charged $4.00 per day for the use of the room safe, this is the only one of many hotels that we’ve ever been charged for a room safe, oh well, better “safe” than sorry.

As has been said on several other trip reports, the resort is HUGE and takes some getting used to navigating the grounds. If you don’t like walking hop on the little trams that are always available. The beach is the biggest and most crowded I’ve ever seen, there are literally thousands of lounge chairs out there and all packed very close together, however it was always easy to find a few empty chairs. Of course it was clean like everything else on the grounds.

Food is plentiful and quite good considering it is nearly all buffet style dining. Just be careful of some of the other guests who have no concept of forming a line and will knock the plate out of your hands to cut in front of you…grrr! Book your restaurant reservations the moment you check in or you will not get a seat, we managed to get three restaurants reserved out of the seven nights we were there.

Be sure and watch the Michael Jackson show, it was great and I’m not even a big fan!

The pools are just beautiful and enormous with good bars, sometimes chairs are at a premium but keep looking and drag a few empties together, no problem.

The lobby has a good bar with premium drinks and is booming every night, really busy and really LOUD but lots of fun. There is Wifi available in the lobby too but nowhere else on the grounds. It’s a little slow but then we’re on vacation, not at the office.

The not so good:
Our check in at the Golden office was terrible, the poor little girl trying to help us spoke no English at all and our Spanglish isn’t so good either so communications were poor at best. She managed to get enough help from the other staff that we stumbled our way through it.

We had the same problem in a couple of the restaurants, a Scotch on the Rocks request completely threw them over the cliff at the Japanese place. They gathered four waiters together to figure out what I was asking for.

The room had a burned out light and no washcloths and no bedside clock the entire week even though the maid said he’d get it taken care of.

The men’s restroom near the lobby bar was very clean and busy, unfortunately the maid keeping it that way was a young lady who had to be in there cleaning while the men were “doing their business”. Maybe that’s common in some parts of the world but I really felt sorry for her.

Checking out was pretty bad too. You have to go to a computer room to get your boarding passes printed…good luck with that! Once you get the boarding passes on line you must email them to the lady running the print machine, no problem, however she doesn’t know how to print them. This place has over 2000 guests and nobody knows how to print the boarding passes…really? Then we were told the wrong time to be in the lobby by our Delta Vacation agent…twice.

Also, though no fault of the resort at all, the Punta Cana airport is quite a challenge, both upon arrival and departure, so good luck with that.

Conclusion:
While the Gran Bahia Principe is a beautiful, clean, fun resort, unfortunately it is just too big for my preference. Did we have fun? YES! Would I go back? Probably not but don’t let that stop you from giving it a try, I’m glad I did.

Room Tip: You don't have a choice, they put you wherever they want to and nearly none of the rooms has an...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our plentiful food, great Michael Jackson, beautiful pools, and premium drinks at the lobby bar. Your feedback will be appreciated for all readers.

We would like to cater you once again at Dominican Republic to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Regards from Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

03/11/13 been to the dr many times, first time at gran bahia. was a little aprehensive because of the negative reviews. not to worry, it was great. terrific beach, beautiful surroundings and good selection of a la carte resterants. very big and a lot of people . covered wagon trains ran about every 10 minutes (very cute) .a lot of walking though. most of the staff was very good and very helpful but there are always a few that should probably be working somewhere else. hanging out in the pretty lobby one night and realized there was a flea problem. all and all it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymondbarriteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program. Thank you for mentioning our terrific beach, beautiful surroundings and good selection of a la carte restaurants.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Hotel to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This has been the best vacation my wife and I have experienced thus far. We have never felt so relaxed and so pampered. The management team has done an exceptional job on training their employees on all levels on how to run a successful resort. There were approx 7,000 guests while we were there and they still managed to keep this place spotless. I have never walked into a public rest room on the beach and experienced such cleanliness as i did at this resort.This is hands down a 1st class resort all the way.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Your opinion represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most awesome vacations!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I am from Dominican Republic, thsi was my first time visit Punta cana, i know the all Bahia principe are excellent, but that one just is out of standing , the room clean neat, all update, they have super staff , helpfull and enthusiastic, they have 5 star show every single night, everybody can participate and enjoy plus the boot are very helpfull spcially one name Cirilo i can remenber his last name , but is not one there with this name, y want to thanks belki one of watre ,The beach is beautiful and clean the boots are very helpful especially one named Cyril I do not remember his last name but I also know that there is no trunk there with that name, 100% recommend the hotel one of the waitresses in the restaurant, Carlos bartender to make feel my son so special thanks all.........

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

It is an honor to know that our staff, especially Belki, Cyril, Carlos, is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,514 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $136 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing