We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation in punta Cana.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Best hotel on punta Cana, suitable for all ages. The one hotel I would love to go to every time I go to punta Cana. Love disco and the sports bar, the beach, and the food is also great. Everyone here is nice, friendly , shows are wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kudarec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,995)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,476 - 3,482 of 6,995 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

The place was the worst of the places I have stayed in 6 trips to different places around the Caribbean. The place was over crowded, everywhere restaurants, pools and the beach. Hard to find a seat, and people were putting towels on all the best spots by 7am. People were smoking everywhere. Every time I sat down inside or out to have a drink, there were people smoking. They played non-stop beach disco which I guess is expected. We went to play tennis,but the courts were booked solid for the full 7 days as were there as were the good restaurants., This is despite the fact we went to book these things within an hour of arriving at the resort. There was a gym, but there were about 20 people in a 10 by 20 room with run down equipment. Needless to say we were a little pissed to book a vacation so we could play tennis and workout only to find the tennis was booked and the gym was awful. We were a party of 13 in total and half of us managed to get sick or have the runs. The food was very average at best and I think the food was what gave us the runs. The beach restaurants with those half cooked hamburgers left out in trays for hours. There were some great staff, but I find it annoying to have every bartender and waiter looking for tips. The weather and beach were nice. I like to explore the area, so I went to town. It's pretty grim even compared to Jamaica or Mexico. I didn't bother leaving the resort after that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Regarding your comments about your experience, allows us inform you that our hotel follows a very strict hygiene, quality and security program monitored by the international company Cristal.

We should take in consideration that certain risks are involved when traveling to the tropics; there are various factors that may contribute to illness, such as climate, temperature variation, combination of food and beverages, excessive sun exposure, personal reactions, among others.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to change any negative perception, demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently visited the Gran Bahia Principe Complex in Bavaro. I was there for four days/three nights with my daughter, my wife and two other friends from the 30th of December 2012 to 2nd of January 2013. The Complex, which is located in BAVARO is divided into four areas that they call Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro, GBP Punta Cana, GBP Ambar, and GBP Esmeralda. The Ambar and Esmeralda sides are supposed to be the most luxury parts and are a more expensive. They have each fewer buildings, a pool, and their buffet areas are smaller than the Bavaro and Punta Cana. Both the Ambar and Esmeralda have access to all areas of the complex while the Bavaro and Punta Cana customers cannot access the Ambar and Esmeralda facilities, which include basically a reserved area in the beach and the buffet areas. The rest of the facilities such as sports and restaurants a la carte, and entertainment areas as well as the other four pools are shared by all customers of the complex. We occupied a room in the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana area and our friends where in the Ambar area. We were in vacations in Santo Domingo so we did not go with a package from the US or Europe, we just drove there. Usually that gets rather expensive we paid 1280 euros/1670 US dollars for three nights for two adults and a teenager in the same room (which I heard is the price some Europeans pay for a week). The complex is overall very nice and clean, including the rooms. While there, I was able to visit rooms in the different areas. The rooms are very similar in size and structure, the only difference is in the materials and the color of the walls, also in the Ambar and Esmeralda the bathrooms have both a shower and a tub, while in Bavaro and Punta Cana areas the bathrooms have only a tub. They classify the four areas as five stars but I will give 4 stars to the Bavaro area, 4 and1/2 to the Punta Cana area and 5 stars to the other two. The food in the buffet was decent as a buffet could be. There were many choices, including healthy and less healthy food. The quality of the à la carte restaurants varied (there are 8 such restaurants in this complex). I could only try two of them: The Spanish one, El Meson, which was excellent (very nice and sophisticated appetizers and desert buffet and very good entrees. The five of us were very pleased); the Mediterranean one, El Pescador, was just average (personally I was disappointed, although my companions were not as negative). Both restaurants were beautiful and spacious. The New Years dinner/buffet was extraordinary with a large variety of seafood and meats, including caviar, lobster, crab, pheasant, lamb etc… Anything you can think of, and not just any seafood and meats but very elaborated appetizers and entrées. It was simply a feast. The lobby area in the GBP Punta Cana was very comfortable and beautiful, live music everyday from 6 to 11 and very attentive waiters and waitresses. The Bavaro and Punta Cana areas share the same beach area (very nice beach by the way), which ends up being rather crowded. This is a major negative for me, and next time I will try to go to another part of the resort such as Esmeralda or another smaller resort. Another negative was the check in. It was rather chaotic. We arrived by car around 1 PM, we left the luggage in the lobby, went to park the car on our own, and then went to check in, no reception with drinks or anything like that, like it happened to us in previous trips to other resorts in the area, or no one to park our car. We just waited in line to check in, they gave us the wrist-bands but could not go to the room until it was the official time to check in at 3PM. Also, when it was time to check out they deactivated our keys 45 minutes before the check out time: 12 noon. We could not get our luggage from the room or change clothes and even when the front desk persons tried to reactivate the keys it did not work. So we had to wait for a person to open the room for us, etc. Finally the air conditioning was always rather low, which it was ok with me to save energy but at night during a couple of hours it will get very hot. It seems that they had some type of saving control that was not working properly. I complained about it the second night, but nothing was done. In short, we could say that the overall experience was good, but not the best vacations I had in a resort of this category. As everyone knows in this business if you claim to be 5 stars you need to deliver the five stars service, it is not enough to offer luxury rooms and Ok food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank antinoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We think is important to remark that our check-in time is at 15:00h and check out is at 12:00h.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed over the New Years holidays. Upgraded to golden and check in and delivery to room was great. Room was clean but outdated with maybe a 19 inch tube tv. 2 beer 2 water 2 cokes in all inclusive fridge. Only 2 large towels for 2 people and they supply 2 beach towels that you have to bring to pool yourself and bring back next day for new ones. You have to pay $4 a day for safe. Hmmm all inclusive ? Food is average . We tried to get restaurant reservations but were not able to because we were 12 people. You have to walk to lobby and ask and they are not very accommodating. We gave up and went to buffet every nite. Hmmmm there is no coffee available in the buffet for lunch or dinner. you have to go make and drink it in the lobby or bring it back to the buffet. if the coffee machine works!!!the grounds are very well kepted. Expect to walk a lot or be on there transportation trolley. It's a 9 minute walk from beach to lobby and most of the time it's faster to walk than wait for bus.
Pool and beach are are nice but lots of weeds in the ocean on this stretch of beach. The lobbies are big and nice for lounging but you have to pay extra for premium drinks. Canadian cc is premium we found out. The shows at night are good and fun to watch. The worst worst thing about this place is NO ONE Speaks English. So hard to communicate with wait staff. Most of the time they just ignore you. The cook taking your egg order should know the words "over easy". They just stare at you . My god they must hear it all day . more than once they spoke back when they got order wrong.i dont need that attitude. but there nice wen they want to bum a cigarette off you. . Overall average but would never go back. The staff stress you out.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Adriano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing better service for our guests.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

It is important to remark that due to internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager. Please feel sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service, and be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort! It was beautiful and very relaxing. Leonel Adames was a exceptional joy for us! He helped us with directions around the resort (the resort is huge), he even took us around on the golf cart. He always greeted us with a big smile! Ilma, and Olgalina were great too! We are trying to plan another trip in a month or so! WE LOVE IT!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blkharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel. We are proud to hear that you had an excellent stay due to the friendliness of our staff members, especially because Leonel, Ilma and Olgalina. At Bahía Príncipe our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience.

Thanks for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Bahia in December for one week. The beach is absolutely stunning! The resort is beautiful and kept very clean. The rooms are nice but it's not a brand new hotel so don't expect them to be amazing. We normally had drinks in the lobby in the evening. We found all of the servers to be very nice and friendly but one inparticular was our favorite. Her name is Katherine and she was very sweet. She was definitely the best of all the servers we had. We even got a picture with her on our last day.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as stunning beach, well-kept resort, nice rooms, and friendly staff. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forward to Katherine.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This resort is amazing. so many things have changed and been upgraded. our rooms are right off the beach and we get to see the ocean every morning.. we would defintely would return again, the rooms are beautiful and very spacious. The staff are very friendly and would move heaven and earth to help you.

Room Tip: we booked with Royal Golden club and you get closer to the ocean,
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john19651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

It is an honor to know that our staff had provided our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your opinion represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,513 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $140 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing