We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth every penny.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We travelled as a family last week of January. Our room was kept clean every day. The food was great. Loved the Japanese restaurant and the breakfast every morning. Beach was beautiful water was great. Getting around on the shuttle was easy this place is big and if you just want to walk you have lots of space to do so. If you book the Royal Golden package room service is provided and that comes in handy if you just want something sent to your room. The employees of this resort are so friendly and always have a smile on there face. I can't see how anyone could complain about a place so beautiful. I have recommended this resort to everyone i know, I will definitly be going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Customer,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel and sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you and your family had such a fantastic time during your stay with us for it is our goal to create a great satisfaction atmosphere for all of our guests and make sure we provide them unforgettable experiences.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards from Bávaro!!


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,254
    2,002
    988
    386
    291
See reviews for
2,421
2,674
98
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

this was my first time at GBP PC. Stayed in Golden Section. (have stayed in regular sections in other hotels ). Room was bright and clean, everything worked as it should. Maid service was timely and the room left in great condition. Omaira was great answering all my questions about everything, even weather ( was there when Sandy storm).She cares client's concerns and she show it.The beach was clean ( not crowded with cigarette butts) and beautiful.There's was plenty of chairs in the ocean and the pool.The Buffet had plenty of good choices to keep me happy (i don't consider myself picky but appreciate well cooked food) Enjoyed Japanese "a la carte" since i'm a Japanese food fan.I also liked the Garden Grill so much. The atmosphere at the Lobby Bar was excellent along with the drinks. Waiters and Waitresses were excellent too when in the courtyard at morning.The Dominican entertainment style no changes from year to year but at least has more variety than previous hotels i visited.Had a Great Vacation, will return to enjoy Bavaro Beach and GBP.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Omaira.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Golden Club and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I have been to several all inclusive resorts in the Dominion and Mexico. Some were acceptable, some good and very good but the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana takes is our most favorite ever. We would never hesotate to return and we plan to many times. For us it is an easy decision. There wasn't anything we did not like about this resort. The service, the food, the grounds and the entertainment were all excellent. We have told all of our friends of this resort and are planning to hold some family vacations there in the near future. You will not be disappointed if you pick this spot.

Room Tip: Try the Royal Golden Option to have rooms closer to the beach and no check in line ups. It is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our third trip this year to this great resort, it always amazes me how well run it is. From our room to all other facilities we find it spotless. The staff goes out of their way to please you and always friendly with a big smile on their face. We love the Mexican, Mediterranean and Garden Grill Restaurants. The main buffet is still my favorite as there are so many choices, and one of the chefs, Pastor, is very friendly and always making sure that everyone is happy with the selections. I always recommend this resort to friends and co-workers and everyone comes back very happy.
There many activities also for children, as we took the grandkids back in July for their first trip.
We have already booked ourselves for two weeks next June.

Room Tip: Go for Club Golden, these rooms are closes to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our Punta Cana staff.

Looking forward to seeing you once again!

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went to the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana for our honeymoon. We have never been to an all inclusive resort before so we have nothing to compare our stay to, but we have only amazing things to say about this resort. This is a honeymoon we will always remember.
-The dining was wonderful- The Garden Grille and Santa Fe were our favorite a la carte restaurants (The Italian one wasn't our favorite, but it wasn't awful). The buffets were pretty good- a lot of the same things every day, but a good variety. We ate lunch at the snack bar by the pool almost everyday and loved it.
-Transporation around the resort was great. Our villa was right by the pool so we used the bus a lot to get up to the lobby and found it very convenient
-The resort was kept up VERY well- everywhere we looked someone was fixing, painting, or cleaning- it was very clear that they care what the resort looks like and wanted it to be perfect!!
-Room Service/Maid Service- our maid was great- she decorated with flowers and made stuff out of blankets and towels every day. She came to our room once in the morning and then again when we were gone to supper to tidy up again- She was AWESOME!!!
-Pool and Beach----SOOOO Relaxing!!! nothing else to say- it was perfect!!!!

My only complaint was how persistent the "Privilege Club" people were. We were constantly being asked to tour the Ambar and Esmearalda suites- it just got to be a lot- we had 3 phone calls about it in a half hour one day. But this is honestly my only complaint

We will definitely reccommend this hotel to our friends visiting Punta Cana. We will also stay here again or visit other Gran Bahia Principe resorts in other countries!!

Room Tip: We got a "Golden Club" room- we were closer to the pool and beach, but since this was our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miller1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Honeymoon and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting one of our Hotels.

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We travelled as a couple and had a brilliant time!!! We booked Royal golden and it was worth it.

Some Important points:
Facilities/cleaning-everybody works around the clock, forever cleaning and maintaining the resort everywhere is perfect and clean.

Room- Very well presented, spacious,clean and welcoming. we stayed on the ground floor and could hear the guest above us draging furniture constantly(not that the hotel could do anything about that is just polite to consider other guest in your vila)It is a bit outdated if for you a flat screen is a must.

Food- Buffet had plenty of variety and no one can go hungry, our favourite was breakfast as the other meals can be a bit repetitive, but with a bit of imagination it is great.
The restaurants were a bit of a disappointment,the main meal was served at your table but starters and desert are served as a buffet, we had 6 dinners in the restaurants and the best one was the Japanese .Snack bar is just that a snack bar nothing to complicated and will fill a whole while you out in the pool.

Entertainment -there is loads to do all day long at the beach or pool at night in the lobby, theatre or even the disco, we found ourselves way to tiered to stay up till late and often opt for early nights.
But we were never bored or wishing to go home. We had to days out that were super fun and I think anyone will enjoy it.

Staff- Everyone is very polite and have a smile when greeting you. Xavier from Royal club Golden is very helpful and always willing to go a bit further to ensure you are happy.Marcia from the Previledge club is really friendly and great member of the team and Iris from the buffet was also very good when serving us.(thank you very much)
We travelled with Thomson and our rep Nathan at the resort was also very good :)

Tips: Tips are expected by staff and also the excursion Staff outside the Resort, even knowing that everyone is very gracious about it you are expected to tip to get that special treatment.


In general we gad a great time and will return.

Room Tip: Take dollars and forget about dominican pesos is easier to relate with pounds and everyone works fas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiommara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed Oct26-Nov04, this was our third time at GBP PC. Stayed in Royal Golden Section. (have stayed in regular sections as well and have enjoyed both places)

Beach was clean and beautiful, chairs were plentiful at Ocean and Pool (if you arrived b/4 noon)

Room was bright and clean, everything worked as it should. Maid service was timely and the room left in great condition.

Food--Buffet had plenty of good choices to keep us happy ( not too picky people)
Enjoyed the Gourmet and Japanese Ala Cartes, they were excellent. The Tex Mex and Garden Grill not so much.

Bars-- The Lobby Bar drinks were excellent along with the atmosphere. Enjoyed Amaretto and Spanish Coffee in the evenings in the Courtyard. Waiters and Waitresses were excellent.
The Swim up Bar in the R.G section left a lot to be desired the mixed drinks were not true mixed drinks. Pre mixed Kegs of slushy type liquids were added to the alcohol, and eventually every one tasted the same. Ended up drinking Cervasas and white wine. However, the swim up Bar in the Punta Cana section ( around Bldg 14 area) seemed like the Bar tender was mixing drinks with normal liqueurs and juices, the drinks were much better here. I do think the quality of drinks ( in the swim up bar areas) has changed from the past few years we have been here.

Entertainment--Okay, Dominican Style no changes from year to year.
Pool entertainment could have been much better, here again it has not changed from year to year. Bingo becomes boring after a few years. More thought needs to be put into it. (Have been to other resorts with a more varied program.)

Cons--Had a call from Reception the second day in advising us of a gift to be picked up at front desk. We thought it was because we were a valued repeat customer of GBP. WRONG. It was
an upsell group from the Privelege Club. (this is not a good management tactic) We told them we were Not interested in purchasing anything or signing up for anything. They assured us it was only to show us the New Esmeralda section for future stays. WRONG. We were subjected to rude ignorant high pressure sales people. (Three in fact, one getting angrier than the first because we would not commit to buying anything. Left a truly bad taste that management of GBHP allows them to antagonize paying guests!! Many people complained about these tactics.

Dress Code-- If GBHP wants to retain its 5 star status with us, and many more guests. They should enforce an Ala Carte Dress Code. (As stated in their travel brochures and on each Restaurant--dont punish the people that have packed correctly and adhere to the rules of the Hotel!!) For the females-- Daisy Duke shorts and a black T shirt with Kiss me emblazoned across your chest, along with stilleto heels is in poor taste. I dont appreciate sitting next to you and your significant other in his baseball hat, swim suit and obscene T shirt!! The rules were made for you also!!

Had a Great Vacation, will return to enjoy Bavaro Beach and GBP. ( We do miss the difference in clientele between PC and Mexico-- not so many Europeans and "other" rude guests in Mexico at the GBP. (not managements fault!!)

Room Tip: Stayed in the Royal Golden Section (Rm 21205) great spot close to beach and Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugs022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Royal Golden Club.

We regret to hear that your perception about some aspects of our hotel was not positive, however be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager attention.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you once again!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,442 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP Travel USA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing