We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our NY/FL to DR 2013 Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Pros:
We we were celebratiing family, frriendship and two birthdays. Fromthe momemt we got out of the cab to reception - we met the most accomodating staff that tokk great pride in eshuring our stay was most pleasurable.

We enjoyed every minute of oiur seven day stay from reception, to breakfast lunch and dinner. The Italian a la carte was great.

Edgar and the entire Punta Cana entertainment staff was "mucho excellente". Edgar made every 3:00pm vist to the Punta Cana Pool the highlight of our day. He was most gracious and ensure we enjoyed ourselves either by participation or cheering/clapping at all the poolside events- we learned many dance moces- it was just great.

Our two rooms was well kept. Upon return from two of our 11-3pm beach fun- the management/ and housing staff decorated the rooms for the two birthdays ladies. We had stylish balloons and a nice fruit platter- it was a very nice touch and very much appreciated

We definetely will stay at this property on our next trip to DR.
Cons:
I would have enjoyed the food more if there were options with pork/bacon added. For example the Yuca Fritters had pork- there sould have been some p[ortions without pork.
The website should clarify the different sections/hotels of the property so guest can make the best choice that fits thire vacation - for example it is hard to tell the differences between Punta Cana, Amber, Esmeralda, privlege club, etc.

Also more options to choose if youwant to be close to the beach or reception. Towels should always be available for the pool and beach

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of our rooms, entertainment, and the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured your comments will be forwarded to Edgar.

We regret your observations about our food concepts, but please allow us to inform you that our menus are done taking into consideration. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. In the same way, we will look for new alternatives to improve our services.

It is a pleasure to know you will be visiting us once again. Looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,456 - 3,462 of 7,096 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went here as part of a wedding party in 2010. This review doesn't let me select so far back so I selected the same month in 2012. We stayed in the Club Golden by the beach and had an amazing time. The resort staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The beachfront is small for such a large resort so make sure to 'reserve' a chair with a towel nice and early if you want to spend time on the beach. The beachfront pool bar is amazing. The rooms were clean and huge. The only complaint is the food: very very salty, everything tastes the same. I could swear even the fruit had salt in it... All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Club Golden is in the best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harley613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice resort, clean grounds, great a la cartes especially the Japanese a la carte. Friendly staff. The maids kept rooms clean and tidy and are very diligent. Guest services: Jian Carlo Castro--was very helpful and answered all of our questions. Grounds are big but nice walking around and easy to get to beach and pool with troly. Towels sometimes are hard to come by, you have to get them in the morning, by the afternoon you can't get any. Buffet and snacks are very good, large variety of food.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank marilyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a positive experience at this tropical paradise, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting the good stuff, such as good restaurants, excellent service, fresh rooms.

Please be assured your comments will be forwarded to Jian Carlo.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again to our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Sincerely,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Unfortunately I had a mishap the afternoon of our first day. I tore ligaments in my right ankle and was put in a non-walking cast. This could have been absolutely disastorous if not for everyone in reception, activities and bell hops stepping up and going above and beyond to help. First of all Edgar and Williams from the activities dept. at the main pool were there right after the injury and carried me on a lounge to the cart from the bell hops, which took me to the on site medical centre. The doctor determined that I would have to go to the emergency dept. at Bavaro. When I contacted Valentina in reception for potential help, she assured me that they would provide transportation to and from the hospital. Within several minutes Ivan Pedemonte from reception was at first aid and arraqnged for a driver and accommpanied us to the Hospital to translate and assist us wherever required. We required a follow up visit the day before we left to get medical clearance for flying. Again Valentina came through, providing a driver and a translator. This was very much appreciated. During the enitre stay, reception went out of their way time and again to accommodate us, providing a wheel chair, and special transportation whenever we needed it. Edgar and Williams enquired how I was feeling and offered assistance every time they saw me around the pool. I must give a shout out to all who helped but, especially Ivan, Valentina, Esteban in reception, Jesus and Miguel in bell hop services and Edgar and Williams in Activities. As well the food was exceptional and entertainment was great. Can't wait to return. (this was our second visit).

Room Tip: We were in the "Golden Area" Close to the pool and tram route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oswald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate fall. It is an honor to know that our staff has provided our guests with the natural warmth and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience. Please be assured that your comments will be forwarded to Edgar, Williams, Valentina, Ivan, Esteban, Jesus and Miguel.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. As repeater client your opinion is very important to us.

Thanks for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

In addition to service lacking I would add "bait and switch". Our travel agent/mutual friend who was traveling with us had tried repeatedly to book our three a la carte dinners in advance of our stay. No replies! We should have been forewarned! Our group was booked into several different buildings (yes, we were Club Golden) which made it very difficult to get together. Additionally, most of us that had reqeusted double rooms were booked into king bed rooms and told to call back in the morning. The resort would like nothing better than for its guests to have all of their meals at the buffets rather than have to fulfill its obligation to a la carte dinners at restaurants. Our first night a group of six of us decided to try to "split up" to have an a la carte dinner. Once we arrived at the restaurant, it was VERY obvious that the restaurant could have accommodated our group of 18...tables were empty! Beware of "Recepion", not one member of the staff let us know upon check-in, after we were corralled, that each room must pay a fee PER DAY to use an in-room safe!!! Hmmm...you don't pay for a safe so everyone knows your valuables aren't locked up! Bottom line, Sandals property that I have visited previously was a much better value all-inclusive resort. However, my complaints have little to do with the all-inclusive aspect of this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Please allow us remark that these kind of incident does not correspond to our daily operation.

Regarding your comments about you’re a la carte experience, we would like to let you know that, due to internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request. Concerning your point of view about the food in our resort, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires. We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager and our Food & Beverage staff of our Resort to give the proper attention.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned on the 28th, after 1 wk there. 1st of all this trip was a very special trip for us (to celebrate our wedding anniversary, both our birthdays, and my still being in remission.) We were in the Royal Golden section. Our room was perfect, 3211. Ok, we did not get our bottle of rum, but I was not that upset, I could go to any bar & get drinks. Quiet, not far from the beach and we had a great view of the Esmerelda. The complex is very big, but easy to get around. Our room was wonderful, the bed was perfect.
We enjoyed the food, I do not understand the complaints that there is nothing to eat. The buffet is a different menu each day, and very good. Unfortunatly, we could not enjoy the beach as much, since we did an allergic reaction to our pills. Yes, the pools are crowded, and people do leave their towels there, and are no shows (which is frustrating) and the beach is basically the same, but we are not the type to lay in the sun for hours on end.
Like I said before the complex is huge, but the trolleys are constant, we walked most of the week, since we wanted to see the nooks & crannies of the complex.
As for the restaurants, our favorite were the Gourmet (french cuisine) and Maiko,(japanese)
Unfortunatly our last day there was ruined by our last a la carte. El Pescador restaurant really, really disapointed us. We were there for our 8pm reservation, did not get our main course untill past 9.10pm & the food was oversalty & overcooked.
We did not do any excursions because of our allergic reaction, we had to try to stay out of the sun, but we did enjoy the main lobby bar, a huge, huge thank you to Martha, she was wonderful, as well as Ramon & Marisol. Our Maid Soraya was just beautiful. The complex is very well kept. There are gardeners, painters, washers every day, all over the place. I have read previous complaints about cochroaches, well, we never saw any. We did see alot of butterflies.
One complaint is the Privilege member. They are annoying, but if you smile & say No gracias, they eventually leave you alone. Only once this one really did not stop, but after the 3rd time of saying no, he got the hint.
I wish to give a special thank you to Ramona Monte for our welcome gift. Last of all, a very, very very special thank you and a big hug to Ivan Pedemonte from the Royal Golden. Since we were not the type to hang at the bars & get crapped face, we preferred to have a few cerveza's in our room, and since we are suppose to only get 2 at a time, he made sure we got extra's. He really made our trip very memorable. If we had any problems, he got it fixed right away.
I am sorry my review is long, but we enjoyed ourselves, and we would recommend this resort right away. We are already working on trying to get there hopefully next year.

Room Tip: We loved building 3 in the golden section. We would recommend number 7, 5, 3 since they are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taniablang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our food and friendly staff. Please be assured your comments will be forwarded to Martha, Ramon, Marisol, Soraya, Ramona and Ivan.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your anniversary and birthday celebrations at your stay in our Punta Cana Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you recommending us.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards.


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not a 5 star. Not all inclusive. No tip, no service. Excellent a la cartes! We had a great time!! Beautiful Resort.
We traveled with a group of 160 and we went Royal Golden Inclusive. The room was excellent, the room service wasn't. We were supposed to receive a welcome letter, bottle of rum and slippers, t-shirts and other items which were not supplied until we requested them three times. We finally received them the second last day we were there. I know these are little things, but it is the little things that make a great resort.
A couple of times our room was never cleaned at all. We finally paid our maid $14 to get beer (s/b included), more water and towels, tissues and TP.
Getting to our room was an adventure in its self. The Bellman put too many of us on his truck. Luggage fell off, not enough room for all of us so one guy walked all the way to building 9, then the cart broke and the truck could no longer pull it, they brought another truck that was even smaller, so more people had to walk, others were hanging off the truck and almost got taken out by at power pole. Our luggage was given to someone else, and when we got to our room, he wouldn't take $4 for 2 bags; he wanted $5 before he would leave.
The next day wasn't any better, after four attempts at getting keys that worked for our room, it was decided that the room keys worked in the door but not in the safe (that we paid for) so the safe had to be fixed. This adventure started at 11am and we finally got to the beach by 2pm.
Yeah!!! Our vacation could finally start.
After losing most of the day stuck in our room we finally hit the beach. Wow, was the resort large. They told us 8000 people were there. In order to get around you can take at train or walk to the various amenities. We walked allot because the trains were usually full. It was nice to be close to the beach, but we were far away from the rest of the resort, main buffet, shops and lobby which is where you get the wifi. But I would sooner be close to the beach.
Blended drinks were to what they had in the slurpy machine, they didn't have a blender at the swim-up bar. The pools were beautiful and the beach was good.
They take the US dollar. When shopping be careful to price out each shop. The prices vary quite a bit. The vendors in the middle are rip-off artists (of course) and the same items can be purchased in the stores that surround them. If you buy from them, make sure you have correct change, one of them didn't want to give the change back, told us to buy more because he didn't have change.
Bring SUNSCREEN or pay $27 for a bottle of it.

The main buffet is very large, lots of choices. The food was just average. Never gained any weight, which is unusual, could be all the walking....lol

The Japanese a la carte was the best, next was the Beach BBQ, the Mexican was good.

We never made it to the entertainment, what we did see looked good.
The grounds are well maintained and clean
US dollar is used
People reserved chairs all day long and never showed up, this should not be allowed.
They have a wonderful coffee area, which I loved.
We never found an adult only area.
The resort is huge, too huge for my liking. It takes too long to get anywhere. We never saw all of the resort; it was just that big and not enough time.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if possible, you can hear the people above you and if they move a chair it vib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your vacation become a nice experience. Thank you for mentioning our rooms, beautiful pools, good beach, A la carte Restaurants and clean grounds.

We would like to take this oportunity to invite you to our Luxury Bahia Principe Ámbar which is an adult’s only all-inclusive resort, so you can give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.


Kind regards,

Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $143 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing