We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Vacation for us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #60 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau QC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another Great Vacation for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just returned from a two week stay at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana – Royal Golden Section – January 27th to Feb 10th, 2013 and we return with only positive things to say about this resort and our vacation.
Yes this resort is big, but I am amazed how efficiently it is being managed. I have never received such good service in my 14 years of travelling. One great example, our door “Key” was not working one afternoon, so we went to the Royal Golden Office, they took good care of us immediately, after confirming that our cards were functional, they requested a technician have a look at the lock on the door. We were escorted back to our room by golf cart, expecting to wait there for possible hours, and to our astonishment, the technician was actually WAITING for us at our door. You just do not see that kind of service anywhere else… amazing!
We were there to attend our nephew’s wedding, which was amazing by the way, we also told the administration that we were staying a second week to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. Well, throughout the two weeks, they repeatedly made special attentions in our room to highlight our anniversary…
The resort employees were so nice and jovial – unfortunately, I was appalled at the amount of very rude guests , but that has nothing to do with the resort, just shows off some poor upbringing skills.
Beach was beautiful, a bit crowded, food was very good and plenty, the nightly shows were more than acceptable… I would recommend this resort, anytime! Thanks to all the staff of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana for making our vacation so perfect.

Room Tip: It is a very big resort... if you like the beach... stay in the Royal Golden Section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_Worship_her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Anniversary. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members, beautiful beach, good food and shows.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Thank you for recommending us and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,107
    1,889
    912
    352
    249
See reviews for
2,226
2,542
89
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here in the last week and it was our second trip to Dominican Republic. It can be very confusing, but try to study the map on their website before you go. There is: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, Premier, Esmeralda, Ambar, and Privilege Club. To make it more confusing, you can be in the Punta Cana and also be in the “Golden Club.” If you are a guest at the Punta Cana, you can go everywhere except the Esmeralda and the Privilege Club. We decided the Privilege Club was timeshare sales (we think), but we were never approached.
We stayed in the Punta Cana. Ivan in the Golden Club has a personality that won’t quit, but honestly the Golden Club will get you nothing but a building closer to the beach – but usually not within a view. They pretend that you get special service, but all they do is call out to the lobby guest services to do the work. They run back and forth with your paperwork while you are just anxious to get to your room. Nice guy, but full of games. Golden Club only gets you a building closer to the beach. That’s it. “Exclusive Reception” means you walk into a different room to check in. Check-in not faster. Sometimes there is a long line, too.
Culturally, I think they don’t want to disappoint so they can never say “I don’t know, but I’ll find someone who does”, or “No, we cannot do that.” It is always an answer that talks about how they will really help, they will bring information to your room, or come back at ___(time) and they will know. None of it is true. It is too bad, because it is a pretty nice place, in comparison, but it is exasperating to Americans who prefer the truth no matter how bad. Everything else is a lie.
There were relatively no Americans around in this huge resort. They obviously cater to Canada. Upon arrival, there was a huge Canadian flag. Lots of French Canadians here, as well as French and Brazilians. As a rule, the Canadians are fun and friendly. Most of the Europeans just ignore you. You WILL see topless women on the beach. Don’t be too concerned. It is just common for the Europeans.
Many of the workers at this resort do not seem very happy. Definitely a structure of management that continually berates those under them. Several times we heard them yelling at people that worked for them in front of guests. Workers arguing. We have stayed at another place in D.R., and the staff seemed so much happier that one has to question if it is upper management creating this problem.
Here are some things we experienced.
1) Called Room Service for over 30 minutes, but they would not answer. “Golden Express” has a special number for any “urgent request during your stay.” Guess what? Same number as Room Service who does not answer.
2) If you want your drinks to stay cool at the beach/pool, bring an insulated cup. Icy drinks are not very icy and they melt very quickly. Coke/7 up dispenser has lots of ice for non-alcohol drinks.
3) Many of the drinks will not have alcohol unless you specify. Banana Mama and Pina Colada will not have anything unless you ask for the rum to be added. Could be why many complain their drinks are not strong.
4) Had Apple transfers back to the airport. Took two days, attempting morning/noon/night to get information on what time. Was told to come back, come back, come back, call them, go to other building, come back in the morning. They tell you Apple reps will be in the lobby 24 hours per day. NOT TRUE. Transfers can only be handled by the Apple rep. in the tours/excursions building, through the Punta Cana lobby (towards the beach) and to the left. And, he is British and will really help!!
5) Mini bar (dorm fridge) not working on arrival. Called maintenance and asked that it be fixed. Right away, they said. Next day, told Golden Club that minibar did not work and maintenance did not show up. They said, “The minibar is not really supposed to be cold. It just keeps things fresh.” HUH? Well, it didn’t keep my chocolate fresh and after two calls to maintenance, and telling “Golden Club”, it was never fixed. I’m envisioning the next guests are dealing with a broken fridge now.
6) Attempted restaurant reservations from home by email. They replied that we needed to check when we arrived. Arrived and were told there were no reservations but they would make them. Took 1.5 hours from arrival until we got to the room while they made restaurant reservations. Told us they would deliver restaurant reservations to the room. Next Day - did not come. Checked back. Oh – they deliver between 2-3 p.m. Received first reservation around 5:00. Wrong reservation time. Found out request from home was made, but times were not available. Funny, because they made them for us at our requested time. Well, we think so anyway. Because of this, the reservations were doubled up, so they chose which ones to cancel. Found this out when the Guest Services lady printed out all the tickets for us. She said she would get them changed. Didn’t get the next one (or even know if we had one), checked on it, no answers but they thought we should have had it. Golden Club - “Who told you?”” Who made them for you?” “I will fix this?” “I need names.” Walked out into lobby and the “Guest Services” lady asked me what I needed. When I said I was just looking for the person who made our reservations, she spewed out, “Room <<<<?” Yep, Ivan’s help in the Golden Club were listening and they just call out to have them fix everything so they can say, “See? No Problem. We take good care of our customers.” Restaurant reservations (among other things) are really a game.
7) Rooms are good size (about 12 x 20 not including the entry hallway). We had a king bed, a small wicker, glass top table with two chairs, a sofa, a very old/small television. The comforter, curtains, upholstery are all attractive coordinating fabrics. Don’t know where you find the pillow top mattresses or the flat screen televisions I read about, but they were not in our room in Building 6. There are three small pillows on a king bed and ours were really small and in bad shape. Our mattress was comfy but had a sour smell - seriously. One of the pillow shams had a big stain on it when we got there. It was left all week and continually placed back on the bed. The sheets are very thin. The bathroom is fairly large (8.5 x 7.5) with a tub with whirlpool jets (did not try it). There really is a water pressure problem which makes the shower keep shutting off. This does not happen all the time, but peak times (like 4-6 pm and 7-9 a.m.) and when it does, often there is no hot water even if you can get the shower to stay on.
8) There are no rooms that are really on the beach, but I would guess that you could have a nice overlook in Buildings 1 and 2, and 20 and 21 might have a view. Ours was #6 and we were still quite a ways from the beach. Not sure about Esmeralda.
9) The beach is very crowded. Reminded me of private islands of some of the cruise lines. You must get there early to get a chair – especially in the shade. People use anything they can to reserve a chair or two or three or four, sometimes never to use them. One day we got there really early to get two chairs under an “umbrella”. Two people walked up, picked out two chairs in the sun, pulled them up to our umbrella, hung their things on top of ours. The first time we got up, they moved our chairs over to move theirs in closer. I was literally six inches from the guy when I sat down. Not typical behavior, I don’t think, but…
10) Ice bucket in the room. Need ice? Call Room Service per the maid. Remember? The place that didn’t answer the phone. NICE. Finally took ice bucket to closest bar (which was down at the pool by the beach) and got it filled ourselves.
11) Tipped maid every day with gifts and money. Upon arrival we unpacked our bags and found that our feet were absolutely filthy. Left a nice big tip the next day and asked that she please clean the floor. She did, but that’s the only time all week that she did. Nice decorations left, little flowers, towels in all sorts of shapes. Nice gestures, but just CLEAN THE ROOM, including the floor. One day we returned after lunch to get something and she moaned and sighed and said to us, “No can clean room if you are in it!” I said “We will just be two minutes.” She smiled.
12) Buffet food is really pretty good. In fact, often there are some really good things in the two buffets up front off the lobbies. Many of the offerings are French, or local so you may want to try them. If not, the French toast is good, cooks will do made to order eggs or omelets. Bacon is good. Sausage – no. Hamburgers, French fries, hot dogs, baked chicken, pasta, salads, fruit. I read where the fruit isn’t good. That is simply not true. Once in a while, they get a watermelon that is not a nice red color, but we found the fruit to be really good. The buffet is kept really nice and clean considering they feed thousands. When a tray gets close to empty, it is replaced quickly and older items are not transferred. Good management here, although these workers do not seem happy at all. They are yelled at and given dirty looks constantly. After the boss walks away they talk among themselves and make fun. There are some good workers in here. For instance, Carlos in the buffet provides some truly outstanding service.
13) The transportation around the complex is very timely and very well executed. Seats are clean and dry. Good management here.
14) Didn’t want to say this, but we found a lot of bugs in the minibar cabinet on our departure day. Probably after that melted chocolate. Needless to say, all suitcases were unpacked in our garage. We did not find any at home.
15) The grounds are beautiful and spotlessly clean. Good management here.
16) Japanese restaurant is good, but if you have a Hibachi Grill at home, you’ve seen it all.
17) LeGourmet was fairly good, but not friendly and after the entrée, nobody came back. No coffee, no dessert offered. We finally just left.
18) The Garden Grill had okay steak. I have read some rave reviews. Truth is…it is good for the D.R., but not compared to the steak in the U.S.
It’s too bad that Guest Services is a joke because this hotel could be getting really great reviews if they would work on that. I realize people cannot always get the room they want, or the reservation times they want, etc., but stop the untruths and the games. Fix the mini-bars, apologize for maintenance not showing up and get someone there, demand that a 24-hour room service phone be answered 24 hours a day, make sure promises to deliver paperwork to the room really takes place, develop standard work procedures for all the maids so rooms will be kept clean. The rooms are really pretty nice for all the areas we have stayed in the Caribbean, the beach was beautiful, the pools are numerous and huge, the grounds are beautiful. Oh – and the entertainment, although cheesy everywhere we have been in the Caribbean, is very good at this Grand Bahia. Just know that you may spend a great deal of your time chasing Guest Services for an answer.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a private balcony. Nothing on the beach, but Buildings 1 & 2 have a view, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rednanIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Concerning your remarks towards the attitude of some of our staff members, please allow us to inform you that we constantly train our Staff members through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department in order to ensure that we provide our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness. Either, we apologize if you felt that our staff did not offer the treatment you were entitled to.

We regret to hear that your perception in this matter was not positive but be assured that your comments has been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth mentioning such as good food, transport, beautiful grounds and entertainment

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any perception you may have about us.

Sincerely,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This vacation was awesome I went there about almost a year ago and it was great. The hotel its self was very clean and the staff took very good care of it. The staff was amazing they were very friendly but they did not know that much English. The food was good at the hotel the best was the Japanese restaurant was great when they cooked the food right in front of you. We went for a 7 day vacation and it was too short in my opinion because I did not get to see everything at the hotel. we took a excursion to the Samana tour it was a excursion for the whole day full of lots of fun in the water. It was a long way there about 2 hours to go but it was truly worth it and I would recommend it to anyone. Finally the pools and beaches were great for familys they were not too deep. There was also a pool for each section. There was also a shuttle that worked 24 hours around the resort because it was so big.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seb446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful holiday thanks to our clean premises, friendly staff, good food, pools and beach.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just arrived from the Gande Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was my second trip in as many years. This time around i went with my 3 children and absolutely loved it. I loved seeing the glow in their faces as they swam, played and watched the shows. I`m definitely going back next year again. Being a single father i had no worries being there alone with 3 children (17-14-8). They each had something to do every minute. The ocean was clean and warm, pool as any other is chilly until the first dive is taken. Drinks, what little i had they were cold and refreshing. The food was the same as i remembered last year....perfect. As for desserts, i didnt have much but let me say that my 8yr old girl loved them.
There some familiar faces and new faces as far as staffing goes. Its wonderful to see them always smiling, dancing and socializing with the vacationers. They know how to make our trip a memorable one.
People...if you read poor reviews, IGNORE them. Family friendly,couple friendly and solo friendly.

Room Tip: **ROYAL GOLDEN** The rooms are much closer to the pool area and right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience with your family, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting the good stuff such as lovely beach, great entertainment, pools, happy staff and good food.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination and it is wonderful to hear you are considering visiting us again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ok here goes !

Cattle herding at its best I will never go back I do like service we got none of that its way to big and there was just too many people

I am not very happy with this hotel. I paid for the upgrade to club Golden
It was not worth extra money. We did not get our private check in nor did we get our welcome drink.
We checked in at 4pm it took 30 min to check in we went to our room and it was not clean. We changed and went to beach which was beautiful
Went back to our room about 630PM and the key did not work.
The rooms are old and out dated. The air condition broke and flooded our room two night in a row.

The pool bar staff was great !!!! that was the only service we received LOL

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingrocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to state that our hotel is a safe and disease free complex, since we follow a very strict hygiene program and constant monitoring of all standards of quality in our Hotel remarking that our guests' health and well-being are our top priorities.

We would like to mention that Gran Bahía Príncipe has been recently recognized by Crystal America Consulting - a world-renowned British hygiene assurance program recognized by the group Check Safety First based in England, with very high standards that we follow- which on a frequent basis audits our Hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures, for our performance in hygienic and sanitary risks control during 2011.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beach.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any perception you may have about us.

Sincerely,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

As this was our third time at the Bahia Principe in Punta Cana, we knew what to expect, and we weren't disappointed. The grounds are immaculate, the beach incredible, and we really don't have anything negative to say. It was the busiest we've ever seen it, but getting around was never a problem; the a la carte restaurants were pretty booked up so I'd suggest getting these reservations out of the way on the first morning of your stay. The food really is absolutely delicious, and we highly recommend this resort! Lots to do, great quieter areas as well as action packed ones! A must do!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1joanne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your vacation thanks to our immaculate grounds, incredible beach and delicious food.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recommending us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards.


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana on 26 June 2012 for two weeks with my parents. We usually stay in Riu hotels but we saw this online and thought we would try it out.

Firstly, I have to say that the beaches in Punta Cana are to die for! We'd travelled to Puerto Plata previously and the beaches were not as good there. If you are looking for a white sand beach where the sand is warm and the water is clear then Punta Cana is the place for you.

There are about 8 a la carte restaurants and we managed to try 7 of them because we pre-booked them all on the first day. It was fairly easy to book a table and they are flexible as to what time you want to dine. The a la carte restaurants were, for the most part, exsquisite! The Japanese and French restaurants really stood out for me and I would have loved to visit them again if we could get a booking. In the Japanese restaurant I had fried ice cream for dessert. Also, make sure you give the Dominican a la carte a try. I thought it would just be the same food they serve in the main buffet restaurant every day but it was far from that. I ordered the curry goat and rice and pea and it was amazing! You also get waited on and they serve the food to you, which is nice and relaxing. All in all, the a la carte restaurants really are top notch!

However, the main buffet restaurant is not all that. Breakfast is good: freshly made juice and milkshake, pancakes, omelettes, continental etc. Lunchtime we ate at the beach restaurant; not a lot of choice but it was sufficient. Evening meals in the main buffet restaurant were of poor quality, especially after comparing them to the a la carte restaurants! There was not a lot of salad choice, the freshly cooked poultry and fish always ran out because of the sheer amount of hungry guests, everything else just looked like runny sick, so I didn't eat much in the evening when we were not at an a la carte restaurant. The only good point about dinner in the buffet restaurant was the desserts. They really were great!

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful! Everything is well kept and the staff do a great job in maintaining the place. The lobby area is stunning, very clean and in the evening they set up stands where they will make you the cocktail of the day. There is a shuttle which takes you from the beach to the other end of the hotel which is where the main restaurant and entertainment is. We used to walk most of the time so we could burn our food off but it was nice to have the option to get the shuttle bus if we didn't want to walk.

Evening entertainment is repeated twice in the evenings. There is a sports bar which is quite lively in the evening with karaoke and all inclusive drinks. It is nice to sit there out in the open. It is located next to the nightclub, a market with gift shops and the entertainment. A nice little area.

Overall, it is a stunning hotel and there is plenty of fun to have had. If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful holiday you will also find that here. I slept well every night and all of the entertainment is kept well away from the hotel rooms. I had a very relaxing time and by far the most beautiful and luxurious hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed of a wonderful holiday thanks to our rich gastronomy, beach, beautiful grounds, entertainment, as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahía Príncipe our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such nice comments to all our staff.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Regards from Bávaro,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#57 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing