We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best vacation to date.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived on Dec 24 and left on Dec 31. There was a total of 22 people, 10 kids and 12 adults. At first I was taken back at the size of the resort but after finding a common meeting place everything was great. The rooms were spacious and clean, The bathrooms (all of them in the resort) were kept clean. Bring a wash cloth with you because they don't have them. I used a hand towel. I would have liked to get the beach towels in the rooms on the day we arrived because when we went down to the beach to get our towels they had none and we had to wait for them. The resort is so big that it is hard to get a beach, or pool chairs unless you get up early and save the chairs with towels. The food was okay but I am a chef and a little picky. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. I didn't find any problem with staff asking of tips, but we tip well any ways. The hotel felt very safe and all children were allowed to travel together to eat, or get drinks etc. No problems with locals. There are a very small amount of people selling on the beach but in no way did I or my group fell harassed. They took "no" for an answer. I did get bitten by bugs and it itched like crazy so bring spray and or anti itch cream. Not a big problem but annoying. The ocean was a little wavy but the children liked it. I also found the beach narrow and crowed but the pool is really close we sat at the pool and walked to the beach a few times a day. Over all I had the best vacation ever and will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good stuff, such as spacious and clean rooms, well-kept bathrooms, and beautiful grounds.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you the best vacation ever, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,996)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,484 - 3,490 of 6,997 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was very disappointed for their services. Lots of mistakes they made. First of all, they put my family into two buildings (villa). I also asked for two double bed suits, but they put us into king bed suits. Then the room service was never the same each day, either a face cloth was missing or towels didn't get replenished. Then they book a group of us into to two restaurants for Xmas dinner.

People there don’t have costumer service in their mind. They can let us wait while they chat with other colleagues or on personal phone. The food was so so. We hardly had any shrimps in their main buffet restaurant. Only the French restaurant was good.

Compare to other resort in the neighbourhood, the beach was much crowed due to so many people in the resort and narrow beach line.

Anyways, I won’t go back to this resort for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We think is important to remark that room’s petitions are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

Please allow us to inform you that your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness. We constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Concerning your point of view about the food in our resort, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed on the Punta Cana Side. (Hotel has 2 sides). Accomodations were great, rooms were clean, only thing is there were no Ice Machines, and bathrooms weren't supplied wuth washcloths.but other than that,,,GREAT STAY !!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choclitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.

Please allow us to remark that, due to sanitary measures and internal policies, we don´t manage ice machines near our villas. However, if guests want to have ice, towels, among others, they only need to report it to our Guest Service staff and they do the pertinent arrangements to make it as the guest wishes. In the same way, you can inform about it at any of our customer service departments, such as Express Service where there is an operator 24 hours, Reception that also works 24 hours, and the Guest Service where there are Concierges available from 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. in order to attend our guests' needs.

It’s very satisfying to know that we were able to meet your expectations and will be a pleasure to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First of all... I recommend that you think about this situation... Although the hotel management will say I'm wrong, this is the same hotel as the Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. Both of them share the same property and common areas/restaurants. The rooms are the same. They only created a division in the middle of the map. So... How can GBP Punta Cana can rank #26 and GBP Bavaro #41 here on Tripadvisor? I just think GBP Punta Cana is overrated! And look... I've reviewed many things here on tripadvisor!

Punta Cana is the kind of place to choose a good hotel and stay there there is almost nothing going on on the 'outside world'. So, if you're looking for adventure and tours look for another place! Thats why tripadvisor is so important to help you decide the greatest hotel!

Now let's go to the review:

Pros:
- Hotel infrastructure is huge.
- Transportation inside the property is very efficient. The trams work all day/night.
- Room size great.
- The hotel is well maintained.
- Pools were OK.
- Beach is great. Expect some waves.

Cons:

- No wi-fi signal inside the rooms.
- Shower was awful. Pressure and temperature keeps changing all the time.
- Staff need training. They seem uncertain about their actions.
- One of the slowest check-ins of all times (and we were Club Golden with a special checkin counter). It took ages!!! And the room only became ready hours after the check-in time (and they didn't give us a late checkout for that).
- When we arrived, the room was dirty! There was hair and sand all over the floor.
- Low quality towels.
- Check-out also took ages! They forgot that we had payed for a late check-out and had to search that information to let us go.
- I hated the fact that everyone look you making a poor face asking for tips all the time. Housekeeping keeps knocking on the door 4 times a day offering extra towels (even if they just cleaned your room) offering an extra big bottle of water (even if you have 20 bottles on your table). Everyone is asking for tips all the time there. It is VERY uncomfortable! When leaving the hotel there was a bad situation. The guy who carried one small bag for a few meter came saying something like: "Now you have to give me my tip". That was so rude!
- Mosquitos! Take care of yourself and always carry an insect repellent or you may get in trouble! Specially if your room is near the mangrove.
- Food could be way better. The hotel is 'all-inclusive' but you should notice that almost everything they prepare there is industrialized. The juices and drinks are always the same. They aren't natural. They're made from concentrated juice. The food itself was not tasty at all. We have eaten some regular things but NOTHING was 'delicious'. This includes the New Year's Eve special dinner they served on some restaurants. On that day, food was terrible! Some things were burnt. The deserts were ALWAYS the same. They changed flavors but curiously they tasted the same. Always those small cakes and gelatin.
- No snacks served on the beach/pool only drinks!! Sometimes hot dogs and that's it!
- Very diffcult to find available chairs on the beach or pool (I went on holidays).
- Buffet Restaurant changed operating hours on Dec31 and Jan1 and the guests only found out at the time they arrived there. They put an advice on the door!
- Read below.

The following comment can be applied to all locations I visited in Dominican Republic. It is also true regarding some aspects of this hotel:
When in DR I felt that some things were overpriced and disorganized. Shuttles and Car Rentals are very expensive. Taxis will charge you with a fixed price if you are a tourist. They will look at your face and will give you a fixed price. You can work on it if you have patience to bargain. It seems the hotel front desk staff have their on network of tour agencies and taxi drivers and they might be rewarded for that (please do not understand this as a general rule).

My tip is... BEFORE you travel you should arrange all transfers and excursions on the internet and bargain for the best prices! Use tripadvisor forum to search about the right prices! People have this information! Don't leave this part to arrange at the hotel. It won't work well!

Room Tip: Next to the beach! For sure!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leonardomrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our efficient transportation, well-maintained premises, and great beach. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to continue improving and providing better service for our guests.

Regarding your comments about our Internet Service, let us inform you that in our all-Inclusive package we offer Wi-fi (no charge) in the Lobby area, but in other places, such as pools, beach and rooms, have an extra charge.

Concerning your observations about our employee’s service, we must say that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests quality of service that we have exhibited through the years. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

It is important to remark that our check-in time is at 15:00h and check out is at 12:00h. However, we offer a late check-out service which is subject to availability and has an extra charge.

In relation to your opinion about the cleanliness of the room, let us state you that they are subject to strict supervision. Significantly, the health and welfare of our guests are our priority and we follow a strict program of cleaning and constant monitoring of all quality standards in our Hotel.

We regret your observations about our food concepts, but we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations.

Your observations have been taken into great consideration and shared with the General Manager of our Resort in order to analyze the points you mentioned.

We hope to welcome you once again at one of our Hotels and be able to show our quality of service and customer satisfaction, commitment of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort, and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the minute of arrival the staff were nothing but kind and helpful in any way they could be. The view and food are both absolutely amazing in each and every way. I would recommend this vacation for anyone. I never want to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MeganGorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for recommending us. We are proud to hear that you had an excellent stay due to the friendliness of our staff members and amazing food. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to all our staff. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels and continue providing the most unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

great beach, great people, great experience!
food is great so far, people are very friendly. rooms are clean, all is awesome! very impressed by the rooms and love the large balconies! It's a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmamary3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. Thank you for your mentioning our great beach, great people, great food, and clean rooms. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to provide you a great experience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Worst all inclusive I have ever stayed at! The resort is way too big and way too crowded! All of the Gran Bahia's are connected and share the same facilities which is very misleading when you look at them online. Having all the resorts together like this takes away from service. The rooms were old and not cleaned daily, the food at the buffet was inedible, you could not make a reservation to eat at one of the restaurants ever, it was impossible to get a good spot by the pool/beach unless you woke up super early, and you have to take golf carts trams to get to the beach, lobby, etc... When I addressed any of these issues with the staff they assured me they would help and never did. One staff member was outright rude to me about it. Furthermore, I talked to another women who was convinced the staff went through her suitcases when she was not in the room. You go on vacation to relax... not feel like everything is a hassle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay at our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We are sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations.

Please allow us to inform you that, despite the size of our Resort, appropriate measures have been taken in order to ensure guest satisfaction and expected quality of each of our services.

As for your remarks on the cleaning schedule, we would like you to know that cleaning program is rotary from 08:00 until 17:00 every day. However, if guests want to have the rooms cleaned at a particular time, they only need to report it to our Guest Service staff and they do the pertinent arrangements to make it as the guest wishes.

Concerning your observation about our a la carte restaurants, we would like to let you know that, due to internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

We regret your observations about our food concepts, but please allow us to inform you that our menus are done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations.

It is important to remark that any of our staff members is authorized to check the belongings of our guests.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,513 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $138 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing