We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #60 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family vacation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful beach, clean rooms, friendly people. The rooms are plain, clean and quiet. You can do all kinds of fun things or just relax by the pool or on the beach. We would return to the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. It is wonderful to hear that you would return.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a positive experience at this tropical paradise, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting the good stuff, such as beautiful beach, clean rooms, friendly people and clean rooms.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,112
    1,891
    913
    352
    250
See reviews for
2,229
2,545
89
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed at this resort three times. Always great! This time we were upgraded to Privilege club because we had been there before. We were treated like VIP. Rum in our room. Bathrobes and slippers in the room. Fruit basket and champagne sent to the room. The food is always good. There is always lots to do at this resort. The rooms are spacious. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, spacious rooms, as well as the good service from our employees. Please be assured that it is wonderful to hear that you are considering visiting us again.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful, large, well laid out resort. Service was great! Never had to stand in any line ups, that includes checking in and out! The Baggage service was efficient. Manule took care of us, he was very friendly and accomadating.
The food was plentiful 24 hours a day, delicious!! The beach and pool areas were very clean. The a la cart dinners were best we've ever experienced.
We went on the glass bottom boat tour,bought from the guys on the beach. Awesome value for the money.
Also had a wonderful day on the Outback Safari Adventure tour. Jessie was our guide he was Ace (10 out 10 , made us feel like family...lol) Raymond was our driver, he got us there and back safely. An Ace driver, cause it took skill. The tour itself was very informative. One of the best tours we've ever been on.
Gracias from Punta Canada...lol

Room Tip: Rooms in the buildings away from the ocean in my view are better. When you want to get away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed of a wonderful holiday thanks to our rich gastronomy, clean beach & pools, as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahía Príncipe our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Please be assured your comments will be forwarded to Manuel.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bávaro.


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned last night from a week in this resort. At first our impressions were amazing. Even though the resort is very large it is maintained beauifully. Once you get the hang of where everything is, it is very manageable.

We stayed in the Royal Golden building 1. If you want to be as close to the beach as possible this is the building you want to stay in. I literaly took two steps in one direction and i was on the beach, or if I wanted to go to the pool I took two steps in the other direction and was in the pool. It was definately worth the extra money just for that perk. The room was great, the maid was great. No concerns about that at all.

The beach unfortuanely was extremely crowded. I went on vacation to relax, but unfortunately had to play the game of racing to the beach each morning to get a decent spot, and even at that you might think you have a nice quiet spot and people will just move there chairs right up beside you. I mean right beside you. At one time I had to crawl out the bottom of my lounger to get out. It seems people don't understand "personal space" The resort has hired their own people to harass the guests to go on the water activies ie: motor boats, parasailing, dolphin swims. I swear i got asked 100 times over the week. They also bug you around the pools as well. I got good at the pretend im sleeping or reading everytime they came around. The beach is beautiful, and kept beautiful.

The pools are also just as crowded, again, race to get a chair, and good luck in getting one with shade. The pools themself are beautiful, spotless.

The grounds are unbelievable. I give credit to the hardworkers maintaining it. Wow.

The food was good, but let me tell you if i see another buffet anytime soon i will die. Getting reservations at the a la carts was terrible. Twice we had to eat after 9pm. That didn't sit very well with me. And fyi, some of the a la carts are still buffet!!! It became comical after a while.

I was really surprised how few english speaking guest stayed at this resort. A huge portion was from Russia or Europe and a lot of French speaking guests. It also became comical because we truly felt like we were in another world. When we heard someone speak it we gravitated towards it lol.

All in all, i would not go back due to the amount of guests that can stay there at any given time, that is really a lot of people. But if you like being around people then I would recommend this place. It was clean, good food and beautiful beach and grounds.

Room Tip: we stayed in the royal golden building 1. Amazing location to the beach and pool. you could walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NothernFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay thanks to our great rooms, pools, beautiful beach, unbelievable grounds, cleanness and good food.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Thank you for recommending us,

Best regards.


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

fantastic hotel and resort with just a few minor niggles
room great pools fab food good drinks not the best to be honest sometimes too strong to drink and mainly local spirits not branded as in riviera maya .The beach is outstanding ok to get next to the sea you have to be up early but always beds available and you can walk for miles which makes for a great all round tan. Weather on the whole good lots of short showers but when the sun was out it was lovely remeber to pick up a blue exit visa on arrival you need to fill one in to depart it saves time also email ahead of your stay to book al la cartes reccomend mikado pescarso fish ha great steaks and lovely meat at bbq restaurant by the beach

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects such as rooms, pools, outstanding beach & good food. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe
Punta Cana and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Beautiful resort, very clean, friendly staff... but the theft was terrible! We came for a wedding, approx 18 of us and almost everyone had articles of clothing (underwear, shirts, silk robe) stolen. We all know to lock up money and valuables but do we need to pack and lock our suitcase every time we leave the room? Who ever was cleaning Villa 9 (room 9202 is particular) the first week of feb... I hope your enjoying your new robe as well as all the other articles that were taken from others!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments in regards to your experience during your last stay with us.

For your information, all our personnel is well checked every time they are coming in or getting out of the Hotel, as there is a specific staff entrance. In fact they are not authorized to get in or out any bag, object or valuables, in order to avoid items to be taken away. Please be advised that our Security Department operates 24/7 in order to guarantee the security and the well-being of our distinguished customers.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention such as beautiful resort, clean and friendly staff.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to change any negative perception, demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau QC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just returned from a two week stay at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana – Royal Golden Section – January 27th to Feb 10th, 2013 and we return with only positive things to say about this resort and our vacation.
Yes this resort is big, but I am amazed how efficiently it is being managed. I have never received such good service in my 14 years of travelling. One great example, our door “Key” was not working one afternoon, so we went to the Royal Golden Office, they took good care of us immediately, after confirming that our cards were functional, they requested a technician have a look at the lock on the door. We were escorted back to our room by golf cart, expecting to wait there for possible hours, and to our astonishment, the technician was actually WAITING for us at our door. You just do not see that kind of service anywhere else… amazing!
We were there to attend our nephew’s wedding, which was amazing by the way, we also told the administration that we were staying a second week to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. Well, throughout the two weeks, they repeatedly made special attentions in our room to highlight our anniversary…
The resort employees were so nice and jovial – unfortunately, I was appalled at the amount of very rude guests , but that has nothing to do with the resort, just shows off some poor upbringing skills.
Beach was beautiful, a bit crowded, food was very good and plenty, the nightly shows were more than acceptable… I would recommend this resort, anytime! Thanks to all the staff of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana for making our vacation so perfect.

Room Tip: It is a very big resort... if you like the beach... stay in the Royal Golden Section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_Worship_her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Anniversary. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members, beautiful beach, good food and shows.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Thank you for recommending us and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#57 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing