We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review of a Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #65 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“An honest review of a Wonderful resort”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I will start by saying that we upgraded to the Royal Golden Section through Air Transat. We found it was worth the upgrade due to the location of the rooms ( the nearest to the beach and the pool). But what really made it worth while was the staff in the Royal Golden reception area, who were all wonderful. We would like to give special thanks to IVAN who was so helpful with a small issue we had, and went out of his way to make sure our stay was pleasant. He assured us that if we had any concerns during our stay he would do all he could to be of assistance. This was reassuring to us, THANK YOU IVAN.
CHECK IN- This was done on the bus on the way to the resort. Braceletes, A-la-carte reservations, room assignment, all done. Upon arrival at the resort our luggage was immediately loaded on to a buggy by the porters and off to our room we went. The fasted check in we have ever experienced. You should note that if you want a safe key you need to go to the reception desk to get one.
ROOM- We were assigned room 20106 ( 20 means bungalo # 20, 1 means first floor, and 06 is the room number) Approx. one week before we left I e-mailed the resort and asked for a room with at least a partial ocean view and near the pool, and that was exactly what we got. keep in mind there are very few ocean view rooms at this resort. The room was modern, clean, the shower had wonderful water pressure and never ran out of hot water. There was a mini fridge that was restocked every day with water, pop, and beer. Also a bottle of rum was restocked every day if it was empty.
BEACH/POOLS- The beach was beautifull. The sand soft, the water warm and blue. No shortage of beach loungers. If you wanted one under much needed shade, you need to place a towel on them early. The vendors on the beach are not aggresive at all, simply say no thank you. The pool was kept very clean ( contrary to some previous reviews ). We found that in order to get loungers in the shade we had to play the towel game an claim them before 9 a.m.. We were always able to get a chair at the swim up bar.
BUFFET/ A LA CARTES- The buffet at this resort was one of the best we have experienced. The food tasty and a great selection. The breakfast trays were never empty, always bacon, sausages, eggs, omelette station. A good selection for lunch and dinner, Some buffets are a bit boring after a week, but we did not find this here. We only tried one a la carte ( GARDEN GRILL) or better known as the steakhouse. The ribeye steaks were mouthwatering and tender.
EXCURSIONS- We did not do any excursions, however tried para sailing right in front of the resort. I chickened out, but my wife said it was a great experience. You go sailing for about 20- 25 minute for $60 for one person or $100 for two people.
CHECK OUT- Qiuck, and no surprises.

NEGATIVES- We found there to be really no negative aspects to this resort. However here are some concerns that you may have.
- the resort is very large, but shuttle trains run from the front of the resort the length of the resort to the beach areas. These trains are plentiful and you will never wait more that a few minutes.
- The resort has a typical Bahia shopping area, with endless souvenirs at a better price than the airport. Be prepared to barter the price down to close to half. This area has shops but also the vendors are set up in the main square. We found the vendors and some of the shop sellers to be very aggresive. We didn't care for the aggresiveness and bought our treasures at the shops that just let you browse without bothering you.
- If you enjoy snorkelling right off the resort, as we do, you will be dissapointed. There is no snorkelling very near the beach, unless you want to go a fair bit out to the reefs. Also the water was rough and wavey during our stay.

SHOULD YOU CONSIDER THIS RESORT- Yes, I attempted to offer you an honest review. Having said that, everyone has different tastes and expectations, thus the negative reviews. Go, enjoy the sun, the rum, the food, and the people. All the staff there that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.
We would be happy to answer any questions you may have.
Thank you Bahia for another wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank dale r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Ivan.

We are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,240
    1,990
    978
    381
    285
See reviews for
2,387
2,667
97
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent the week there from Nov 2 to 9, 2012.

Lots of great information here: http://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowTopic-g147293-i28-k4720375-o60-Gran_Bahia_Principe_Punta_Cana_Royal_Golden-Punta_Cana_La_Altagracia_Province_Dominican_Republic.html

Start at the end and work backwards by date.

The resort is very large, with different sections. Where you stay may be determined by the travel company you book with. Esmeralda - childrens section, Ambar - adults only, Bavaro Premier - mostly from Quebec. Punta Cana and Bavaro are similar with their own lobbies and buffet restaurants. To stay closest to the beach, then Punta Cana Royal Golden may be best, although further from the main lobby and buffet. The Royal Golden also gives you a more private check-in service. Rooms are similar in most sections, with the differences mainly in the availability of room service and the contents of the minibars. Some villas are 2 stories, others 3 stories with more rooms per floor.

Meals were great. Lots of variety in the buffets, with some changes every day. For the specialty restaurants, our preferences in order were: Mediterranean (Italian), then Steakhouse (Garden), Gourmet, Japanese, and lastly Tex-Mex (Mexican). The staff at the specialty restaurants were generally very attentive and friendly.

The resort was well kept up, with lots of maintenance and grounds-keeping going on. The rooms were clean and fresh, and ours was very quiet.

I didn't see any mosquitoes, but got a few fly bites at the beach.

The resort was only about 65% full when we were there, and there was no problem finding lounging chairs at the beach in the quieter sections. It was quiet in the morning until the activity directors cranked up the music very loud at the pools or tried to get people involved in activities. I found the beach area in front of the Ambar section was quieter and not as busy, although farther from the bar if you wanted a drink and were not registered in the Ambar section. The beach was kept clean, and the water was warm. A few days, since you are on the open Atlantic Ocean, there were some reasonably large waves but it didn't keep people out of the water.

The nightly shows were fairly good, with the circus show the best. A few of the shows relied a bit too much on video presentations at each side of the stage.

We found all the staff to be very friendly and efficient. If you had a problem or question, they were there to provide a solution. Altogether a very nice resort.

Room Tip: Because of the layout of the resort, only a few rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel with very friendly staff. White sand beach with palm trees and perfectly blue ocean. We love the idea of the countries at the buffet restaurant. And it is also worth mentioning the theme in the lobby bar. Wonderfull and very professional service from Julia Ventura at the Lobby Bar! Perfecto. Whatever the requirement staff is in perfect service orientation and very professional in assistence. Rooms are great and kept very clean. Would definetly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Julia.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The whole experience was really great. The only disappointment was the gym...needs a major overhaul. Food was delicious and the staff are friendly and sincere. Jiancarlo Castro from guest service Punta Cana was so helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cori Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

We really appreciate your comments about our staff. Please be assured that your comments will be forwarded to Jiancarlo.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Check-in was simple and stress free.Mmy friend and I had been booked into a double room, which was not suitable, we might be friends but were not that close. We asked for a twin room after some 15 minutes a twin room was located. We ere happy that this issue was resolved immediately rather than take the room and be moved a few days later.. The dining options were really good, how anyone can complain about lack of choice is beyond me. The buffet has a theme every evening. We managed to eat in 3 of the restaurents BBQ, Japanese and Mexican, Japanese was the best, the BBQ was a little disappointing as was the Mexican, their wasnt enough meat cooked for the BBQ and there was a long wait with over 20 people waiting, it was cooked on a griddle as opposed to BBQ. The Mexican buffet was dried up and the fajita mix was served cold. The staff were pleasant and polite. The cleaning services of the rooms was very basic not the best, we were in block / villa 10 room 10307 the cleaner would come when we had returned from the beach at 1700 so we asked her not to come in however it got to the stage where she just skimmed through, floor was unswept for probably the duration of our stay.. The beach was beautiful, all the grounds were immacutally well kept. If there was any issue to complain about it was the amount of transport that would drive past empty or from the Esmarelda that would drive past with spare seats and not let you take the ride, small issue though. I would definately recommend and would not hesitate to return again someday..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

As for your remarks on the cleaning schedule, we would like you to know that cleaning program is rotary from 08:00 until 17:00 every day. However, if guests want to have the rooms cleaned at a particular time, they only need to report it to our Guest Service staff and they do the pertinent arrangements to make it as the guest wishes.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. We regret to hear that your perception in some aspects were not positive, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ont
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wonderful large hotel with friendly staff. Gorgeous beach and great selection at the buffet restaurant. Wonderful service from Julia Ventura at the Lobby Bar! Rooms were large and kept very clean. Would not hesitate recommending this resort.

Room Tip: Golden rooms are closer to the beach! Second floor rooms give you more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel, especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Julia.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have been to this resort 4 times before. We have always stayed in the Royal Golden part. Last year we went for the University reading week and took our 22 year old with us. We asked him if he would like to go back again this year and he said he wouldn't miss it. He had so much fun, lots of kids his own age and plenty of activities and food. The food is always fabulous. The property if so well maintained. The staff is eager to please and they have a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank airamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Customer,

Receive warm greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. As well, it is of great value for us that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you and your family had a wonderful time during your last stay with us.

As a repeater guest your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all of our staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bávaro!!

Customer Service
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
959 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#21 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#55 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing